Museum Musings: Barbara Streisand came to lunch

Jessica from L.A. Her blog is "Maxicat" and her shoes are from Japan.

I’m getting backlogged again… so many stories, so many people I haven’t told you about.

Why do people walk around holding their cell phones?

On Sunday, I met a woman who wouldn’t tell me where she was from.

* * * * *

Kathleen bought a water-color paint kit.

“It’s for my daughter,” she said, “Thankfully there’s another artist in the family. My mother was a painter. I have her paintings all over the house.”

I nodded and smiled, not sure whether she expected me to comment.

“She  died way too young….” and tears rolled down her cheeks.

“I’m very sorry,” I said,

“Way too young … My graduation weekend from college… ”

I cried with her.

* * * * *

I recently had lunch with Lillian, a friend from another department at the Museum. In the middle of our conversation she began to sing the Barbara Streisand song “People”:

From the summer of 1964, “People” from the Broadway Musical Funny Girl, was Barbra Streisand’s first hit record.

.

It’s a beautiful song, and it brought tears to my eyes.   “Why are you singing to me?” I asked her

She shrugged that she didn’t know. “I like singing,” she said.

“We’ve known each other for several years, and you’ve never sung before…?” I said.

She didn’t know.

Another message from my Mom? Perhaps…

* * * * *

“This is my 4th visit to California in 10 years,” a Chinese businessman told me. “I’ve had a very productive day today,” he chuckled.

I wouldn’t mind going to China four times in ten years and I told him. He chuckled again.

June Min

* * * * *

This is June Min, from Korea.

I took the photo because I liked his shirt.

When I asked him his name  he explained that June means “a strong boy” in Korean, and I think he said, there was a June who was a hero.

* * * * *

.

Tilde Heding and her girls

Tilde Heding, and her daughters Iris (who was 8 yesterday),  and Marie (5), from Denmark,  came to the Museum this afternoon.

Tilde spoke perfect English. “We have to learn English,” she told me, “there are only five million Danes.”

She explained why I’d seen so many Danish families this month: “Last week was the mid-term holiday – the children get one week in October – but we took eighteen days. You can’t come so far for a shorter time.”

They went to Disneyland yesterday for Iris’s birthday celebration.

She explained how to pronounce the girls names: Iris = Ee-ris and  Marie = Mar-ee-yuh, and taught me to say Goodbye in Danish = “Farvel!”

*

Old fashioned “flower” names have become very popular. In the past year I’ve met little girls called Iris from Australia, England, Canada, United States and now Denmark.

* * * * *

Bijoux

.

Bijou is a smooth-coat fox terrier. Her owner told me she’s a companion dog.

“What does that mean? What does she do?” I asked.

“She visits people who are shut in their homes.”

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Museum Musings: Barbara Streisand came to lunch

  1. Cindy says:

    Iris must have been delighted to meet a Rose 🙂 Love Bijoux!

  2. Sybil says:

    “Back-logged” or “Back-blogged” ? 😉

    I love your conversation snippets. They provide a wonderful sense of your day, and your openness to others.

  3. souldipper says:

    Jessica would fit right into our Gulf Islands. We create our own wardrobes which is why our Thrift shops thrive. Seeing the attire of city folk can sometimes shock us into faux-urban attire, but we settle down after the tourist season.

    Hmmm…maybe that’s why neighbouring lands call us the “goofy islands”… 😀

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Amy,
      “Goofy islands”?
      I went to Salt Spring Island a few years ago and I loved the relaxed “laid back” attitude of the people living there. I bought some pottery and photographs at the Saturday market, including a postcard of a Salt Spring rooster which is on my fridge and I see it every day.
      I assume that your island is smaller? I’m sure I’d love it.

  4. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    A beautiful song by Barbara Streisand, I haven’t heard it for ages.
    There are a lot of these companion dogs here in OZ as well. They also visit nursing homes, and some hospitals as well, they are fantastic.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags
      Barbara Streisand has a beautiful voice and it is a beautiful song isnt it?

      I had no idea that so many “service” dogs were companion dogs. I guess I’d never asked before.

  5. Hello. Here’s a link to my blog if you’re interested. It’s fairly new. Thanks for the lovely picture! -Maxicat

    Threadbarely: http://maxicat.tumblr.com/

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Maxicat,
      Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to write a comment. I’m so glad you found my post with your lovely picture. You do look great 🙂
      I look forward to seeing you again at the Museum.
      Thanks for the link to your blog

  6. Priya says:

    1. I absolutely adore the pompoms on Jessica’s bag. So very my taste!
    2. I didn’t quite understand what Bijoux does. Does he visit people in homes and hospitals to cheer them up and then go back with his master? Does he accompany these people in the homes somewhere? Whatever he does, he’s quite a guy!
    3. I like Tilde and her daughters. They are a picture of goodness, somehow.
    4. I hadn’t heard this song before, and now that I have, I wonder why I hadn’t. It is beautiful. A message we all need — no matter where it comes from!

