nine Museum Musings: including summer weather in January, and more kids with long hair

facing west towards the ocean yesterday afternoon

1. “Why are we spending all this time shopping before we see the museum?” a little boy asked his mom, who ignored the question.

2. “What is this?” a kid asked me holding up a pen.
Me: “It’s called a pen.”

3.  “What’s your name?”

The older girl (in the photo below) told me her name was Aria, and she was five, and the little one told me her name was Daniel,  but I wasn’t sure whether she said Danielle or Daniella. To be safe I called her Danielle.

Which one is Daniel? Clue: Aria's five and Daniel's three-and-a-half

“Hi Danielle,” I said, “How old are you?”

“Three-and-a-half,” she said.

Aria was shy, but Danielle was a confident and friendly little girl and kept coming over to show me her pile of goodies. She liked the sharpener-camera, but was particularly thrilled with the wind-up flash light.

“Now remember son,” said Mom, “You can only spend $10.”

Son? Oops. Even though the kid’s hair was in a long pony tail, this cute little one wasn’t “Daniella”, but “Daniel”. A he.

Of course I couldn’t keep quiet. “He’s got beautiful hair. Is there a fashion in Los Angeles for young boys to have long hair?” I asked his mother.

“I don’t know,” she said, “Daniel had a couple of bad experiences with hair cuts so we just stopped giving them. It made life a lot easier.”

“Are you always going to keep his hair long like this?” I asked.  I had to ask her, because I knew you’d want to know…

“No,” she said, “We gave him the opportunity to decide what he wants to do, and he’s decided to have his hair cut when he turns four.”

“When is that?”

“At the end of this month,” she told me, “His birthday’s a Friday so we’re going to have a hair cutting party. We’re hoping to give his hair to charity, but there are specific requirements like minimum length, and I’m not sure it’s long enough.”

All this time Daniel and his older sister were shopping and ignoring us. After I was given permission to take their photo, Mom took a photo of the kids with me.  She promised to come back after Daniel’s had his hair cut. We all did the fist-pump handshake and the kids said a very polite, “Goodbye Miss Rosie,” before they left.

aw shucks…

4. About an hour later, I met this very elegantly dressed young lady wearing a hat with hair down her back, who told me she was five and her name was Vionney. I wasn’t sure how to spell her name.

Vionney is five.

“I can write my own name,” she told me. I photographed her while she slowly and carefully wrote it out for me. What a shame I can’t show you the piece of paper, or the way her tongue stuck out as she concentrated on her letters.

5.

I took this photograph at 8:15 yesterday morning.

With temps in the 80’s I knew he wasn’t on his way to work with a surfboard strapped to his roof-rack.

6. Two friends Suzanne and Jill both from L.A had a lovely day at the museum. They took my photo. I expect I’m on their Facebook page.

7. “She really does know how to cut the tag,” he told his mother after I offered to cut the tag off his raccoon finger puppet.

8. The traffic was very light going to work this week – many people are still on vacation  – so on Wednesday I used the half-hour as a gift and spent it in the garden.

9. Evan who is nine asked me, “Do you know that it’s the Chinese New Year next week?”

I knew that.

“And do you know this is the year of the Dragon?” he asked.

I didn’t know that.

Evan knew the difference between the Chinese dragon (all things good) and the fire-breathing European dragon who must be slayed, but he couldn’t tell me why in European stories the dragons are always considered bad.

I wonder why.

According to my informant Evan, everyone wants their baby to be lucky, so there will be many Chinese babies born this year.

I didn’t know that.

yesterday at 4 pm the sun was so bright, the ocean was yellow like butter

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings, Photography, The Natural World, Wondering and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to nine Museum Musings: including summer weather in January, and more kids with long hair

  1. Sybil says:

    I tell myself I`d miss the passing of the seasons if I lived in L.A. But some days, I`m not so sure.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      Perhaps you’d miss the passing of the seasons for five minutes. I don’t know anyone who’d miss the snow when they’re outside in 70 degree weather with the warm sun kissing their faces and all the flowers in the gardens…

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Great photos, Easy enough mistake made about “Daniel” it is very rare I’m assuming to have such a young boy with hair that long. 🙂

    I bet you enjoyed your bit of time in the garden, it would be nice to be able to have a break outdoors for a change, instead of being inside all the time.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      This is the second little boy that I’ve seen with long hair in less than two months.

      It was the best gift to drive to work without traffic and then have the garden all to myself. It also smells so fresh early in the morning.

