Update of my About page

This post is just to let you know that I’ve updated my About page…

Who am I? What can I tell you about myself that would invite you to come inside and turn the pages?

I work at an Art Museum in Southern California. When I started my blog I wanted to also share the “real world” exchanges and meetings at my cash register, where it’s so busy that on most days it feels as though I’m in the middle of the World’s Fair.

Have you ever seen someone signing a credit card in Japanese or Chinese? It’s beautiful to watch the letters being formed, but when I tell them their name looks so elegant, and lovely, they think I’m asking for their I.D, and show me their passports, which are also interesting.  Well to me anyway…

………

The post is continued at ABOUT which is right on the top. Just click here or go to the top of the page and click on About.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Tutto va bene and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Update of my About page

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    A great update. 🙂

  2. munchow says:

    Thanks for letting me know about the update. It was great to read a little more about your background and what sounds like fun real world.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Otto,
      Thank you for your comment. It’s humbling and an honor that bloggers like you are interested to know more about me – I assume you read the whole post? I’d love to know what you think of the travel photos.

  3. Priya says:

    Dear Rosie,

    It is always a delight to know more about you — in your words. The way you mention the biggest things in the most modest of ways makes me want to give you a big hug for walking this earth. You’re a rare breed.

    Now that the gushing is done, I’ll go over to the About page!

  4. dearrosie says:

    Oh my Priya, what can I say to your wonderfully kind words, but yes please I’d like that hug. Is that greedy? If I start walking now how long will it take me to get to you?

  5. Cindy says:

    Lovely update, I love that you share your encounters with us!

  6. shoreacres says:

    I’m so glad that you did the update, because it encouraged me to read the whole thing. We do have a bit in common, don’t we? Not only our experiences with our moms, although those are important – but the travel! and the moving around. I once counted up the number of times I moved between 1964 and 1990 – it was a lot, and included two continents, two countries and six states. In those same years I got to do a bit of traveling, and managed a dozen countries.

    That may explain why I’m more content to spend a bit of time at home now – or at least confine my traveling to places I’ve not seen or am interested in, right here in the US.

    I do suspect your cash register has taught you another lesson I’ve learned. Sometimes, it can be just as much fun to stay in one place and watch the world go by.

    • dearrosie says:

      Dear Linda,
      You’ve done a heck of a lot of moving around. I look forward to reading more of your stories.

      The United States is a huge and beautiful country – think Grand Canyon, Niagara Falls and Yosemite – that one can easily spend a lifetime traveling around it. I’ve hardly seen anything of the south-western corner where I live.

      [For those of you who don’t know, Linda’s Mother died just a couple of weeks before mine.]

  7. It’s refreshing to update our “About” pages from time to time as we grow and change and have fresh perspectives about ourselves… Your new “About” page is very friendly and inviting.

    Your green shoes are delightful and I love the cemetery in the south of England, with the ruin of Corfe Castle in the background… You’re fortunate to have lived in and traveled to so many places as I’m sure it expanded your horizons and made you a more compassionate person, a citizen of the world!

    I’m a New Englander and can’t imagine living anywhere else. My parents and grandparents were New Englanders, too, and until very recently, so were my kids. It feels strange to me to have family so far away, although I know this is how it is with many families…

    I’m with you – my happy place is walking in the woods or along the seashore! It’s a nice picture of you there on the beach – perhaps some day I will see the Pacific Ocean.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      It feels good to know you enjoyed reading my new “About” page. Thank you for writing to tell me.

      I can’t imagine being born and living in the same place as your parents and grandparents. I have friends whose children and grandchildren all live in a few mile radius of each other and I envy them. My children don’t even come here on Thanksgiving, because it’s not a long weekend in the country where they live.

      Good to know your happy place is the same as mine – I’d love to take you for a walk along the Pacific coast seashore. I really hope you’ll surprise me at my cash register one day 🙂

      I’m so glad to hear you liked some of my photos.

  8. So much fun to read more about you. I think alot of us bloggers, myself included, still like the anonymity of hiding behind our blog names.
    And to think I was so close to meeting you. Darn. We’re back on the East Coast this morning and I already miss the Pacific Coast…..your views, your 80 degree temperatures, and fresh veggies you enjoy every day.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi EOS,
      I think you liked California so much that you’ll be back in Palm Springs next winter. And that’s when you’ll come to my cash register and ask me a silly question and I’ll recognize you by your shoes. Or perhaps because you’ll be munching on a fresh farmer’s market carrot 🙂

  9. You can COUNT on that Rosie!!!!

  10. Arindam says:

    I mentioned your blog in a post of mine to pass on a blog award to you. 🙂

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

