synchronicity and meaningful coincidences

I often wake up in the middle of the night repeating a word or a phrase from a dream, and if I don’t write it down immediately, I’ll  forget what it was when I wake up in the morning.

Two nights ago when I woke up singing an old time song I’ve never sung before, I fished out the flash light and made sure to write it down, because I knew the song was a message from my Mom.

At lunch time I looked it up:

“I Believe.”

I believe for every drop of rain that falls
A flower grows,
I believe that somewhere in the darkest night
A candle glows,
I believe for everyone who goes astray,
Someone will come to show the way,
I believe, I believe.

I believe above the storm a smallest prayer
Will still be heard,
I believe that someone in the great somewhere
Hears every word,
Every time I hear a newborn baby cry,
Or touch a leaf, or see the sky,
Then I know why,
I believe.

Every time I hear a newborn baby cry,
Or touch a leaf, or see the sky,
Then I know why,
I believe.

 Of course I cried and spent the rest of the day singing it.

Here’s Tom Jones’ beautiful version:

.

I only spent a couple of hours behind my cash register yesterday, but almost every person I served seemed to have a message for me. It’s easy to ignore messages, it’s easy to say it’s a coincidence when a woman called Priya comes to my register, but what about the woman called Betty whom I served at 12:28 a.m. today? Was my blogging buddy Betty Londergan smelling the gardenias in her garden? As you may know if you’ve been reading this blog for a while, I pay attention to the signs especially when they’re meaningful coincidences

Coincidence means many incidents happening together that would not likely happen together: a conspiracy of improbable events. Though a coincidence may seem to be an accident, in truth there is no such thing as an accident or random event….. Never ignore coincidences. When a coincidence happens, ask yourself, what does this mean?

– Deepak Chopra “Power, Freedom and Grace

What kind of messages did I receive?

  • A woman asked if we had earrings made by her friend, a jeweler called TUTU.  “We’re from Hawaii, and Tutu means Granny in Hawaiian,” she came back to tell me, even though I hadn’t asked.  I thought Tutu was a ballet skirt.

My sister M and I never called our mother, Mommy. After our children were born M and I joined them in calling her “Granny” or “Gran“, and after a while it seemed everyone was calling her Granny, so she signed her name on birthday cards, loveGranny“, even to Mr F, her son-in-law.

  • Very few people at my cash register tell me who they’re shopping for. Yesterday afternoon I served several girls who told me they’d bought a gift for their mothers.
  • J. Loving came in the middle of the girls.
  • T-shirt: Music is Life.
  • When someone paid with a Scotiabank credit card, I noticed with interest because (a) I don’t often see cards from that bank, and (b) it was my parents bank.  When the man told me he lived at Bayview and Sheppard, across the road from Bayview Village, where my parents had lived for many years, I realized he most probably banked at the same bank as them, and I got goosebumps.
  • I always get messages from license plates and I was almost home last night before I saw, LOV4GIV, and LIVDB4.  Tonight I saw, LUVELY

Nandini is from Poona

Over fifty students from Soka University of America, in Orange County, spent the day at the museum. I spoke to this lovely young lady who told me she was born in Poona – my mother’s birthplace – and her name Nandini, is very similar to the name of one of Mom’s grand daughters.

[According to WikiAnswers, “Nandini” is a Sanskrit name which means ‘Daughter‘. A person with this name is believed to spread happiness all around.  It’s also a name of a wish-granting cow.]

This evening as we sat at the dining table our little dog Monte Carlo stood up and barked at nothing, or should I say, “something we couldn’t see” in the corner of the living room. At one point he stood up on his hind legs and it seemed as if he was trying to smell the “something”, and then he rapidly backed away. It was rather weird to say the least…

Whether I’m receiving the messages so I know that the song “I believe” was a gift from my Mother, or whether it’s to let me know that my mother is with me, or that it’s a message from my soul, I can’t say. I can tell you I feel less lonely now, especially as I can’t stop singing “I believe”…

* * * *

Post Script:

I wrote this post on August 31, 2011.  At 2:51 pm on September 1st 2011, I answered the phone in the Museum Store: “Hello,” a woman said, “Is Gladys there?”

