when you need a salad for a “pot-luck” party…

This post with a vegan salad recipe, is a logical next step to yesterday’s food post   (#BAD11) where I suggested we avoid any products produced in a factory farm.

Bon appetit!

“the Quinoa salad I made for Dinah’s birthday party”

Do you dread those invitations to parties that include, “Could you please bring a salad that will feed about eight or ten?”

We’ve gone to about half a dozen “pot-luck” parties this past year and have made this salad every time: it’s easy to make, tastes marvelous, and because it’s vegan it pleases, and impresses everyone.

Quinoa Salad  

Ingredients:

 Salad

1 2/3 cups dry quinoa
3 1/3 cups water
1 cup chopped or grated carrots
3/4 cup chopped parsley (or cilantro)
1/2 cup cucumber, finely chopped
1/2 cup red pepper, finely chopped
1/3 cup sunflower seeds (or 1 can of black beans, drained)
4 cloves garlic, minced (can use roasted if desired)
1/2 cup soaked* arame, wakame or hijiki (seaweeds)

  •  * To soak seaweed: place in a heat-proof bowl, cover with just-boiled water and let sit for 15-30 minutes – depending on the kind of seaweed, check instructions on the package.  Drain off water and add to recipe.

Dressing

Combine the following:

1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon or lime juice
3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil [or flax oil]
1 tbsp Bragg’s (liquid aminos) [or substitute tamari]
1/2 tsp ground cumin (optional)
3/4 tsp ground coriander (optional)

Optional Garnishes:

  • various sprouts.
  • Raw or steamed broccoli.
  • Tomato – cut into wedges or whole little guys.

Directions:

Place quinoa and water in a pot; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low, cover, simmer for 15 min.
Add drained seaweed and let mixture sit on very low heat, uncovered, for an extra 5 minutes so it dries out. This makes the grain fluffier for salads.
Toss quinoa with a fork and let cool.
Add vegetables, mix thoroughly.
Pour dressing over salad and toss, with garnishes if desired.

* Quinoa is like rice, in that it is 1:2 grain to water, so 1 cup quinoa cooks in 2 cups of water, and you can estimate about 1/2 cup of quinoa per person. Feel free to change the quantities in this recipe to what works for you.  I usually make 2 cups quinoa.

some of the salads at Dinah’s party

Recipe is from drmahaliafreed’s website

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Tutto va bene and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to when you need a salad for a “pot-luck” party…

  1. souldipper says:

    I love quinoa so appreciate a peek at the salad ingredients you use. Yum! It is such a valuable grain for our protein intake – I use it in place of rice now.

    When I was in the midst of dental procedures and couldn’t chew much food, I needed sustenance for a pot luck. I had a round of Camembert cheese that I wanted to use up. I googled the camembert and quinoa to see if there was any recipe. There was! It also included banana and cinnamon. If you are interested I’ll share the recipe because it had a total “surprise” taste. The way the recipe is built, there can be little surprises as you eat it. It was refreshingly different, healthy, easy to eat and gave a unique taste experience (subtle). The hostess told me she put the leftover on her morning cereal and loved it. Another person took some home and ate it with yogurt.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Amy,

      Quinoa’s a great substitute for rice. We like it so we eat it quite often. Have you tried the red quinoa?

      Quinoa, Camembert, banana and cinnamon? I cannot imagine that combination. Without the cheese it sounds like it could be a hot oat porridge with banana and cinnamon added. Doesn’t the Camembert make it rich?

      Yes please, I’d love the recipe. I’m intrigued by the “surprise” taste. Is it a salad or a desert?

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Something for everyone I love it. 🙂

  3. Kathy says:

    This looks delicious, Rosie. We eat quinoa almost every week. I shall copy and try your recipe!

  4. Mahalia says:

    Gosh, me and my favorite quinoa recipe are famous! I went to a green holistic networking party last night and a variation of this salad, with kale and cucumber from my garden, was a big hit: http://dandelionnaturopathic.ca/the-kale-crusader-speaks/

    Love, the Kale Crusader (Mahalia)

    • dearrosie says:

      I’d say you are famous now that your quinoa recipe is being made all over the world. Thank you for letting me use it.
      I like the idea of adding kale and cucumber. I’m going to try it.

      Talking of kale, Mr F made a pizza for dinner with kale and anchovies. We didn’t have anything else in the fridge. I dislike anchovies but I love kale -we’re not sure whether the kale will burn … Should be interesting.

  5. Priya says:

    We don’t get quinoa easily here! Nor do we get seaweed. 😦

    But I know what I’d do. I’ll replace quinoa with couscous. And seaweed with herbs. How’s that?!

    What do you mean “whether the kale will burn”?

    I like Mahalia’s dressing, too. Gosh, can’t wait to try all these salads!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Priya,
      I guess couscous could work as a substitute for Quinoa, an ancient grain which has become very popular. It cooks up into little individual balls that I think are lighter than couscous.

      I don’t know which herbs one could use to replace the seaweed. I’m so sorry. I didn’t realize you’d have trouble getting some of the ingredients.

      The pizza was delicious. The kale didn’t burn. I took a photo but I don’t know how to insert photos in the comments.
      (When we put the pizza in the hot oven we weren’t sure whether the green bits of kale that were sticking up would end up being burned.)

      • Priya says:

        I suppose I’ll just have to improvise and use what I get here!

        Quinoa is lighter than couscous, for sure. Maybe I’ll use a comparable grain we have here. It is called jowar. Light, protein-y and yummy!

      • dearrosie says:

        Priya, I don’t know what “jowar” is, but light, protein-y and yummy is how I’d describe quinoa…

  6. I’ve never had a quinoa salad, I’ll have to try it!

  7. Try as I might to love quinoa, I can’t wrap my taste-buds around it. And I’m not remotely a picky eater. Maybe I’ve never had a good enough recipe for it so I’m going to give this a try!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi EOS,
      Welcome and thank you for writing.
      I think you should definitely give quinoa another chance. Let me know when you try the recipe, I hope it’ll change your opinion of this ancient grain.

  8. I have to admit I’ve never even tried quinoa. But this recipe makes me want to give it a shot. Looks delicious!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Darla,
      You should definitely try quinoa. It’s not difficult to find in the United States. I’ve noticed that even stores like Trader Joes are selling it (and their brand’s organic).

      I don’t know what those folks who only eat meat and white “foods” would think of this salad (I hope someone will let me know), but both meat eaters and vegetarian’s at the parties where I’ve taken this, have asked for the recipe.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  9. Dinah says:

    Thanks for the recipe, Rosanne! This is SUCH a yummy salad! Your secret ingredient must be the seaweed. I’ve never seen that before. DeeeLish!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Dinah,
      I’m sorry you had to wait so long for the recipe. The secret ingredient is the seaweed. It looks good, and gives it that secret special flavor .

      by the way, I don’t eat raw garlic, so I didn’t add it to the salads I made for your parties. I’m sure the garlic must be a great addition.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

