Hiking in L.A: Backbone Trail – Six on Segment Six

Backbone Trail Map

I don’t know why I get so backlogged.  I still haven’t blogged about our last hike on the Backbone Trail. On June 16 – i.e. three months ago – six of us hiked Segment Six of the Trail.

Six of us hiked this segment (photo credit J.de Guzman)

Segment six is a 9.5 mile trail from Latigo Canyon parking area to Malibu Canyon parking area.

The National Park service issued a caution to hikers that the trail is sometimes hard to find.

trying to find the trail

Even with the help of two hand-help GPS units, and a detailed map, we got lost a couple of times.

which way…?

The hike took us past more beautiful sandstone rock formations

We ate our picnic lunch in a little shady spot by the path

lunch time

Even though it was mid-summer, there was still some water flowing in this stream.

The stream

The National Park Service site describes the flora of Segment Six thus:

Again traversing many canyons through chaparral, oak woodland, and streamside communities.

Unfortunately I don’t remember the names of any of the following flowers. One of the problems with waiting three months to post a story:

1. White flowers [= identified by e as  “California everlasting “]

2. “Dried” flowers [= identified by e as “Dried CA everlasting”]

3. We ate these flowers.[= identified by Linda and e as Yucca ]

4. Lillies? [=identified by e as Stream Lilly]

5. White

6. Purple

7. Thistle?

8. Thistle seeds?

9. the hillsides are covered with this yellow “plant”… [= identified by e as California dodder]

10 .The yellow plant even grows around flowers. [= identified by e as California dodder] 

11. Julie explained what these were but I’ve forgotten. We opened one of these to see what was inside.

12 From the leaves I’d say this a Holly bush, but from the fruit I’d say “apple” tree.

13. Flora or fauna?

Fauna

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Photography, The Natural World, Tutto va bene and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Hiking in L.A: Backbone Trail – Six on Segment Six

  1. Nandini says:

    Hi Rosie 🙂

    Wonderful photos. This place is quite very similar to Himalayas over here, in terms of soil, bushes, and the overall look. It actually reminded me of my winter picnic I went with family and friends, earlier this year. I too observed the variety of wild plants up on the mountain. Untouched, yet so full of life.

    Thanks for sharing. Keep having fun, and take care. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Nandini,
      Did you post pictures from your winter picnic?

      Many grateful thank yous dear friend for popping in today 🙂 I didn’t know what the Himalayan countryside looks like, and knowing that it’s similar to these southern Californian trials somehow makes me feel a step closer to my life-long dream of getting to India.

  2. aFrankAngle says:

    Love the pics Rosie! Keep on trekkin’!

  3. Kind of gives a different meaning to “I may not remember names, but I always remember a face.” 🙂 I enjoyed the view along your trail. I don’t know what it is about immense rocks. They always fascinate me.
    June 16? Was this before or after el Camino?

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Georgette,
      Good question! I did this hike a week after returning from the Camino – that’s why it lay forgotten and “trapped” in my photos.

      I find it very humbling to walk along trails next to immense rocks.

      I hope e and Julie will stop by and help me identify the flowers.

  4. WOW! i love the photos and i feel like i was on the trail with you! Thanks for sharing .. it’s always so amazing to know that California still has so many beautiful, open spaces like this! glorious!!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Betty,
      I think you’re still in Armenia? Where do you find time to leave comments?

      When people think of L.A. they get stuck on Hollywood, but really there’s so much more to the city. There are hundreds of trails like this in all the canyons and hills.

      Happy to know you like my pictures. 🙂

  5. sybil says:

    Rosie, you hike in such varied places. Thanks for sharing your wonderful photos and experiences.

    We have some swell trails here in Nova Scotia (hint, hint) 😉

  6. Corilee says:

    Great photos Rosie thanks for sharing – and seeing tiger lilies growing in the wild like that? crazy!

  7. shoreacres says:

    Those flowers you ate are yucca blossoms. They’re quite good, and often used in salads. I recognize a few more. I think I know where to find the ID of the “dried flowers”.

