Weekly Photo Challenge: a Happy wedding

A mother’s pride…

While I always looked forward to my kids progressing to the next stage of crawl-walk-talk-go-to-school, the fact that they’d become “adults” one day was something I didn’t think about, it was so far away in the future, but (here’s the strange part and I don’t know how it happened) my daughter, the sweet little girl who believed in fairies and filled our house with magic, stories and laughter suddenly grew up, and got married a few weeks ago.

We all love our daughter’s partner. E is thoughtful, kind, highly intelligent, has a great sense of humor, loves animals, and loves and respects our daughter as we’d hoped someone would love and respect her.

The happy couple

I had no idea that the “mother of the bride” would be such an emotional, beautiful, and happy experience. I thought I’d just buy a new outfit, or two, meet my daughter’s future mother-in-law, spend the week helping do last-minute chores, and try not to cry at the wedding.

Of course there were many chores, but some chores  – like getting your nails done – are fun. We both chose a French manicure.

It was a small, simple wedding – actually it was complex and layered with meaning, but not flamboyant or splashy. The kids wrote their own ceremony, framed by heartfelt vows, and candid sincere declarations of their love and loyalty to each other. I was thankful I’d put a hankie in Mr F’s pocket.

My favorite photo of the wedding is the one below: our beautiful daughters (accompanied by the minister in the black and white dress) entering the marriage canopy where us three parents welcomed them. Oh man, I thought my heart would burst with pride and joy!

Mr F painted six silk banners for the wedding canopy. Each one of the leaves is individually painted, accurate and true to scale, and yes those are hummingbirds and dragonflies.

Mr F also enlisted the help of a friend to grow herbs and vegetables in four plant pots which would hold the four upright poles of the wedding canopy.

Eggplant, artichoke and herbs growing in one of the plant pots

We’re at a wedding, it’s time for some music.

Dixie Chicks – Lullaby – Released 2005-2006 @ Label Columbia Nashville

.

They catered the affair themselves, with help from friends and relatives.

My daughter’s mother-in-law flew across the continent with boxes of cake pans and baking supplies. She made all the cakes in the picture below including the wedding cake in the middle, and the heart-shaped “vegan” carrot cake [which Mr F and I voted the best carrot cake ever – I’ll ask her if I can share her recipe].

Mr F made ceviche. He used a recipe for “half a dozen people round our dinner table” and multiplied all the ingredients by ten. It was so complicated I don’t know how he managed to orchestrate it all – he even worked out how to keep it cool in bowls of ice. The finished product was voted *perfect* by his daughter.

What did I contribute?  The fruit salad. Hey, I’m not a cook. I gave one of the speeches, which I found challenging as guests at a wedding don’t want to hear about the birth, or her first tooth, or the wonderful (XXX) whatever she did…but as the mother of the bride that’s all I wanted to share.

The happy couple…

*

I could easily have stopped my post right here. The couple is happily married, the wedding was wonderful, I’m so proud of my new title “Mother-in-Law”.

Unfortunately it breaks my heart to tell you that my beautiful daughter’s marriage is not legal in the United States.

She got married in Canada, which is one of the few countries where same-sex marriage is legal.

My heartfelt thank you to the eleven countries** that have legalized same-sex marriage.

the full moon rising over the lake

 The night after the wedding my family and I watched the moon rising over a lake at a cottage two hours north of their Canadian city  – it was a “blue-moon” i.e. the second full moon of the month – and it rose with this red haze around it, which gave us all *hope* that a new day was dawning…
 
** These eleven countries – out of 194 – allow same-sex couples to marry:
  • the Netherlands (2000),
  • Belgium (2003),
  • Canada (2005),
  • Spain (2005),
  • South Africa (2006),
  • Norway (2009), Sweden (2009),
  • Argentina (2010), Iceland (2010), and
  • Portugal (2010).
  • Denmark (2012)
  • Gay couples are allowed to wed in parts of Brazil and Mexico.
.
This is the first time I’ve tried this photo collage.  As far as I can see I have no way of moving the photos around – it’s automatically done for us –  which is a shame because I’d like to make some of the small one’s bigger and vice versa.
*
This post is part of the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge.  This week’s topic is “Happy”.
To see the other posts on the same topic click here
.
About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Families don't you love them, Not America, Photography, Tutto va bene, Wondering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

