Excuse me, have you said thank you?

Sitting behind this guy in yoga I read the words on his sweat shirt several times before I realized the message was meant for me.

Over the past six months several of my blogging buddies have given me blogging awards of which I am so proud,  but which I still haven’t acknowledged on my blog (although thankfully I have thanked each of you on your award posts).

(((hangs head in shame)))

It’s the highest honor to be singled out by one’s peers, and especially by people who have never met me.

The bus taking us from Madrid airport to start our walk

Thank you. I am truly humbled to receive this outpouring of appreciation.

When I walked the Camino I joined a group of eleven strangers from Canada.

But by the end of the walk these strangers felt like my family, just like my blogging buddies do,

resting in the shade

even though I don’t know you and don’t think I’d recognize you if you came up to my cash register, yet you continually encourage and inspire me to bring the best of myself to my blog – both in my words and pictures.

A sincere thank you to all of you.

In no particular order these were the awards I received:

*

*

The HUG Award© is for people who, without giving up or compromising their own religious, spiritual, or political beliefs, are able to nurture hope and respect the dignity of all people. 

The HUG Award© is for those who, without bias or prejudice, use their resources and gifts to make the world a better place for everyone.

The HUG Award©is for people who have a hope or an expectant desire that the work or talents they use in things such as blogging, public speaking, charity work, etc., will make a positive impact on the world….

*

  • In April another beautiful award from Otto, The Angelika Award 

for those who have touched my humble life, like a book, like a teacher, like a master.

*

[I hope I haven’t missed any awards.]

*

The awards – except for the last two – all come with  rules and requirements
1. Include the logo in a post on your blog.
2. Answer a certain number of questions about yourself.
3. Nominate a certain number of bloggers.

I know all my blogging buddies have been given these awards – some several times – and as I’ve done this a few times there isn’t much left I could say about myself that would interest you…

Instead of continuing the cycle and because I’m an Aquarian and we don’t like following rules, and because I love giving gifts, and also because once you’ve walked the Camino you have an obligation to share what you learned so you can inspire others, I’m going to give gifts I brought back from the Camino to these good people.

A mailbox in Madrid

My gift for Priya is this mail box.

Why a mailbox?

Priya once shared a photo she took of a mailbox in India, but quite honestly it didn’t look anything like a mailbox, so I asked her in a comment, “You mail your letters in that thing?” and she replied “Yes, of course. Why not?”

So now where-ever I go I bring back a mailbox for Priya.

This yellow pillar is a Spanish mailbox.  I didn’t believe it either, but my family received the postcards I pushed through the slot.

My second gift for Priya is the photo below of something I’ve never witnessed   before and I will always treasure the memory of that moment. The white cow had just given birth (which we missed unfortunately), but we watched her nudging the baby to stand up, and we shared the mother’s pride as the little one took it’s first steps.  For obvious reasons I’m delighted to share it with you.

mother nudging her calf to stand

*   *  *

The following two pictures are for Georgette

I know you’d be amazed – as I was – at the size and the beauty of the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela.  Our tiny group standing in front illustrates the scale of the Cathedral.

We took this group photo as soon as we arrived in Santiago (photo taken on Guy’s iPad)

Suspended from a pulley mechanism inside the dome of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela is the metal container (filled with incense) called the Botafumeiro

  • Botafumeiro means “smoke expeller” in Galician
  • The one in the Cathedral of Santiago is one of the largest in the world
  • It weighs 80 kg and it’s 1.60 m  in length
  • It was originally used to mask the smell of the unwashed pilgrims!
  • The current pulley mechanism was installed in 1604.
  • It is normally on exhibition in the library of the cathedral,but during certain important religious occasions it is brought to the floor of the cathedral and attached to ropes hung from the pulley mechanism.

Clouds of incense billow from the swinging Botafumeiro

We were fortunate to be at a service in the Cathedral with the Botafumeiro. 

