lost in the details…

This post is part of “WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge” Lost in the details 

According to my car thermometer it was 87 degrees F at 2:30pm today.

DSCN8153

On warm spring days like today I could almost do a Baryshnikov-type ballet leap across front lawns straight into the daffodils…

Daffodils on a neighbor's front lawn

DSCN8324

Iris

Iris

This isn’t snow on the sidewalk

Not snow - blossoms

but blossoms which come from a tree like this

Blossoms

Blossoms

.

It seems as if every garden in my neighborhood has a Magnolia bush.

Magnolia

Magnolia

Magolia Magnolia

.

Magnolia blossom are *perfect*.

.

purple and pink  …

DSCN8220

my patio…

I love flowers with intoxicating scent like Gardenias. I photographed this one on my patio this afternoon.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Photography, The Natural World, Tutto va bene, Wondering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to lost in the details…

  1. Who wouldn’t get lost in the multi-sensory details of flowers… 🙂 I was fortunate to be in your area a year ago this month, and I wandered the streets marvelling in the flowers and heavy bee action.

    Beautiful post!

    • dearrosie says:

      Tara I think you must be one of the few tourists who not only enjoys the beautiful spring gardens in LA, but appreciate that there are bees 🙂 I have bees and hummingbirds visit my little garden.
      Thanks for your great comment!

  2. Emma Baylis says:

    Beautiful! I am looking forward to spring even more now, even if we won’t get anywhere near your temperatures here, haha 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details (2 Branches) | What's (in) the picture?

  4. frizztext says:

    you’ve composed a wonderful tribute to spring, dear Rosie!

  5. Thank you for this lovely stroll. Temps in the 80s? It’s still jacket weather here.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Flickr Comments

  7. Nandini says:

    I love blossoms! Very pretty photographs Rosie. Thank you sharing. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      How nice to see you here Nandini 😀
      I also love blossoms. They’re such a gift and always make me happy!
      I think your spring is much earlier and you’re already in the middle of summer?

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In the Details | patriciaddrury

  9. Colline says:

    I can almost smell the scent of spring as I look at your pictures. Beautiful.

  10. You live in such a beautiful place!!

    • dearrosie says:

      LA is a beautiful part of the world and though the traffic is horrible and my commute to work is not something to be envied, I can walk in my neighborhood on March 1st and see and smell all this beauty.
      Isn’t it spring where you live Betty?

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details – Spanish Revival Architecture | Humbled Pie

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog

  13. Pingback: WPC Tibet | What's (in) the picture?

  14. sybil says:

    “Warm spring days” 87F ?!!!! Say what ? That’s the hottest of hot summer days here. The high today was 2 or 3 C (around 36 F). And I thought that was marvellous. It’ll be June before the magnolias bloom. It is so lovely in your neighbourhood.

    • dearrosie says:

      Above freezing is marvelous for a March day Sybil. Did you go out with the dogs?

      I went to Halifax once in June and was so surprised that the lilacs and magnolias and spring bulbs were blooming so late. I didn’t complain though – it was great to enjoy a second spring.

      Its not easy to take photo when walking dogs because you have to hold the leash between your knees, or under one foot, and hope the dog doesn’t rush off somewhere. MontyCarlo was very obliging yesterday and waited politely for me…

  15. nrhatch says:

    Lovely shots, Rosie. It’s brisk here today, but should return to the 70’s by Tuesday. While “hibernating” I’m liberating unneeded papers from files, and working on the taxes. Photographing flowers would be more FUNNER.

    • dearrosie says:

      Strange to hear your weather is keeping you indoors Nancy. In Florida?
      Do you have any seasonal variation in the flora in your part of the world?
      Photographing flowers is way funner than sorting through papers for tax time, but somehow not as impressive.

      • nrhatch says:

        It approached 60 yesterday . . . certainly warm enough to be outside, but cool enough that I decided to focus on indoor tasks.

        There is some seasonal variation, but I’m less focused on spring flowers because we have blooms year round.

        I AM impressive, aren’t I? 😉

      • dearrosie says:

        I didn’t realize that you’d have a seasonal variation in your flora, but thinking about it of course you have to have blossoms on the fruit trees! Do you have magnolia trees?

        It was only 62 degrees today. And windy. But I ate my lunch outside.

  16. It’s true that all is a-bloom and just gorgeous! I love the Magnolias , too, Rosie! Aren’t they just spectacular? And I can see the Jacarandas are getting all dressed and ready to perform soon! Beautiful photos! 🙂

  17. You’ve made me even more excited for spring blooms to arrive here…because one thing it’s not, is 87°F outside! LOL Soon enough… Beautiful pictures.

  18. thanks, rosie, for such a lovely stroll through the spring landscape! the flowers are lovely. i think those elegan purple iris are my favorites.
    z

  19. wightrabbit says:

    Your neighbourhood looks lovely in it’s spring finery, Rosie! It certainly cheers me up and gives me hope that we’ll soon be experiencing warmer weather, here in England. The scenery is bleached out and grey at the moment, with temperatures just above freezing. On a day like today, I could happily move to warmer climes! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m really happy to know my little post cheered you up. I wrote the post wanting to bring cheer not to make people feel jealous. I think England has the best spring – its so green and I love the way the daffs are allowed to just cover the hillsides.

