Wordless Wednesday: Found Turtle

“A turtle travels only when it sticks its neck out.”
– Korean Proverb

DSCN8727

 

This post is part of Cee’s Wordless Wednesday

 

 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in The Natural World, Wandering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Found Turtle

  1. larooby says:

    Wordnerd here: If it lives in salt water (is an oceanic animal), then it is a turtle. If it lives in fresh or brackish water, it is a terrapin. If it lives on land, it is a tortoise. Last I remember, Burbank is not near any water, salty, brackish or any other except for the chlorinated kind (with a silent ‘p’ as in swimming pool). Therefore, if it was a turtle it was out of it’s habitat and not long for the world… I wonder if it was found in a puddle?

    • dearrosie says:

      Welcome Larooby,
      I posted this as part of “Wordless Wednesday” where I don’t add any comments other than the picture… so I’m delighted to welcome all the wordnerds to challenge Officer Fossen’s poster.

      Whether it was a turtle or a tortoise, whether it was found in the road or a puddle I cannot say as I didn’t find or meet said creature, but after reading your very well written description it does sound as though the poor fellow was a TORTOISE.

  2. I just learned something from larooby – nice comment.

  3. in central London where we live, at most it’s a “found cat” notice… πŸ˜‰

    • dearrosie says:

      I’ve lived in Los Angeles for about a dozen years and this is the first time I’ve ever seen a “Found Turtle” notice!
      Although they don’t move fast Tortoises are adventurous and can easily slip out of their yards.

  4. Madhu says:

    Me too! πŸ™‚

  5. sybil says:

    That turtle was clearly sticking its neck out too far …

  6. Hmmm, unlike dogs and cats and such, turtles (and their cousins) often live in the wild. How do they know it was a pet? Rhinestone collar?

    • dearrosie says:

      Although there are vast areas of wilderness around the city I found the notice on a pole in a residential built-up area with streets and houses on every block. I know we have rats living in our sewers – ugh thank god I’ve never actually seen one – and I could be mistaken but I can’t imagine a tortoise could survive like a rat.

  7. aFrankAngle says:

    Now that’s a new one to me, too!

  8. I wonder what makes them think the turtle/terrapin/tortoise has an owner? Had someone painted its toes? Were there hearts on his shell? hmmm….

    • dearrosie says:

      You ask the right question: Why do they think the tortoise has an owner? We don’t live in an area where turtles or tortoises are seen wandering around our streets. Although I have seen hummingbirds and parrots, bunnies and deer, snakes and lizards, I’ve never seen a tortoise.

  9. shoreacres says:

    We see lots of roaming turtles and tortoises around here in the spring and in the fall, when they’re looking for a nice place to spend the winter. Most often, I see them when they’re trying to cross a road. True optimists, they are. The good news is that drivers can swerve to miss a turtle, and even if they get hit they often survive. There’s a lady in town who rehabs turtles with cracked shells from “traffic accidents”. If the one Officer Fossen found is a pet, it may get to go back home. If it’s not, I’m betting it will be resettled somewhere nice.

    • dearrosie says:

      Wow Linda I didn’t know that the habitat of turtles and tortoises extended to southern Texas – I thought they were only found in places like the Galapagos Islands, Costa Rica and Ecuador.
      It makes me happy to know that even though the numbers of so many animal species are declining rapidly because of our hunger for land and pesticide use, and you live in such a large city, there are so many turtles/tortoises crossing your roads that there’s a rehab place for them?

      It reminds me of the penguins who live on a beach near Cape Town (I wrote a post about them when I was in South Africa).
      – there’s synchronicity in my mentioning penguins because I got interrupted writing this reply and discovered that today April 25 is WORLD PENGUIN DAY
      http://www.greenpeace.org/international/en/news/Blogs/makingwaves/world-penguin-day/blog/44934/

  10. nrhatch says:

    Great quote! And photo.

  11. I agree with The Good Villager. So many turtles live in the wild. I wonder how the officer knew it was someone’s pet. Or was it? Very funny; it makes me wonder if it’s a joke. πŸ™‚

    • dearrosie says:

      We don’t live in an area where you’d see turtles/tortoises walking along the streets.
      I don’t know whether its a joke. I walked past there a few days ago and its still on the post.

  12. I love the other comments about the turtle maybe being “in the wild.” Do we have any wild turtles around here? LOL! I am concerned for someone’s pet…I know too well how Darwin gets out and tries to escape. I’d be heartbroken. But seriously…the proverb is a wonderful reminder. And what a perfect Wordless photo! πŸ™‚

    • dearrosie says:

      As someone who has a pet tortoise in your backyard – and only a few miles from my house – I was hoping you’d come along and give us your expert opinion. I know from following your blog how easily Darwin gets out of his confined area so when I saw the sign I immediately thought of him, and you.

      I don’t know whether our lost fellow has gone back to his home. When I walked past the sign a few days ago it was still up on the post, and I haven’t phoned the number.

  13. Sartenada says:

    Great finding. Fortunately, it did not run too fast, and so they found it. πŸ™‚

  14. frizztext says:

    TURMOIL ABOUT A TORTOISE

    • dearrosie says:

      Nice word play FrizzT. I was going to save this post for your A-Z “T” challenge but I posted it now in case his owner happened upon my blog. You never know….!