It’s an amazing sight to see that huge thing swinging across the cathedral. Standing in the aisle taking pictures it seemed to be coming straight for me, and  ducked thinking  it was going to smack me on the head.

I took a movie of it, but when I came home I discovered I’d erased it by mistake. I’m not going to tell you what I said… I’m  thankful I didn’t erase everything from that day, so I have a few photos like the one above..

This movie on YouTube (by )  illustrates exactly what it was like

*

These photos are for Arindam who has a huge number of blogging buddies but still hasn’t told his Mom and his friends that he has a blog…

You never walk alone

You’re young, and if you need inspiration the photo below is of an 84-year-old woman who was walking the Camino in those sandals [!]). I believe she walked it last year too.

She’s 84

My favorite photo of a path early one morning  …

early one morning

*

For Betty:

This cheese was light like ricotta

Reading your posts about your meals as you travel around the world [at Heifer 12×12]  leaves me fascinated, horrified and often starving.

Your description of the  homemade farmer’s cheese in Rumania reminded me of this lovely cheese we ate in  O’Cebreiro.

… delicious with toast at breakfast

and a photo of this graffiti I found on a wall next to the path

I can’t spell
But I can feel
I will always
Remember what you did
For me, from the
bottom of my heart
THANK YOU
181 k on E1.91
(not E2.91)
P.S. The banks are still Bastards

.

And some history for Betty:

In 1962 the old village of Portomarin was submerged to create the Belesar reservoir.

Portomarin, with the Church at the back

.

The town’s treasure, the 13th century Church of San Juan (which once belonged to the order of St. John of Jerusalem), was moved stone by stone by the townspeople to   the village’s current location on higher ground.

.

*

 For Debra

One night at dinner in a refugio when an American couple from Washington State asked our group to sing the Canadian anthem, they stood up and sang: “O Canada our home and native land…“, and the American couple and yours truly sang “Oh, say! can you see by the dawn’s early light …

There were other folks eating with us, but they wouldn’t sing their national anthems.  We didn’t care. It was a very jolly evening. We ended up singing right through dinner (mostly Julie Andrews songs ie from the Sound of Music and Mary Poppins..).  From what I know of you Debra, I think you would’ve loved it all.

Singing the Canadian National Anthem

This cute little kid  (though not as cute as your grand daughters…) was looking out of an upstairs window

I think she was supposed to be having a nap

and because you often share photos of flowers, this is a view of the ocean at Finisterre which was the edge of the known world in the Middle Ages

the edge of the known world in the Middle Ages

For Munchow:

You can imagine how hard it was to chose a gift for a skilled photographer like Otto.

Many people just leave their boots behind in FInisterre, at the end of the Camino

and I end with this one…

*

The bi-annual Underground Exhibition for staff (at the Museum where I work) will be held next month, but I can’t decide which photo to use.

Please let me know your favorite. I’ve shared photos from the Camino in three posts.  I have a week to decide. I’ll use the photo which gets the most votes.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Not America, Photography, The Natural World, Tutto va bene, Wandering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Excuse me, have you said thank you?

  1. Mahalia says:

    What beautiful gifts! no way i can choose one photo – too many perfect moments. i like the early morning one, the you never walk alone one, the girl in the window, the edge of the known world, “when i walk by myself i am never alone”…

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Mahalia
      Thank you for enjoying the gifts and for trying to help me chose a photo. You’ve chosen five:
      early morning walk
      you never walk alone
      the girl in the window
      the edge of the known world
      when I walk by myself I’m never alone

  2. larooby says:

    What a trove of riches! I accept any and all as a precious gift, but I specially feel something about the old man feeding his horse the outer leaves of chard and kale – it speaks to me; I love the woman in sandals with the red coat drinking a glass of milk, and I breathe the joy and promise of the early morning path through the cathedral of Elms. The graffiti are powerful and sincere, they get to the essence of the walk as I understand it. The photograph of pilgrims\’ shadows and the caption \”You Never Walk Alone\” is layered with meaning and a beautiful image. You should be so proud!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Larooby,
      Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I appreciate that you took the time to tell me which of the photos you liked and more to the point, why.