105 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: a Happy wedding

  1. sybil says:

    Congratulations ! I am sorry you had to leave your own country in order for your daughter to wed her partner. I am proud that they were able to be married here in Canada.

    No wonder you felt so strongly about the issue when I posted about our Pride Parade.

    Don’t think I’m able to do photo collages in Blogger …

    • dearrosie says:

      Many thanks for your congratulations Sybil. Your support means a lot to me. Every time I’ve posted something about gays and lesbians you have always supported it. Yes that’s why I felt so strongly about your Pride Parade.

      It’s time for us mothers to speak up for our children.

      The photo collage is a new feature in WordPress. Ask Blogger to make it available for you.

  2. What a beautiful post, and you did such a great job of walking us through, introducing us to everyone, all while the Dixie Chicks sing harmony!
    I agree, some drag and drop scooting around of images would be nice, but the post is lovely!
    Z

  3. I commented and don’t see where it arrived.. Will give it an hour an if it’s still awol, i’ll write again! Great post amiga. z

  4. jane tims says:

    Hi Rosie. I am biased, but if you are married in Canada, you are married, in my books. I love the banners at the wedding… beautiful art and a great keepsake. Also, the plants in the containers for the uprights is a wonderful idea. Jane

    • dearrosie says:

      Yaay Canada. It’s so wonderful to get all this support from my Canadian blogging buddies. Merci Boucoup Jane!

      I think Mr F should answer you himself, but I will pass your message onto him. Thank you. That you love his banners is a huge complement because you’re an artist (I’m sure you can understand how many hours it took him to paint those leaves).

      He also “designed” the plant pots. They looked so beautiful holding up the canopy.

  5. E fullstop says:

    What naches! A beautiful wedding, so filled with love and beauty from what is clearly a wonderfully supportive community. Wishing the newlyweds and their families much joy, wonder and adventure. You and Mr. F have a lot to be proud about!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for your beautiful comment E fullstop. It was a beautiful, happy wedding. We were both so proud.

      The supportive community spreads across the Canadian border all the way to Mexico. I hope this country can become the 12th country on the list.
      I feel so sad when I think of the States which have actually brought out constitutional amendments to ban same sex marriage. There are now 31 States where young people have been abandoned by their families. Where are their mothers? Don’t they love their sons and daughters? How can they sit back and let their children be discriminated in such an evil way? You can’t just “unfriend” your own children, or can you?

  6. jakesprinter says:

    Great photography for this week photo challenge 🙂

  7. Beautiful photos, beautiful wedding x

  8. Mahalia says:

    Sniff. I may be biased, as I was the little girl who loved fairies and climbed trees, and I am now also the married grown-up with a beautiful, custom made ring of oak leaves in white gold on my ring finger, but, i loved reading this, and seeing a few of the many pictures from that weekend. That we can be legally wed here, in our home country, is something i deeply appreciate. And that we have so much support and love from our families as well as our communities buoys us.

    ps: thanks, mom, for doing the research on which countries allow same sex marriage now. geez, we still have a ways to go.

    • dearrosie says:

      My dearest Mahalia,
      Those years when you brought your love of fairies into our home and climbed every tree you could find were the happiest I’ve known, and I don’t always want to remember that you’re all grown up with that beautiful oak leaf ring on your finger, because what does that make me? When I saw a tree this afternoon – an oak tree – that was so perfect for climbing my first thought was I should bring you to climb it.

