our Thanksgiving was a “summer” weekend in Santa Barbara

We went to Santa Barbara for Thanksgiving…

Mr F and the dogs

Santa Barbara’s about one hundred miles north of Los Angeles.

We’ve done the LA-SB trip in two hours and we’ve done it in three-and-a-half bloody hours.

The time of course depends on the traffic

 

101 Freeway, North, to San Francisco uncharacteristically free of traffic

We avoid as much of the 101 Freeway as we can, and go the slower, more scenic route on secondary highways.

.

I wonder whether Chickens across these United States enjoy their reprieve the last Thursday of November?

Twelve of us ate a simply splendid feast which included one of the 45 million turkeys consumed in this country on this one day [a frightening statistic don’t you think?] plus traditional side dishes like stuffing, roast potatoes and baked yams, two green veggies, two kinds of gravy plus three kinds of pie…

Good lord!

When one of my blogging buddies heard where we were going she assumed that a weekend in Santa Barbara “would be filled with glitz and glamour with folks like Leonardo di Caprio walking down the streets.”

Not the streets where we walk.

stagecoach route

Mr F and I have driven up the coast several times this year, and we always stay at the same Vacation rental.

the beautiful garden

the wild bunny in the garden

The garden’s so beautiful, everything’s always in bloom, there are lemons in the lemon tree and bunnies on the lawn. I’ve spent many hours enjoying the peace and quiet in the sun on that recliner you can see at the top of the stairs

It was so dark at night the sky was a mass of stars that aren’t ever visible in over-populated Los Angeles, a short drive away.

Santa Barbara’s surrounded by mountains on one side, and long white beaches next to the blue ocean on the other, the gardens are lush and fragrant, the trees huge – Eucalyptus and palm and everything in-between – the buildings are all Spanish style architecture, and it’s home to the Old Mission, known as The Queen of the Missions, built in 1786.

a side street downtown Santa Barbara

Shops on State Street

Rain was predicted for Thanksgiving day, the clouds gathered, it became gray, but no rains fell, and the rest of the weekend we were given a gift of hot, sunny summer-like weather with temps up to the 80’s in the day, although it did get chilly at night.

Summerland Beach

Butterfly Beach

Every day we saw Montecito Weddings setting up wedding canopies, chairs and sometimes champagne for beach ceremonies – sunset seemed the most popular time –  it all depends on the tide.

Call me a romantic hippy, but I think it’s lovely to get married barefoot on the beach

Setting up the canopy for a beach wedding

Bride and groom at their sunset beach wedding (Canopy on the left) (photo credit Mr F)

I don’t know the name of this cactus,

or what it means when a Magnolia tree, which should bloom in January is blooming at Thanksgiving.

Magnolia tree blooming

or whether these ice cream sundaes were as good as they looked.

If you’re still with me, you can watch more photos in a slide show

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Photography, The Natural World, Tutto va bene, Wondering and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to our Thanksgiving was a “summer” weekend in Santa Barbara

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Oh Wow, fantastic photos, and what a great place to go for a break, it looks great. I love your rental that you like to go to, it’s looks lovely with the gardens and of course the bunny. 🙂
    I must say the wedding looks Divine, and such a gorgeous spot as well.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      We are lucky that we know of such a beautiful spot relatively near L.A. so we take off for the odd weekend break.

      I think a beach wedding is a perfect way to get married. I didn’t photograph the wedding party sitting barefoot on the chairs sipping champagne…

  2. souldipper says:

    What a great way to spend Thanksgiving. Hard for me to imagine people could be on the beach with bathing suits…but I’m many hours north!

    Many years ago, I went to a silent retreat at a monastery at Santa Barbara that has since burned down. But I loved the atmosphere and surroundings. I walked the mountain trails!

    • dearrosie says:

      HI Amy,
      It was unusually hot . Santa Barbara doesn’t get hot like that even in the middle of summer so the students from UC Santa Barbara were out on the beaches enjoying the good weather.

