Nice neighbors from Norway

Why do so many people go on vacation over Easter? The Museum had record attendance figures over the past couple of weeks.

As several of my blogging buddies have reminded me its been a while since I last wrote a post on the museum,  and as it’s the day for FrizzText’s weekly challenge – which is at N” – here are some recent “N” stories from the Museum.

“N” for nasty:

Thankfully I don’t meet many nasty people.

Last week an American woman walked up to my cash register picking at the fever blister scab on her lip. Ewww! I didn’t want to touch her money. 😦

 * * * * * *

“N” for Names:

A woman paid with a check and gave me her driver’s license as her I.D, but the two names on the check were totally different from the two names on the license.
“Look at the signatures,” she said.

I did. “Sorry, they don’t look at all alike to me,” I said.
She got really angry. I won’t repeat what she said.

 * * * * * *

“N is for Neighbors

I see Canadians and Mexicans all the time.

I really enjoyed chatting to Carolina and Christian from Mexico City (in the photo below) who are both studying for their Masters Degrees in the U.S.

They told me they’d be happy to show me around Mexico City.  Aren’t I lucky!

Mexican couple studying in Chicago.

Carolina and Christian (from Mexico) studying in Chicago.

Carolina and Christian were such a friendly Nice couple.

“N” is for nice

I can honestly say that 99% of the people I meet at my cash register are really nice.

Many groups of international students visit the museum. Last month I met a group of eighteen-year-old who were spending the year studying at American high schools.

The two girls (in the photo below) were going to school in Wyoming.  They told me they loved their U.S. families and their school, we laughed about the strange food in the U.S. and discussed what its like living in a small town in Wyoming.

DSCN8448

Josefine Kroeswagn from Austria on the left, and Merel Snyders from Holland

Esther and Marit (in the photo below) lived in Kentucky.  They also love their American families and their school and will be friends for life!

DSCN8447

Esther Yo Wu (from Taiwan) on the left, and Marit Gjerjordet Prytz (from Norway)

I had an interesting conversation with a guy who told me he was born in Iran, and he and his Norwegian-born wife both grew up in Dubai. He explained that he spoke with an American accent because he went to the American school in Dubai, and his wife who went to the British school, spoke with an English accent.

Their two children aged eight and ten who also spoke perfect English, have lived in Dubai, Norway, Paris and they moved to Los Angeles at the end of last year.

I asked them with all their travels whether they had a favorite country:

  • the children both answered “Norway!”
  • Dad said, “Paris.”
  • Mom giggled and said “Norway.”

After the family left I realized that I keep meeting the nicest friendliest people from Norway.

So N is for Norway.

I’m always impressed that Norwegians speak such good English.

Though I can’t speak Norwegian, I’m able to mimic the accent. When I served two Norwegian girls yesterday I read out their names and the names of their banks on their credit cards, and they told me that I pronounced it all perfectly.  Tusen takk :D

Bjornar Saettem and Heidi Larsen teachers from Norway with their baby daughter

Bjornar Saettem and Heidi Larsen from Norway with their baby daughter Solveig

I really enjoyed meeting Bjornar Saettem and Heidi Larsen and their cute little baby (in the photo above). They are both teachers from Norway.

They told me about  their travels around the U.S, their town on the west coast of Norway, the long winters and short days (the sun only rises around 10 am in the winter!),  that they also like hiking, the food they eat …

Bjornar showed me some his photos on his phone, and very kindly remembered to email them to me.

The photo below is of a famous road through a Fjord in Norway. I stand corrected, but I think it’s called the Trollstigen road.

Just looking at the narrow road with its hairpin bends on those steep inclines, I’d imagine you need to be a highly skilled driver to even attempt it.  I couldn’t do it.

(You can see Bjornar  – on the right – waving from the viewing balcony which overlooks the road).

look at the switchbacks on this road.

I can’t imagine driving on this road. (photo credit Bjornar Saettem and Heidi Larsen)

They took the photo of the fjord (below) overlooking the village of Geiranger in western Norway (near the famous road)

(Can you see Bjornar waving from the rock near the top on the right?)

beautiful view of a fjord

Beautiful view of the fjord at Geiranger (Photo credit Bjornar Saettem and Heidi Larsen)

 

Geiranger is a small tourist village in the western part of Norway. According to Wikipedia 

Geiranger is home to some of the most spectacular scenery in the world, and has been named the best travel destination in Scandinavia by Lonely Planet.

The Geirangerfjord is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

I hope Bjornar or Heidi will come by and tell us what it was like to travel on the road or hike up the fjord.

 * * * * * *

I can’t resist this one: Nosepicking. When people are tired and sit on the bench opposite me relaxing …

 * * * * * *

and finally Never

One accent I Never guess correctly is Belgium. I was stumped again today.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Not America, Wondering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Nice neighbors from Norway

  1. i.e. fullstop says:

    It’s not nice and in fact rather nasty to nosepick, especially when your Norwegian neighbors are nearby nibbling on nachos. That’s never nice, nearly negligent, quite narcissistic and very nasal.

