Museum Musings: looking down at men

It’s less than a week to Christmas. Those folks who still haven’t done their shopping are starting to panic.

This morning seven year-old Ethan said to his Mom, “No thanks I don’t want anything from this store. It’s Chanukah tonight.”

The first time I’ve heard a kid say, “No thanks!”

Louis XIV

About six weeks ago at the end of a post on women’s shoes,  I put out a call for guys to come to my cash register and show me their shoes.

A pair of miniature 18th century shoes for a display cabinet..

Matt's shoes are Italian - "Vibran five finger".

side view of the Vibran five finger shoe

I met Matt at the coffee cart.

“Those aren’t shoes,” I said, “It looks as though you’re walking about in “yoga” socks,”

He smiled and lifted his pant to show the shoe (in the photo above).

They don’t look very comfortable to me.

Neon blue

.

There were a few men in bright neon shoes at the end of the summer,  but I haven’t seen many recently.

Neon orange for her and gray for him

Michael's shoes are Bjorn

Heldrich didn't know the make of his shoes

Heldrich didn’t know the make of his shoes.

“My girlfriend bought them for me,” he said.

Jeremy's Florsheim "two-tone Bucks"

APC "Double Monk strap"

APC “Double Monk strap” shoes Jeremy bought in Paris this year, worn with J. Crew socks

Talking of socks, while men’s shoes may be plain,  I discovered the all important finishing detail is in the socks

these Henrik Vibskov socks from NYC cost $30 a pair

If you don’t know APC, it’s a French clothing store with a branch in Beverly Hills

A.P.C in Beverly Hills

A.P.C shoes for sale

What about women?

They are wearing everything on their feet, from running shoes to very high heels, to flip-flops, but most of them are wearing boots, beautiful leather boots, ankle height to above the knee. Stay tuned…

Sam is ten. Her Mom bought these Converse on line. "You can customize them there," she explained.

Christian Louboutin shoes

with the red sole

Patty made sure I noticed the red sole under the shoe, “Because it’s a sign of a genuine Christian Louboutin shoe.”

I think she said she paid about $850 for these shoes.

They are beautiful, but I would never pay so much for shoes.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Photography, Tutto va bene and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Museum Musings: looking down at men

  1. souldipper says:

    It’s a treat to see such lovely men’s shoes. We’re so casual on the West Coast rural areas that it is wonderful to see them wearing leather!

    But Rosie…no shoe is worth $850. The Company decided it’s name is worth that horrible amount, but the style, material and labour are not worth that!

    Sad. What sheep we can be!

    I won’t ask the price of the Double Monk Strap…

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Amy,
      There’s nothing as elegant as a beautiful pair of leather shoes.

      I was shocked to learn the price of Patty’s shoes. She told me she’d always wanted a pair of Christian Louboutin shoes and although she really couldn’t afford them, she bought them. And wore them to the Museum!

      I don’t know the price of the Double Monk strap, but he told me they were on sale.

  2. Jo says:

    Jeremy has fantastic taste!!!
    Love those socks!

  3. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    What a variety, it is good to see guys wearing something a bit different, but the socks win the day, I just never thought a guy would wear socks like that, good on him for being a bit different. 🙂

  4. Priya says:

    May I say that the 5-finger shoes give me a strange shudder-y feeling? I confess, though, that I’ve been considering buying them for my walks because I’ve heard they’re really comfortable, but still, they look awful!

    I quite like the socks, too! I could wear them. But not for $30.

    All the shoes a quite smart, really. Good collection! 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Priya
      I’m interested that you’ve heard those 5-finger shoes are comfortable for walking. I can’t imagine my toes feeling comfortable being in individual *cages* like that.

      Do men in your part of the world wear leather shoes?

      • Priya says:

        Yes, men do wear leather shoes here. So do women. Traditionally, camel leather was popular, especially in the western states.

        Several online sites recommend these 5-finger shoes for walking these days. I wonder if it is all a publicity stunt!

      • dearrosie says:

        Hi Priya,
        I don’t think I’ve ever seen a shoe made of camel leather. What does it look like? Why is it only popular in the Western states?

        I was in an outdoorsy/sports shop last week and saw the 5-finger shoes on the shoe rack but I didn’t ask the sales assistant whether they were good walking shoes.

  5. I’ve seen those Vibran five fingers – or something similar. I have enough trouble getting shoes just to fit my feet. I can’t imagine the challenge finding shoes to fit my toes! Why do I have trouble finding shoes? Because as a twenty-something, I wore shoes like Patty’s – though my entire shoe budget was a fraction of what she spent on her one pair. I am inspired by your post to develop a line of stylish shoes for people with bunions. Seems the sky’s the limit – colors, shapes, sizes! You have a great job, meeting so many interesting people and feet, Rosie!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi AA
      I’ve never seen those 5-finger shoes before. I can’t wear sandals with a thingie round the big toe because it makes me “chlostrophobic” – I cant bear to think of each toe being suffocated in a box.

      Hello, it would be great to hear from someone who owns those shoes …??

