tonight’s full moon was a “supermoon”

When we heard that tonight’s full moon was predicted to be especially large and bright, Mr F and I jumped in the car and went on a full moon hike to Topanga State Park.

Poor Monte Carlo had to stay at home, because dogs aren’t allowed in State Parks.

An astrologer Richard Nolle, called tonight’s full moon a “supermoon,”  which he defined as a full moon that occurs within twelve hours of lunar perigee, or the point in the moon’s non-circular monthly orbit when it swings closest to our planet.

On Saturday, the timing of the two events will be almost perfect: the moon will reach its perigee distance of 221,802 miles (356,955 kilometers) — the closest lunar perigee of 2012, in fact — at 11:34 p.m. Eastern Time, and it will fall in line with the sun (thereby becoming full) just one minute later.

waiting on Eagle Rock for the moon to rise

I took over twenty photos of the moon rising over Eagle Rock. There were all taken without a tripod or any fancy attachments, and none of them have been photoshopped.

I’ve included about a dozen in a slide show. I think the two below are the best…

I’d love to know what you think.

moon rising at 8:17 pm

Moon at 8:25 pm

Of course when you’re out at the end of the day you see all the animals.  The bunnies ran across too quickly, but I manged to get a half decent shot of Mama deer, and a Quail.

Deer

 

Quail

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is the first time I’ve ever posted two blogs on one day. I apologize but I had to share the beautiful moon with you.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in The Natural World, Tutto va bene and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to tonight’s full moon was a “supermoon”

  1. wightrabbit says:

    Thank you so much for doing this Rosie! I was looking forward to seeing this magical moon – but we had cloud all day and night, so I missed it. 😦 Great shots – I love the sideshow, with the moon watchers lit up on top of the rock! The State park looks majestic and brimming with wildlife – no wonder dogs are not allowed! 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      We were “really” fortunate that the moon wasn’t hidden behind the clouds. I’m so glad I came home and immediately posted this so you could enjoy it too. Thanks for your comment.

      The State Parks in Southern California are brimming with wildlife and they’re big enough that the animals can live in peace, as long as we keep our dogs out. When Mr F and I walked back to the car at 10 pm we came across TWO groups of people walking with dogs!

  2. Your photos are great! I sat outside for more than an hour just staring…it’s a wonderful sight. I didn’t expect it to look so different, but it does! I took dozens of photos…but most of mine came out with some kind of extra spot…looks like two moons. LOL! I clearly didn’t do my homework first. I’ll just enjoy yours! Great, Rosie! Debra

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for sharing Debra. I also have some photos with two moons. I think it’s because there wasn’t enough light, and it’s hard to keep your hands from shaking. I know there’s a setting for night time photos but of course I’ve never read the instructions and I couldn’t see in the dark….

  3. Must have been quite a spectacle. Apparently it could be seen in the UK except for the sad fact that most of the country was under a blanket of cloud!

  4. Beautiful pictures. I had forgotten all about it! thanks for sharing yours.

  5. shoreacres says:

    I was hopeful for either a moonrise or moonset shot, but the clouds were too thick here – I’m happy to have seen it through your lens. I especially like the quail. Nice that you were able to capture the state bird for us!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Linda, I didn’t know that quails are your State bird. There was a whole family of them running across the path. I loved their call.

      Sorry to hear your also had a thick cloud cover last night. Before the moon rose behind the big rock the glow from its light filled sky but I was unable to capture that with my little camera. It was simply beautiful.

      • shoreacres says:

        No, no – they’re your state bird! Ours is the mockingbird. They’re quite lovely, too, but I wish the one that starts to sing at 4 a.m. every morning would find a girlfriend so he could stop!

      • dearrosie says:

        Oops shame on me for not knowing that quails are the Californian State bird. They’re very shy – we don’t see them very often.
        I would’ve guessed that mockingbirds are our State bird because we have so many in our neighborhood…

  6. sybiln says:

    Love, love, love the shots of the people on the rock, watching the moon rise.

    Don’t see why dogs aren’t allowed in your state parks ON LEASH.

    As a single woman, I like the security of having a dog … or two, with me.

    You can post twice in a day, any time you feel like it, when the posts are as wonderful as these are ….

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      Aw shucks that’s so kind of you not to mind my posting so often. Thank you.

      When the group of people arrived and walked onto the rocks in front of us I must admit I wasn’t happy, but their silhouettes in front of the moon give the shots that extra something, don’t they?

      I understand your feeling secure walking with a dog. All I know about them being banned in State Parks is to protect the wildlife.

      I hope someone who knows the full reason will join the conversation.

  7. Rick called me coming home from the farm yesterday (probably around the time I was reading your post #1). He told me to go outside and take a look. He too, took a lot of pictures. I’m sure I’ll be viewing them this afternoon.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Georgette,
      Did you see Rick’s photos? I can imagine that viewing a large bright moon from a dark farm far from the city lights must be an unbelievable experience.

  8. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Beautiful shots, and what a spectacular place to go and watch this amazing moon rising, well worth going there to get these photos.
    i also love the photo of the Quail, very nice.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      We hiked six miles and climbed 800 feet to get up to the top of Eagle Rock. I don’t think I mentioned that there’s also some wonderful views of the ocean from the paths.

