on a rainy day in Los Angeles

It was raining when I went to work yesterday, so I wore my black velour hat with the flower on the side.

“You look lovely,” said my Mr F when he kissed me goodbye,”You’re going to get a lot of complements today.”

😀

Of course everyone stared when a woman wearing a Davy Crockett hat and a full length fur coat walked into the main store. Although it was raining, it wasn’t cold, or snowing – I think the temperature was in the 50’s F.  I felt hot just looking at her and tried to guess where she came from.
“Nice hat!” I said when she came up to my cash register.
“Thank you. They’re very popular in Moscow,” she said.

File:Coonskin cap.JPG

It’s easy to identify Canadians because they wear sandals and shorts on a rainy day in the winter, and they ask for the “Washroom“…

“Where’s the washroom?” a middle-aged woman in a long skirt and sandals asked me.
“Go straight to the white sculpture: woman to the right, men to the left.”
“Is that a political statement?” she said.

😀

I cannot imagine why anyone would walk around wearing one of these tee-shirts:

SARCASM
Just one more
Service I offer

* * * * *

I don’t care

* * * * *

How many comments did I get re my hat? One, from Wazir, a Security Guard …

“When you wear that hat you look like one of the volunteers,” he said as he walked past my cash register.

I laughed so much I got a stomach ache. I think that’s one of the funniest comments I’ve heard at my cash register.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/51/Jacquette_L%C3%B6wenhielm_1824.jpg/512px-Jacquette_L%C3%B6wenhielm_1824.jpg

Jacquette Löwenhielm 1824. Public Domain

 My days are never dull in the museum.

Do you wear hats on rainy days? Are Davy Crockett hats popular where you live, or just in Russia? Have you ever received a hilarious “complement”?

 

 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Tutto va bene and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to on a rainy day in Los Angeles

  1. Elisa says:

    Yes, it involved the name Super-Vera and the inflatable green boobs, a sidekick fuzzy duckling named Drano, Mr. X(who was a paperbag masked child with a stick figure flat type face drawn onto the bag–and morphed into a comic strip.

  2. Hilarious! Especially the Canadian stereotype (all stereotypes are based in reality, yes?). Luckily, I’m a two-layer minimum type o’ gal, regardless of the weather, so I’m not immediately identifiable as a Canuck 😉

    I always find Chinese compliments the funniest because they are always lies. They’ll compliment you on something that they don’t value. It’s about keeping relations smooth rather than actually connecting with someone. I had a good example the other day. I travel alone a lot, and Chinese women always say, “You’re so brave.” But, I have a young, single, female Chinese colleague who travelled alone during the holiday this year, and she lied to all the staff about it – said she went with her family. The other women (these are people with masters degrees!) would have thought poorly of her, and possibly called her a whore. If I don’t laugh, I cry.

    • dearrosie says:

      I was hoping to get a response from my Canadian buddies. Do you wear socks with your sandals in the winter?
      What is the euphemism for the public toilet in China?

      I didn’t know about the Chinese habit of complimenting you on something they don’t value. How very strange! I’m shocked to learn that women have to lie if they travel alone. Good lord this isn’t the 18th century! I’m glad you’re still able to laugh 😀

      Even though you’re not enjoying your time over there it sounds as though you’ve got enough “stuff” for several books on what its really like living in China in the year 2013.

      • Oh man, I was enjoying myself until the foot incident, which has dominated three quarters of my time at my current college. I can weather the nonsense much better when I am good spirits, so once I heal…!

        Socks and sandals, you know I wore those in the winter in high school. Near Toronto, so it was ‘warm’ enough – well and the younger you are, you tend to feel the cold less… In university, winter was frequently -30 to -40 Celsius, so socks and sandals were out (outdoors, at least). And I’ve done it on and off in other warmers places I’ve lived. I don’t wear shorts ever, so that combo has never happened.

        Honestly, I’m picky about the look. The sandals have to be Birkenstocks or something like them. The socks have to be cool. I used to knit my own, so I had that covered. No sport socks allowed.