      I also love the photo of the old man feeding his horse. I had to race after him to catch the shot and I almost missed it.
      The old woman with the sandals. She noticed when I took a separate photo of her sandals and she shook her head at me as if I were a loony. 🙂
      I love the early morning path in the mist with the small distant figure of Lynne.
      The graffiti are unique to the walk, as are the shadows “you never walk alone”.

  3. cmilenkovic says:

    Dear Roseanne – Mr F and I reconnected a couple of months ago on Facebook, and through his link I have the chance to see your smiling face and catch a glimpse of your wonderful life. A lifetime ago our paths crossed, and now we meet again. Inspired by you.
    Carmen Milenkovic

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Carmen,
      What a lovely lovely surprise to see your name here. Welcome! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me a comment.

      Mr F just reminded me that we met you in 1978/9. Wow that’s a long time ago – our first born was just a few months old!

      I’m happy to know I could inspire you.

  4. munchow says:

    Thank you dearest Rosanne for a lovely present. I really love your take on sharing the awards. I don’t like to follow rules neither, so this is something I can really appreciate. Now all the photos from the Camino are lovely, and it’s hard to pick one in particular. But still, if I have to pick a favourite (and it will be two actually), it’s gonna be the “early one morning” and the last one of the picture gifts to me. A really inspiring post. Thanks again.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Dear Otto,
      I’m happy to know you like your gift and that you’ve forgiven me for taking so long to thank you. I’m really delighted and honored to be the recipient of the two awards you gave me. Thank you for your lovely comment.

      Early one morning seems to be getting the most votes. I love the light in that picture and that you can just make out Lynne’s figure.
      You’re the only one to mention the last picture. I guess I knew you’d like it so I saved it for you as a special final ta-dah!

      Did you like any of the pictures in my two previous posts on the Camino?

  5. Arindam says:

    Thanks a lot for all the gifts. It’s one of the best and most creative award acceptance post I have ever came across. And yes, I too realize it’s hard to walk alone. 🙂 And what a beautiful gift you gave me as the picture of the 84 years old lady, who walked the Camino that to be two years in a row. She is not only an inspiration for me, but for all of us. I can guess, how much effort and time you must have spent creating such a wonderful post. A big thank you for all your efforts to make our day bright. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Arindam,
      I’m glad to know you like your gifts and that you aren’t mad at me for taking so long to thank you for the lovely blogging award. I’m very proud to get one from you.

      I’m delighted to know that you like your gifts. Everyone who met the old lady on the Camino was inspired by her, and it’s wonderful that even here on my blog she is still inspiring us.

      • Arindam says:

        No, It was never an issue, if you took so long to thank me. Your blog deserves that award, so I pass on it to you. I am glad you remember that. That’s more than enough for me.
        And yes I like my gifts. I have everything in my life; what I needed was someone who can inspire me to meet all the challenges I face in my life. And you gave me that. Believe me, I could not have ask for more. I will remember the strength both physical and mental of this wonderful lady forever. A big thank you from the bottom of my heart. 🙂

      • dearrosie says:

        Thank you again Arindam. It feels good to know that I still deserve the award so many months later.

        Oh you express yourself beautifully
        “I have everything in my life; what I needed was someone who can inspire me to meet all the challenges I face in my life.”

        I’m so sad that I didn’t get her name. “I don’t speak Spanish” isn’t a proper excuse.