    Sorry for being late to this show, Rosie. I have been away from the indulgences of late.

    • dearrosie says:

      1. You know I didn’t notice the pompoms on her bag. You are so observant!
      2. I’m not totally sure, next time I meet a companion dog I will ask the dog’s owner to explain the whole story, but I believe Bijoux visits people who are sick and alone at home, and then returns back home to her master.
      3. You would’ve enjoyed meeting Tilde and her girls.
      4. I’m glad to introduce you to this song – it is beautiful. I’m listening to it now.

      It’s always my pleasure to welcome you here Priya, whenever you get here.

  7. Rosie: Our big Dawg is a certified therapy dog and she is licensed to visit patients in hospitals and nursing homes as compared to the companion dog that does as you said, goes to people’s homes.

    What a great job you have, meeting so many new people every day and getting a chance to interact with them. I think blogging and being sociable go hand in hand.

    Uh, oh, Am I the only one to NOT like Barbra Streisand? Her voice goes right through me, like fingernails on a chalkboard. 😦

    • dearrosie says:

      Welcome EOS,
      Thank you for explaining the difference between therapy and companion dogs to us. Did your dog have to go to doggy school and pass tests?
      Is that Dawg in all that snow in your post today?

      I know a lot of people who don’t like Barbara Steisand’s music but have never heard it expressed in quite those terms. Finger nails on a chalkboard is what I feel go through me whenever anyone presses the Screaming Scream at the Museum…

      Thank you for stopping by.

  8. Rosie: Yes and Yes. Dawg is the one in my post today and she did have to go through many many tests to become a therapy dog. First and foremost, they can’t be aggressive and secondly they can’t have a “nervous pee”. I had a Westie who flunked being a therapy dog as anywhere new she went she peed all over! 😦
    We have a son who is a fireman and he’s the one who goes around with Dawg. There’s an instant comfort factor people have with firemen that helps deflect any fear others may have seeing a large and imposing pit bull. He’s trained her impeccably. As the Dog Whisperer is famous for saying – it isn’t the breed that’s bad, it’s the owner. Pit bulls get such a bad rap but they are inherently gentle and loving and so very very loyal.

    I’ll remember not to press The Screaming Scream when I come to the Museum!!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi EOS,
      I think it must be a thrilling experience for a sick kid in hospital to have a visit from a fireman with a dog.

      I’m one of those folks that keep my distance from pitbulls. I’m not scared of dogs, but I haven’t met a friendly pitbull . I’m glad you shared what the Dog Whispererer said ie “it isn’t the breed that’s bad, it’s the owner.”
      After years of walking dogs Mr F and I haven’t met many small dogs that aren’t yappy and nervous -funnily enough our dogs always avoid them. When we meet a small dog that’s calm, their human is always calm. I must remember to extend that line of reasoning to a dog like Dawg.

      I’ve written several times how the Screaming Scream drives me nuts.

  9. Val says:

    Some of Barbara Streisand’s music is beautiful. Did you ever see the remake of ‘A Star is Born’ with her and Kris Kristopherson? I love that, and had it on video for years. One day maybe I’ll get it on DVD. Yes, maybe it was a message from your mom…

    Curious about the comeback of flower names. The only Iris I ever met was my parents generation.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Val,
      I haven’t seen Barbara and Kris Kristopherson’s remake of ‘A Star is Born’. Thank you for the recommendation.

      Other names that are very popular are Zoe and Chloe, Sam and Max.. What’s really interesting about fashion in childrens’ names is the same name isn’t just limited to a geographic region, but is found all over the globe. Why?

  10. How sweet of your mom to use your friend singing a lovely Barbara Streisand song to fill you with wonder…

    Tilde, Iris and Marie look like a happy family and a pleasure to converse with.

    Three cheers for Bijou! When my son was in the hospital he had a visit from a therapy dog – you should have seen his face light up as he forgot his pain for a few moments. And when my dad was in a rehabilitation center there were several cats wandering in and out of the rooms on his floor, perfect therapy for a cat lover. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Barbara,
      That’s exactly what happened ie. my friend sang a Barbara Streisand song which filled me with wonder.

      I’m sure you’ll never forget how much happiness the therapy animals gave both your son and your dad. What joy to see your sick child’s face light up in hospital.

      I’ll never forget the time I went around with a children’s librarian at Sick Kids Hospital when she took the book cart around to the kids.

  11. bronxboy55 says:

    Rosie, I know I’ve said this before, more than once, and I apologize for the repetition. But you are a master at capturing the essence of conversations, knowing exactly what to include and what to leave out. Just one example:

    “She died way too young….” and tears rolled down her cheeks.
    “I’m very sorry,” I said.
    “Way too young … My graduation weekend from college… “
    I cried with her.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

