Tagged “i” is for my parents …

a-z3

When I saw that this week Frizztext’s A-Z Photo Challenge is “i“, I just had to join in because:

“i” = India my Mother’s birth place

 Sikh pilgrim at the Harmandir Sahib (Golden Temple) in Amritsar, India. The man has just had a ritual bath.

Sikh pilgrim at the Golden Temple in Amritsar, India.   [This photo by Paul Rudd in the Public Domain won Wikimedia Commons First place Picture of the Year 2009]

“i” = Israel my Father’s birth place

Dome of the Rock

Dome of the Rock in Jerusalem. Photo by Yaakov Shoham [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

I’m really sad that I still haven’t been to India, and I’ve only been to Israel once when I was seventeen,  and although I don’t have my own pictures to share with you, I have the stories.

I’ve threatened to write their stories for half a century (good grief!), perhaps this will nudge me to start.

About a year before my father died I interviewed him at my kitchen table.

“Where were you born?” I said

“That’s not important. I was born in bed,” was his answer. 

[oh man, I’ve already got tears running down my cheeks]

“i” also = Italy our favorite European country, and “i” = Italian ice cream

Gelato

Gelato store in a Tuscan hill town

When in Rome do as the Romans do 😀  When we’re in Italy of course we eat ice cream every day. 😆

It was a happy day when we discover the Italian gelati chain GROM, in Turin.

GROM’s  mission is to make gelato the slow, old-fashioned way, with top quality, mainly Italian, seasonal ingredients, and no artificial colorings and preservatives.

DSCN2725

 As you know if you’ve been following my blog for a while, GROM followed us home to Southern California. Their Malibu store opened two years ago.

DSCN8148

GROM in Malibu

In Italy I learned to combine limone, a fruit sherbert, with something made with milk like Nocciola (Hazelnut), or coffee…

Earlier this month on our way home from walking on the beach in Malibu we stopped at GROM. I had mandarin orange sherbert, with mint chocolate.     OMG  😛

If I’m at an American ice cream store, I’ll usually order vanilla, because I think it has the least additives and colorings.

Do you have an “i” story to share with us? What is your favorite ice cream?

DSCN2907

One day last summer I had apricot and chocolate.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Not America, Photography, Tutto va bene, Wondering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Tagged “i” is for my parents …

  1. What a fascinating heritage Rose 🙂

  2. sandypics says:

    hey rose…you have an indian mom..how fascinating and what an interesting read…

    • dearrosie says:

      Really lovely to see you here Sandy. Thank you for your comment.

      Ever since I was old enough to think about it I’ve wanted to go to India to see my Mother’s birth country. I look forward to meeting you one of these days… Are you still in Bombay?

  3. Your post has whisked me off to better places than where I am. And oh, what I would give for a cup of chocolate and apricot ice cream… Thank you!

    • dearrosie says:

      That chocolate and apricot ice cream was one of the best combos! Ever.
      If you want apricot you must come visit in the summer – they only use fruits that are in season.

  4. Loved the musings of your childhood. You are truly a global being and I wish to acknowledge you for that. What could you do to leverage that for better understanding?

    Shakti

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Shakti,
      Thank you for your really thoughtful comment. I like to think my global background has given me a better understanding of the world and the “people” who live in it. When I stand at my cash register [in the Museum where I work] I meet people from all over the world and it doesn’t matter where they come from or whether they can even speak English, or are young or old, I can find something to chat about, because I don’t judge them. A little human kindness goes a long way.

  5. frizztext says:

    dear Rosie, that has been a very wise and proud answer by your father:
    you wrote:
    About a year before my father died I interviewed him at my kitchen table.
    “Where were you born?” I said
    “That’s not important. I was born in bed,” was his answer.
    +
    Frizz: India, Israel, Italy or Iceland – no matter where you were thrown in by birth: it is important, what YOU are doing with yourself!

  6. I can see why you jumped on the letter “i”. And for both your parents to have been born in countries beginning with the letter “I”, you have a very interesting heritage (another “i”). If you ever go to India, I wonder what revelations you would write about: the things you would recognize about your mother. Indian culture has certainly worked its way recently in American film: Outsourced, Marigold Hotel, Slumdog Millionaire and the novel Jasmine. Have you ever read The Far Pavilions? I loved that novel.
    We know you love GROM’s. From what I can google and search, there is no GROM in Houston. That will be saved for when daughter can take me to Malibu when I return to the west coast some day.