    • dearrosie says:

      My gosh that’s one heck of an “N” sentence i.e. fullstop 😉

      Yesterday morning at work when I realized it was FrizzT’s wordchallenge day I asked one of the elderly Museum volunteers to help me come up with “N” words, and he gave me:
      nothing, nobody, near, necessary, nation, Norway, Nepal, Naples
      He came back an hour later and wrote
      negligent, night, neanderthal, neighbor, noon.
      And said “I hope you win the competition”
      and when he left a little girl standing on the side asked me whether I had “nephew” on the list.

  2. frizztext says:

    “…I can’t resist this one: Nosepicking…” –
    nice neighbours’ gallery, Rosanne!

    • dearrosie says:

      Glad you like my “N” gallery FrizzT. When I decided to challenge myself by doing “N” at the Museum I could not think of anything starting with “N” but once I started it was easy, and in fact there are more “N” words I didn’t share!

  3. It’s actually quite normal and acceptable to pick your nose in public in China. And if you are cooking food right after that to serve to your customers, well so be it!

    Great post 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Oh my gosh Tara life in China is certainly never dull. I cannot imagine enjoying my meal after the chef has picked his nose over the pot! Hah hah

      If you’re sitting on a bench with someone who is picking their nose is it considered rude if you don’t also pick your nose?

  4. adinparadise says:

    You’ve met some very interesting people. I too wouldn’t like to drive those hairpin bends. That fjord is lovely.

    • dearrosie says:

      I started my blog mainly because I wanted to share the stories of the tourists I meet at my cash register – I meet hundreds of people every day and they are all fascinating with interesting stories… Yesterday I had a Jane Austen moment when a man at my cash register thanked me by kissing my hand.

      I don’t think I could even be a passenger driving on those hairpin bends!

  5. kz says:

    lovely people. what a road!

  6. Yes, I can see him perched up on a rock!
    Very nice people you work among and so many young ones, too.
    Mexico City has a lot of very nice, fun loving people.
    I saw a news segment several years ago that Norway has more cell phone users per capita in the world. That may have changed, but funny I remember that.

    • dearrosie says:

      Brilliant photos aren’t they? I cannot imagine how on earth he got to that rock.
      I meet hundreds of interesting and really nice people every day – I have so many cash register stories waiting to be shared.
      Have you been to Mexico City Georgette? I know that they have many excellent Museums there and I’d love to visit but the crime keeps me away…

      I hadn’t heard the story about Norway having so many cell phone users. i wonder why? Is

      • shoreacres says:

        The Opera browser, one of the biggest in the world and maybe the most used on cell phones and smart phones, was developed by Telenor, a Norwegian telecommunications company. That may help to explain the popularity/use of so many cell phones in Norway. The last I read, Opera has well over 300 million users worldwide.

  7. sybil says:

    Oh, now I want to visit Norway. I’d drive that road but V E R Y S L O W L Y

    • dearrosie says:

      I think driving that road must be like going on a very scary roller coaster! Can you drive stickshift? I don’t think you could drive with an automatic car along those hairpin bends.

  8. Tina Schell says:

    What a fun post! well done 🙂 I was in Norway in 1972 (yikes!) and it’s a VERY fond memory. I’m sure it’s changed a bit since then!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you Tina. I’m very honored that you enjoyed my “N” challenge at the Museum. Your comment reminds me that we were last in Germany and Holland in 1972. I wonder how much they have changed?

  9. I want to go to Norway so badly, I can’t stand it! I love your museum posts, as always — you make me laugh!

    • dearrosie says:

      Me thinks you’ll be going to Norway soon, and telling us about your drive along those amazing roads! Have you ever been there?

      So glad to know you still enjoy my Museum posts Betty. An interesting observation: they are the posts that get the lowest ratings!

  10. nrhatch says:

    FANTASTIC post, Rosie!
    From Nasty to Nice to Norway to Nosepicking. :mrgreen:

  11. lexiesnana says:

    Lovely post. You made me giggle .

  12. shoreacres says:

    I just love this post. For one thing, you gave some props to “nice”. I think “nice” is nice. I like nice people, nice places, nice days. I don’t think “nice” is boring at all, as some people do.

    There aren’t many Norwegians in California, from what I can tell – not like North Dakota or Utah, for example. But you have a good bit of Danish heritage around – Solvang near you, and Ferndale up north . Ferndale’s very near the Lost Coast, too, which has some of the best hiking and camping I found while living in Cali. Something to think about!

    • shoreacres says:

      That would be, “you gave some props to nice”. Apparently “N” also can be for “Not paying attention”. 😉

    • dearrosie says:

      In certain circumstances using the word “nice” would be boring, and we use it much too much anyway, but I guess it works here. Thank you Linda for always giving an encouraging comment.

      Oh my gosh I didn’t know you lived in California Linda. I know the Danish town Solvange as its not too far up the coast, but I’ve not heard of Ferndale. I’m going to check it out.

  13. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Rosie, I so enjoyed this posting. It reminded me of what my mom said to me often as I was growing up: “Dolores, you find what you look for. If you look for good you will find it and if you look for bad you will surely find it too.” And I suspect that you look only for good and so you meet such wonderful people because your goodness brings out the best in everyone. Peace.

