Museum Musings: one elevator, seven dollars, several new friends.

a splendid lunch time visit with David and Danielle

Last Sunday morning, already running late leaving for work, I was delayed looking for my keys, and when I rushed into the car, keys in hand, I somehow opened the car door onto my glasses, knocking them askew.

I drove off, but I get major headaches if my glasses don’t sit properly, I came back for the spare pair.

There’s very little traffic before nine on a Sunday morning, so I knew once I was on the freeway I’d be able to get to work without delay, but last weekend the connector ramp from the I-405 to the I-101 freeways was closed. I had to drive over a mile out of my way, before I could exit and come back the other way.

After I parked the car, I was going to run up the stairs in the garage, but decided the elevator would be quicker. It was. It arrived promptly and I got in with two security guards who were chatting about this and that, and that and this…

“Are we moving?” I asked. We weren’t. We were stuck in the elevator.

I should’ve gone back to bed when I couldn’t find the keys.

They slept like this with their heads on the table all afternoon

*

Why do some people say “Just looking!” when I say “Hello”?

*

Why did the man take the bag from me,  scrunch it into a ball and throw it in the trash bin next to me?
Why didn’t he just say, “No bag thank you,” and just give it back to me, as many people are doing these days?

David’s “Gandhi” tee-shirt

“Can I have this?” a kid of about five or six asked his parents, as he played with a wind-up flash-light at my register.

“No,” said his father.

“I want it,” said the kid

“It’s too expensive!” said his father, “I’ll buy you this nice colored pencil. See, it’s got four colors. Nice huh?”

“How much is the flashlight?” asked the kid

“Seven dollars.”

“Do you have seven dollars?” he asked his father

“No,” said his father giving me ten dollars for the crayon with four colors, which with tax came to $2,99. When I gave the change back to the father, I put the one cent in his hand, and unable to ignore the “meaningful coincidence“, when I gave him the bills, I said, “and seven dollars”.

The little boy heard. “Do you have seven dollars?” he asked again.

“No,” said the father, “I just have money for food. Here is a nice crayon for you.”

I saw the kid retreat into himself…

*

These friendly girls met at the hostel in L.A. and were spending the day together.

Didem (left) and Kazuno

Didem Derici’s from Turkey.  Her name means “Precious”.  She just spent four months working at an hotel in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, and is going back to Turkey tomorrow “to continue her studies to be an English teacher”.

Kazuno is from Japan. Her name means #1.  She’d studied in New Jersey for two years, and was taking a little holiday before going home. I was very honored when she asked me to sign her autograph book.

Before they left we said “Hello” in their languages:

  • Merhaba in Turkish
  • Konichiwa in Japanese

*

Five year-old Joshua from Australia was touching everything around my Satellite store.   I told him to stop fiddling, to put his hands behind his back, and look with his eyes.
“Listen to the lady,” said his dad.
He did, very successfully too.
I taught him to do a “bones-it” handshake, and gave him a bookmark. I hope next time he goes to a museum, he’ll walk through it with hands behind his back.

*

  Little Ballerina by Degas

Adriana told me she loved going to museums when she was a kid: “When I was five I was thrown out of the Norton Simon Museum in Pasadena, because I touched the skirt of Degas’s Little Ballerina. I was so humiliated I never went back there again.”

Although she still lives in Pasadena, and still loves the Little Ballerina, she admitted she hasn’t been back in over thirty years.

“You’re overdue for a visit,” I said 

 “Yeah I guess I am…” she said.

*

I enjoyed meeting these  sisters aged three and five.   Older sister told me her teacher’s name is Miss Rose, and she was going to tell Miss Rose that she met Rosie at the Museum.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Museum Musings: one elevator, seven dollars, several new friends.

  1. souldipper says:

    I’m grateful you were with two security guys when the elevator decided to quit, Rosie! Loved the photos, the vignettes and the people. Yah, about the guy scrumping the bag! What’s with that?

  2. dearrosie says:

    Amy I cannot tell you how grateful I was not to be alone in that elevator! oh lord…

    Yeah what’s with the man throwing away the bag? You know I have a feeling he didn’t even realize what he was doing. After all we’ve been doing stuff like that for years.

  3. Cindy says:

    In Israel it is compulsory to tell the person who is manning a store that you are just browsing. I love these posts of yours Rosanne.

