Museum Musings: Rodeo Drive plus the “nice” shoes

"Tom Ford" store window

Question: Why did Mr F and I end up hobnobbing with the 1% on Rodeo Drive the Saturday afternoon before Christmas?

Answer: An out of town guest asked to see the famous L.A. shopping area.

My conclusion: There was no sign of a recession among those shoppers.

Window of a men's clothing store

These boots – covered with “Swarovski elements” – were in the Stuart Weitzman store window. Of course if you need to know how much they cost, you can’t afford them, so I didn’t go into the shop to inquire.

Stuart Weitzman boots

It’s funny how the mind works. Looking down at my sensible walking shoes after seeing those crystal studded boots I was reminded of an encounter I had in the Museum a few years ago:

Ten pm on a Saturday night I waited for the elevator to the parking garage with a group of well-dressed jovial people, who I could see had spent the evening at the fancy-shmancy restaurant at the Museum.

The three women, who were in their early thirties, were wearing sexy, black dresses which clung to their bodies and showed off much cleavage, and on their feet, sandals with crystals on the straps and unbelievably high heels that looked like glass.  I could see they’d recently brushed their long hair, and re-applied their very red lipstick, and from the giggling and flirting it was apparent that they’d had too much to drink.

The three men wore dark suits.

I’d been at work since noon on a busy summer Saturday, I didn’t need to look  in a mirror to know I looked a caricature of unattractive frumpyness…  Suffering through a period of bloated belly I wore a pair of pants with an elastic waist – bloody menopause! – a loose shirt with buttons that didn’t draw attention to my “bloatedness” and on my feet, my trusty Rockport walking shoes, which are really great for standing all day.  My hair? All I knew is I hadn’t brushed it since my shower at 11 a.m. that morning.

If I wasn’t so exhausted I might’ve waited for the next elevator. I stood at the back holding my bag in front of me in the hope that it was big enough to hide me.

When they got out the elevator on the first level, one of the men, a tall, dark, handsome dude, with his suit jacket thrown over his shoulder and hooked in his thumb, waved at me and said, “Nice shoes.”

I’m still trying to think what I should’ve said to him…

my "nice" shoes

I wonder what he’d have said if I was standing in that elevator in these five-toe shoes, which I tried on recently in a shoe store.

I tried on a pair of five-toe shoes

My thoughts on the shoes?  I could barely get my toes into the spaces,  I cannot imagine walking in them.

* * * *

Last week I met a woman – Noreen M – at my cash register.  After chatting for a while I discovered she went to the same high school as me,  and lived next door to my friend Leen.  She asked me to send you her love Leen. Noreen lives in California, and her sister Carol, who was our age, lives in New Zealand.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Tutto va bene and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Museum Musings: Rodeo Drive plus the “nice” shoes

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Every now and then Rodeo Drive pops up somewhere, I would love to have a look around, and see what all the fuss is about. 🙂

    The guy that said you had nice shoes, the first thing that came to mind was he was wishing he also had good comfy pair of shoes on. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      I should do a photo tour of the Rodeo Drive area for all of you who’ve never been there. There were a few really expensive sports cars parked along the road.

      I was so busy staring at the women that I didn’t notice the what shoes the men were wearing. Unfortunately.

  2. My theory: the man had just spent the evening with an ’empty pair of shoes’, i.e. the woman in the high heels, perhaps looking well put-together, but a bit of an airhead. He sees your well-grounded shoes and deduces you are a practical woman, a woman of substance, and decides right then and there to dump the 30-something women he is with and look for a partner who has “nice shoes”. 🙂

  3. I concur with Magsx2 and EOS! In anticipation of my new job, I envisioned myself as a stylish professional woman – shoes, accessories, all that fun stuff. Man, am I glad I work for an environmental nonprofit and discovered that “jeans” are the norm in the office. My “work” shoes look much like yours, Rosie, and I’m so glad I can wear them instead of heels … and anything with crystals.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi AA,
      oh boy you are lucky to work for an environmental non profit and one where “jeans” are the norm. We aren’t allowed to wear jeans. (((Sigh)))

      I’ve never owned a pair of shoes with crystals, or even attempted to walk in heels as high as the Empire State building.

  4. My husband loves Rockports. My conclusion: Men love Rockport shoes and they know how to spot them.

  5. Sybil says:

    All I can do is second the previous comments.

    How’d you get that “stop censorship” banner on your page ? I’m sure it relates to yesterday’s action by Wikipaedia. Good luck stopping this …

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      Sorry I wasn’t able to reply to your comment sooner. It was related to yesterday’s internet action day. WordPress gave us the option of going dark on January 18th and/or displaying the “stop censorship” banner.
      You blog with blogspot, didn’t they do anything?

