Wild Weekly Photo Challenge: People in Nature

Over the past few years I’ve spent many hours walking many miles in the great outdoors. I’m delighted to share a few favorite moments with you

  • along the Camino in Spain

early on morning

DSCN5286

Rosie the Peregrina

cyclists along the Camino

cyclists along the Camino

  • What to do when you’re hiking on a hot August day in Malibu, and your prince of dogs in his thick poodle coat is unable to carry on? We first struggled to find shade next to the little straggly bushes, and when that didn’t help, Mr F picked up and carried the poor humiliated [and heavy] dog down the hill.
Poor hot doggie

Poor hot doggie. R.I.P.

  • I took the photo below in Anza Borrego Desert State Park an area of more than 600,000 acres east of San Diego and almost to the Mexican border.

Native Americans hunted and gathered here 5,000 years ago.

Nearly two-thirds of the Park is still pristine wilderness, sheltering an astonishing amount of plant and animal life.

Anza Borrego

Anza Borrego

 

  •  Do you wonder what it’s like to hike? I took the next few photos on the Backbone Trail in Los Angeles county.

DSCN4604

DSCN4544

 

 

DSCN4234

  •  No one would argue that food tastes best when eaten outdoors
DSCN4389

Lunch with a view

Walking along the Camino

Picnic by a lake in Yosemite

 

I hope my post has inspired you to go outside.

This post is part of the on-line adventure travel magazine LetsBeWild.com’s  Weekly Photo Challenge for bloggers. Click this if you’d like to see some of the other entries for this week’s challenge  People in Nature.

 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Wild Weekly Photo Challenge: People in Nature

  1. E fullstop says:

    Nice shots! I especially like the one of Mr F carrying doggie. That’s true love!

    • dearrosie says:

      It was true love e fullstop because not only was our Prince of dogs really heavy, it was awfully hot with no shade, and the hike included some hills. Poor chap as far I think that was his last hike before he went blind.

  2. That poodle photo made my day 😉
    Your first photo is of the magical, surreal quality that you find on those beautiful inspirational posters that have sayings like “Every journey begins with a single step…”
    Beautiful collection, R. Thanks 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for joining the conversation with such an uplifting comment Tara. I’m truly honored by your description of the first photo. The person in the photo is Lynne, one of the Canadian pilgrims I walked with, she’ll also love your comment.

      When you first looked at the photo of Mr F carrying the poodle did you think he was carrying a child wearing a coat, because the dog’s so big?

      • I love the word pilgrim, and I especially love that it can be used in this day and age where we can so easily feel disconnected with the idea of journeying and seeking on the most basic and personal of levels. Very nice.

        With regard to the poodle, I’m pretty sure I saw DOG when I saw first the photo. I have very happy memories of these types of scenarios with the dogs in my past, although I will say that I’ve never seen a dog on the receiving end of a piggy-back carry 🙂

      • dearrosie says:

        I just realized that you and I became blogging buddies after I walked on the Camino. I’m very proud of my title “pilgrim”. I wear it with pride.

        Piggy-back was the only way to carry such a large dog all the way back down the hill. He was so grateful he didn’t squirm too much.

  3. There’s something about seeing people walk down a trail that makes one want to follow.

  4. Citra Rahman says:

    Your first photo is magical! And ‘lunch with a view’ is sooo peaceful..

  5. I love these photos! Just to think how wonderful hikings you have had. I have always wanted to walk the camino…maybe when I’m retired? We used to carry our little dachshund when we had one. She was a good walker, but more than 10 kilometres was a bit too much. There was room for her in my backpack, thow. Since then we have only had bigger and stronger dogs. I still think she was a tough one.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for your comment lagottocattleya, I’m glad to read that you also like hiking.
      A ten kilometer walk for a little dachshund is a lot. She must’ve looked too cute sitting in your backback. Do you have a photo of her?

