Poetry: Mammogram by Jo McDougall


Mammogram by Jo McDougall

“They’re benign,” the radiologist says,
pointing to specks on the x ray
that look like dust motes
stopped cold in their dance.
His words take my spine like flame.
I suddenly love
the radiologist, the nurse, my paper gown,
the vapid print on the dressing room wall.
I pull on my radiant clothes.
I step out into the Hanging Gardens, the Taj Mahal,
the Niagara Falls of the parking lot.

(from Satisfied with Havoc. © Autumn House Press, 2004.)

Jo Garot McDougall (1935–) who was born in the Arkansas Delta, has written five books of poetry. Her poems are sparse, and evoke the struggles and tragedies of small-town life.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry: Mammogram by Jo McDougall

  1. E fullstop says:

    Lovely poem. And uncanny timing. Just today I was with J’s parents and his dad told me that the doctor reported his brain MRI shows all the tumors are gone. I don’t know if he felt like he was in the Hanging Gardens when I picked them up from the hospital this morning, but he did smile.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