  9. I was so hoping a fellow blogger would gather these snapshots. These are fabulous and it’s nice to get them in context with the rock and people standing on them waiting. That helps alot to get perspective.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi EOS,
      When the group of young people walked in front of us onto the rocks I wasn’t happy that our quiet moon viewing was ruined, but as you can see they actually gave me a gift by choosing to stand there.

  10. Lovely, lovely LOVELY — we came out from a really fabulous wedding to see the giant moon looming out from behind the buildings … LOVE it!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Betty,
      It’s like a gift when one goes outside and sees a moon like that up in the sky. It really was enormous and bright wasn’t it?

  11. Linda Shapiro says:

    I couldn’t see the moon, the cloud cover in NYC was too thick. I love what you do. Thank you for sharing the beautiful pictures.
    My daughter, Karen saw a magnificent moon in Boston. She was there for her niece’s 8 th birthday party.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Linda,
      Lovely to welcome you here. Many thanks for your comment.

      What a shame that the cloud cover in NYC was too thick. Did your daughter manage to photograph the moon in Boston?

  12. Lynn says:

    We saw the rising moon in a cloudless sky on our way home from a wonderful day out to celebrate my birthday – what a gift from above!
    California! New York! Israel! We are still together! And that too is a gift!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Lynn
      Thank you for your lovely comment dear friend.

      It’s almost magical to think that no matter where we live in the world we all saw the same supermoon (although in many parts of the globe it was hidden by clouds). How thoughtful of the moon to rise in the sky in front of your car. What a beautiful birthday gift

      Even though we live so far apart and in different continents, that the three of us are still such good friends is a gift I treasure and never take for granted.

  13. Thank you for sharing your wonderful pictures of the supermoon rising over Eagle Rock, Rosie! We had such a thick cloud cover here in Connecticut we didn’t get to see it, so it was a nice treat to see if from your vantage point. Did it seem bigger with your naked eyes than it seemed through the camera? That “moon illusion” is so difficult to comprehend. Your camera seems to have done a great job without all the fancy attachments! 🙂

    I love the picture of the doe, and it must be one of her fawns I see peering over the grass at the far left of the picture. The quail is pretty, too… What a memorable evening you had…

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Sorry to hear the moon was hidden by a thick cloud cover over your part of the world. I’ve been your blogging buddy for long enough to know how frustrating that moon cover must’ve been for you, because you love the natural world so much. I’m delighted that you could enjoy it vicariously with me.

      Was the moon bigger with our naked eyes? Yes.
      I’m so glad you noticed the baby fawn at the far left of the photo. I only included the one picture but I took a few of the family running across the field.

      I can also tell you that quails sing a really lovely song.

  14. souldipper says:

    I was wandering around outside trying to find a spot away from our cedars. Duc kept following me – delighted that I had finally turned into a nocturnal creature. Then a car turned onto our road, sharply cutting the corner where I stood and nearly hitting Duc. Duc is car smart, but that incident scared the dickens out of him. He actually raced beside the car for about a 1/4 block. Yike. So the supermoon was a huge adventure!

    Love your photos, Rosie.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Amy,
      How is Duc today? Is he still chasing cars? I have a mental picture of your island being an idyllic place far from bad drivers and traffic jams and here you share a story of a driver taking the corner too sharply and nearly knocking you and Duc.

      Glad you enjoyed my photos. Thanks for your comment.

      • souldipper says:

        Actually Duc and I visited the Doc today. He’s lost weight dramatically and the Doc thinks he’s got a hyperactive thyroid. Blood test results will be in tomorrow. Poor little guy. That race, along with not feeling well, must have been the reason he slept for about 8 hours straight!

      • dearrosie says:

        Good grief I’ve never heard of a dog sleeping 8 hours straight. Poor chap.

        I’m sorry to hear he’s been losing so much weight. How old is he? Please let me know the results of the blood tests.

  15. I only found out yesterday morning that it was a “Supermoon.” I taught it was just unusually big and luminous. I totally missed watching it outside the great outdoors with nature and all. Your post gave me a second chance and it was indeed a unforgettable moon with stunning views and fun wildlife.Thank you.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi IT
      We were lucky to hear about the supermoon on NPR. Living in LA means we’re stuck in the car for our long commutes, but thankfully the radio keeps us informed of everything we need to know.

      I’m delighted to be able to share the remarkable evening with you. Thank you for your comment IT.

  16. Dinah says:

    Awesome photos!!!!

  17. Super, indeed! Wonderful shots and story here 🙂
    anne

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Anne
      It’s always a pleasure to welcome a new blogger to my humble home. Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. I’m glad to know you liked my post.

  18. munchow says:

    I noticed the full moon when I was out biking on Saturday, but I didn’t know it was a supermoon till later. Good for you that you took advantage of the event and went out to both watch and shoot the supemoon. The images are all great. The first of the two moonshots you love is for me the best, really excellent.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Otto,
      It was a six mile round trip hike up to Eagle Rock – not too far and well worth it.

      You are such a kind man to tell me my shots are “great”. Many thank yous. To say I appreciate your comment that “the first two are ‘excellent'” is an understatement. My heart is singing. 🙂

  19. Giridharan says:

    thanx for this wonderful snap.. beautiful..

  20. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette | Wondering Rose

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