  15. Fantastic. A wonderin’ turtel. i have never heard the like…

  16. jane tims says:

    Hi Rosie. I think it must be my turtle. About ten years ago, I put our red slider in the garden pond, to see if he would swim there and of course, he never came back when I called. It must be him. He answers (when he answers) to the name Lucky Paddles. It was nice of them to post the Found notice. Jane

    • dearrosie says:

      Well Jane that’s good news eh? When I posted the photo I really hoped that the owner would come upon the sign and be reunited with their pet and now you have. Amazing that Lucky Paddles managed to walk here all the way from eastern Canada! Wow he should go into the Guinness Book of World Records

  17. bronxboy55 says:

    In order for a turtle to get lost, the owner has to not be paying attention for a really long time.

    • dearrosie says:

      Exactly! We’ve all been wondering what happened to the turtle’s owners. I know some people abandon their pets when they move (including several of our neighbors) – a despicable, almost unbelievable act of selfishness. I hope our turtle just went exploring and got lost.
      Thanks for your great comment Charles.

  18. Peter Robin says:

    Hi Cousin Rosie, While Pam and I were in Tobago last month we saw a Giant Leatherback Turtle laying eggs on the beach, it was about 3.00am and apparently this is the time when they are most likely to be seen laying there eggs from March till September. There was a whole crowd of people gathered around to watch this amazing sight and the only light was from the moon when it decided to come from behind the clouds. The Turtle was a huge size and it was an experience we shall never forget…….Hope that you are well Rosie and keep up the good work with your Blog xx

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Peter,
      Thank you for joining in the conversation. Tobago is one of the islands I’d also love to visit.

      What a thrill to stand on a beach in the middle of the night and watch a Giant Leatherback Turtle laying her eggs πŸ˜€ I’m sure it’s going to be an experience you’ll never forget. Were you able to photograph the turtle laying her eggs?

      I didn’t know that turtles lay their eggs over a six month period. Thank you for explaining it.

      • Peter Robin says:

        Sorry Rosie I think you may have misunderstood me, I didn’t mean that they lay their eggs over a six month period, rather, they only come ashore one time and lay all their eggs in one batch, but that can be anywhere from March till September, so sorry for any confusion…….and no we did not take any photographs as everyone had to be very quite and could only whisper for fear of frightening the turtle away. xx

      • dearrosie says:

        I totally misunderstood the egg laying procedure. Thank you for coming back to explain it Peter.

        I thought there’d be a restriction on taking photos because you said you didn’t even use flashlights. It think it shows some respect to the animals. They only lay their eggs in the middle of the night to protect them from predators. Do you know how many of those eggs actually hatch?

  19. Robin says:

    I wonder how it got lost. I was going to joke about turtle speed, but see it’s been done. Besides, we have snapper turtles here in the Bogs and boy, can those things MOVE when they want to.

    • dearrosie says:

      I thank you for telling us that snapper turtles live in the Bogs of Ohio. I don’t think I know what they look like. Are they large?
      If they’re called snapper turtles do they bite like penguins?

      • Peter Robin says:

        Snapping Turtles can be very aggressive Rosanne and can easily bite off a human finger if they are not held with care. They are much smaller and faster moving than a Leatherback.

      • Robin says:

        Peter is right, Rosie. The best way to cope with snappers is to let them be. They generally won’t attack unless cornered. We have lots of them in the pond, but nobody has lost a finger or toe yet while swimming in there. πŸ™‚

      • dearrosie says:

        Thank you for explaining this Peter – now I know something about snapper turtles.
        Before this conversation all I knew was how to spell *t-u-r-t-l-e*… πŸ˜€

      • dearrosie says:

        Hi Robin
        I’m amazed that snapper turtles are smaller, move faster and are more aggressive than leatherbacks but because you “let them be” they’ve never attacked a human swimming in their pond… It’s a lesson of harmony, of not judging others who are different from us …. Love it.

      • Robin says:

        I was thinking that I’d done a post or two about Snapping Turtles, and found this one:

        http://bogsofohio.wordpress.com/2007/08/16/bysfi-swimming-with-snappers/

        And here’s a good look at one I met up with at a local arboretum when the guys were out checking the turtles to see how many there were and if they were in good health:

        They seem like very old creatures to me, as if they were around with the dinosaurs. I suppose I ought to be fearful of them, but we get along okay. I encountered a few today. It’s amazing how quickly and silently they move into the water. They slide right in without a splash. The older ones are often hard to see because they’re so covered with mud and algae that they blend right in to the edge of the pond.

      • Robin says:

        And meant to add that the photo in that first link (post) is a Snapping Turtle. I was not as well acquainted with the wildlife around here then as I am now, and wasn’t sure about identification.

      • dearrosie says:

        thanks for the links to the turtles… Good to know the one on the rock is a snapper. The photo of the turtle in the second link is absolutely brilliant Robin. Wow!

        And as I said on your blog, your pond is much bigger than I realized. It’s more like a dam.

      • dearrosie says:

        Forgot to mention I also think turtles/tortoises are old wise creature who were around with the dinosaurs. Interesting to read your description of “how quickly and silently they move into the water.”

  20. AAwwww …. perhaps, the turtle is in the midst of this turmoil. I think you might find this story applies to this missing turtle.
    Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2012/11/1/occupy-the-blogosphere-the-turtle-family-picnic/

    • dearrosie says:

      Isadora I have to repeat what I said on your post: Your story is brilliant, and absolutely *perfect*. It took my breath away when I read the punch line πŸ˜€
      Congratulations

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

