Museum Musings: Bonjour tout le monde…

on Saturday morning our lovely neighbor Paloma knocked on the door and gave us this delicious breakfast treat. Gracias!

Another busy week. Lots of people speaking many languages: Bonjour! ¡Hola! Ciao!  Dag! Guten Tag! I love it 🙂

“How much is this?” they ask showing me the back of the postcard or book. Please folks I need to see the front, if you need a price.

Peggy's Armenian. She thought I was French.

On Sunday only five people opened the emergency door clearly labeled: “Do not open. Alarm will sound!” opposite the satellite store where I was working.
Joshua, a young man from Sta Ana, California,  was looking at a book in front of my register and witnessed the theatrics when the alarm goes off:  the buzzer buzzed, when the woman realized she’d set off the alarm she put her hand to her mouth in horror and shame,  a security guard ran to check it out and give the all clear on his walkie-talkie, then showed her the correct door to exit.

“How could people miss the clearly marked and at eye level, ‘Caution don’t open the door’ sign?” asked Joshua who’d never been to the museum before.

I shrugged. We laughed.

  •  An Italian woman, “from Roma”, paid with a black (titanium) American Express card,  the second one I’ve seen this summer.  She had gorgeous, thick, red hair hanging down her back,  flat gold shoes, a gray fluffy long-haired shirt/vest thingie, and a short gold skirt which I wanted to touch, because the fabric was exactly like a gold purse I had when I was a teenager, and I wondered whether it scratched, I’m sure it must’ve been hot.

Laura from Rio de Janeiro, is 6

Laura who is six, comes from Rio de Janeiro in Brazil.
She couldn’t understand why her mother said Rio de Janeiro the English way instead of using the correct Portuguese pronunciation … When her mother tried to explain that I wouldn’t understand the Portuguese form (with a “sh” somewhere) Laura thought her Mom was silly.

  • “Will this be here when we have the Xmas sale?” a volunteer asked, holding up a book.
  • I asked an Asian woman who lives in Calgary, Alberta what it’s like living in an oil boom town. “It’s OK… but there’s no culture there. No museums like this one,” she said.
  • A Chinese woman paid for her book and key-ring with a credit card. We both said thank you, and we both bowed formally, but then she took out a dollar.   Did she think she had to give me a tip?  I just slowly shook my head, and she seemed relieved as she put the money away.  Whew I didn’t want to offend her.
  • “Why aren’t the paintings behind glass?” the young man asked, “Some sick person could walk off, or do something…”
    [What was he thinking of doing …?]
  • Her name on her credit card was Karlygash, which she said means “swallow” in Kazakhstan. I’m sorry I couldn’t photograph her two little girls – 4 and 6 – who so cute and wore the sweetest hats she’d made them.
  • I’d love to photograph all the people sitting on the bench opposite me. A French family with four children were shopping at my Satellite store.  Kid #two, a male (about ten), and kid #three, a female (about eight) had a punching fight on and around the bench, and the parents ignored them.

She sat on the bench for almost an hour waiting for someone who never came.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Museum Musings: Bonjour tout le monde…

  1. Reggie says:

    I’ve been meaning to ask you, Rosie – do people mind when you take photos of them in your museum? And when you photograph the kids, do you always ask the parents for permission? Do you tell them that you blog? Or do you afterwards email them the nicest pics you take of them?

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Reggie,
      I always ask permission when I’m taking a photo – whether it’s of an adult or their kids – and I tell them I’m putting it on my blog and some of them come by and leave comments. I’m still hoping Alex Medoza, the fireman I met at the car wash on July 22 will come and explain why the Mini Cooper locked itself

      • Reggie says:

        Thank you for explaining, Rosie. I remember that story of the Mini Cooper – and I also hope that your fireman will pop by! 😀

  2. Liz says:

    I love this post! It must be so nice to share each day with people from all over the globe. Also, I have seen that thick, heavy, black credit card before when I worked at a hotel. I joked with the guest that it was so strange looking and heavy. I didn’t realize until later that a person needs to make A LOT of money in order to be issued that special card…oops.