  3. Larooby says:

    You have an amazing ear for a person’s ‘voice’ – each one comes alive for a moment – I wonder whether people reading your blog appreciate how you hear and report dialog with such authenticity. Capturing how people talk and making it ‘real’ is such a great skill … Congratulations!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Larooby,
      I think dialog is something that every writer works hard to achieve, and I’m delighted to hear that I’ve been able to make people’s conversations seem real to my readers. Many thanks for your kind comment.

  4. souldipper says:

    Oh, Rosie, what’s another way for me to tell you that this is such a delightful blog. We don’t have to commute or put up with the sillies…we just get the cream of the crop.

    And you even anticipate our questions! First the hair. Then, as I was reading about Chinese New Year, I had my fingers crossed that you would tell us what animal. You did! Well…your investigative reporting skills did. 😀

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Amy,
      Thank you for your lovely comment dear friend. I’m glad I was able to photograph Daniel’s hair and ask the questions for you Amy. Do you know why Europeans want to slay the dragon?

      Count yourself lucky that you don’t have to put up with the sillies or the commute. I wrote about Carmageddon last summer when the I-405 freeway was closed for a weekend. I haven’t written about the continuing saga of the road work… it’s too painful to talk about…
      My only consolation is a phrase I learned from Eckhart Tolle: “and this too shall pass…”

  5. I love these musings. Each one is so interesting and I get to “hear” them from you. I like the way your mind thinks and where you take us with each musing. I think you also, provide excellent customer service as you engage yourself with each patron. What a gift to arrive early on Wednesday.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Georgette,
      Thank you. I’m gratified to know that people enjoy reading my musings…
      I often wonder what the tourists think when they meet cashiers who aren’t standing chewing gum but can have a “real” conversation. It would be nice to get comments from them over here…

      I’m glad you enjoyed the early morning walk in the garden with me

  6. I was half expecting your musing to say “I saw the car with the surfboard, decided to bag work, and followed him to the Pacific”. 🙂

    Parenting sure comes in a whole lot of styles doesn’t it? I would not have been the mother who let a child decide when he wants to cut his hair, but then again, you said the child was polite and that’s what counts – not his hair. We all pick out battles.

    Love the photos of the ocean views. Who could get any work done staring at that all day? Not I.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi EOS
      I was really tempted to say to heck with work let’s follow that guy to the ocean, but my carpool buddy was driving and he’s not the kind of guy to “bag” work [I like that expression] and go to the beach.

      After writing about the spoiled rude kids I’ve seen all these years it was refreshing to meet Daniel and his sister – they were both polite, nice kids – and I honestly enjoyed meeting the family.

      I didn’t mention that their mother is home schooling them, or that Evan’s mother is thinking of doing the same.

      Unfortunately my camera isn’t powerful enough to capture the views. On clear days we can see the large passenger ships, plus the little white sail boats bobbing in the ocean, and all the way out to Catalina Island (22 miles away); and looking east we can see Mount Baldy (which is 10,068 ft high and about 50 miles away)

  7. I thought you were going to follow that guy to the ocean as well!

    When I saw the little boy’s hair, it reminded me of my own son. He really hated to get his hair cut when he was three. He would thrash and kick and cry no matter how much I tried to coax him into it. I let him grow it out so it was this huge mop of curls that went down his neck…but nowhere near as long as Daniel’s. Finally I think it was the promise of a cupcake that convinced my son to let me cut it!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Darla,
      I’m sorry to disappoint everyone. Next time I think we’ll have to say to heck with work and go play on the beach!

      Do you have photos of your son with his long curls? I think it’s often worth backing away and after a time “hopefully” the kid forgets he didn’t want to have his hair cut, or as in your son’s case, all it took was the offer of a cup cake. Too sweet.

  8. Such a cute story with the little lads… and as always, your Museum Musings are a delight with so many different characters and personalities!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Betty,
      Have you come across little boys with long hair? I didn’t photograph the previous little boy I met who had long hair because he was really angry and frustrated that I thought he was a girl. Poor lad.

  9. Those cheery flowers look like little suns, there to brighten the day!

    I think one of the good things about living in this period of history is that people are not restrained in so many “labeled boxes.” Women and girls with very short hair, men and boys with very long hair – it’s all more welcomed and embraced, even if it gets confusing at times. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      There is nothing as cheerful – to me anyway – as a garden in bloom on a warm sunny day.

      What I wonder is “why do I need to know male or female” before l address a kid?

  10. Dinah says:

    I agree with Larooby that you have a marvelous ear for other people’s speech, which is also what makes you such a good poet! Wonderful photos, too! xxxooo

  11. Priya says:

    I keep coming back to say what I want to say — about Vionney, Daniel and his hair-cutting date, the ocean being like butter, those white flowers with a yellow button in the centre. But haven’t been able to say what I want to. I hope that’s okay.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