      As I’m not yet retired I wasn’t able to walk the whole Camino – one needs 4-6 weeks to walk all 750 km and I don’t get that much leave. I joined a group which walked the last 250 km spread over 11 days. It was a life-changing experience and I hope to do it again.

      • I understand your wanting to walk again…And, I cannot get that much leave either. My little one – no I only have old paper photos of her. She was called Sara and was the first dog I bought for myself when I moved away from home. I was nineteen then, and she stayed with us for nearly fourteen years. In fact she was still alive when I got my first child. This dog was so beautiful with long hair, all red and black, but I have never had such a stubborn creature in my life as she was…

      • dearrosie says:

        Sara sounds like a little character. I’ve never seen a dachshund with long red and black hair. I thought they were all short haired brown dogs – shows what I know.

  6. If I ever walk the Camino or the Backbone Trail, I would remember your posts. I assume the first photo was taken at morning. It’s beautiful. And the view at lunch is magnificent.

    • dearrosie says:

      I hope you’ll be able to hike the Camino or the Backbone Trail one day Georgette. We always look for a scenic spot to eat our lunch. When you eat while looking at a view like that you feel small and so grateful to be alive that somehow the flavors of the food – even if its just a simple sandwich – explodes in your mouth.

      I took the first photo early one morning soon after we left the refugio so it must’ve been around 7 am. (I checked iPhoto for the exact time, but my camera was still set on Pacific Standard time!)

  7. Food really does taste best when eaten outdoors… This post brings back so many memories…

    Your poor poodle with his black coat! When we were little we used to travel from Connecticut to Florida in a black station wagon with no air conditioning. Oh how we suffered! I remember my mom telling my dad that black absorbs sunlight and retains heat and that white reflects it away. Our next car was a white station wagon!

    • dearrosie says:

      When you say it brings back memories, where were you when you ate outdoors? Whenever I eat while looking at a view like that I feel so grateful to be alive and somehow the flavors of the food explodes in my mouth even if its just a simple sandwich.
      Was it cooler in the white car? I know what it’s like traveling in a hot car without air-conditioning. Every summer when I was a kid the six of us crammed in my father’s brown car and drove to the ocean – depending which seaside resort they chose it was a drive of 350 to 1000 miles.

      • It seemed cooler in the white car – who knows if it was actually or if we simply believed it was? 🙂

        The first vivid memories I have of eating outdoors was when I was a teenager living near Athens, Greece. Frequently on weekends our family would hike over the mountain behind our neighborhood – the name of the mountain escapes my memory – bringing a picnic lunch of bread, cheese, wine and water. We would eat the simple food and take in the view of the ancient metropolis below – it was transcendent experience… Then we would climb down the other side in the afternoon and take a bus home from the little village there. We often encountered shepherds and their flocks on the mountain.

        Another memory that comes to mind was when Tim & I and our preteen children took a walk in the woods here in Connecticut on a lovely autumn day in October when the changing leaf colors were at their peak. It started to snow! The flurries were so unexpected and very pretty, but we pressed on and found a campsite where we started a fire and cooked some lunch over it – what exactly we ate there also slips from my memory, too – and devoured our little feast. The little white snow flakes dancing with the bright orange, yellow and red falling leaves were simply magical. We didn’t want to leave but had to so we could find our way to our car before darkness fell.

      • dearrosie says:

        Its interesting that you believed the white car to be cooler so you felt cooler.
        Gosh Barbara your family lived many places when you were growing up – I don’t remember you mentioning Greece before! I went to Athens with my parents when I was 18 and can imagine your simple picnic with that view of the city below and the hike to the other village, but I cannot imagine the thrill of meeting shepherds coming down the hills with their flocks! Wow what a wonderful childhood experience – you should write a post/posts about this 😀

        Your description of the fall picnic in the Connecticut woods left me sighing… another post waiting to be written.
        Thanks so much for sharing these memories with me.

