Wild Weekly Photo Challenge: Water

If you said to me “Quick what do you think of if I say “water?” I’d say: the ocean.

One of my favorite photos of the ocean, is this one (below) which I use on my “masthead” at the top of my blog. I took it when Mr F and I hiked the medieval footpath that links the five villages of the Cinque Terre region of Italy. As you can see the path is high up and winds along the coast through vineyards, and olive orchards that grow on the steep slopes  …

Cornelia, from the Parco Nazionale delle Cinque Terre

I took this photo on the rocks below the lighthouse at Finisterre, in Spain. In the middle-ages this spot marked the edge of the known world.

from the lighthouse at Finisterre

Some of my favorite beaches are in Malibu, which has a twenty-one mile strip of prime Pacific coastline

Malibu beach looking south

Monty Carlo and a new friend playing on a dog friendly beach in Santa Barbara, which also has many miles of white sandy beaches

  Santa Barbara

Ah Cape Town…

Along one of the scenic routes near Cape Town

The only way get to this waterfall, a two-hour drive from Cape Town, we had to climb ladders on the rock face.

The water was freezing cold …

 

Talking of hiking, what is the most important item in your backpack …?
Water.

In Southern California we have to carry enough water for each day’s hike, but along the Camino there were public water fountains along the paths.

filling our water bottles in Spain

And finally, this concrete channel is the Los Angeles River. I’m not kidding.  Are we supposed to thank the Army Corps of Engineers?

Los Angeles River

After the 1938 flood the Army Corps of Engineers encased the forty-eight mile river bed and its banks in concrete, allowing only a small amount of water to flow down its middle.

This post is part of LetsBeWild.com Wild Weekly Photo Challenge.  The Challenge this week is Water

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Photography, The Natural World, Wondering and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Wild Weekly Photo Challenge: Water

  1. OMG–I love those ocean/beach scenes. There’s nothing I love more than scavenging for shells on an early morning walk. That’s heaven. Lovely photos, Rosie!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • dearrosie says:

      I’d love to invite you to come join me on a beach ramble Kathryn, but we don’t have many shells on our beaches. The best beach that I’ve been to for “shelling” is Sanibel Island. Have you been there?

      I appreciate you great feedback re my photos. Thanks.

  2. Love the wildflowers in the second pic 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      The scene at Finisterre is one of my favorite photos from Spain. It’s a very windy spot and those wildflowers aren’t just managing to hang onto the bare rock, they’re blooming in that wind!

  3. Arindam says:

    Rosie Auntie, My favorite is that one of Malibu beach. It’s wonderful that, You and Mr F both share the same passion and come up with views like these. Thanks a lot for sharing these pictures. Beautiful post.

    • dearrosie says:

      I like your new gravatar Arindam 🙂 – you look happy. Does that mean your book is almost ready?

      Do you live near the ocean?

      The photo of the beach in Malibu was taken one day when I walked without Mr F, but you’re so wise to notice that we share the same passion for walking. I feel so blessed. When you get married as young as we did, you just don’t know.

  4. sybil says:

    The ocean — YES ! It’s why I love Nova Scotia so much. Your lovely and varied photos are wonderful.

    I thought they had gotten a bit wiser and were putting rocks and natural barriers in that stoopid concrete river. Something to slow down the flow during a flood. I’ve seen what happens to people who get caught in the flow when it floods.

    • dearrosie says:

      What a bloody shame that we live on opposite coasts of this large continent when we both share a love of the ocean and a passion for hiking and with dogs. I hope we can hike together sometime soon…

      I am saddened to know that you’ve seen what happens when people get caught in flooded rivers, but I still support the environmental groups who are pushing for the concrete to be pulled up so we can have our river back. A river, to me, is a place rich with fauna and flora, but there’s nothing living in that concrete channel so in my book it’s not a river. I love rivers, love sitting on the banks of a river listening to the birds and the water …

  5. mpejovic says:

    Beautiful ocean blue water!

  6. Imelda says:

    Lovely all. I like the one with the daisies best.

  7. Kathy says:

    How wonderful that you paused to honor water. So many times we take water for granted, when it’s more precious than practically anything. Although I liked many of your photos, my favorite is the waterfall. It made me delight! Thank you, Rosie.