      There are only 11 countries now, but we must’ve forget that one small step at a time will bring us out the dark tunnel… I send my grateful thanks to the people of the Netherlands – they were the first country to make same sex marriage legal.
      I really don’t understand why, if two people love each other, they are forbidden to marry. I ask all those mothers out there who aren’t standing up and fighting for their kids, how can you sit back and let your children be discriminated in such an evil way? I can only assume you don’t love your children. What kind of mother doesn’t love her kids?

  9. A beautiful, beautiful event, documented so lovingly. Thank you for sharing.

    Regarding your question about changing image order in the mosaic, I’ve managed to do this in the following way:

    When you go into your media window and see the list of photos you currently have for your gallery, you’ll see boxes where you can enter a number to order them. Then, below the list of photos under Gallery Settings, you’ll see a drop-down menu where you can select Order Images By… Choose Menu Order. And make sure to save and update gallery changes. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      I appreciate your kind comment on my beautiful daughter’s wedding. Thank you for stopping by. It’s always a pleasure to welcome someone new to my blog.

      Many grateful thanks for your advice re changing the order of the images. I’m going to go see whether I can do what I want to do. Can you also give instructions as to which images should be larger?

      • I can email you a screen shot if you’d like a visual.

        As to which images should be larger – I think you should showcase which ones are most important to you. It looks like the largest one is a photo of you, which I think is absolutely lovely. It was probably chosen because it is one of the few in portrait format rather than landscape.

        If you have time to play, that’s what I’d do. Play with the ordering (and if you have other shots in portrait, I’d add them to the gallery to see where they look best).

        That’s where I am now. I love this new feature, but it will take some experimenting to get what I want.

    • dearrosie says:

      That’s the problem, the largest one is of me, but it’s not my wedding. Back to try find another photo in portrait format.

      I tried to do it – twice – and failed. Not sure what I’m doing wrong. I numbered the photos and pressed save at the bottom.
      Perhaps I should see your screen shot…

      • Sending the screen shot.
        If you can find a set of 3 portrait shots, ordering them together might keep them smaller.

        If the screen shot and instructions doesn’t work, I would remove the gallery from your post and then put it in again. All your photos will still be in the library, it is just a matter of reentering the gallery. I’ve found this to work sometimes when I’ve tried to make changes to an existing photo or gallery. Redoing it seems to work.

      • dearrosie says:

        Many many grateful thank yous for the screen shot. You are a very kind person!
        I understand what I did wrong. After I numbered the photos I forgot to save it.

  10. A very happy congratulations to Rosie and the happy couple with love from Lillian! So great!

  11. Rosie, What an emotional post! I rejoice with you in the happiness of your beautiful daughter, am in awe of what a lovely and personal ceremony (Mr. F is really talented, isn’t he?) and at the same time my heart hurts with you that the ceremony isn’t legal in the U.S. For those of us who support marriage equality, it’s just impossible to believe that out of all those countries–and thank you for a list!–the United States isn’t one of them. I love your photos! What a beautiful happy couple. They are young…they will see things change in their lifetime, but I do agree that it’s important for us all to speak up when we can and to keep looking forward. I’m so glad you shared photos! 🙂 I love a wedding! Debra

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Debra,
      Thank you for your heartfelt comment. It feels good to know that you’re rejoicing with us. They are a beautiful happy couple and it was a really happy wedding.

      Glad to know you liked my photos. (Not sure if you know that if you click on a photo you can leave a comment.)

      Mr F is very talented. Those silk hangings look even more impressive when you see them up close.

      You ask a good question, I’d also like to know why the United States one of the 11 countries..

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy | Tay in Europe

  13. My friend, these are all beautiful and inspiring. I felt like crying knowing one day, my little boy would also find love and spend a forever with the person who will complete his heart. I see so much love, joy, generosity, kindness on your images. You have a beautiful family that cherish and respect each other. In todays world, that indeed is a blessing and a gift. I wish your daughter and her partner as well as your family all the joy and blessings in this lifetime….