  8. I love the photos and the spots you’ve chosen to highlight, Rosie! They’re just wonderful examples of some of the best. The photo of Mr. F carrying the doggy is just a fantastic photo. That could win a prize somewhere! At a minimum for the humor. 🙂 The opportunities to get outdoors are so plentiful in our climate, and I’m always amazed at those who don’t understand what a privilege it is to live here…despite the problems, myriad problems, we can claim fantastic weather! oxo

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for your great comment Debra. I’m glad you enjoyed the photo of Mr F and our prince of dogs. When I look at it now I can also laugh, but that hot sad afternoon in Malibu neither of us were laughing.

      You and I live in the most beautiful part of the world Debra, yet so many people who have lived here their whole lives may have been to Malibu and Palm Springs but have yet to go to Yosemite. The hills are calling to me but my neighbors hear the call of the cash registers at the Shopping Mall.

  9. frizztext says:

    Mr F picked up and carried
    the poor humiliated [and heavy]
    dog down the hill…
    R.I.P. —

    • dearrosie says:

      Funny that we can now laugh at the photograph, when it was such a sad afternoon. We were all in tears – even our poor dog. That was one of the last hikes he did.

  10. sybil says:

    Lovely photos Rosie. As this time of year (in Nova Scotia), I’d re-locate somewhere warmer in a heartbeat.

    • dearrosie says:

      Oh poor Sybil. I’ve lived in a place with long cold winters so I can really understand how you long for warm sun on your back.
      I miss your old gravatar with the octopus on your head, but you look really lovely in this new picture

  11. shoreacres says:

    The first photo is my favorite. I feel movement in it, as though if I watched long enough you’d disappear from sight. It is just beautiful.

    I’m eager to get out and walk. There are plenty of paths within striking distance – it’s all a matter of time and priorities. There are so many things I want to do and can’t seem to fit in – especially reading and hiking. Perhaps it will get easier as the days get longer. We haven’t had much a winter as far as cold or nasty weather, but the days are short, and that makes a difference. Every minute of sunshine has to be devoted to work – the downside of outdoor labor!

    Simple food, eaten outdoors, is delicious. I ate a good bit of bread, cheese and fruit in my travels across France, and a better meal you couldn’t ask. There are some that only can be served up in cafés or restaurants, but I’m happy to leave those for “treats”. 😉

    Thanks for such a wonderful (and humorous!) collection. It’s such a joy to share in your travels this way.

    • dearrosie says:

      I don’t often enlarge pictures from my holidays but I have an 11×14 inch enlargement of the first picture on the wall next to me. I must tell the person in the photo – i.e. Lynne one of the Canadian pilgrims – what you said.

      I can still taste some of those “bread -cheese-fruit” picnics we’ve eaten in Europe… There is no finer way to dine.

      I don’t think you need to wait for warmer weather or longer days, you just have to put on your hiking shoes and get out the door. We went on a 7.5 mile hike in the high desert earlier this month. I can’t wait to show you the pictures from our picnic spot.

      Thanks for your great comment Linda.

  12. Nature is one place wjere we can feel so free, at peace and yes, feel that adventurous spirit and thrill. Beautiful and exciting pictures. I always wanted to go to Yosemite. Perhaps this year? Have a great week.

    • dearrosie says:

      What a great comment IT. You have captured exactly what I feel when I’m outdoors: it’s exhilarating and exciting, and I feel free, and at peace.
      Have you ever taken your son hiking? I’m sure he’d love it.
      I’d also like to go back to Yosemite this year!

  13. rynnasaryonnah says:

    This post has inspired me to go outside to have a walk or run at the Botanic Gardens (which to me is beautiful – or at least as good as it can get here in Singapore). Problem is, it’s raining cows and unicorns right now. Judging from the weather pattern the past few days, this will probably only stop in fourteen hours. 😦

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello and welcome to my blog rynnasaryonnah. Thank you for your great comment. It’s such a pleasure to welcome someone new and how very exciting to see you’re from Singapore. I don’t know why but I’ve always wanted to visit your island nation. I’d love to visit your Botanic Gardens – the orchid garden must be really wonderful
      http://www.sbg.org.sg/

      “Singapore Botanic Garden is a 183-acre botanical garden in Singapore. It is the only botanic garden in the world that opens from 5 a.m. to 12 midnight every single day of the year….