      • dearrosie says:

        Sybil I forgot to mention that if you click the “Stop Censorship ribbon” in the top right corner it’ll take you to a page with information.

  6. Woah! Just look at those silver boots. The women who buy them, must have really really long legs, is all I can say!

    I must admit that I have felt this way too. I was never a “with it” girl, even when I was young(er). I was not then, and I am not now. Only difference is, I am not embarrased by it anymore. If I was in your place, I would have wondered why that guy said anything at all. Like Mags said, I think he noticed your shoes & wished he was wearing a comfortable pair too. I am thinking it was a nice gesture.

    Before I make this into another long comment, I have to mention that I saw a five-toe shoe last sunday!! The first place I ever saw it was on your blog. And thanks to you, I looked at it more carefully. They do look strange. The guy wearing them was going to run the marathon. Thank you Rosie, for showing me things I would have never noticed otherwise.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi AIT,
      So true that you’d need long legs to wear those boots. And a teeny mini skirt to show off your long legs.

      I also wondered why he had to say anything. After spending the evening with beautifully dressed people, there I was in my elastic waist pants and sensible shoes – heh heh – but I’ll never know whether he meant it, or was sarcastic and they all had a good laugh back in the car.

      I’m delighted to know that you learn things from my blog -heck even if it’s just five-toe shoes. I wonder how someone can run a marathon in them when I could barely take a few steps wearing them in the shoe department.

      • There you have it Rosie; the reason, in your reply to Boris. Those women on the bench nursing their aching feet must envy you in your comfy shoes. Same goes for their LBD’s, I assume. I once read in a gossip column about an actress who had to stand pretty much the whole day at an event, because her dress was excessively tight. She said, she was afraid her breathing would rupture it. It was probably stitched onto her body and then squeezed ! 😛 Oops.. I should sympathise. What a torturous life!
        ( P.S. – Umm.. the five toe shoes are maybe like those skin tight body suits they wear for swimming in the Olympics. They look mighty uncomfortable to me, but they claim it helps them set new records by micro-seconds.)

      • dearrosie says:

        Hi AIT,
        I cannot imagine wearing an LBD that’s so tight you can’t sit down or breathe! Sheesh doesn’t that leave bruises? And the worst part of that story is they voluntarily allow themselves to be sewed up in those LBD’s!

        I wonder whether we’ll see runners in the five-toe shoes in the London Olympic games this summer. The swimmers in the Chinese Olympics supposedly broke several records swimming in those skin tight suits.

      • dearrosie says:

        That’s another post waiting to be written i.e “fashion” for the Olympic athletes

  7. Boris says:

    I have to think about how my feet will feel after a ten-hour workday and a couple of drinks while standing around being sociable. Alcohol and experience will do that. I plan carefully in the sock and shoe department: the perfect sock for the shoe (cushion and fabric), space and support in the shoe (lacing is important) to allow for inevitable expansion over the day. As for toes encased in their own ‘shoe’, anything between my toes is irritating, can’t wear thongs or flip-flop sandals. I can’t imagine a day in those, besides, I need all the elevation I can get…

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Boris,
      Do you also stand at work all day? Choosing the correct socks and pair of shoes for particular activities is what we should all do. I cannot understand how women can walk about all day in those high heel shoes especially as the toes are squashed up. As soon as they’re given the opportunity to sit on the bench opposite me they all take off their shoes.

      I also can’t stand anything between my toes and don’t wear flip-flops, so perhaps that’s why I didn’t like the five-toe shoes.

  8. munchow says:

    Shoes are almost a non-issue for me. As long as they get me from one place to another, keep my feet warm if it’s winter, or give them support when I am hiking, I don’t pay much attention to shoes. I like quality but not for display-reasons. The finger shoes look cool, and I know a lot of people who like them, but I might just pass on them.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Otto,
      With all the traveling that you do, I’m sure well-made comfortable shoes are essential. You want to concentrate on taking photos, not on your aching feet and toes!

  9. souldipper says:

    That man’s comment could be taken in so many different ways. When I read your description, I immediately thought he was appreciative of someone REAL.

    I am also going to trust that you stood there knowing your beauty, Rosie!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Amy,
      I’ll never know why he said anything, whether he meant it, or was sarcastic. I’d like to think he meant it even though he said it while he was flirting in the elevator with those women in their Little Black Dresses.

  10. Cindy says:

    Don’t you just hate the Frump Days? It’s inevitable that one will encounter impossibly immaculate paragons. The 5-toe shoes gave me a fright …

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Cindy,
      I just found your comment hiding in my spam!
      Why is it always on my frumpy days that I share an elevator with the immaculately coiffured?
      Are the five-toe shoes in your shops?

