Museum Musings: Where’s the restroom? Milan, Halloween, plus a flash mob…

I begin with a few of my Halloween photos …

"These people brought their large TV outside onto their front lawn and played videos of scary movies."

"A friendly skeleton"

"Not home"

"Sorry we are closed this year"

"Art, a cashier at Trader Joes, with a friend"

“I’m solly,” he said, “Where is the restaroom pleez?”
“Downstairs.”
“Ah so,” and he points up
“No! Downstairs,” and I pointed down
“Ah downstairs…” and he pointed down 
When I nodded yes and smiled, he gave me the biggest smile I’ve seen at my cash register, and bowed.

* * * *

“I’ve got to tell you,” she said,  “I’ve been around the world several times and this is the best museum gift store. You have such beautiful things.”

Well thanks…

* * * *

In the past few weeks it seems as if all the Italian tourists who come to my cash register are from Milan, and on top of that I also met

  • Junio Milanese from Liguria, near Tuscany
  • Erik Milanez from Mexico.

Is there something I’m being told about Milan? I’m ready to go …

* * * *

I noticed six-year-old Anabel because she was wearing eye makeup, I then saw her knee-high boots, velour vest, and her tee-shirt which said: “Anything this cute is EXHAUSTING.”

“Every day is a special dress up day for her,”  her mother told me.

* * * *

“Do you have a box for May?” the Asian tourist asked me.

It took a while before I worked out that she was looking for a MAIL box.

* * * *

Flash mob at the museum

Walking back to my register after my lunch break I  came across a flash-mob dancing in the main courtyard.

.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Museum Musings: Where’s the restroom? Milan, Halloween, plus a flash mob…

  1. Reggie says:

    What a fun post – I like how you keep your eyes open for unusual people!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Reggie,
      My days are always fun and interesting, because of the people who walk up to my cash register …

      • Reggie says:

        I’m sure they can feel that you enjoy getting to know a little about them and where they come from … I like the little anecdotes you tell about them.

      • dearrosie says:

        I really appreciate your feedback Reggie. Thank you for writing to tell me.

        I love meeting people and hearing their stories – everyone has a story to tell.

        When I’m in a line, for example waiting to take off my shoes at the airport, I always speak to the people around me. Last June, when I went to visit my mother, the woman in the line ahead of me told me she was taking her seventeen year-old granddaughter on a trip to celebrate her graduation from high school. Granny had hoped to go to Florence, Paris or London, but this Los Angeles teenager – who could’ve gone anywhere in the world – had chosen to go to Toronto “because she was a fan of their hockey team, the ‘Toronto Maple Leafs’ “. You should’ve seen her face light up when she told me she was going to see them play, plus see the Hockey Hall of Fame .

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I love the Egyptian costume, that is awesome.
    That tablecloth in the first picture is great, I haven’t seen a Halloween tablecloth like that, maybe home made?
    I love watching the Flash Mob video’s, this one at the museum maybe up on You Tube soon, I’ll have to keep a look out for it.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      Thanks for writing. I also thought the Egyptian costume was great.
      Funny I didn’t notice the first tablecloth because I was so astonished to see a TV on a front lawn.

      I looked around and didn’t see anyone filming the flash mob at the Museum. What a shame.

  3. I love the view from your cash register. I’m sure you are presented with “worlds” of material.

  4. Sybil says:

    Love these snippits of your day at work.

    Flash mobs are AWESOME !!!

  5. Cindy says:

    Anabel, oh my hat!

  6. bronxboy55 says:

    I don’t know what a flash mob is. I’m hoping it’s just a West Coast thing, and not another indication that I’m growing increasingly out of touch with the rest of the world.

    Great post, Rosie, as always.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Charles,
      flash mobs are not a west coast thing.

      According to wikipedia:
      A flash mob is a group of people who assemble suddenly in a public place, perform an unusual and sometimes seemingly pointless act for a brief time, then disperse, often for the purposes of entertainment, satire, artistic expression.

      Last year on November 13, 2010 over one hundred singers surprised shoppers sitting at a mall food court in Ontario with a Flash Mob. I wrote a post on it:
      https://rosannefreed.wordpress.com/2010/12/05/flash-mob-in-the-mall/
      Do yourself a favor and sit back and watch the uTubes on my post. I look forward to hearing your response

      • bronxboy55 says:

        I tried that once, and everyone threw food at me.

        What an amazing, unexpected experience that must have been. Thank you, Rosie, for introducing me to yet another thing I knew nothing about.

      • dearrosie says:

        The power of a flash mob is in the numbers, and the surprise. The singers (or my case the dancers) gather without being noticed and when the first person starts singing folks are thinking about throwing food at him/her, but before they can do anything the second and the third join in, and then it’s a flash mob which is one of the most unexpected beautiful experiences you’ll never forget.

        It gives me great pleasure to be able to introduce you to such a lovely thing Charles

  7. E fullstop says:

    Did you say Milano? Andiamo! Maybe the coincidences are trying to tell you that you’re due to spend some time with your Milanese friend E.

  8. souldipper says:

    Ah…just had my museum fix. What a delight to be able to enjoy the highlights of your days. I vote that you get extra pay for all this wonderful marketing you are doing. 😀

  9. munchow says:

    I really enjoyed this post and I think it’s great how you use you daily life to capture images, at home or at the museum. Fun!