      There are an awful lot of women walking around with bunions who’d love to wear stylish shoes. I think you should quickly jump in and design shoes for them, before someone else does.

  6. Goodness…J. Crew socks. I’ll buy the J. Crew slacks and tops, because they are quality style, quality materials and quality fit, but I will leave the monochrome socks for Target…Tar-zshay.

  7. Wow, quite beautiful shoes, but I could never imagine spending this much!! I am curious to know what these people do for a living or if they are living outside of their means,just to buy fabulous shoes!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Time4V,
      I gathered from talking to Patty that she wasn’t part of the 1% but had wanted those shoes for a long time and decided this was the year she was going to buy them, and to heck with what it cost.
      I don’t know how comfortable they were.

  8. The Vibran five finger and the Christian Louboutin shoes look very uncomfortable! Can’t imagine paying $850 for something so impossible to walk in. I love a lot men’s shoes – my husband’s aunt and my sister often buy men’s shoes for themsleves – they’re usually very comfortable and practical.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I don’t know why this comment of yours ended up in my spam. Luckily I checked.
      I also cannot walk in high heels and cannot imagine how Patty managed to walk around the Museum in heels that high.

      Since I’ve been working in the museum where we have to stand all day I’m very fussy with the shoes I wear but I’ve never thought of buying men’s shoes. Don’t women’s feet have different bone structure? Or something?

  9. Cindy says:

    Love the Laboutins, but the 5 finger jobbies are just … odd!

  10. Sybil says:

    Saw some local chap wearing a pair of the 5-finger shoes and couldn’t resist telling him that it looked like he had Hobbit feet !

    $850 for shoes !!! I got some like-new ECCO soft shoes from Value Village for $7.99 and was so thrilled.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      I like your description of “hobbit feet”. It really does look funny to see a guy walking about in a pair of 5-finger shoes.

      I think, reading between the lines, that Patty was frustrated with only being able to wear $7.99 Value Village shoes and blew her savings.

  11. munchow says:

    I like you observation skills. Fun to see all those shoes. But I would never pay anything close to 850 for a pair of shoes, even if they were Christian Louboutin shoes – and those I wouldn’t want to wear anyway. Merry Christmas to you.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Otto
      I’m pleased you enjoyed the selection of shoes.
      If I had $850 I also wouldn’t spend it on shoes. I’d buy an airline ticket … What would you do with it?

      Belated Christmas greetings to you.

  12. Val says:

    I’m a total skinflint when it comes to buying shoes… I rarely go for appearance, I go for comfort so I don’t buy ‘designer label’ shoes. (I don’t suppose a pair of trainers I got years ago that were levi’s would count, would they?) And I can’t get my feet into high heels.

    Presumably the reason you won’t be seeing men wearing brightly coloured shoes ]at this time of the year is that with mud and rain, they’d get them dirty! 😉

    Happy festive season, Rosie.

    PS. If this comment appears more than once, my apologies – my ‘net connection is behaving very strangely at the moment.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Val
      Your comment also landed in my spam folder and has been sitting there all week. (It did come twice)

      Thank you for your festive greetings. I hope you’re enjoying the season.

      We should start a club for those of us who don’t wear high heels. We could call it the sisterhood of the comfortable shoes

      Over here in LA we don’t get much rain so there’s no mud …

  13. Those 5-finger shoes look uncomfortable to me. When I was jogging and had trouble with my ankle, someone told me to buy something similar because it would let your feet fall more naturally when they hit the pavement, but I couldn’t bring myself to buy them.

  14. jane tims says:

    Hi! I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Jane

  15. Hi Rosie, I awarded you the Liebster Blog award! 🙂 http://wp.me/p1jBAi-yc

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Melissa,
      What a double honor for me. It’s so humbling to be recognized by my fellow bloggers. Thank you.

      I love the description of the LIebster award
      “Liebster is German (n.) and means: sweetheart, beloved person, darling.”

  16. I love the chucks! I’m wearing some right now.

  17. I think it’s so neat how you got all those people to pose for you with their footwear! Well done. 🙂 And you captured quite a variety.

    I would never spend $850 for shoes… but when I hear of something like that, I think, maybe she scrimped and saved somewhere else so she could get them, because it was just something crazy she needed to do. It is materialistic, yes, but a part of me sees her as getting something from those shoes that others get from things like blogging. It just feels nice to do something nice for yourself.

    Fortunately, my habits are pretty cheap! Give me a book or a notebook and I’m in seventh heaven. My husband actually gave me a tape dispenser for Christmas because office supplies make me so happy. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Melissa,
      It is interesting that when I ask people if I can photograph their shoes, no one has refused. I think they are very “chuffed” to be asked.

      I’m sure you’re correct about why Patty had to spend all that money on the shoes. I could tell that she wasn’t one of the 1%. There was no doubt that she clearly loved them (she was wearing them to a museum on a week day afternoon), and was also proud and happy that I noticed them and wanted to photograph them.

      I also am happy with simple gifts like a book, but I don’t think I’d include office supplies in the list …

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