[My mom’s name is Gladys]

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to synchronicity and meaningful coincidences

  1. Reggie says:

    Wow, Rosie, I had a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes listening to that song and reading your post. I just love synchronicities too – sometimes it seems that the more one looks out for them, the more there are.

    It leaves one feeling much less alone, and so much more safe and loved in this big wide world, doesn’t it?

    Hugs to you, and wishes for another lovely day with many gentle and loving reminders of those mother-daughter bonds that never die. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Reggie,
      Sometimes even when the coincidences are flying at us like flying fish some people still don’t get it. I’m grateful I do.

      I haven’t been able to get the song out of my head, and knowing it’s a gift from my dearly beloved Mom makes me feel as you said, safe, and not alone.

  2. Cindy says:

    OMG, goosebumps don’t begin to describe it …

  3. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    A beautiful post, and a great song as well.

  4. Mahalia says:

    wow, how lovely! am impressed that you are given songs in your dreams!

  5. Sybil says:

    I wish I could feel the way you do. A Message from my mum would be wonderful. Something to reassure me that I WILL see her again …

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      All I can say is don’t be scared, just be open to the possibility that she could possibly still come by, and watch out for the meaningful coincidences. You know she could’ve tried to send you messages and you may not have known they were from her… When my Dad died I didn’t get messages and I think it was because I was a lot younger – only about 37 – and wasn’t “looking”.

  6. souldipper says:

    Rosie, Speaking of “I believe”…there are times when the veil is very thin. Our “guides” are always with us and there are times when we are more able to accept their nudges, whispers and love gestures. At times, when our ember is faltering, we are given what we need.

    Take from it what you need, Rosie. It’s yours!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for the advice Amy. As you said it’s all there waiting for us to take what we need, but most of us don’t know we have guides, let alone how to converse with them. I’m still hoping to hear their whispers. I believe Meditation helps quiet the chattering mind so we can hear them

  7. bronxboy55 says:

    It’s interesting, Rosie, that you would dream about a song and connect it with your mother. This reminded me of the post you wrote about the words she used to sing all the time — “Enjoy yourself, it’s later than you think.” Something tells me your Mom will be coming to you in music for the rest of your life, reminding you to enjoy yourself, and helping you to believe.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Charles,
      It was easy to connect the song with my mom because I’ve never been given one in my sleep before. Messages yes. Songs No.
      And as you recall she sang the song “Enjoy Yourself!” for years. I didn’t share another recent favorite song of hers with you all, it was “Oh Jemima, look at your Uncle Jim”

      “Oh Aunt Jemima, look at your Uncle Jim
      He’s in the duck pond
      Learning how to swim.
      First he does the breast stroke,
      Then he does the side,
      Now he’s under the water
      Swimming against the tide.”

      I feel so lucky. I look forward to getting many more songs from her.

  8. Priya says:

    These signs are a definite way to make sure you believe, Rosie. I do not know what exactly it is you believe, or are supposed to believe, but it is certain that the powers that be do not want you to feel ‘islanded’. Congratulations, for you are supported and loved. And that is all that matters, no?

    The song’s lines ‘…then I know why I believe.’ remind me of the peace the knowledge of awareness leads to — the awareness of strength in ‘the presence’ of what is variously called God, Spirit, Soul, Goodness…

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m also not sure what it is I’m supposed to believe Priya, but I know my Mom’s sending me the messages to make sure I don’t feel so alone, and lonely. It’s beautiful to still be supported and loved by her.

  9. E fullstop says:

    Wow, those are an awful lot of coincidences to be ignored! I’m glad that you’re open to them, that they’re occurring and that such happenstances are having a nice impact.

    In the days after J’s dad passed we had a number of unusual occurrences surrounding light — including flashlights and overhead lamps turning on when no one had touched them, and a 4-watt nightlight bulb becoming very bright for an evening before burning out. We felt Frank there and since the first occurrence, we’ve made it a point to stop what we’re doing, fill a glass and toast a wonderful man and his well-lived life.

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m so happy to hear that Jolly’s also getting messages from his Dad. Lights turning on when neither of you switched them on is definitely a sign that Frank is with you. I think it’s great that you stop everything and drink a toast to him. He was a wonderful man, I’m glad I met him.