      It must be wonderful to do a silent retreat – it’s something I’ve never done – but how awful that the monastery burned down. There must be many monasteries in the mountains around here but I’ve never been to any. Even just to visit them. That’s one of my wishes for next year

  3. Cindy says:

    Looks really great, Rosie. That guy looks very macho to be settling for ice cream 😉

  4. I LOVE Santa Barbara and can only imagine how beautiful it is at Thanksgiving! My best friend Mimi from Denver moved there three years ago, and I can’t believe that she actually gets to live there … loved your photos! So happy you had a great time!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Betty,
      I remember your post from SB when you helped your friend Mimi change the color scheme in her house.
      Perhaps you can visit her for Thanksgiving one year, and Mr F and I would come up too. Imagine how lovely it would be if you and I could finally meet?

  5. Jo says:

    I’M definitely still with you!
    You really captured the flavor of the town …. and the Thanksgiving dinner!!
    Are you also a few lbs heavier this week? (big sigh)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Jo
      I’m glad to know you stayed to the end and liked the slide show of Santa Barbara. I actually have many more photos. I’ll have to do another post.

      Oh yes! I’m definitely a few pounds heavier this week.

  6. Oh what beautiful beaches! We like taking the scenic back roads, too. Lemons on the lemon tree and bunnies on the lawn sound like the ingredients of a perfect getaway. So glad you had a good time!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I know you’re like me and also like the ocean. The beaches around here are all white soft sand. We’re lucky.
      Lemons on the lemon tree and bunnies on the lawn is what I think makes a perfect weekend… When I look out my windows at home I see a wall of houses. When I look out the window and see lush gardens that’s all I need to make me happy.

  7. Priya says:

    Did you ever sit on a stagecoach? Are the drivers dressed in old-fashioned finery? How very exciting!

    And the place where you stayed is so very relaxing. I could spend hours on that lounge chair, too. And would get up only to go to the massive ocean. You must’ve had fun. Well, that goes without saying, doesn’t it?

    And Monte Carlo has company! Did you meet the new dog there?

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Priya,
      Unfortunately I’ve never sat on a Stagecoach, they don’t drive up and down the streets of Santa Barbara anymore. According to the sign they stopped running through town in 1901. Sorry if I confused you.

      You’re invited to come lay on the lounge chair next to mine. We can sip tea or make some lemonade from the lemon tree, and when we feel like some exercise, the ocean’s only about a ten minute walk from the house. (((sigh)))

      It’s lovely for the dogs when they can run leash free on a beach. Monte Carlo had a great time playing with that dog on the beach that day.

  8. No better town on the planet than Santa Barbara. I think I told you one of my brood lived there about four years and we visited and visited and visited and visited until he decided we visited too much and moved back east. Boo-hoo!

    Did you get up to Montecito and walk through their village? Great spots to eat and spectacular views.

    Lucky you to enjoy SB for Thanksgiving.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi EOS,
      I’m sorry your kid up and left SB. That’s not very thoughtful. But you know it’s all still here waiting for you. It would be marvelous to meet you 🙂

      The vacation rental where we stay is actually in Montecito – the house is on the hill just above the charming little village.

      Butterfly beach – where I photographed the wedding canopies – is the beach down the road from the house – next to the Biltmore Hotel.

      [We went to a truly beautiful wedding at the Biltmore last July 4th. I wrote a couple of posts on it.
      http://wp.me/pN0M1-h9
      http://wp.me/pN0M1-hg

  9. Rosie: Thanks for the links to your previous posts. I’m relatively new to following you, although our paths have long crossed on other blogs.

    Beautiful wedding!!!

    PS: Just the other day, same son said, “ma, I might move back to SB.” I ran upstairs and grabbed a suitcase. Might as well be ready at a moment’s notice!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi EOS,
      I’m with you about being ready to travel at a moment’s notice.

      That SB wedding was beautiful and so romantic. Going back to the post to get the links for you reminded me of it all over again…

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

