Museum Musings: Lucky Duck, Up the Wazoo, and Thank you.

Norway

I worked the Children’s Satellite Store today. Watching the never-ending lines of people streaming into my store I kept thinking of my blogging buddy Bronx Boy’s latest post An Endless Wonder:

Sometimes in a store if you ask the salesman if they have portable DVD players, he’ll say, “Are you kidding? We have them up the wazoo….

A related expression is “up the yin-yang.”

and wondered whether I could say there were so many tourists they were Up the Wazoo, or would it be better to say Up the Yin Yang…?

 

Word buttons

We got a new shipment of word buttons.

I wear one that says LUCKY DUCK, which I think is funny because where I come from we always said someone is a LUCKY FISH.

What do you say in your country?

 

A young Italian couple wondered whether their nine-month old baby’s diaper needed changing. Without missing a beat Mom lifted him up and smelled his bum. “pooh, yes!” she said, and when she saw that I’d watched her she giggled, the baby’s father and I joined her, and the baby, David, thought it was so hilarious he chuckled and clapped his hands.

*

Tyler, aged four said to the cashier: “I want this volcano, but it’s okay if my Mom doesn’t have $5 to buy it. It’s okay. I want it and I’m going to put it here so you can give it to me. You put vinegar inside here, and it makes bubbles.  I went on a plane one day I saw a volcano and lava rocks, so it’s okay if my Mom doesn’t have $5 to buy this, you can give it to me. ”

His Dad bought it for him.

 

*

“Hello,” I said to Harry aged four.
“What do you say?” said his Mum
“Thank you!” said Harry.

*

An English couple with three children who have lived in Paris for seven years. The children speak perfect English, with French accents.

*

A large school group from Kyoto, Japan who came up to me one by one and asked, “Excuse me, how much is this?” for the same thing. Why didn’t they tell each other the price?

*

 Sandra aged nine who bought a paint set told me she wants to be an artist. She and her older sister explained – in perfect English – that they live in Rome, their mother’s born in Bucharest, Romania, and their father’s from Chicago, and oh yeah they speak three languages.

*

Why did everyone buy Kaleidoscopes today?

*

I served a courier from the Louvre in Paris, who had flown out to fetch a painting and two drawings we’d borrowed for an exhibition that closed last weekend.
She asked me why there were so many French people in the museum.
I don’t know…

They live in Paris. Lucky Ducks.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Museum Musings: Lucky Duck, Up the Wazoo, and Thank you.

  1. theonlycin says:

    Perhaps the Japanese people thought you give different prices to everyone and were hoping you’d lower the price.
    I think it is school holidays in France.

    • dearrosie says:

      It’s school holidays right across Europe right now Cin,
      As for the kids, I was really busy, they had to stand in line to patiently ask me, and they all did the polite Japanese bow when I told them. American kids just stand opposite me and yell “How much is this? How much is this?”

  2. my favourite stories are the ones where a little piece seemingly introduced at random caps the entire thing. lol when i got to the end of this delightful dearrosie tale. keep writing and making me smile. xxoo from this happy crappy lucky ducky hockey puck-y

  3. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Ohhhhhhhh, I want to go to Norway and get one of those T-shirts! I’d love to come to your museum and get a kaleidoscope, too!

    Isn’t it wonderful how international the world seems to be becoming in our time? Makes me feel a little left out that I can only speak one language. My brother-in-law (American) married an English woman but they live in Luxembourg and their daughters speak three languages fluently…

    • dearrosie says:

      Next time I meet someone with that T-shirt on I’ll ask them if I can have it for my friend Barbara. I’m sure they won’t mind.

      I wonder whether your nieces will do something with their languages when they grow up. The kids I meet don’t think it’s such a huge thing to speak all those languages. “Oh yeah,” they say…

  4. souldipper says:

    I suspect the Japanese kids wanted a chance to use one of the English questions that they had down pat! 🙂

    We used to say lucky duck or lucky turkey.

    • dearrosie says:

      Amy I suspect that you’re right. They all used exactly the same few words when the spoke to me. LOL>

      Lucky turkey? I’ve never heard of that. Is that the lucky turkey that gets away at Thanksgiving?

  5. Josee says:

    SO charming and descriptive, that I feel like I’m right there in the Satellite Store with you!!
    Wanna have lunch together at that stone bench in the garden?

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m glad to know you enjoyed my musings Josee. Thanks for writing.

      I would love to have lunch with you on the bench in the garden. If you “forget”, I’m going to remind you!

  6. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    It’s Lucky Duck here in OZ as well. Japanese people are always very polite, and also seem to be very well educated. It’s amazing how many kids these days can speak different languages, I think it’s great, and hopefully they will make use of it later in life.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags, Thanks for telling us what you say in Oz.
      It’s always a pleasure to serve Japanese people because they’re so polite.

      As for the kids speaking so many languages, they don’t seem to think its any big deal which I think is great.

  7. I recognize those buttons! I have a few and love them! They’re so cute!

    What a wonderful job you have, working at a MUSEUM and meeting people from around the world! I would have been a sucker for the little boy telling you to give him the volcano … this is how I put my jobs on the line.

  8. bronxboy55 says:

    I’m starting to see a book slowly accumulating here. These scenes with your customers offer a real glimpse into human nature. They show how unique each person is, and at the same time, how similar we all are. Great stuff, Rosie.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you Charles. Could I ask you to be my editor?
      I sometimes feel like the fly on the wall because folks often forget I’m there, and they’ll have family arguments right in front of my cash register.

      • bronxboy55 says:

        Actually, my latest fantasy is to show up at the museum when you’re working and say or do something odd, just so I can get mentioned in your post. (Funny-or-endearing odd, not call-security odd.)

      • dearrosie says:

        Oh boy Charles, I can’t wait to welcome you and look forward to your silly question… I wonder whether I’d recognize you? You’ll have to walk around my store with your hand on your chin, and your head at an angle, and wear a black shirt.

        I’ve only called a security guard once in all the years I’ve worked there. It was a hot day in September (the week after 9.11) – September’s usually our hottest month – and a woman was walking through the museum wearing a thick goat skin coat, and I thought “suicide bomber” …

  9. Sybil says:

    We say “lucky duck” here in Canada.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for sharing the Canadian word Sybil. So Canada and Australia both also say “Lucky Duck”. Does anyone out there also say “Lucky Fish”?

      Canadian and US English are very similar, although I believe most of Canada’s spelling or word usage is very British, and the States have their own made up spellings for example colour and color.

  10. blackwatertown says:

    Lovely story.
    I remember people saying Lucky Duck – or You Lucky Duck – in Ireland when I was wee.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