  10. Liz says:

    This post gave me goosebumps…and I listened to the song ‘I Believe’ several times over. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Liz,
      I’m glad to know that I’ve been able to share my Mom’s gift with so many others…. Did you know the song “I Believe”? I really like Tom Jones’s version.

  11. Dr. Ed Wethli says:

    This is a tremendously interesting bit of writing – I really enjoyed it – it must be your best. I woke up the other day singing the old music hall song (that I hadn’t heard or thought of in ages): Come, come, come and make eyes at me down at the old Bull & Bush …… I haven’t managed to work out any meaning. I also come across a lot of amazing coincidences in my life especially people knowing people.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Ed,
      Always a pleasure to welcome you here. I’m really glad to know you enjoyed reading my post. Thank you.

      I love that you also were given a gift of a song. This is the first time I’ve been given a song. What about you? Have you been given songs before? Though I don’t know the rest of the song, from the few words you’ve shared here it sounds as though you’re being told to go out and socialize some more. Yes?

      I think its interesting that you’ve had a lot of “amazing coincidences in your life especially people knowing people”….

      To quote Deepak Chopra again:
      “Though a coincidence may seem to be an accident, in truth there is no such thing as an accident or random event….. Never ignore coincidences. When a coincidence happens, ask yourself, what does this mean?”

  12. shoreacres says:

    Rosie, this is a little long, but I have to tell you.

    I went into Houston two weeks ago to buy needlepoint canvas. I’d decided to needlepoint a cover for the box containing mom’s ashes before her burial. At the shop, the lady cut the canvas for me, and then rang up the cost: $48. I gulped, and paid. I hadn’t quite counted on it being that much.
    All in all, with gas into Houston and a cappucino and palmiere with a friend at a favorite cafe, the day totaled up to $64. I have to watch pennies closely, but… well, it was worth.

    The next day, I opened a letter from State Farm Auto. I had transferred Mom’s auto insurance into my name, and since I’m no 93 year old, there was a $43 rebate. The day after that, a rebate from her home telephone bill arrived – $19. Yes, ma’am – that’s a total of $62.

    Now, it could be coincidence. Or, it could be mom, tickled pink that I’m doing a bit of needlepoint on her behalf. You decide!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Linda,
      Thanks for sharing your story with us.

      What a beautiful gesture to make a needlepoint cover for your Mom’s ashes. I don’t think it’s just a coincidence. I’m sure she must be so proud that you’re doing needlepoint for her, so she found a way to get the money back to you.

      (for those of you who don’t know, I should mention that Linda’s 93 year-old mother died a couple of weeks before my Mom.)

  13. Barbara Rodgers says:

    You’ve been blessed, Rosie, by a flood of beautiful, comforting messages. I’ve had many similar experiences and know how wonderful it is to still have a connection to our departed loved ones.

    My mom usually reaches my sister and me through encounters with birds. But not too long ago my sister was out of reach for a period of time and for several days I was really wishing she would call me. Out of the blue, she called. A dragonfly was dive-bombing her persistently every time she went outside and she finally understood that I was trying to get in touch with her. It’s amazing how the universe finds ways to connect us across time and space!

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m delighted to know that you too have had experiences like this Barbara. When you say your Mom reaches you “through encounters with birds”, are they always the same bird? Was your Mom a keen bird watcher that you know the messages are coming from her?

      When I read the story of the dragonfly dive-bombing your sister it gave me goose-bumps.

      • Barbara Rodgers says:

        My mother was an avid bird watcher. After she died a pair of mourning doves began frequenting my garden whenever I was weeding. They come very close to me, watch me intently, and ask me little questions with their body language. If other humans come around they fly up to the telephone wires and watch me from there. One time when I came out of the house and walked over to the pool, one of them followed me, walking a little behind and to the side of me, followed me through the gate, and stayed nearby watching me watch the kids swimming…
        http://www.ingebrita.net/2010/06/15/zenaida-macroura/

        Once a blue jay once delivered an urgent message. I didn’t get the connection until the next day when my sister pointed out to me that my mother’s nickname was “BJ” which could also stand for Blue Jay!
        http://www.ingebrita.net/2010/08/07/my-first-tornado-warning/

      • dearrosie says:

        Hi Barbara,
        Thank you so much for sharing these stories. Your description of the mourning doves hanging close to you, but especially the one following you in the pool area to watch your kids swimming, brought tears to my eyes. Wow. But the story of the blue jay tapping on your window to warn you of the approaching storm made the hairs stand up on my arms.