  11. Priya says:

    Oh, is it not possible to get used to the five-toe thing? I quite like its ugliness. I might consider buying it if I initially find it comfortable — and that I can get used to the material getting between my toes. They have five-toe socks as well, I hear.

    Those boots are wow. In a show window. Or on Ursula Andress, maybe.

    I think I agree with Amy. He was probably thinking about some good, comforting practicality.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Priya,
      I’ve heard that the five-toe socks are supposed to be really good for yoga, because you’re aiming to do your standing exercises with your toes spread out.

      I think as long as you can wear sandals with thongs between the toes, then you should be able to wear the five-toe shoes. I don’t like anything between my toes. Do let us know if you get a pair.

      We should all look out for those boots, perhaps we’ll see them in a movie… Maybe at the Oscars next month 😀

  12. Mal says:

    Wow, check out the Swarovski boots…what if you lose a few crystals along the way? Perhaps, it’s a case of ‘fools rush in where angels fear to tread’?

  13. Oh Dear Rosie, I like your sensible shoes! I would have been at a loss for words too, had the suit-swinging gentleman said that to me.

    Your posts are always about something real, always a look at the human condition, and that’s why I enjoy them so much.

    This line, “If I wasn’t so exhausted I might’ve waited for the next elevator” jumped off the page for me. You nailed it. With that one wish you spoke for all of us who don’t even own a pair of crystal-heeled shoes. Who’ve worked long days, or left the house with spit-up hidden under a scarf.

    I loved this post, Rosie.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Melissa,
      Thank you for the lovely comment. It gives me much pleasure to know you enjoy reading my posts.

      I have a hard time coming up with those split second answers and I’m glad to see that even with time to think about it no one has been able to think of what I should’ve said.
      I just said, “huh?” and then smiled, because he was smiling.

      You know I forgot to mention that this is Hollywood. Those folks in the elevator could’ve been famous movie actors for all I knew. I don’t watch much TV.

  14. I like your sensible shoes, Rosie, and it’s a shame that common sense does not prevail in the fashion industry. I laughed at the thought that the group could have been celebrities and that you didn’t acknowledge or recognize them as such. What a nice reality check for them it would have been!

  15. dearrosie says:

    Hi Barbara,
    Oh my, I wonder if he made the comment about my shoes because I hadn’t recognized him, and he wanted me to “notice” him.

  16. dearrosie says:

    re the PS at the bottom of my post: my friend Leen wrote in an email:

    “Saw your blog about Noreen M… What a small world – her sister Carol was my friend and their brother Lesley was Mark’s friend.
    Trying to get to their house I had to pass the neighbours inbetween us who had vicious barking dogs I was terrified of!!!!”

  17. Aruna Byers says:

    Hi Rosie. Greetings from Japan, home of the most way-out clothes and outfits you could possibly imagine. Those boots would fit in quite well here. The trendy young girls are wearing short shorts, tights and these tall boots like these. A great look on their lovely thin legs. Yesterday a man sat across from me on the train wearing these 5 toed shoes. Couldn’t help but think of you with a chuckle. Still enjoying your posts.
    (the aluminum jewelry lady) Aruna

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Aruna, or better yet, Konichiwa,
      Always a pleasure to welcome you here. I’m honored that you’re still enjoying reading my posts.

      I’ve noticed that the most trendily dressed young folks are Japanese or Korean. This afternoon I saw a girl in short-shorts, two different pairs of tights – one with hearts, and on top of it a second pair with black squares – and lace up boots. What made her outfit all the more outrageous was her legs which were not thin. I complemented her on her outfit, but didn’t take her photograph.

      It’s thrilling that when you saw the five-toed shoes on the subway all the way in Japan you recognized them from my blog, as did AIT, when she saw them in India. Wow!

  18. bronxboy55 says:

    I agree with most of the other comments here. I also think maybe the guy was tired of picking the tipsy woman in the heels up off the sidewalk.

    Great post, Rosie. I doubt I’ll ever get to Beverly Hills, so thanks for the glimpse.

    • dearrosie says:

      Good morning Charles,
      Yesterday at my cash register I watched woman after woman staggering around in black heels that were as high as the Empire State Building. When I mentioned to one of them that I don’t know how she can wear shoes like that all day, she answered “I pay for it at night!”

      Are they walking around in those uncomfortable silly shoes because they think the guys find it “sexy”? So far no male has commented on this post that they think it’s attractive…

      I’m happy to know you enjoyed the glimpse of Beverly Hills. Next time I’ll include shots of the streets.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