    • dearrosie says:

      Kathy I’ve been sick the past couple of weeks and I could see I wasn’t well when I wrote this post because I didn’t have energy to rant about the way we take water for granted – switch on the tap and leave it running at full while we brush our teeth, water lawns in the heat of the day even when we live in the desert, install showers with half a dozen shower heads – etcetera. The sooner we start acknowledging how precious water is and that our supply is NOT limitless and take a look at how many societies died out for lack of water, the better our chances for survival.
      Thanks for helping me express what I needed to say.

  8. The seascape is amazing. Took my breath away just imagining what it looks and feels like watching the blue waters on top of the rocks. Each image just as beautiful as the next. Thank you for sharing this. A perfect way to soothe and calm my mind from all the troubles in life. Have a great week.

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m not surprised when an Island traveler like yourself appreciates photos of the ocean. Thank you.

      Oh dear IT I’m sorry to hear that you’re experiencing some bumpy times, but I’m really happy that my pictures can help calm and soothe your mind.

  9. Love the wide variety of Wild Water! I love that you’re doing this… I gotta get in on the action!

    • dearrosie says:

      You’ve been taking such incredible photos this year you should definitely join the photo challenges, it’s a fun exercise. I guess you’ll have to wait until the end of the year when your travels with Heifer are over, or are you going to continue with them?

  10. bronxboy55 says:

    Italy, Spain, South Africa. So many beautiful places, Rosie. Thank you for sharing these great views.

    • dearrosie says:

      Do you live near the ocean Charles? You never share photos on your blog but I’m sure you must have some great shots of oceans from your travels.

      • bronxboy55 says:

        I live on Prince Edward Island in Canada. We’re never more than fifteen minutes from the water. My daughter got married in August, and I took some nice shots of the ocean just before the outdoor wedding. I also have great pictures of the Mediterranean taken from the western coast of Sicily. (Hey, we both became in-laws this year.)

      • dearrosie says:

        I didn’t realize that you live on PEI? I’ve never been there but I’ve heard it’s a really beautiful part of the world. I envy that you’re 15 minutes away from the beach… and I’m sure you don’t have to face traffic jams …

        Do you feel any wiser now that you have the new title of in-law?

        I’m sure you must have some great photos. Have you ever thought of surprising your readers and sharing some of your photos on your blog?

  11. munchow says:

    For me it would be strange not to live close by the ocean. I love mountains, and I love hiking, but my home needs to be close to water. Great selections of photos. I have always liked your picture in the header, but didn’t recognize it as being Cinque Terre. Now when I see the whole frame, I notice it must be Corniglia on that cliff. It’s such a beautiful area, isn’t it?

    • dearrosie says:

      I also love mountains, ocean and hiking and had to wait for many years before we moved to a city at the ocean…

      So kind of you to complement me on my header picture Otto. It’s thanks to you that I’m sharing more of my pictures. Yes it was taken above the village of Corniglia. That walk along the ancient footpath connecting the villages of the Cinque Terre is one of my top five hikes of all time. I was really upset to learn that severe flooding a couple of years ago washed away large parts of the path.
      A while back you mentioned that you were going to the Cinque Terre. I’d love to see your pictures – especially of the flood damage.

      Thank you for your encouragement Otto. 🙂

      • munchow says:

        I went to Cinque Terre before the flood damage. But I have read that the reconstructions has brought much of the damaged areas back to how they were before the flooding.

      • dearrosie says:

        I’m so happy to hear that much of the damage caused by the flooding has been repaired..

        I’d love to see your article. Is it in an English magazine?

  12. Your seascapes are breathtaking, Rosie. You’ve been blessed to see the ocean from so many different shores on your travels. I cannot imagine living too far from the sea – there is something special about water, especially where water meets land there is a feeling of being in a sacred space. Forcing a river to flow through a concrete bed seems disrespectful to me.

  13. Robin says:

    Wow, Rosie! Those are some gorgeous beach scenes. Stunning. And the waterfall is really lovely (although I don’t know about climbing ladders on the rock face — not sure I’d have the courage for that!).

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