        My friend Sally who passed away a few weeks after my Mom was an avid bird watcher. I wonder whether she’ll come back as a bird?

  14. Suzie says:

    Dear Rosie

    what inspirational writing. live does bring amazing coincidences! If it weren’t for my brother I wouldn’t have you as my special friend and sister-in -law and what a gift that is for me! What a beautiful gift the song you were given, as Granny would say “too beautiful”

    Hugs and kisses

    Suzie

    • dearrosie says:

      When I told you on the phone that I wasn’t missing my Mom so much because I’d heard from her and she’d given me gifts I knew you were thinking “Poor Rosie’s going ‘crazy’. I’m delighted to welcome you here Suzie, and too I’m so glad you agree that meaningful coincidences like these cannot be ignored.

      You’re right that my Mom would’ve thought the song was “too beautiful”.
      You made me smile to see that you called her Granny!

      Tell your brother that I send him a special thank you for making the introductions 🙂

  15. Suzie says:

    why don’t i read my emails before posting? Life does bring …..

  16. Kathy says:

    Rosie, what a lovely blog! You know I believe in synchronicities so much, too. I think they are nudges from Spirit that we are all really One Consciousness. At certain times in our lives–if we’re open to them–they can arise many times throughout our day. I am delighted that you synchronistically visited my blog yesterday for the first time to discover a connection. Blessings, Kathy

  17. dearrosie says:

    Welcome Kathy,
    We all get those nudges from Spirit but sometimes we aren’t ready or willing to hear them, it’s easier to ignore them, or call them coincidence..

    I’m glad I visited your blog for the first time yesterday Kathy. I loved your ghost story.

  18. Rosie, this was such a powerful and moving story about your mom. I had chills throughout. It’s incredibly comforting to have these signs from our loved ones and to know in our hearts that they are still around. I loved the Deepak Chopra quotes (one of my favorite authors). I am convinced in signs and synchronicities and I know they are no random accidents. We are all truly connected in ways that are hard to define or explain.

    Thank you so much for sharing this. I am slowly working on a post about my late dad and the signs he continues to leave me. Your post is inspiring me to finally get to writing.

  19. dearrosie says:

    Hi Darla,
    I’m so glad to have connected with you – someone who’s also received signs and believes in synchronicities.

    In the past couple of weeks my Mom has hugged me several times during long lonely nights when I’ve been struggling with insomnia .. oh man I can’t describe how beautiful it was to get those hugs in the middle of the silent darkness!

    After my Mom died I felt so lonely because my family live in three countries and 12 cities and Mr F and I are alone out here. (Hard to remember that once we all lived in the same house 🙂 ) When my Mom let me know that I wasn’t alone, that she was with me, I was so happy that I’d heard her; and then I realized that when my Pa died twenty-three years ago he must’ve sent me messages “up the wazoo”, but I didn’t get them, because I hadn’t woken up.

    Thank you for coming to my humble home Darla. I look forward to reading your post on your late dad.
    btw I love your post “The Footsteps on the Stairs” about your long dead grandpa walking down to the basement in his fishing boots.

  20. dearrosie says:

    I had an email conversation with my oldest brother about this post. He wrote:

    “Amazing story! Strange but I never heard Mom ever sing this song.

    ‘I believe’ is one of my all time favorites. The version you have from Tom Jones is good. Over the years many famous singers sung the song but in 1953 when the song was written, Frankie Lane made it famous.

    I actually bought the original Frankie Lane record and would lie on the floor in our living room listening to it in the 1950’s. You were still young and not sure if you remember this. Maybe that is where Mom got the song?”

    I don’t remember my brother lying on the floor listening to it, but my mother does. I wondered where she’d heard it… Here’s Frankie Lane’s version.