  6. I can’t believe I have just returned after being away for a month and I find such a lovely gift. Thank you. I will say it again, you are most deserving of the “Genuine Blogger Award.” Your posts, comments and gifts are exactly that–genuine–not to mention your experiences. I love churches…in fact…I’m working on such a post for later. In my travels outside the US, I always visit a cathedral, chapel, tempel or mosque. The botafumeiro is splendid. It is so shiny, huge with a lovely shape and I love that a pully system developed in the 1600’s still proves its simplicity of intent and design by still working and doing its job. I am so proud to know you, a person who walked the Camino and completed the journey ending here at this magnificent cathedral. Thank you for sharing your very personal journey with us. Your blog gives another meaning to the saying “All roads end in Santiago de Compostela.”

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Georgette,
      It’s I who must thank you for your lovely comment. I’m very honored to know that you still feel deserve the “Genuine Blogger Award.”

      Isn’t it interesting how I knew intuitively to give you the gift of the Cathedral and the botafumeiro? I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I have a photo of the pulley system which I’ll share in a later post.

      I’m happy that you’re enjoying walking the Camino with me. It was hard and some days were long and too hot, but it’s an experience I’ll cherish for the rest of my life.

  7. I vote for “Early one morning” and the “Edge of the world at the time of the middle ages”…you have so many wonderful ones. Do let us know which ones you choose. I also, like the list of 5 above from Mahalia.

    • dearrosie says:

      HI Georgette,
      Thanks for coming back to vote for your favorite picture. I will let you know which one I use. I think that it will most probably be one of these two because they’ve had the most votes.

  8. sybil says:

    Dear Rosie, “Early one morning” is my favourite … wonderful post…

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      Thank you for voting. “Early one morning” is getting a lot of votes. I have a lot of photos from tree lined paths, but that one’s my favorite. I should do a post with photos of all the paths!

  9. What a GREAT post!! I can’t believe how thoughtful you are … that’s much better than any award! I vote for the old guy carrying flowers into the stable, and the “you never walk alone” … I am so happy you’ll get to show the world your photos!! Really… thank you, Rosie. Our connection, right from the beginning, was special and it only gets deeper and more meaningful! I really treasure that.

    • dearrosie says:

      Dearest Betty,
      Thank you for your lovely comment 🙂

      I also love how our friendship has developed into an deeper more meaningful relationship, something to be treasured, and like pen pals of the “olden days” we’ve never met and haven’t even spoken on the phone.

      Thanks for taking the time to vote. I love the picture of the old guy carrying the vegetables to the stables. Can you see that there were five of us walking in the “you never walk alone” photo?

      I’ve always entered a photo in the Underground Exhibition at the Museum, but this year I just couldn’t choose. I also have the pictures from our trip to South Africa last year, and all the hikes we’ve gone on in S. California!

  10. Rosie…this is just a gorgeous, generous post! I like “thank yous” no matter how they are delivered, butsometimes it just takes time to make them really meaningful. This was meaningful. I read your lovely post quickly because I am headed out the door to work, but I am going to go back and revisit again! It is rich and really thoughtful! I’ll return the “thank you”–because you’ve been so considerate! And I love hearing about about your “journeying”–I think something magical and transformative took place! Debra

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Debra,
      Thank you for this really kind and thoughtful comment. I appreciate that you took the time to leave it before rushing off to work.

      We can all say thank you with our mouth – which is easy – but when it doesn’t come from the heart it’s meaningless. I’m glad you saw that this came from my heart.

      My journey along the Camino was magical and you’re right that something transformative took place. I’m so grateful I was able to walk it. So grateful…

    • dearrosie says:

      Mea culpa Debra. I just cleaned my desk and under a pile of paper-work I found my note that you’d been so generous and also passed on the “Sunshine Award” and the “Genuine Blogger Award” to me on May 5, 2012.

      I hope you’ll forgive me for not acknowledging the awards earlier.

      • Oh that’s just too funny, Rosie! No worries at all! These awards are a bit cumbersome, aren’t they? You were busy! And I didn’t worry about it, because I’m not able to accept them any more myself. I just don’t have time to follow through. oxo

      • dearrosie says:

        You’re too kind Debra. Thank you for being so gracious.
        You wrote your post just before I walked on The Camino, so yes I was busy.

