Museum Musings: “Hair”, Santa and Mrs Claus

After my blog on 11:11:11 and our conversations on the musical “Hair”,  I’m now noticing females – both adults, and little girls – with the most beautiful long hair, and more than one little girl around age six or seven who said, “I’ve never cut my hair in my life.” Today I saw a woman and her teenage daughter who live “in the country in Oregon” with dread-locks right down their backs. (Eeww! How on earth can you wash or brush that hair?)

"Sima."

While I rang up a woman’s credit card, I noticed that her little girl had gorgeous long, blonde hair, almost down to her waist.

Patty

“My word, she’s got beautiful hair, what’s her name?” I asked.

“Another one who thinks …!” said the little girl,  going to hide behind her mother’s back.

I didn’t hear what she’d said, so I looked at her mother for help.

“Not a she, but a HE!” said Mom.

“Ooops! I’m very sorry, I made a mistake,” I said to my young friend, but I was talking to his Mom’s back, he didn’t answer.

His name was Bewley (a family name his Mom told me), and he’s four.

*  * *

Last Tuesday was a gorgeous hot sunny day with temps in the upper 70’s at the Museum,  so I was surprised – and a wee bit irritated – when I saw a couple

https://i1.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/c0/Santa_hat.svg/500px-Santa_hat.svg.png

walking towards me wearing matching red fur-lined Santa hats.

As far as I’m concerned a hot day in November is far too early for Christmas cheer.

“Getting an early start on Christmas eh?” said I. Oh yes, I had to comment.

Mr just looked down,  Mrs said with a big smile, “Well, what else must one do when you have no hair,”  and with a flourish she lifted off her hat to show me her pink *bald* scalp.

hair right down her back

Oh god, me and my big mouth. “Hey that’s a brilliant idea,” I said, “The red looks so cheerful.”

She didn’t seem to take offense at my comment, in fact I think she was glad to have an excuse to talk, “Instead of wearing one of those very expensive, very uncomfortable wigs,  I’ve chosen to wear silly hats,” she said.

“Oh I like your style,” I said, “You look great   in your matching hats.”

And that’s when he smiled too.

I sat behind her at yoga. When she sits down her hair reaches the floor

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Museum Musings: “Hair”, Santa and Mrs Claus

  1. Cindy says:

    We have a client at the salon who has long hair like that. It’s a bit creepy to me … after all, it’s dead hair, right?

  2. I had a roommate in college that had dreads. It was pretty weird to know she hadn’t washed her hair in months and months!

  3. Sybil says:

    I figure you can still wash dreads, just not brush it.

    I went to the other end of the spectrum when I shaved my head and posted about it: http://crittersnus.blogspot.com/2011/07/what-happens-when-retiree-gets-bored.html

    DearRosie, I love the way you observe the people in your museum world.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      I still don’t know whether one can wash or brush dreads. Waiting for someone who has them to tell us…

      I love your shaved head. I had a haircut like that when I was 16 or 17. Hair washing would take an entire afternoon and evening and I got fed up with the whole hair business: put in rollers and then iron your hair and then it was tooo straight so roll it around your head and then sleep in a certain way or you wake up with hair sticking every which way… oh god what a bloody business.

      One afternoon, without telling anyone, I borrowed money from a friend, got the name of a hairdresser from another friend, and had my hair chopped off eyebrow length.

      My father took one look at me and told me I’d “cut off my crowing glory…”.
      I ran into the garden and wept because I thought it meant I’d never get married! But I felt so liberated,and got defiant and didn’t care. I wiped my eyes and came back to the house, “I’d rather be an old maid,” I told him. heh heh

      Thank you for popping in. I’m glad you like my observations.

  4. In my next life, I am coming back with long legs and a gorgeous head of hair that can be braided. So very jealous of these women!!

    But that poor dear boy, stuck with an odd family name AND his mother’s wish to let his hair grow. Almost seems criminal to give a kid a double-whammy. Who knows, maybe he’ll grow up stronger for it, but somehow I doubt it. I predict they will end up on an episode of Dr. Phil!

    And brave Sybil. You sound like one incredibly adventurous woman. Love your blog, BTW. Thanks for the link.

    • dearrosie says:

      HI EOS,
      I hope you get your two wishes next time round – long legs plus a long braid isn’t asking for that much.

      You know those little gut feelings one gets sometimes? I have a feeling that the poor kid was going to pick up a scissors one of these days .. I hope the kids at school don’t tease him about his name too-too much.

  5. souldipper says:

    Isn’t it odd, Rosie…except for the follicle, hair is one of the dead things on our bodies that we primp, prep and polish in hopes of it helping to glamorize. My hair dresser and I have secretly laughed over how hair products are supposed to do all sorts of things to improve hair, so they are really doing a Lazarus miracle!

    I don’t understand dreadlocks…I cannot get my head around them or is that a very weak pun?! 😀

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Amy,
      As none of us understood dreadlocks, I hope my explanation below will make things clearer.

      Actually I like your pun. We’re all way too serious…

      I didn’t think about hair being dead. If it’s dead how does it keep growing?

      Did you know that it was only during Marie Antoinette’s reign that people “needed” hairdressers? Those poor women had no idea how to put their hair up in those elaborate poofy styles the French wore, so they’d hire a “hair dresser” to come to the house. They were highly skilled, highly regarded and highly paid.