        Why do Canucks do it? I don’t know. Probably because someone somewhere saw one Canadian in that attire, it turned into a rumour or stereotype, and then everyone started doing it. It is pretty funny though, and I still like it 🙂 I’m so glad you’re seeing it where you work!!!

  3. sybil says:

    I’m a Canadian woman who only goes to the left. 😉 I wear a s’ou wester’ hat when it’s raining very hard. You can see photos of it here: http://crittersnus.blogspot.ca/2012/12/two-days-of-big-rain-and-winds.html

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      We’ve been blogging buddies for long enough that I know you’re a Canadian who’d always go to the left! I can imagine you giving me a similar answer 😀
      Thanks for the link to your s’ou wester’ hat. Its beautiful and practical – even has ear flaps!

  4. Doris says:

    Here in Texas you get to see a lot of cowboy hats and boots, but if is cold and you ware a regular hat people will stare….I have a black knit hat with a rose on it and people keep telling me if I was blossom from the show ha! this year has been so hot that I have not use it at all. I learn about a washroom today will tell my friends never been in Canada so did not know.

    • dearrosie says:

      Oh yes if you’re looking for the toilet in Canada you ask for “the washroom”.

      I didn’t realize Texas was having such a warm winter this year.
      Hats are very popular over here. Perhaps more people in Texas will be wearing them next winter.

  5. I don’t wear a hat because my head is too big for most hats. But I always envy people who look good in them. I love your experiences at the museum. People always make life interesting, eh? (as a Canadian would say)….. I love the story about the Davy Crockett hat! 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      I also have a large head so was delighted to find hats that fit me.

      Perhaps because I enjoy meeting people and listening to their stories I learn so much about the world just standing at my cash register. I thought the woman in the Davy Crockett hat was Russian but if I hadn’t chatted to her I wouldn’t have known that those hats are popular in Moscow 😀

      • Yes, I know. I wouldn’t think the Davy Crockett hats, with the tails, would be popular in Moscow either. Maybe just the fur hats, without tails, yes, but not the ones that look like an animal!!

        As far as “life at Rosie’s cash register,” you can just stand and observe the world go by and then pass all your quirky stories on to us!

  6. I’d love to see a picture of your hat, Rosie!

  7. adinparadise says:

    Your black velour hat with the flower, sounds delightful. Why no pic of you wearing it? I thought Dav Crockett hats went out in the 1950’s. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Why no pic of me wearing my chapeau? Simply because I don’t have one! I’ll have to get Mr F to take a photo and share it another time.
      Everyone stared at the woman in the Davy Crockett hat because they’d gone out of fashion 60 years ago, and it wasn’t cold enough for a fur hat! (the temps were in the 50’s F)

  8. nrhatch says:

    I seldom wear rainhats . . . especially if I have a hood to pull up. And I haven’t seen any Davy Crockett hats around here.

    Or fur coats, for that matter. 😀

  9. Don’t get many Davy Crockett hats in the UK!

    • dearrosie says:

      My brothers wore Davy Crockett hats when they were kids. This was the first time I’d seen a female wearing one. It looked very nice but she stood out because it wasn’t cold – just raining with temps in the 50’s F

  10. island traveler says:

    Hats and the wardrobe we wear are not only a product of fashion. It is a part of an amazing culture where we came from. Somehow, despite of weather and what the latest trends says, we wear them with pride. Somehow it reminds us of what were were once and where we came from. besides, it’s a great initial topic of conversation. Have a great weekend.

    • dearrosie says:

      You know exactly what its like to be an immigrant, and how desperately we look for those few things that remind us of home. Thank you for your great comment IT.

      The coonskin woman looked very elegant in her hat and fur coat and when I commented I could see she was very proud of her outfit.

  11. Lynn says:

    Hi Rosie! It’s Purim so quite fitting that you wore a hat to work! I went in a Chinese shirt and a hat and everyone loved the long black braid that grew overnight and trailed down the back of my neck! Hag Sameach!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hag Sameach! Happy Purim Lynn 😀
      Your outfit sounds really lovely. I must get me a hat with a long black braid! Is your Chinese skirt covered with beautiful embroidery?