  14. My outdoor walk would be snow covered. But sometimes those are the best.

    • dearrosie says:

      I love walking in the snow when it’s freshly falling and everything is so still and white, and I don’t mind walking in snow after its fallen as long as the snow banks aren’t black from car exhausts.
      What synchronicity that you left me a message because I was thinking of you earlier and was going to come see what was going on over at your blog. Its really scary that your cat just suddenly attacked you and gave you two dozen serious wounds! What happened to the cat? Did you have to put it down?

  15. adinparadise says:

    Great adventures and photos. Your poor poodle dog.:(

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m delighted to welcome you here adinparadise. Our poodle was a gentleman, and it was so humiliating for him to allow himself to be carried back down the hill. Poor fellow.

  16. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Rose, I’ve been away from reading blogs for the past six weeks and so I’m missed so much of your traveling. Your words and photographs do encourage me to begin to exercise again. I so need those endorphins!!!!

    As to the Camino in Spain, I remember reading about it in our sixth grade readers in grade school. The readers were historical literature and I traveled throughout the centuries and Europe that year with my reader!

    I’m glad you enjoyed that novel I suggested to you. I’m wondering if you’ve ever walked in France. If so, I’ve been reading a series of novels you might enjoy. Peace now and ever.

    • dearrosie says:

      How lovely to hear from you Dee. I haven’t walked much in France but I loved the last book so much that I’m always ready for book recommendations from you.
      You don’t have to think hiking and mountains. Start small and simple by just put on your walking shoes and discovering your neighborhood. I must do a post on my favorite walk in my neighborhood – depending on how I feel I can add extra loops to make it 3-5 miles long.

      Wow you have an amazing memory that you remember reading about the Camino in sixth grade. Its astonishing how much of northern Spain has hardly changed in 1000 years – I walked through many villages that looked and felt as though I’d walked back into the Middle Ages.

  17. you are knocking these posts out of the ball park! way to go, dear sweet amiga! they’re all lovely images, too hard to select a favorite on this one! z

  18. nightlake says:

    Hi Rosie, These were lovely photos!

  19. Robin says:

    Beautiful series of shots, Rosie. The first one is stunning. I’ve been to Anza Borrego Desert State Park. It was my first and only visit to a desert, and I was surprised by how much life there is in a desert. We were lucky enough to be there a few days after a rainfall, and there were some flowers blooming.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Robin,
      I hope to go to Anza Borrego again this winter.
      It rained once when we were in Palm Desert, and we were astonished to see how carpets of flowers appeared overnight. It was like magic!

  20. eof737 says:

    Wonderful shots… I want to do the Camino walk… TY! 🙂

  21. dearrosie says:

    I waited about twenty years. Just be patient, you’ll go when its the right time for you. Amen to that.

  22. I love your photos of your walk along the Camino. You know you are really inspiring me!

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m delighted to know I can inspire you Cathy. I’m still digesting your wonderful trip and brilliant photos of Katmandu. Gosh I’d love to go there one day.

      • After I do the Camino, which I hope will be soon, I would love to go back to Nepal myself and do some kind of trek, possibly to one of the base camps. I’m dreaming of all of these things. And I love the inspiration we all give to each other. 🙂

      • dearrosie says:

        I’d love to hike in Nepal. In 1997 we were planning a trip to India that included a hike in the Himalayas but then Mr F got a job in the States and suddenly we were busy selling our house and packing up for the big move and the trip to India got placed on the back burner.
        I also feel so fortunate to have met someone like you who inspires me with all you do. I hope we can meet one day.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