    • dearrosie says:

      To write my mother’s story I feel I need to go to India to smell the place, and once I know what it smells like I’ll be able to understand the country and write about her life there. I read the Far Pavilions many years ago and also loved it.

      I know I’ve mentioned GROM many times already [and I apologize for being boring] but I had to include it under “i”! So far it only has a couple of branches in NYC and the one in Malibu.

      • Interesting you mention the “smells.” That’s exactly what I was thinking. When I arrive to DF’s airport and soon as I get out on the street to hail a taxi…I smell the “tortillas” everywhere!

  7. E fullstop says:

    I have a special affinity for the letter “i” as well. I was born in Italy and lived there until I was 9, but my parents are Israeli. And their heritage goes back mostly to Eastern Europe, but other places as well. We moved to Los Angeles more than 20 years ago, and now I’m married to a Filipino. You could say that “I” have a bit of an identify crisis, but I prefer to think that those of us with a rich cultural heritage are citizens of the world. I like Shakti’s question on how we can leverage that for deeper understanding. It’s something I often think about.

    As for ice cream, you brought me to GROM for the first time (I don’t think it was in existence yet when I lived in Italy)! Like you, I have a weakness for gelato, which I prefer over sorbetto. My favorite flavors are nocciola, pistachio and cioccolato, but I particularly like to ask for an “affogato al caffè” which is a scoop of vanilla with a shot of espresso over it. Yum!

    • dearrosie says:

      oh gosh E what a rich cultural heritage! You come by your membership in the “i” society very honorably. Do you mind if I change your name and call you “i.e” fullstop 😀 ?

      I’m delighted that I could introduce someone born in Italy to GROM, and so glad that it didn’t disappoint you.
      I still haven’t tried an “affogato al caffè”. Next time…

      • i.e. fullstop says:

        Of course you can call me that. And we’ll make sure to have an affogato next time we’re having gelato together.

      • dearrosie says:

        That’s why I love you i.e – you’re always ready to enjoy a joke.
        OK next time we’re in the Malibu area you’re not allowed to rush off somewhere because we have a date – we’re going to sit on the lawn outside GROM and enjoy our affogato al caffè together!

  8. You do wonderful combinations! …. you choose 2 very different gelatos combined in one cup and have 2 wonderful heritages combined to create the one and only “you”… 😀 …delightful!

  9. Debra Kolkka says:

    I love Grom. There is one in Florence and I go there regularly. Venchi (the chocolate people) have opened a gelateria in Florence and now I am torn between the 2.

    • dearrosie says:

      Oh lord you go to the store in Florence “regularly”. Sigh… Lucky you.
      I don’t know Venchi but I’m sure it must be marvellous.
      Do you have a favorite GROM flavor??

  10. This was a wonderful sharing, Rosie! I loved just the snippet of story from your family, and look forward to more when you can put them to paper! Grom is a new one for me…but I’ll be ready to check it out just as soon as I can. And sadly, I’m unimaginative today, I guess. The only “I” for the moment is that I’ve recently been on an iced tea kick! Adding flavors like vanilla or other spices has been very pleasurable. LOL! That’s not much to add to an exciting list like you’ve shared, I’m afraid! Lovely post!

    • dearrosie says:

      When you go to the beach I don’t think you usually go as far north as Malibu. I’d be delighted to take you to GROM Debra.

      Have you always enjoyed iced tea? I don’t particularly care for it. I drink hot tea – strong – with milk.

      • We don’t go to Malibu for our beach time, that’s true, Rosie. But we like to explore the area from time to time just driving up the coast. You’ll have to take me to GROM sometime, though. That would be fun! 🙂 Yes, I have always liked iced tea. And it’s funny but I can’t drink coffee without milk, but I don’t need it in tea! oxo

  11. Would love to read your parents’ stories . . . .

  12. sybil says:

    Time to start saving for that visit to India …

  13. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Rose, my favorite brand is Breyers because it has no additives. I like their peach. I also like Ben and Jerry’s cherry garcia fat-free yogurt. My favorite ice cream of all time though was at a speciality shop and it was hazelnut. Peace.