  12. I bet you looked adorable in your black velour hat as Mr. F confirmed.
    In my book you’re brave to wear a hat. I never do as it’s something to keep up with–like umbrellas. It’s enough for me to keep up with Rick’s. I think I hear “Have you seen my hat?” every other day. I think I would probably lose mine taking it off once I get inside.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks Georgette 😀 I’m so fortunate to have such great supportive blogging buddies.
      I bought this particular hat about 20 years ago! It keeps coming back in fashion 😛
      I keep my hats on the shelf above our coats – come home hang up my coat, take off my hat! Easy.

  13. Hats off to you, Rosie, for wearing what I’m sure is an adorable hat! When AA Hubby and I went to the opera in NYC the first time, I didn’t realize that our tickets were for the Metropolitan Opera theater – not the grand Lincoln Center. Duh! We got all dolled up – black taffeta gown for me, tux for AA Hubby. How awkward, when we realized we were among only six other couples who didn’t get the memo about what not to wear. But, the gray-haired woman in the Ladies Room during intermission … the one in the PINK and black faux-zebra fur coat … told me, “You look stunning!” I wasn’t sure what to make of that from … a woman in a PINK and black faux-zebra fur coat!!!

    • dearrosie says:

      oh my goodness AA what a hilarious story. You should write a post about it. The Ladies Room encounter with the woman in the pink and black faux-zebra fur coat is the cherry on the top!

      I’ve been to theaters where I didn’t get the memo about dressing up and in fact one time I my brother and I went to the Symphony Theater we were escourted to the manager’s office because my brother wasn’t wearing a tie.

  14. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Rose, I wear woolen hats all the time in the winter–even in the house when I’ve turned my thermostat down and get cold an hour or two before bedtime. I have received some funny compliments in my time. I know because I can remember laughing but I can’t remember exactly what was said. I’ve been blessed with a good sense of humor and so I’ve had much laughter but the memories of the occasions seem to be folded into my general belief that life has been good. Peace.

    • dearrosie says:

      When we lived in a cold city my ears would ache when the temp got close to freezing, so I always wore a wool hat and didn’t care what I looked like. In LA I wear hats for fun!
      Like you I’ve laughed a lot. I think a good sense of humor is an essential quality for a happy life. Its not so important to remember exactly what was said, so long as there’s laughter with it.

  15. shoreacres says:

    The only time I wear a hat is when I’m working outdoors in truly cold weather. That happens less often these days – not because of any global warming, but because as I age I’m getting pickier about what conditions I’ll work in. I used to work when it was in the 30s. No more. Now, I’ll go down to 45, unless it’s blowing a hundred miles an hour. But my work hat? A lovely salmon-colored cashmere watch cap. How’s that for class?

    I love your title. Isn’t “rainy day in Los Angeles” an oxymoron? That reminds me – did I ever give you the wonderful Tennessee Williams quotation about Southern California’s rocking horse weather? If not, I will.

    • dearrosie says:

      A salmon-colored cashmere hat sounds gorgeous, but I had to look up watch cap because I wasn’t sure what it looked like –

      “It’s a knitted dark blue wool cap worn by seamen in cold or stormy weather”

      I’m not surprised to learn its a “seamen’s cap”. 🙂

      Thank you for noticing the title. Those few little words are so important. I sometimes spend longer trying to come up with an suitable title than I do writing the post.
      I don’t know how rainy days we get in a year. I’d say less than a dozen.

      No you haven’t shared the Tennessee Williams quotation about Southern California’s rocking horse weather.

  16. Very popular in Moscow. I love it 😀

  17. frizztext says:

    very popular in Moscow – why not introduce in California too …

  18. frizztext says:

    at first I thought a cat with tail was fixed there …

  19. Robin says:

    I love your museum stories. 🙂 I don’t wear hats very often. In the winter I wear one because I’d freeze when I’m outdoors if I didn’t. It keeps the heat in. It’s one of those funny knitted hats with ear flaps braids (there’s probably a name for them but I don’t know what it is). I put it on, go outside, and then take it off every now and then because I prefer to be hatless. On rainy days, I wear a coat or sweatshirt with a hood and just put the hood up if I don’t want my hair to get wet. Or use an umbrella (when I can find one — they disappear a lot around here).

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