  11. Kathy says:

    You are so well loved in the blogging world, Rosie. I truly admire the personal presence and response you shared with those who gave you awards. How original! You need no longer hang your head in shame. Your spirit was just waiting for the proper timing to express itself. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Kathy,
      My sincere thanks for your very kind comment. It gives me much pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the post.
      Thanks for giving me permission not to hang my head in shame as my neck was getting rather stiff, and one needs to look up when driving.

      Did you have a favorite picture?

      • Kathy says:

        I always have trouble choosing a favorite picture–it’s kind of like choosing a favorite child, lol! But I do love the ambiance of “early one morning” and the “she’s 84” photo.

      • dearrosie says:

        Thanks for writing back with your choices Kathy. I was so frustrated at my inability so speak Spanish when I met the old woman.
        When she saw me taking a close up of her sandals, she shook her head in that wordless gesture of “here’s a weirdo”
        But even if I had been able to speak Spanish how could I have explained that though we were both walking the Camino, if you looked at our footwear you could see how far apart our worlds were, but so what, who cares because we were all just walking together with our backpacks on our backs.

  12. ceciliag says:

    wow, what a stunning way to say thank you.. i adore the shot of the old man following his horse.. so beautiful.. your work is lovely.. c

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Cecilia,
      It’s such a pleasure to welcome you to my blog. I don’t know how you find the time to work on your farm, write a post every day and still come over and say hello to other bloggers. Do you ever sleep?

      Thank you for your nice comment. I’m glad you like my post.
      Another vote for the old man and his horse. There’s something about that photo that I really like …

  13. What a lovely way to thank everyone. All of the photos are wonderful! The photo of the little girl is precious.

  14. dearrosie says:

    Hello AA,
    I’m glad you enjoyed my little thank you. Yours is the second vote for the little girl looking through the window.

  15. souldipper says:

    Ah, my fellow Aquarian, I like your style! Trust you to come up with a very creative way to say thanks to your award presenters.

    It’s so hard to pick a photo – go with your intuition, Rosie. You know the one…it pulls at you everytime you look at it. I love the one you gave Otto and the end of the world one. BUT – oh did I love the capture of the cow nudging her wee babe. That is so touching. I realized it’s not “obvious” but knowing what was going on, I love it.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Amy,
      It feels good to know that a fellow Aquarian likes my style.

      I gave Otto three pictures. Which one do you mean?
      Another vote for the flowers at the edge of the world
      I also love the photo of the cow nudging her baby, but you can’t understand what’s happening without an explanation…

  16. souldipper says:

    The old man carrying the bundle of greens for the horse. The horse’s rump is such a great shape! It’s a touch humourous that the old guy is obviously there to feed, but,atypically, all we can see is a horse’s rear.

    Yes, I do vote for the edge of the world. Added to my delight with that photo, daisies are my all time favourite flower.

    • dearrosie says:

      Perhaps we like the old man and the horse because it’s not just a photo of an old man taking a bundle of greens to his horse, there’s the touch of humor as we only see the old man’s back and a small part of the horse’s rear.

      I also love daisies. It’s almost inconceivable that those flowers would not only thrive but bloom on that windy rock…

  17. My friend, you presence is a gift and a joy in the blogger world. I’m guilty too for not creating a post yet to offer my appreciation to our generous and and talanted blogger friends. Their encouragement, awards and constant sharing inspires all of us to grow in our blogging path. Congratulations. Best wishes to you and your family.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello IT,
      I don’t feel so bad knowing you also haven’t thanked your blogging friends for all the awards that have been showered on your blog recently. I hope my post will inspire you. Have a nice weekend.

