Museum Musings: one bride, two just looking, three red hat ladies…

A bride called Melissa (who doesn't speak English).

Today at the Museum

One blushing bride

Two “I’m just looking”

Three ladies in purple with their obligatory red hats

Four women called Frances
(in less than two hours)

Five languages – French, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish
(in an hour, alphabetically)

Six people in wheelchairs (two with oxygen)

Seven “kids” who pressed the wretched “Scream” each pressed it twice (oh god)

Eight “Where’s the Rest Room?”

Nine people ahead of me at the coffee cart

Ten finger puppets for some lucky kids

three red hat ladies

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Museum Musings: one bride, two just looking, three red hat ladies…

  1. souldipper says:

    Oh Rosie, this is a delight. It creatively speaks volumes!

  2. Sybil says:

    wonderful fun.

    sorry about the coffee cart line up …

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      Yeah another fun day at the museum.

      The problem with the coffee cart line-up is I only get a fifteen minute recess and I basically stood in line almost the whole break. Some staff members I know jump in the line – you really have to – but you get such *looks* that it’s not worth it.

  3. Priya says:

    Did you get the coffee? Were you able to drink it in peace? Why just fifteen minutes?! Why can’t there be staggered times off for groups of people? Why do I not like your manager?

    Melissa’s beautiful!

    Did you ask the Just Lookings? Do they look guilty for just looking?

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Priya,
      We get 45 minutes for lunch and a 15 minute recess in the morning and afternoon. As some of the Satellite stores are at the opposite end of the museum, a 15 minutes is really just enough time to go to the bathroom and get a hot drink. Unfortunately there wasn’t time to drink the coffee peacefully.

      Melissa’s a beautiful “blushing bride”.

      The one “Just Looking” sounded German. She didn’t give me a chance to ask where she came from. As soon as I said, “Hello,” she said “just looking” and ran out.

  4. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Love the photo’s.
    What a shame they haven’t got a separate place for staff to get a cup of coffee, not much of a break when you get stuck in a line up.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      There are many “break rooms” for the staff all over the museum (with tables and chairs, microwaves and free tea and coffee), but a couple of years ago they started buying a brand of cheaper coffee, which is really awful, nasty stuff. I bring my own tea bags, but some afternoons when I’m desperate for a caffeine fix, only a real cup of coffee will do.

  5. Reggie says:

    What an unusual and creative way of posting! Really enjoyed it, Rosie. I like looking out for patterns like these too.

    • dearrosie says:

      I appreciate your feedback Reggie. People are so rushed and don’t read long posts, so when this post wanted to be written in this way I decided to go with it and see the reaction…

  6. Cindy says:

    Love the festive old birds 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Groups of Red Hat Ladies come to the Museum all the time. It’s unfortunate that these ladies weren’t very well dressed.

      Do you have “Red Hat Ladies” groups in South Africa Cindy?

      Do you know what they are?

      from Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_Hat_Society
      “The Red Hat Society (RHS) is a social organization, founded in 1998, for women approaching the age of 50 and beyond. As of January 2011, there are over 70,000 registered members and almost 24,000 chapters in the United States and 25 other countries. The Red Hat Society is the largest women’s social group in the world.”

  7. shoreacres says:

    Funny that I just was reading that poem – “When I Grow Old, I Shall Wear Purple” – today. Every now and then I see a group of the ladies – the last time was at a movie. They do seem to have fun!

    Have you thought about taking a thermos of your own coffee with you? I have a good thermos I use in the wintertime on the docks, and it keeps things hot all day – or at least for 6-8 hours in really cold weather. It cold provide decent coffee and make things more relaxing for you.

    Interesting, your comment about folks not reading long posts. I think the answer to that is yes and no – some won’t touch them, but others will if they can fit them in. That’s why I only post once a week, and it seems to work.

    I certainly enjoyed this, though!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Linda,
      I love the synchronicity that you read the “When I Grow Old, I Shall Wear Purple” poem just before you saw my post. The red hat ladies always have a good time when they come to the Museum.

      I have a small thermos I could bring to work. I haven’t brought it before because it would have to keep hot for many hours (from 7am until 4pm). I should try it out. I’ll let you know.

      Thank you for your feedback re this short post.
      Your posts are always on such interesting topics that I personally don’t mind if they’re long.

  8. Val says:

    I love the red-hatted, purple-dressed women! Were they sisters, or just friends?

    And was there, by chance a Partridge in a Pear Tree amongst all these?

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Val,
      I don’t know whether the red hat ladies are sisters, they’re usually just members of the club. I think you have to be over a certain age to wear the red hat so that’s why the woman on the right isn’t wearing the full “uniform”.

      There aren’t any pear trees at the Museum – just Lemon trees. My favorite staff break room is next to a “secret” garden with about a dozen lemon trees and one fig tree.
      Unfortunately we don’t have partridges or peacocks wandering about the grounds.

  9. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Well, I learned something new today – even though I know the purple poem I never knew there was an actual Red Hat Society. I followed the link to Wikipedia and then found they have a website, too. $39 a year to join!

    Is getting married in a museum a new trend? My daughter went to a friend’s wedding at a museum a couple of years ago. Melissa is a lovely bride!

    I enjoy all your posts, Rosie, short or long – even if I don’t get around to commenting on them in a timely fashion. I like your playful sense of humor and your mellow observations of human nature in the museum. I get to people-watch vicariously through you!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I obviously must re-write information about the Red Hat Ladies. I included the link in case someone hadn’t heard of them, but it seems many of you hadn’t heard of them.
      It started small and is now a world wide association for ladies – they usually dress up in very fancy outfits with outrageous hats. These ladies were not well dressed, but I was able to catch them during my recess…

      I’ve only seen a bride a handful of times at the museum.

      It’s gratifying to know you enjoy reading my writings. Thank you for your kind words.

  10. bronxboy55 says:

    That museum shop seems to be a crossroads of the world. We’re lucky to have you there, to help us see and hear the many amazing things that would otherwise go by unnoticed. Do people actually buy those wretched Screams? Don’t the batteries ever run down?

    • dearrosie says:

      it is a crossroads of the world Charles – almost like working at the airport. I’ve never been in such a multilingual, multicultural workplace before. I love it.

      I would assume that the batteries of The Scream would run down – I think it takes a little round watch battery.
      A little girl of about three ran through the main store today pressing The Scream about a dozen times, until we all wanted to Scream.

  11. Pingback: Museum Musings: how did John Lennon show up during this quiet week? | Wondering Rose

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