    • dearrosie says:

      Welcome to my blog Munchow. Thank you for leaving such an encouraging comment. I’m excited and looking forward to learning lots about photography from your wonderful blog.

  10. Tops on my Bucket List: participate in a Flash Mob AND live in Milan. It’s like you get to do all that without leaving the comfort of your job!! Lucky.

    Now, where is the restroom?? 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Yes you’re right I’m lucky to see Milan without leaving my cash register, but sigh 😦 I’m not walking those cobblestone streets or tasting the food and wine…
      For example, when we went to the deli called “Peck” (founded in 1883) we bought some things for a picnic lunch: a few olives, a small piece of local goat cheese, 6 slices of salami, a mushroom and octopus salad, and a loaf of bread. It came to 45 euros – I nearly fainted – but I’ll tell you it was the BEST picnic we’ve ever eaten.

      ah the restroom…

  11. shoreacres says:

    When I stopped at the gift shop after the King Tut exhibit last week, they were selling splendid headdresses, like the one the fellow’s wearing above.
    And Tut was great, by the way. It was beautifully presented, and was especially notable for the great number of pieces related to other Egyptian Pharoahs and Kings. My favorite was a status of Kai, a royal steward, with his children. You can see a photo of it here. The kid’s hands are wrapped around their daddy’s legs – you can see the girl’s hand better than the boy’s in this pic.

    I remember that flash mob from last Christmas – I used it in a post, too. I think a lot of folks did. It was splendid!

    Hmmm… a high maintenance six year old? I’ll bet someone has called Anabel “Princess” at some time in her life. I hope my Princess doesn’t require so much maintenance!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Linda
      I’m sure the King Tut exhibition was great. We saw him in 1978 when it was on a world tour. I’d love to see it again. Thanks so much for the link to the statue of Kai. It’s so interesting how much of their art was dictated by tradition eg “Depictions of naked figures with their finger to their lips, was an ancient Egyptian artistic convention for depicting male children.”

      You know what I love about flashmobs? They’re so happy, everyone in the audience is smiling.

      Your Princess looks lovely, and I’m sure she’ll be OK, because I don’t think you’d allow her to wear makeup when she’s only six.

  12. Val says:

    If I’d had all those ‘signs’ about Milan, I’d go out and buy Milano Salami.. which, luckily, is my favourite salami ever! 😉

    Is that a crazy notice to stick on a front gate, or what? Don’t places there get burgled? (Or ‘burglarized’ as I believe you say, in America).

  13. dearrosie says:

    Hi Val,
    I also think it’s crazy to stick a note on one’s front gate advertising to the world that “we’re not home tonight.” That’s exactly what I said to Mr F when I saw them. I’m so glad you noticed.

    I just looked in the fridge to see the name of our favorite Salami, but we’ve thrown away the outer wrapping so I can’t tell. I’ll check the name next time we go to the Italian deli near our house.

  14. Dinah says:

    Your blog — and the dialogue that follows it — just gets more interesting all the time. Sorry I missed the flash mob! Your observations are tidbits from the international mix that populates most museums today. They put me in mind of the “Grand Tour” in the 19th century and make me wonder what readers later in this century or next will learn from your musings today.

    • dearrosie says:

      Dinah that’s one of the nicest comments I’ve received on my blog. You are so kind. I thank you.

      I wonder what’s going to happen to all our blogs, will there still be an internet, will people in the next century be interested in us and what we did and said?

  15. That spider above the friendly skeleton is very CREEPY! I’m still shuddering! Poor Anabel – I feel very sorry for her – turned into a sex object before she has a chance to enjoy the freedom of childhood…

    • dearrosie says:

      Gosh Barbara I didn’t ever notice that spider, isn’t it interesting how you zeroed in on it? I’m sorry to upset you.

      I wonder whether I’ll see Anabel again. A six-year-old with eye make-up is hard to miss.

  16. Kathy says:

    You do make museum life sound so interesting! Your observations are so fascinating. Do you think that blogging makes you notice things more? Or have you always been very observational? My husband’s mom worked at a museum for a short while, and we went to visit her. Your blog always reminds me of that time.

  17. Barb says:

    How cool. I’ve always wondered what goes on behind the scenes at the museum. Now I’ve got my own secret agent to report these things. Move over Da Vinci Code.

  18. Priya says:

    Val’s Milano salami sounds mouth-watering! Gosh. And here I am, trying to give up meats….

    I didn’t know what flash mobs are either, so am glad Charles asked. It is such a curious system, no?

    • There are some great flashmob videos on YouTube!! I love the one where they are in a big restaurant somewhere in the UK and then, one by one, people stand up and start singing opera—beautifully. I think of it as an extension of performance art, turning seemingly ordinary people into artists, or artists pretending to be ordinary people, and then suddenly shaking up the status quo. It’s a wonderful thing.

      • dearrosie says:

        Hi Dinah,
        I think I’ve seen the flash mob in the big restaurant… It must be a wonderful experience when people stand up at their tables and sing like that.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Priya,
      Did you click the link I gave Charles to my post from last year on flash mobs?

      I have a few Italian friends whose fathers made homemade salami. I wish I could have a slice of that! oh boy…

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