    • dearrosie says:

      You are always so kind IT, my heart filled with joy and gratitude when I read your heartfelt comment. My sincere and grateful thanks.

      Thank you too for including your blessings for my beautiful daughter and her partner.

      My blessings to you and your beautiful family.

  14. shoreacres says:

    What a lovely post, commemorating such a special occasion. Congratulations to all – and especially to the ceviche-maker! I’m impressed!

    I must say – as much as I enjoyed all the photos, the one at the top also caught my attention. It’s just lovely.

    The gallery function is nice – I’m glad you and Z have used it so that I know about it! I’m not sure how it will fit into my blog, because of the way my theme is designed, but I may give it a try. It certainly was a perfect solution for this post!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Linda,
      It makes me happy to know you like my post – thank you – and thank you for your congratulations.

      I don’t think many people at the wedding had eaten ceviche before. I think they all tried it because they’ve eaten sushi, which is also raw fish. When you’re the mother-of-the-bride remembering to photograph the food isn’t top of your list, so I apologize that I don’t have a photo of it… 🙂

      The little sculpture in the top photo is lovely isn’t it? (I apologize for not knowing the sculptor’s name.)

      I’m really happy I was inspired by Z and posted the photos in the gallery function. It was the perfect solution. I still have to play around with the pictures so the one of me isn’t so large.

  15. Rosie — I am so happy for YOU and I love the picture of you giving the toast! Your daughter is beautiful and looks so happy — what a joy for you! And of course, I totally second your emotion about the changes we need to make to include all the people who love and are devoted to each other to have the choice and privilege of being allowed to marry. THANKS for writing this post!! ( I didn’t know about the word-press photo challenge .. i’ll have to check that out!) xoxxo b

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Betty,
      Your comments have always been so supportive and enthusiastic, and this one fills my heart with happiness. Thank you dear friend.

      I feel so silly that the photo of myself giving the speech is the biggest one. I’ve tried changing it, but it’s going to take a bit more juggling around…

  16. Congratulations to the happy couple and their proud parents! What a beautiful story and lovely wedding day. Your husband’s artwork is so beautiful and amazing – and what a romantic idea to get married on the day of the blue moon! (I was going to suggest it to Larisa, but I don’t want her to wait until 2015 to tie the knot!)

    Remember what Martin Luther King said about the moral universe being long but that it bends towards social justice – the right to marry the person we love will eventually be given to us all, as the right to vote was eventually given to women and civil rights were finally given to minorities.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Thank you for your heartfelt encouraging comment. It was a wonderful wedding – the happiest one I’ve been to. 🙂

      I offered to stop working, and go around to places like farmer’s markets where I could set up a booth to sell Mr F’s paintings for wedding canopies. He didn’t say No…

      I was going to add the line: “it wasn’t that long ago that Blacks were slaves and women didn’t have the vote”. You expressed it much better than me.

  17. bhj says:

    Nitpick, number 11 is missing in the list of countries allowing same-sex marriage: Denmark (2012).

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy « What's (in) the picture?

  19. Reggie says:

    Oh my goodness, congratulations to all of you, Rosie – what a wonderful, heart-warming occasion! And I love how all of you contributed your own special touches to the wedding. May your daughter and her beloved be eternally happy and joyful!

    That collage is beautiful, by the way – I didn’t know that WordPress had such functionality?

  20. Dear Rosie, Congratulations! I am so happy for you and your wonderful family. Your daughter is just beaming with joy in all the pictures, please pass on a congratulations from me. It looks like a lot of love and care went into planning the ceremony. Your first words in this post made me tear up, how she was filling your house with “magic, stories and laughter.” Lovely! Just lovely. Many happy wishes to the newly married couple, and many happy wishes to you and Mr. F for a wonderful future as in-laws. (By the way, what is the significance of the red shoes?)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Melissa,
      Thank you for your enthusiastic beautiful comment. It filled my heart with happiness when I read it, so I read it again… 🙂 You know what I mean when I speak about those years when my little girl filled the house with “magic, stories and laughter” because your two kids are still filling your home with their “magic, stories and laughter”. I envy you being at that stage. I think they are my happiest memories.