  20. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – “Lost in Details” – Finding My ‘Special’ Shine – | Just another wake-up call

  21. shoreacres says:

    My gosh! Spring certainly has made more of an appearance in your world than in mine! We’re about a month away from full spring, I suppose.

    I love your gardenia. When I lived in Liberia the front of the house was graced with those beautiful bushes. Their fragrance was overwhelming, in a good way. I discovered a bush growing in one of my customer’s yard, and was free to snitch a flower occasionally. I’d bring it home and put it on my desk and breathe in spring with delight.

    Such a wonderful post! And by the way – if you haven’t noticed, WP has a little glitch going on just now. Responses to comments aren’t showing up for many people. I hope they fix it soon.

    • dearrosie says:

      I can imagine that your garden in Liberia must’ve given you a lot of pleasure if you had more than one gardenia bush in the front. I like the way you describe their fragrance as “overwhelming, but in a good way.”
      My little gardenia bush looks as though its going to give me several blooms this year which makes me so happy.

      Our spring is late this year. My jasmine is usually blooming by the end of February, but it hasn’t quite opened yet.

      I did wonder what was going on with the comments. Thanks for letting me know.

  22. adinparadise says:

    How very beautiful, Rosie. I love Daffodils too. Being surrounded by such gorgeous flowers and blossoms, must really put a spring in your step. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      I like all the spring bulbs but I think Daffodils are my favorite. If I’m feeling blah I just need to go on a walk and being able to see the beautiful gardens always puts the spring back in my step

  23. jane tims says:

    Hi Rosie. Like a walk through spring. We have so much snow, but the stuff is melting. I love the purple and pink, and the ‘snow’ petals. Jane

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Jane, Your spring can’t be that far off now. Just another month or so…
      I think the purple and pink is some kind of ground cover. Its lovely isn’t it?
      I’m so happy you noticed the “snow” petals. There were beautiful carpets of them last week but I didn’t have my camera.

  24. Rosie, what an uplifting post. Laughed out loud at your Baryshnikov leap: I shall mirrir yours if, or when, Spring reaches our shores. (We are beginning to have our doubts!)

  25. Pingback: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 9, 'Lost in the Details']. | 3rdculturechildren

  26. restlessjo says:

    Such interesting people we meet online Rose! I wandered this way from Catbird’s Shine On award, and am intrigued by your mix of parents. I was always encouraged to write my Dad’s story but haven’t got beyond starting. There’s a cast of thousands and it’s a little daunting. It doesn’t really feel like it’s mine to tell.
    The blossom comes and goes so quickly! Still a while to wait in the UK.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for taking the time to read a few of my posts and to leave a comment Jo. It’s very much appreciated.
      Nice to meet you too. I look forward to following you and your blog. 🙂

      I’m sure spring is just around the corner over there in the UK!

      Perhaps we can inspire each other to write our parents stories?
      I understand that you feel your Dad’s story isn’t yours to tell but if you don’t tell it no one will hear the story…

  27. The water (or is it rain?) on the gardenia is so lovely, it almost transports the fragrance of the flower out of the screen.

    I didn’t know magnolia came in pinks, too! Such beauty! You live in such a beautiful place, Rosie.

  28. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Rosie, what your gorgeous posting has done for me is to affirm my resolve to do square-foot gardening this summer and plant veggies and perennials. I had both in Minnesota and this will be my fourth summer here in Missouri and it’s time to decorate the yard! And, of course, feed my hunger for beauty and taste. Peace.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Dee,
      What is square-foot gardening?
      When you’re hungry for beauty and color and the winter seems to go on forever planning your summer garden really helps. It did for me when we lived in a cold country.
      Do you have room in your basement to plant your own seeds?

  29. It’s first day of Spring in Texas and today, you shared the many beautiful visions that this season brings. Can’t wait. Thanks.

  30. Robin says:

    These are beautiful details to get lost in, especially on a day like today here in the Bogs. It is gray and cold with the occasional rain/snow mix. Old Man Winter doesn’t want to let spring in. He’ll have to give way eventually. 🙂 I love flowers rich with scent, too. I can almost smell your gardenias.

    • dearrosie says:

      I hope seeing my pictures helped lift your spirits Robin. I don’t want to make anyone feel frustrated or jealous when they come to this post.
      Do you plant flowers in your garden?

      • Robin says:

        Flowers just come up in my garden. I suppose some people would see them as weeds, but I can never bring myself to pull them if there are flowers involved. My asparagus bed is full of Black-Eyed Susans, daisies, and other flowers I haven’t identified. It doesn’t seem to have harmed the asparagus. We also have a lot of bulbs planted around the property which is fun in the spring as things begin to pop up.

  31. fgassette says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  32. restlessjo says:

    The magnolia and palm tree shot looks like an ostrich stretching its neck, Rosie. Don’t worry about me- life takes me that way sometimes.
    Love the irises.

  33. dearrosie says:

    hah hah Jo they do look like ostriches stretching their necks. Every time I walk past that garden from now on I’ll be reminded of the ostrich and think of you. I like that 😀
    I met the woman who lives in the iris house. She told me they are about 200 years old. I must share the story.

  34. nice selection for the challenge …

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