    • That’s wonderful how your brother shed some light on how and why the words to “I Believe” probably slipped into your consciousness! Music is so powerful and connecting…

      • dearrosie says:

        I didn’t realize the power of music until my mother started having difficulty finding the correct words and would end a phone conversation by singing to us. It’s interesting that she remembered so many songs from the good old days of her youth, especially as they were songs we’d never heard her singing, even on those long car trips my family took twice a year when we’d all be crammed in the car for 12 hours without a radio she never sang “I believe” or “Oh Aunt Jemima, look at your Uncle Jim/He’s in the duck pond/ Learning how to swim…. “.
        On those car trips she taught us songs like “she’ll be coming round the mountain when she comes…” and “I see the sea and the sea sees me…”

  21. Robin says:

    This brought me to tears, Rosie. My mother loved Tom Jones, and that song in particular was a favorite. I pay attention to coincidences too. My mother has let me know in a variety of ways that she’s still part of my life.
    Thank you for sharing this post with me. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      My dear Robin,
      Thank you for taking the time to find this post. I get such warm fuzzies to know that your Mom also liked that song

      I feel so fortunate knowing that my mother’s going to all that trouble to make sure I know she’s still part of my life 🙂 From your comment I think you feel the same way.

  22. Kathy says:

    I just wanted to tell you again that I believe, Rosie. And–best of all–I was able to get to your blog!!!! That is worth its weight in belief…maybe your mother helped.

    • dearrosie says:

      Oh my Kathy, I forgot that we had already had this conversation. (((hangs head in shame))). Do you get messages in your dreams?

      I’m really glad you were able to get here today. I really don’t know what happened on Sunday.

      • Kathy says:

        It still happened on two of my computers, but I plowed ahead and told the malware software that you were Cool. I used to get lots of messages in dreams, but not so often any more. Once I started meditating the messages became less, for some reason.

  23. Hi Rose, I’ve had quite a few very meaningful coincidences leading to meaningful life events.

    Interestingly, if we are in a simulation rather then a ‘real’ reality then you can deduce that many people will experience meaningful coincidences. This is because the way a simulation works to generate ’causes’ to lead or guide people to already defined outcomes will result in meaningful coincidences being presented to facilitate this.

    The page linked below explains this in detail. On other pages on that site reasoning is given that shows that people in a simulation will experience many other ‘odd’ experiences (all of which we have here).

    http://www.soul-healer.com/new-age-origins/how-a-simulated-copied-persons-life-causes-are-calculated-to-lead-to-specific-already-pre-defined-future-outcomes/

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Clive,
      What a pleasure to welcome you to the synchronicity conversation.
      Thank you for the link to your post. Dean Radin’s synchronicity experience is pretty amazing. You raise some fascinating points. If we all have pre-defined scripts, I assume that the coincidences and predetermined feelings will be stronger and more frequent once we reach middle age.

      • I doubt age will correlate with coincidences it’s more to do with specific life events that the sim has to make a serious effort to ‘guide’ you to living through. So, coincidences will be more frequent leading up to making sure that important meetings / encounters with specific people (which could be either good or bad encounters) go according to what is pre-defined in your script.

        Like this ‘crazy’ soul mate meeting example presented on another site: http://www.realitywalker.com/magical-moments/a-soul-mate-encounter/

  24. Actually Rose there is another possibility specifically for what you describe on your page above.

    I had ‘crazy’ coincidences of living the same events at the same time as a friend of mine (called ‘mad’ rob) We’d get girlfriends at the same time, start talking about the same film we just watched independently, at one point In a stressful situation I lost my temper and to release my frustration I hit a wood door as hard as I could with my fist. This ended up with me having a bandaged hand. This happened on a Sunday, the next day at work I went to chat with Rob about what had happened. As I entered his office I saw that he was sitting with his hand bandaged, he looked at me, looked at my hand then his own and asked me which door I’d put my hand through. We had done the same thing at pretty much the same time for the same reason the previous day.

    Now we are ‘subtle’ people being simulated in a one size fits all pretend human body. The soul form ‘splits’ it divides like a bacterial to create two souls. So, Rob and I are what I call soul splits AND upto the point of the soul split we will live a parallel but duplicated life at a certain point these specific coincidences diverged because our lives after that were of two people rather than one.

    So, the woman you met is likely a split of you or your mother. You could say that from a soul perspective you are likely related

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