    • dearrosie says:

      The nicest part of sharing my summer days with people from all over the world is I can pretend I’m on holiday too. hah hah

      As soon as you’re handed one of those black credit cards they feel different – thicker and heavier – so you can’t help noticing them.

  3. Love your musings, Rosie ! All the people who get to meet you … lucky them!

  4. Cindy says:

    I just adore these posts, wish you would compile a book of them, it would sell well … and not only at the museum 🙂

  5. souldipper says:

    I have some photos of children who inadvertently ran into my shot or who happened to be included in another focal point. I have a few that I know parents would love to have. However, I know not who they are so I cannot use them. One I wanted as wallpaper on my monitor, but I decided even that would be an invasion of privacy.

    I love the world coverage, Rosie. You are a great source of ideas for characters in a fiction – your descriptions tantalize. The two kids having a punch-out made me laugh. The culture, language, or domicile matters not…

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m really glad to know that the folks I meet will be able to inspire your fiction Amy. It means I’m standing all day for a reason.

      If you don’t use photos of children unless the parents have given you permission, what about candid shots of adults? I’ve sometimes photographed people from a distance playing on the beach, or eating an ice cream..?

      • souldipper says:

        My photography teacher explained that all the hi-tech telephoto (etc.) lenses are making the whole respectful permission thing unmanageable. But he warned us that publishing photos of children are a no-no without parental permission. Even a verbal okay is dicey. You and I may have the best of intentions – nothing commercial or off-putting. However, what happens if someone grabs the photo for other purposes? That’s the reason I put my initials on the photo. As of now, they cannot be removed, but who’s to say it will stay safe?

        I don’t know American laws, but when a local, well-respected newspaper photographer took a really cute picture of one of my friends and posted it on the Face Book Page for the newspaper, she was mad. He apologized and admitted he stepped over the line. If she was only in the paper, she would not have minded, she said.

        Isn’t it sad, Rosie? It’s such a joy to see photos with our writings!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for explaining what your photography teacher said. I had no idea. When you published photos of people eating ice creams did you go and get permission from them before you took the photos?

      I love to know how to put my initials on my photos. Can you tell me how to do it? You could email me if it’s easier.

  6. souldipper says:

    Hey, Rosie, I’m doing a double dip…you did a post a while back on the Tar Sands in Northern Alberta. A protest will be happening in Washington thank goodness, and I thought you may like to know about it. I adamantly agree with the action and with the statement that we are well overdue to use alternate fuels. Canadians and Americans need to take a stand against this monster pipeline! Such craziness! I can’t believe the power of money and greed. And the government’s fear of job loss.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Amy,
      I’m glad you did a double dip Amy and told us about this protest.
      So far President Obama has been pretty ineffectual in standing up to big business. Let’s see whether he can manage to stand tall this time.

  7. Barbara Rodgers says:

    How lucky you are to have creative and generous Paloma for a neighbor! Never a dull moment at the museum, and the people-watching is ever-changing and endlessly fascinating!

  8. jane tims says:

    Hi Rosie. I still feel sorry for the young woman left sitting alone on the bench. Jane

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Jane,
      People often sit on the bench and wait for their companions to finish walking around the galleries, but their friends sometimes get lost and can’t remember which gallery, or which bench they left them at. It can be a problem if they don’t have a cell phone. Several times I’ve had to ask the security guards to put out an all museum alert for a missing husband who is sheepishly found waiting outside, or at the wrong bench.

  9. bronxboy55 says:

    How long would I have to sit on the bench before Paloma brought me some waffles and strawberries, too?

    Wonderful post, Rosie, as always.

  10. dearrosie says:

    You gave me a brilliant idea Charles. I should start up a kind of “room service” of Paloma’s waffles for those tired tourists sitting on the bench.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