    • dearrosie says:

      I didn’t know that Breyers is free of additives. Thank you for letting me know. I also like Ben and Jerry’s – though I don’t know their “cherry garcia fat-free yogurt”. I’ll buy some next time I buy store bought ice cream and let you know what I think.
      Dee if you like hazelnut I hope you can try GROM’s Nocciola. Its delicious!

  14. travtrails says:

    fascinating response to alphabet ‘I’

  15. Rosie, now you’ve got me wondering when and how your parents’ paths crossed, how they met and fell in love…

    My favorite ice cream is chocolate and we usually get Breyers or Ben & Jerry’s. Was really hooked on Phish Food (B&J’s) for a couple of years. I’ve had store-bought gelato several times, but I bet it tastes amazing straight from a gelato stand!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Stay tuned. Tagged “j” will tell more of the story 😀

      We’ve tried quite a few B&J’s flavors but I’ve never tasted “Phish Food.”
      Nothing pleases me as much as a good chocolate ice cream. There are several varieties in the stores that are surprisingly good. (I’ve never bought Breyers ice cream).

  16. adinparadise says:

    What an interesting heritage, and lovely photos, Rosie. I also love Italian icecream, and when we were in San Gimignano, I had Chocolate Grand Marnier, Raspberry & Rosemary, and Creme do Patzi Chocolate Orange. Yummy indeed. You can see my pics here if you like. 🙂
    http://adinparadise.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/travel-theme-tradition-under-the-tuscan-sun/

  17. Great post … enjoyed it.
    Thanks for visiting my blog.
    Isadora

  18. bronxboy55 says:

    I’ve been to Sicily and Naples a few times, and I usually get pistachio-and-coconut, or one of those two with lemon. There’s nothing like gelato on a sunny day, especially when you have nowhere to be.

  19. Amy says:

    Wonderful heritage, Rose! Great post!

  20. shoreacres says:

    i got all the way through and couldn’t find anyone who’d noted the wonderful irony here – the most used word on the page about “i” is “I”!

    As for gelato – Georgette is right. No GROM’s here. But we do have Talenti, made in Dallas, and it’s wonderful. My favorite is mint chocolate chip, and it’s especially pretty and tasty because they use fresh mint. And the sea-salt caramel is good, too.

    I have to laugh – I wonder if the drones from the new base they’ve proposed building near Malibu will hover over the sidewalk cafés and check out the new flavors?

    • dearrosie says:

      hah hah you’re so observant. I used it a lot didn’t I?
      A gelato made with fresh mint? mmmm that sounds like my kind of ice cream.

      Oh god Linda I hadn’t heard of the proposed building near Malibu. Thank you for including the link. The Navy has some big bases near San Diego so I guess they feel they need a presence further north.

  21. nrhatch says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a few projects mapped out:

    Trip to India
    Trip to Israel
    Writing your parents’ biographies
    Eating more gelato . . . for research purposes, of course! 😉

  22. what beautiful lineage! you are a very special woman!!!! z

  23. Madhu says:

    Ah, delighted to meet an ice cream lover! Gelato is a huge part of any travel plan with me 🙂
    Wish there were more people like your father!

    • dearrosie says:

      Always happy to meet another gelato fan. One of the biggest delights of traveling is eating the local food – I have no patience with people who “are on diet” when they go on vacation.

      I must start writing my father’s story. He deserves it.

  24. Robin says:

    You have such an interesting heritage. Mine seems rather plain (vanilla) in comparison. India is on my list of places to visit, which is all I can think of as an “i” story right now, although I did live in Illinois at one time and have visited Indiana on a number of occasions. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Robin perhaps we could charter a plane and all us blogging buddies could go to places like India together…

      To some people Illinois and Indiana most probably sound exotic and marvelously exciting places to visit 😀

  25. I for impressive. You’re heritage is so rich and beautiful. Love ice cream too although I have to slow down on my sweets for health reasons. Have a great day!

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