      No one else asked about the shoes. You’re so observant that’s why you’re such a good writer! They are the shoes my daughter wore on her wedding day, shoes she’d coveted for several years and finally had an excuse to buy them for her wedding. Gorgeous aren’t they?
      They are made by John Fluevog , a Canadian shoe designer, “who brings you funky shoes with style”
      http://www.fluevog.com/
      and my daughter just told me on the phone, “They are really comfortable too.”

      • Thanks for the story behind the shoes — so sweet!

        Rosie — I wanted to let you know of a new book out by one of my friends, Jane Isenberg. We met when I lived in Seattle, and she’s a great writer. She has a blog here on WordPress where she posts letters she’s written (but not sent) to writers she’s found inspirational. She has a history you might appreciate. Her blog is http://notestomymuses.wordpress.com and the new book she has out is The Bones and The Book and it’s out on Amazon or you can contact Jane if you don’t have a Kindle. I have not even read it yet, as it’s just come out, but I’m sure it will be fabulous. Seems funny to recommend a book when I haven’t read it yet! But as I know you, and I know the book’s author, I thought I’d let you know about it. Hope you are still reveling in after-wedding bliss!

      • dearrosie says:

        Hi Melissa,
        My apologies, I just realized I hadn’t answered this comment.
        I went over to your friend Jane’s fascinating blog. Her reviews are written so well and are so interesting I wish I had time to read all 70 books.

        You’re right that “The Bones and The Book” sounds like a book I’d like to read. I must get a copy. Have you read it?
        I must go check whether she’s doing any book readings in the LA area.

  21. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy | R Shad

  22. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy | Life of 24 Hours

  23. Arindam says:

    Congratulations to you and your family. I wish the newly married couple lots more happiness and peace in their lives. The banners painted by Mr F were beautiful and also the food looks delicious. I hope you had a great day!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for your lovely wish for the newly married couple Arindam.
      One problem with being the mother-of-the-Bride? I didn’t get to taste the cake. I forgot.

  24. aFrankAngle says:

    Thanks for sharing your emotions through pixels and words. Congratulations to you … and blessings and success to your daughter and her partner in the days to come! 🙂

  25. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy « Becca's Photo Blog

  26. Pingback: Happy « Monochrome

  27. Val says:

    I’m happy for your daughter and her partner, and for you and the rest of your family, Rosie. Hugs.

  28. Congratulations to you all! I love a wedding that is filled with lovely gestures – like the banners – that have so much meaning. I wish them every happiness.

  29. Dr. Khalsa says:

    Dear Roseanne:
    What a beautiful and heartfelt sharing. I loved all of the pictures and stories. I did not know that Mr F as you call him was such an accomplished cook. Special appreciation for speaking out about the incredible insensitivity of our nation’s laws. Keep up with these great posts.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave me a comment Dr Khalsa, and one that’s so supportive and encouraging warms my heart. 🙂
      Oh yes Mr F is an excellent cook. I guess we’ve never spoken about his accomplishments in the kitchen.

  30. Pingback: Weekly Photo challenge : “Happy” – with a tinge of sad « Just another wake-up call

  31. Oh my gosh, Rosie! Waterworks! Beautiful post, my friend! Congrats on being a most gorgeous mother-of-the-bride. (*sigh*)

    • dearrosie says:

      Aw shucks Anne you’re so sweet to say such nice things about me. Whether I was the most beautiful mother-of-the-bride I can’t say, but I can say I was the happiest mother-of-the-bride. Oh my god…

      Talking of waterworks I cried when I read your post about your kids first day at school. The years fly by too fast

  32. Congratulations to the happy couple and their families!

    I love weddings like this. It’s so much more personal when the families get involved in the wedding preparations. Thanks for sharing this special day with us all!

