Museum Musings: kids and iPhones

Wise Owl puppet

I’ve noticed that many children, some as young as two who are still being pushed around the museum in their strollers, aren’t looking around them, but are being entertained with apps on Mommy’s or Daddy’s iPhone.

According to Charles, one of the security guards at the museum, children up to five play with toys, the rest spend all their free time playing games on the computer.

Am I an old-fashioned fuddy-duddy for thinking if you’re out in a place like a museum where there’s all that art waiting to be noticed, it’s not necessary to entertain your child with a “game”, however educational it may be.   Why not start with lesson 101 to show your children how to enjoy the art (pictures, tapestries, furniture or sculptures) in the museum?

Dahlia is two

Danika, two-and-a-half playing a game with birds

Seoyun is three

*

I was delighted to see three-year-old Seoyun walking around the museum carrying her whale.

*

And three-year-old Aubrey who chose the post card book of our paintings as her one gift from the museum, and left my store clutching the bag.

*

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Museum Musings: kids and iPhones

  1. Corilee says:

    Let’s hear it for Seoyun and her whale looking around and enjoying the museum! I want her rockin’ outfit…..

  2. REIKO says:

    thinking of u (^^)

  3. Priya says:

    It is an epidemic, isn’t it? Parenting has got a convenient helping hand, now. Just hand ’em over a computer/phone.

    • dearrosie says:

      Its very sad that kids need to be *entertained* all the time. Unfortunately I’ve also seen a kid smash his mother’s iPhone on the marble floor in a temper tantrum. End of iPhone.

  4. Hi Rosie, I’ve enjoyed wandering around your blog. This particular post boggles my mind. I don’t think I’ve seen anything like those 2 year olds here in SA – perhaps because we just don’t see young ones in strollers on the streets here. They’re in shopping malls or on their mother’s backs!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Margaret, Thanks for taking the time to write to me. I wonder why kids aren’t being entertained with iPhone’s in SA? Its sad that mother’s don’t feel safe to push their strollers in the streets, and have to go to shopping malls. Do modern African mothers still carry their children on their backs?

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