    If only we could get some cooler weather. I just don’t feel like getting out and walking in this heat. It’s hard enough to go to work and sweat the days away! But soon it will cool – maybe by October – and then there will be fall wildflowers to enjoy!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Linda,
      Yes I think you’re right that we ate yucca blossoms. The flowers are on the tall stick on the left of the path in photo #2.

      How do you manage to do your hard manual labor when it’s a triple digit hot summer day? You must have to drink a lot of water.

      The National Weather Service says our current heat wave will break by tomorrow. I hope so. I wanted to go on a hike along the beach today, but it’s much too hot to walk there, and I’m not the kind of female who walks with a brolly to shade me!

  8. Arindam says:

    Loved these pictures too. 🙂 I know, It’s sounding repetitive; but it’s true. Each picture from your hike is just wonderful. What was that flower, you ate? Was it Jasmine.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Arindam,
      I’m very happy that you like all the pictures from my hikes. If you think your comments are repetitive what about my posts? Is it boring to keep seeing photos of different hikes?

      I think Linda identified the flower correctly – a yukka. Jasmine does grow here but it blooms in the spring.

  9. Kathy says:

    Beautiful hike, Rosie. I enjoyed looking at your pictures and imagining it. Your hiking is so inspirational! OK, so are your days at the museum.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Kathy,
      Very kind of you to say my hiking and museum stories are inspirational.

      I look forward to meeting you and taking you along one of these trails. I know which one it’ll be (of course it’ll be by the ocean) and also know that we’ll do it in the next year or so, not next month because you’re going to be too busy with the wedding, but another time when you visit your Chris you’ll bring your hiking boots and we’ll finally meet each other …

  10. E fullstop says:

    Nice post! Here are some more flower IDs:

    1. California everlasting
    2. Dried CA everlasting
    3. Yucca indeed!
    4. Stream lily
    5. Not sure
    6. Possibly a species of Mexican sage
    7-8. Not sure
    9-10. California dodder
    11-13. Don’t know. Time to ask Julie on the next hike!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you so very much for popping in e! Now we can finally identify some of the flowers. Well I must say I don’t feel so bad when I hear that you can’t remember all their names!

  11. What an amazing adventure. I miss hikes like this. Just being close to nature without worries of the material world in the company of friends and family. A time to just be in tuned with yourself. Beautiful images!!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi IT,
      Ah a fellow hiker. I think you’d agree that there’s nothing better for spirit, mind and body than a simple hike in the wilderness where the only sounds are your breathing, the wind and the birds.

      Where did you hike? Was that before you moved to the United States?

  12. Robin says:

    Looks like a beautiful hike. The flora and fauna are so different from what we have here in Ohio. I’ve done a little bit of hiking in California, mostly in the San Diego area (Torrey Pines, and then east into the mountains and desert), somewhere around Monterey, and in the San Francisco area. I want to win the lottery someday so I can live in California for a year or so and explore it all. In the meantime, I’ll live vicariously through you and others. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Robin,
      California is such a huge State and such a beautiful part of the country I’d also like to win the lottery and spend a year exploring because I’ve barely seen any of it. The southern California flora and fauna are very different from Monterey and San Francisco.
      I’ve been to San Diego a few times but haven’t done much hiking in the area. When you said you’ve hiked east of San Diego have you gone to Anza Borrego? I think it’s north-east. It’s really beautiful there, and a noted place for night sky viewing. We haven’t been in a while – it’s time to go back there.

      • Robin says:

        I couldn’t remember the name and had to go look it up. Yes, it was Anza Borrego (and yes, it’s northeast). We went to Cuyamaca Rancho State Park first, and then on to Anza Borrego. We only had the one day so didn’t get too far into the desert, but we were lucky in that the weather was gorgeous (in the 70s and sunny) and there were flowers blooming. Maybe I’ll go through my photo archives and revisit it. 🙂

  13. Nice photos. It is so different than the Northwest, but it looks like a great place to hike.

  14. Pingback: Hiking in California: Backbone Trail Segment 7 | Wondering Rose

  15. Pingback: Hiking in California: Backbone Trail – Segment 8 | Wondering Rose

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