    PS: I forgot to say in my reply to your comment the other day, that I’ve also “seen you around” on various blogs. Your name naturally caught my eye . . . I’m just sorry it’s taken so long for me to visit your blog.

    • dearrosie says:

      Welcome to my blog Lisa, and thank you for your leaving such a lovely comment. I’m glad you enjoyed my beautiful daughter’s special day.

      Isn’t it interesting that although there are millions of blogs on WordPress we’ve seen each other’s avatar (or is it gravator) on several blogs we follow?

      I wanted to visit you after I came back from South Africa last year… it took me a year and a half! Sheesh.

  33. souldipper says:

    Oh, Rosie, this is beautiful – physically as well as in heart and soul! What a gorgeous daughter you have – it does not surprise me in the least. I’m sorry you are sad about the marriage not being recognized in the USA, but it must be the mom part of you. I’m proud that my country offers the opportunity to people whose love they want to declare to the world. Knowing it has touched the life of someone I respect so much…well my buttons may be a little tight right now.

    My gay women friends (several couples – all who have been in long term relationships) have not married, oddly enough. Two men friends did, but the women seem to be content to remain as they have been for years.

    Thank you so much for sharing your heart’s delight with us, Rosie.

    • dearrosie says:

      You always write such encouraging, thoughtful responses. Thank you Amy. Although we’ve never met, and we’ve known each other just a year or so, after reading your comment it feels as though you’re part of my family. 🙂

      You can be very proud that you live in one of the eleven countries!

      I have a few friends who even after they had children never thought it important to get married, perhaps your gay friends fall into that category?

  34. souldipper says:

    P.S. Oh yes, and I loved the “simple”. Imagine a dad painting banners for the canopy and cooking for his daughter’s wedding. What an artist he is…I had no clue he was so talented. Did he carve the sculpture?

    Those cakes…Mon dieu – un merveilleux!

    • dearrosie says:

      It’s true – I hadn’t thought of it – that not many Dads could – or would – paint their daughter’s chuppa and make ceviche. He didn’t carve the sculpture – that was something from the place where they got married, but he plays the guitar. Do you remember my post on our 40th wedding anniversary?

      E’s Mom is multi-talented in the kitchen. As well as all those cakes she made 180 spanakopita, and roasted the beef.

  35. Dear Rosie,

    Thank you for taking us there to such an emotionally rich place! You and Mr. F are lucky to have a such a beautiful daughter, who has a partner who not only appreciates her, but is also well worth appreciation herself. Such joy!

    Everything about the wedding must’ve been just as it should be — magical, emotional, loving, slow, yet thrilling. I found all of the pictures worth looking at several times, but my favourites are the one in which M and E are looking from behind photo frames, the one that shows both your manicures (such a beautiful ring, M!), those that show the banners (wow, Mr. F!), that of the cakes (M’s mother-in-law must’ve been immersed in flour if she’s anything like me!). And the concepts I liked a lot — the herb and vegetable planters (how very ingenious, Mr. F!), your choice of Indian clothes (very, very charming, both of you), the red offsetting the bridal white, E’s Scottish get-up (is it Scottish?)

    Oh, my. What’s not to like? Happy, indeed.

    • dearrosie says:

      You always manage to leave a comment that enriches the recipient. The wedding was as you so rightly said:
      magical, emotional, loving, slow, yet thrilling

      Thank you for really looking at the pictures. I also love the one with the happy couple looking through the hole in the wall, and the others you mention.
      M’s mother-in-law actually loves baking. (Unfortunately I didn’t inherit the baking gene.)
      Of course you noticed my salwar kameez. I wore something Indian to honor and remember my late mother.
      E’s outfit was Scottish.