  18. This post, these photos, and your creative solution to acknowledging the awards all reflect the unique person that you are! i love the dramatic shadows of ‘you never walk alone’ and the first of the two photos for munchow. great post, amiga! z

    • dearrosie says:

      Ola amiga,
      Nice to welcome you to my humble home Zee. Thank you for your lovely comment and for helping me chose a photo.

      Another vote for the shadows in “you never walk alone”. I wonder how that would look hanging up on a wall with no description?
      I actually gave Muchow three photos. I think you mean the old man with the horse? I also love that one. It’s getting quite a few votes.

      • The shadows are stunning and would make a great framed work of art! The man with the flowers tucked under his arm is an equally-lovely and appropriate image, since it followed your words about Munchow! Your post was filed with great images! Z

  19. bronxboy55 says:

    I agree with the others that it’s hard to pick one photo. From just this post, I would have to choose three: “You never walk alone” and the two immediately following it. In fact, I think they would work well if presented in combination.

    The image of you all singing the American and Canadian national anthems is the perfect symbol of what you and your blog do so well: You help people find common ground, strip away the nonsense, and make everyone glad they’re together. Congratulations for all of the awards you’ve gathered so far, Rosie, and for the many you’ve yet to receive.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for helping me chose a photo Charles, as you can see it’s not an easy task. I think your suggestion of using “you never walk alone” with “the old woman” and “the early morning path” is an interesting one.

      I gratefully acknowledge your second point. You recently told me that I always say very kind things in my comments. So do you my friend.

  20. Priya says:

    Oh, Rosie. I so much want to read this all, but I can’t. Not yet. It’s my loss, but I am going to make up for it sometime soon.

    Thank you for the wonderful picture gifts. You know just how to win hearts forever. I shall never forget the picture of the mother and its calf. And the yellow letter box will always delight me. I am in love with communication, and yellow’s my favourite colour! A big, big hug to you.

    • dearrosie says:

      Of course I’m happy to know you like your gifts, but it gives me even greater pleasure to see you here at my little blog. Welcome back dear Priya! I’m glad you were able to grab a stolen moment to read the post and now I know yellow is your favourite colour … Oh oh the spell checker is screaming at me that in the United States it’s “favorite color” but it’s a gift for you and I wanted to spell it your way.
      Big hugs back at you.

      • Priya says:

        Just read the whole post. It leaves me immensely, immensely proud of you. Sorry if that sounds patronising or some such heavy thing. I want to give you a big hug right now. Perhaps I’ll first visit the Cathedral and stand somewhere around the Botafumeiro just to make sure the humidity here hasn’t deadened the perfumed talc I use.

        My vote:

        The Edge of The Known World in The Middle Ages
        The Old Man
        Early One Morning
        and I like the tunnel picture, too.

        Love.

      • dearrosie says:

        Hi Priya,
        Not many people actually come back to finish reading a post. You’re an honorable woman.

        I thank you for your kind words. That you feel proud of me doesn’t sound patronizing in the least, I like it, and I like hugs.

        Sorry to hear about the humidity over there. Perhaps you could install a Botafumeiro in your local village market …

        Thank you too for adding your vote for your favorite photos. I know have to chose…

  21. Val says:

    Wow! What an amazing post! 🙂
    I still can’t get over the yellow mailbox. Ours are red. Not sure they’ve ever been any other colour. (And would you believe Royal Mail has laid claim to that particular shade of red and copyrighted it? How can anyone copyright a shade of red, let alone a colour? Crazy!)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Val,
      You’re another person I’m delighted to see back here. Thank you for visiting. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

      Don’t you wonder how Spain ended up with a yellow mailbox? I know the red of British mailboxes, but didn’t know that the Royal Mail have copyrighted that shade of red.

  22. Yeah! Yahoo! Yippee! & Congratulations! Now I’m off to click on your nominee links.

  23. Pingback: Museum Musings: “Do you have a sitting room?” | Wondering Rose

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