  6. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I have always liked long hair, and it really does suit some Lady’s. Great photos, and I give 10 out of 10 for the Lady that decided to go for the funny hats.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      Do you have long hair? Very funny but after all these months I’m still speaking to a waterfall when I write to you…

      There’s a staff member at the museum who recently lost her hair and she wears brightly coloured scarves every day which also looks lovely.

  7. dearrosie says:

    I couldn’t imagine people not washing their hair so I checked out “dreadlocks”.

    according to Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dreadlocks
    “Dreadlocks, also called locks, a ras, dreads, “rasta” or Jata (Hindi), are matted coils of hair. Dreadlocks are usually intentionally formed; because of the variety of different hair textures, various methods are used to encourage the formation of locks “

    And this at Dreadlocks.com
    http://www.dreadlocks.com/

    Rumor : You do not wash dreadlocks. Hair must be dirty to dread.
    Fact : If you do not wash your hair it will stink. Dreadlocked hair needs to be washed regularly just like un-dreaded hair. You can wash dreads just as you would wash a sponge, by working the soap in and then squeezing and rinsing repeatedly to get all the soap out. Clean hair will actually lock up faster than dirty or oily hair….

    Rumor: Simply not combing your hair is the only way to get nice dreads.
    Fact: This is called the neglect method. Under some circumstances simply not combing hair will make it dread. The best example of this is African-textured hair. Left alone, African hair will eventually dread. Unfortunately the results, although technically called dreads, are usually less than pleasing to the eye. The hair forms giant matts at random all over the head….”

  8. liz says:

    Wow, these people have long hair! I think that long hair can be beautiful depending on the texture and how well it is maintained. I think hair that becomes too long can also be unattractive. I find that very long hair can be representative of not being able to let go of something, at least that is what my friends have told me who have parted with extremely long locks.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Liz,
      It’s not often that one sees such long hair eh! I agree with you that long hair must be maintained properly – kept clean, brushed (isn’t something like 100 times each day), and trimmed regularly. Its so ugly to see long hair with split ends.

      You raise an interesting point that some people with very long hair may be having trouble letting go of something. I don’t know. I don’t have long hair. Anyone out there want to join in the conversation…?

      Thanks for popping by.

  9. shoreacres says:

    I spent my first twenty years wanting long hair. Unfortunately, the longer it grew, the worse it looked. For one thing, the weight pulled out what natural curl I had. I started wearing it shorter.

    Then, one day, I went to a new salon for a cut. I came out looking like Sinead O’Connor. I cried for two days, then taught myself to cut my own hair. I haven’t been into a salon in twenty years. I thought I was going to have to give in after I tore my rotator cuff, but it healed quickly enough I didn’t have to change my routine.

    I don’t know about any deep psychological stuff with long hair, but I know I feel ever so much better when mine’s trimmed up.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Linda,
      Wasn’t the Sinead O’Connor haircut almost a bald head? No wonder you cried for two days. What length is your hair now? You didn’t say.

      I’m always impressed when I hear of someone who can cut their own hair. I cannot imagine how you do it. If you don’t need to book an appointment with a hairdresser how often do you trim your hair?

      • shoreacres says:

        How often do I trim it? Oh, gosh – I don’t know. For one thing, it seems to grow faster in some areas than others, so every week I “fix up” something. Or find a place I missed.

        I looked for a current pic that’s decent – This one gives an idea of the length.

      • dearrosie says:

        Thank you for the photo Linda. It’s good to know who I’m talking to after all these months. (I pictured you with darker longer hair – perhaps because your gravatar has long hair?)

        It’s really handy that you can trim the odd areas when they need “fixing”. I still don’t know how you cut the back though…

  10. Priya says:

    I trim my hair, too. After years of disappointed looks at the mirror subsequent to a hair dresser, I figured I can do much better than them. The only catch is that I can do only one style. If I get bored of it, I will have to take a trip and subject myself to external sensibility again!

    Why did the couple have no hair? Did they tell you?

    The girl in front of the book shelves has such beautiful hair!

    • dearrosie says:

      You too Priya? I am impressed! It’s not easy to cut hair, I didn’t even attempt to trim my kids hair. Mr F trimmed our daughter’s bangs [I think you call it a fringe] one year the night before the school photo, but what started just above the eyebrows, ended up over an inch shorter on the other side. Poor kid.

      I don’t know why that woman had no hair. She wanted to talk, but didn’t tell me the “why”. When someone is bald like that I just assume they have cancer and have lost their hair from the chemotherapy/radiation treatment.

      The girl in front of the bookshelves told me she’s always had long hair. It was in such good condition.

  11. Isn’t it amazing the natural variety of human hair length, color, and texture? I keep my hair long, although not as long as when I was in my 20s and 30s, when it was often down to my waist. My hubby loves it that way and I adore him. Usually make a trip to the salon once a year to even things out…

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      You had your hair down to your waist? Wow I’d love to see a photo.
      I have to go to the hairdresser at least every 8 weeks. You go once a year?

      When women pay by credit card and show me a photo ID, the picture on their driver’s license is rarely the same hairstyle or hair color as their current style – it could be a photo of their sister. – very funny. It always leads to an interesting conversation on hair.

  12. bronxboy55 says:

    A few years ago, I started to notice boys everywhere with extremely long hair. I always wonder how that begins — some young celebrity? The trend seems to have continued. Where I live, there are many women with very short hair, and many men (usually young men and boys) with very long hair. I have a friend with hair just like the lady in your yoga class, but hers is silver. Great post, as always, Rosie!

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