      Thank you a thousand times for your heartfelt comment WW. If only I could fly across the ocean and hug you. At least I can (((hug))) you.
      love
      rosie

  36. denise says:

    Dear Rosie and Mr F – congratulations to you all on this very special occasion that you have so lovingly shared with us – Your gorgeous daughter looks just like the Rosanne (with the e) that I remember from so many years ago. You all look so radiant and happy – thanks for sharing this with us

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for leaving me such a lovely comment Denise.
      My word what an honor when someone who’s known me since I was thirteen says my beautiful daughter looks like the Rosanne she remembers from so many years ago. 🙂

  37. Denzil says:

    Rosie, what a beautiful wedding and amazing record. Mazeltov to all of you. I was so moved by your writing and pictures that I shed a few tears on the bus back from work yesterday. I love R’s brilliant banners and herbs. Nothing has changed since Uni days both of you so so real. Love it. Denzil

    • dearrosie says:

      After reading your heartfelt, kind message with the story of a man shedding tears on the bus I just wanted to run across the ocean and share your hankie. A hundred thank yous Denzil. I hope we don’t have to wait too many years before we can see you again.

      Mr F’s silk paintings and the plant pots were brilliant. Our beautiful daughter just asked her Dad to “Please do the chuppa…” It was a wonderful surprise for her.

  38. Your heart and that of your family is so full! It radiates in every picture. Kudos to you on figuring out the collage. What a perfect way to convey so many images that will stay with you all forever. I love that you shared what any mother would want to share, a joyous day and moment. Your daughter is beautiful in the photos with her partner, you and Mr. F. You are beautiful in your Indian salwar kameez. Mr. F’s talented contribution was huge…the gorgeous canopy, the plants he nurtured and the ceviche for many. Your daughter’s MIL’s cakes, her red shoes, you with the microphone, that perfect sculpture symbolizing a wedding day. Thank you for taking us there. I wish them all happiness. This is love on so many levels that transcends boundaries on so many levels. I am honored to read this post.

    • dearrosie says:

      Muchas gracias for your beautiful, heartfelt and supportive comment amiga. It gives me much pleasure to see that you took the time to read my words, and enjoy my photos. It was as you could see, a happy wedding and one that was filled with much love and gratitude.

      The collage format is perfect for this kind of post. It’s really easy – let me know if you want to try it and need help in doing it.

      It’s not my wedding and the photo of me giving the speech shouldn’t be so big! I can’t find another photo in portrait format.

      Mr F painted the canopy, but someone in the Canadian city where my daughter lives planted the herbs and vegetables for him and nurtured them over the whole summer. It was rather nerve-wracking to move the pots to the wedding venue because the aubergines could’ve been knocked off so easily.

  39. Renee Parrett says:

    Dear Roseanne & Mr F- What a joy to walk, then dance through the wedding via your lovely depiction……felt like I was there, as I was in spirit on the day. As I reflect on M & E’s marriage, I am first thankful that they have you as parents……spirits who nurtured another generation of kindrid spirits to live out their own true heart’s desire. In the images shared here, I see your hands & hearts beautifully woven into the essence of the event……from the hand-painted chuppa to the red “shoeses”, as I fondly recall your family story surrounding that perfect word.
    Salut et Sante, Renee

    • dearrosie says:

      Salut chere Renee,
      When I read your heartfelt comment it gave me so much joy and pleasure and I wondered if I could clap my little red shoeses [gosh you still remember that word!] together would I be able to fly over and hug you? Merci boucoup mon amie.

  40. Jenn says:

    Simply put .. I love your post. I can read and see the emotion, the joy and the happiness of you all. Many do ‘marry’ here in Australis, but yes it’s not legal. It’s about time same sex marriages were given the same respect that opposite sex marriages are. But it is woderful to see society starting to be more accepting in general. I suspect in years to come I will also be seeing my teenage daughter marry same-sex. I can hope that by then, if it does happen, legal rulings will have changed to keep up with what real love and committment to a life partner is about 🙂 thankyou so much for sharing your beautiful families happy occassion 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Oh my word your comment is so sincere and supportive of my beautiful daughter that it gives me so much hope for the future. I thank you and welcome you to my blog Jenn.
      I hope Australia will soon recognize same-sex marriage because it’s time and also because a very good friend of mine and her wife live there and I know they’d appreciate having their marriage be legal.