    • dearrosie says:

      I had no idea of such a rule. Next time someone says to me “I’m just looking” I’m going to ask them where they come from and whether one is allowed to ‘just look”in their country.
      Very nice to know that you enjoy my posts Cindy. 🙂

  4. Priya says:

    “Why do some people say “Just looking!” when I say “Hello”?” Really? Why indeed? If you find out, do let me know, too!

    All the girls in the pictures are beautiful! Including the ballerina. I am sure the sisters with a teacher named Rose are, too.

    Did I ever tell you these posts of yours make me feel “one” with the world? Thank you.

  5. dearrosie says:

    The little girls with the teacher named Rose were really *cute*. I had lots of fun skipping and jumping in the air with them [it wasn’t busy just then]. I look forward to seeing them again.

    I’m going to start asking folks why they feel they must say “just looking”. But now that I want to find them, I have a feeling that no one’s going to tell me “just looking…”.

    Thank you for telling me that my posts give you such a great “one” with the world feeling. Your comment leaves me feeling tremendously satisfied with the world.

  6. Reggie says:

    Cute post and pics, Rosie. I particularly like your dialogues – sooo entertaining, and so revealing of people’s characters.

    A lot of people here say “I’m just looking”, so I’m surprised and puzzled that it’s different in America. Why is that?

    When I walk around a shop I don’t know, without a clear idea of what I’m looking for (like when I’m thinking of getting a present for someone, or of buying something for the house or the garden, or whatever), and when a shop assistant approaches me, I always say, “I’m just looking”. Otherwise I find that they start asking me questions, or making suggestions to buy things that are not at all what I’m vaguely-looking-for!

    I tend to buy presents on ‘gut feeling’ or intuition, thinking and feeling myself into a space and into possible items I’d like to buy, trying to *feel* whether it might be the right gift for a certain friend… in that situation, getting bombarded by ‘helpful sales assistants’ can be decidedly unhelpful! 🙂

    But when I know what I want, and want to get it and get out quickly, I always ask them directly.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Reggie,
      It’s encouraging to know that you enjoy reading the conversations of my encounters.

      People DO say “Just looking” over here. I do too for the same reasons you give – I want to be allowed to browse in peace. What I don’t understand is why people don’t simply say “Hello” in reply to my “Hello”. It’s a kind of defensive answer to say “I’m just looking” …

  7. bronxboy55 says:

    Where I live, people respond to a greeting with some comment about the weather. I say hello and they say, “Beautiful day!” or “We needed the rain.” It confuses me.

    These bits of conversation and interaction you have at work are always my favorite of your posts. Have I already told you that?

    • dearrosie says:

      Charles its so funny to think of someone saying “Beautiful day” in response to “Hello”. In LA when every day is a beautiful day, we wouldn’t greet each other with news of the weather, but when one lives in cold northern climes as you do, each nice day is a gift, and not taken for granted.
      Do you always say “Yeah” even if you hadn’t noticed the weather?

      I thank you for reminding me that you also enjoy the conversations. Sometimes when a tourist asks a silly question, I find I don’t mind so much because I can’t wait to come home and share it with you all… heh heh

  8. Val says:

    In the UK, if someone from a shop approaches one it usually means they want you to spend more money than you’d want to – or that you’ve been looking for too long, they realise you’re never going to buy anything and they actually would like you to leave… so we say ‘Just looking’. That will make the first type of person smile and go away and wait til we’re not still just looking and it will usually make the second type of person wince. Sorry! 😉

    • dearrosie says:

      Museum stores are not regular “shops”. People can take as long as they like to browse in the galleries, and in our shops (we have one main store and 4 little satellite stores). We’d never ask someone to leave even if we can see they’re obviously “just looking”. It’s part of your day at the museum.

      What I don’t understand is why folks say “just looking” in response to my cheerful “Hello”? Why don’t they simply say “Hello”?

      • Val says:

        Mmm… in the USA, maybe. Here… even museum shops have that certain ‘rushed’ feeling! 😉

        I get the feeling with most people that they have a sort of ‘script’ going through their heads a lot of the time so that when someone says ‘hello’ they come out with something totally out of context! Or maybe that’s just me! 🙂

      • dearrosie says:

        I’m sorry to hear that museum shops over in the UK have a rushed feeling. As far as I’m concerned a day at the Museum is supposed to be a carefree relaxed day and I’m always shocked when I see folks that are rushing to get through one of our cash registers.

        I didn’t think of it but you raise a good point i.e when someone’s deep in thought and I say “hello” I interrupt their train of thought re “what gifts to buy”, so at that point they really are just looking. 🙂

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