    • dearrosie says:

      I didn’t think of it but I guess you’re right that I only look for the good in people. Thank you Dee.
      My Mum also had her famous repertoire of expressions.

  14. All human life is there, isn’t it, Rosie? Museums attract everyone, it seems…

  15. I’m enjoying this series of Letters very much Rosie. Clever idea.

    My knuckles would be permanently attached to the car were I to experience that hairpin road. The photo of it is all I hope to know first-hand!

  16. Great post, Rosie! You tied in all those “n”s so nicely! I just showed Tim the pictures of Norway that Bjornar Saettem & Heidi Larsen sent to you, and my desire to visit that beautiful, friendly country is stronger than ever…

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m delighted to know that you shared something from my little blog with your Tim. 😉
      I hope you do visit Norway one of these days Barbara. I’d also very much love to go to Scandinavia….

  17. andrewwlyon says:

    I love that you get to know everyone that comes to your register! How cool to see the different stories and cultures!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Andrew,
      Always a pleasure to welcome a new blogger to my blog.

      I enjoy meeting the people I serve. I guess because I like people I don’t just ring up the purchases and take their money, but I get to know something of each person before they go on their way…

  18. balladofthebee says:

    A very interesting read. It’s always a lot of fun to meet people from around the world. So many wonderful stories.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Balladofthebee,
      Thank you for visiting my blog.
      Before I started working at the Museum I’d never seen so many people or met people from places like Afghanistan or Saudi Arabia or one of the Pacific islands

  19. I’ve been thinking that Norway might be a nice adventure locale too. Your pictures remind me of the Rockies. Now I definitely want to go.

    • dearrosie says:

      I hope you don’t have to wait too long to have your adventure in Norway and meet the Norwegian people Renee. Take your hiking boots when you go 😀

  20. souldipper says:

    I love your Reports from the Register, Ms. Rosie!

    Apparently, Norway is largely populated by Old Souls. There’s been a great deal of incredible evidence that supports this claim. They are just so calm, sensible, kind and peaceful!

    • dearrosie says:

      Nice to know you also enjoy the cash register stories Amy. Thank you.

      I hadn’t heard the story about Norway being populated by Old Souls. Wow that is so interesting Amy.

  21. It is a joy to meet nice and friendly people from different countries. So much to learn and discover from each other. Norway looks beautiful and more beautiful are it’s wonderful people. Great pics.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi IT,
      You must meet many interesting people at the Emergency Dept of your hospital, but they’re not calm and friendly and ready to chat…

      I think Norway must be one of the most beautiful countries.

  22. fgassette says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  23. Laura says:

    Hello Friend! Great posting about “N”. I am so glad that the museum provides you with so much material to write. So enjoyable. Miss you!
    Laura

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Laura,
      “N” is for nice friends who take the time to leave such a friendly comment on my blog. Thank you dear friend.
      I also miss seeing your smiling face at the museum.

  24. Robin says:

    Wow! I don’t think I’d be able to drive on that road either. You meet the most interesting (and apparently nice) people! 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      I think the best part of my job is the people I see are all enjoying a day relaxing with their families, or on an artist’s date so they aren’t often tense or angry.

  25. Sartenada says:

    Wonderful post. Norwegians are really nice people. I know it, because we have been there thrice. Last summer we made road trip beyond Arctic Circle starting it just at Arctic Circle, Finland. and we drove to Kirkenes, Norway. Our best road trip was to drive to Nordkapp, Norway. This happened in 2006 and I am planning to publish a post from it.

    • dearrosie says:

      What does Sartenada mean? Is it your name? Can I call you by your first name?

      Of course I sometimes meet Finnish people at my cash register, and they have all been really lovely too and also speak good English, but for some reason we see more people from Norway. Another interesting observation and I can’t tell you why: we consistently see more tourists speaking French than Italian.

      You’ve driven to the Arctic Circle? Wow to start in Finland and drive round to Norway sounds like it must have been a wonderful adventure. I’d love to do something like that. I’m going to come read your post.

  26. Sartenada says:

    Hi. Sartenada means panful. It is my pseudonym. My first name is Matti which is very common name in Finland. Of course You can call me Matti. To see French and Italian speaking people might be natural that to that there are more people living in these countries. In Italy there are more than 60 millions, in France about 66.2 million, In Norway about 5.0 million and in Finland 5.4 million people.

    I have visited many times at the Arctic Circle. Roads are in good condition, even in winter. The real North starts from there. Again good roads, nice places for stops and quite much to see. From Helsinki (capital of Finland) to Nordkapp (Northernmost point) reachable by car can be fastest made by car in two days. Well, it requires a lot of driving. Roads are good according to standards here in the Nordic countries, but of course they are not highways. I encourage You make a visit in those Northernmost places during summer or preferably in July or in August. In August there are generally warm and sunny day. If You come someday to the North then remember that that there are no nights, because sun is not setting during summer! This causes some problems to sleep at first night.

    When we made that road tour, we had bad luck with the weather, cold and rain. One week later it was summer weather. I’ll tell more in my response to Your comment of my first post of Arctic Circle.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