  41. Judy says:

    What a lovely wedding from the happy couple to the happy parents, the beautiful paintings, delicious looking cakes to the wonderful pots of live plants. I’m sorry they had to leave our great Country to start their new life but hope they have many years of happiness.

    • dearrosie says:

      Welcome to my blog Judy. When a perfect stranger like yourself is so supportive of my daughter and daughter-in-law it gives me so much hope for their future. Thank you.
      I’m glad to know you enjoyed the wedding pictures.

  42. Oh, Rosie, what a precious, precious post! I’m sorry your daughter had to go to Canada to marry. One of these days those of us who love partners of the same sex will legally be allowed to wed. Thanks so much for sharing this with me. Sara and I look forward to the day we can legally marry here in Kentucky. Congratulations to your daughter and her partner!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • dearrosie says:

      My dear Kathryn,
      I’m happy you saw this post of my beautiful daughter’s wedding. Thank you for your congratulations.

      The day when same-sex marriages will be legalized in this country isn’t too far off. Remember it wasn’t so long ago that black people couldn’t marry white people. Today no one cares.

  43. munchow says:

    It’s a beautiful post and a wonderful tribute to your daughter and her new life. And I am glad the couple was able to marry, even if it’s illegal in their own country. It’s really a shame, that so few countries have acknowledged same sex marriages, particularly that a country which always is thought to be in the front when it comes to democracy, doesn’t. Besides you pictures of the wedding are lovely. I particularly like the photo collage – even if you felt you didn’t have control. Your favourite picture is definitely a lovely one. Congratulations with you happy daughter.

    • dearrosie says:

      You can be proud that your country recognizes same-sex marriage. I don’t understand why it’s illegal in so many countries. What are they afraid of? Do you know that violent criminals like murderers and rapists are allowed to marry even while they’re still incarcerated in this country?

      Thank you for dear Otto for celebrating my beautiful daughter’s wedding with us. Being the mother-of-the-bride I discovered I couldn’t take as many photos as I usually do at weddings 🙂

  44. bronxboy55 says:

    Rosie, I read this post weeks ago, but for some reason forgot to comment. Congratulations to you and Mr. F, and the happy young couple. It looks as though you had a beautiful day. (I wish I could have been there, especially for the desserts.) It’s hard to believe that in the year 2012, we’re still arguing about same-sex marriage. I’ve been meaning to do a post about it, and now I think I will.

    • dearrosie says:

      It was a beautiful and a happy day Charles, I’m also sorry you weren’t able to celebrate it with us.

      It’s encouraging to know that so many of my blogging buddies support my beautiful daughter’s marriage.

      My congratulations to you on your daughter’s marriage this past summer. I loved the post you wrote on her wedding.
      http://mostlybrightideas.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/true-love/

      I just heard on the news that same sex marriage is one step closer to being legalized in France. Woohoo 🙂

  45. restlessjo says:

    Such talented families we have, Rosie. Those printed panels are beautiful, and the food looks… well, good enough to eat! Glad it was such a happy occasion and I wish them both well for the future.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for popping over here Jo – or perhaps I should say Johanna because weddings are posh affairs 🙂
      Mr F worked very hard on those panels and my daughter has hung them up in her office.

  46. I’m coming to the party late (what else is new). All the best to the beautiful couple and to the blending of the two families who made this day so special. As I said on my post, may we all look forward to the day when same-sex marriage will be marriage, period.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for coming over Renee. It’s never too late – I’m always ready to celebrate my beautiful daughter’s wonderful wedding 😀
      I think it won’t be too long before we
      “… all look forward to the day when same-sex marriage will be marriage, period.”

  47. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy | Rebecca Barray – Writer/Photographer

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

