It’s the end of the story.

My Mother – aka Peter Pan, and Chatterbox Gladys – passed away early this morning. Quickly and peacefully. As she’d hoped.

Go well Moether

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to It’s the end of the story.

  1. Reggie says:

    Ah no, I am sooo sorry to hear that, Rosie. Love, hugs and blessings to you and your family.

  2. Priya says:

    Rosie. Hugs to you.

    And salaam to Peter Pan.

  3. Oh, Rosie … I am so heartbroken to read this! I know how much you loved each other (the picture tells a thousand stories of happiness) — and I know how hard it is to let go. My heart is with you!

  4. dearrosie says:

    Thank you – all of you -for your kind thoughts. I’m too heart sore to answer each one individually, but you know I really appreciate it all.
    I will send my Mom your salaams Priya.
    I’m so grateful to have that photo Betty.

  5. Mahalia says:

    I too am sharing pictures and sitting with sore heart, remembering. The happy part is that i get to see you and Mr F, though! Sending you so much love today,

    • dearrosie says:

      I give thanks to the great minds that invented photography. What would we do without those memories?

      Even though for such a sad reason, you were right that there was a happy part: the impromptu family reunion.

  6. jeremyfreed says:

    She was such a special woman, and I’m so glad to have known her. I am sad that I won’t see her again in this world, but I know she’ll always be here in spirit. And hopefully in our dreams, too. Go well, Granny!

    • dearrosie says:

      Jeremy, we are lucky to have had such a unique special woman as the matriarch of our family. I like what you said: “although we won’t see her again in this world she’ll always be here with us in spirit”. I know that each and every one of her children grandchildren and great grandchildren will always celebrate her birthday.
      I too hope she visits us and often in our dreams.

  7. there is no-one quite like mum, dear rosie. my heart goes out to you (and all who loved her). Gladys, dear granny. Gladys singing, “Auntie Rae, Auntie Rae”. Gladys cooking fish. Gladys looking stylish into her 90s (how Ripe!). Gladys finding a handsome second husband – in her 70s. Gladys and her enduring joie de vivre. Gladys laughing at all my jokes (why do we see people mostly in relation to ourselves?). Gladys telling me I’m “so full of fun.” Gladys telling me I have beautiful skin (back at you, my dear, and we krinkled our eyes at each other). most of all, Gladys giving the world the exceptional daughter who approached me all those years ago and invited me to lunch. love to you and all your family.

    • dearrosie says:

      That’s beautiful Julia, you remember so much, even the fish and the Auntie Rae song. I cried when I read it the first time, and the second time, and I’m crying now. Thank you… My Mom was very fond of you and would always remark how you were “full of fun” and had beautiful skin.

      She did love wearing bright colours (I’m spelling it the British way in her honour!) and being stylishly dressed with baubles and beads and lipsticks right to the end. I’m proud to be wearing some of her jewellery.

  8. Dinah says:

    Dear Rosanne, I am so sorry to hear of your loss!! But how wonderful that you stuck to your guns and went to visit for her birthday. What a remarkable mother you had. You were clearly a great blessing to her, and she to you. And that is a blessing that lasts forever! With heartfelt love. D

    • dearrosie says:

      Dinah, even though I wasn’t able to be with my Mom on her actual birthday, or to be able to say the final goodbyes (because she passed away so quickly), I’m grateful and thankful that I listened to my gut feeling, and managed to get those few days of quality time with her in June.
      My Mother was a blessing to us all. I am lucky.

  9. E fullstop says:

    Oh, dearest Ro. Jolly and I are thinking of you and the family today, and sending good energy to mom’s spirit to let her know that her family is strong and has a caring and supportive community that will be there during this tough time. What a gift that she lived a long life and was blessed with a fantastic family, and vice versa to you.

    We lost Jolly’s dad on the 15th — my mom’s birthday. And today your mom has left us — on Jolly’s birthday. I think the universe is trying to remind us that there is a yin and yang in life that can’t be ignored, and that there is an imperative for us earth-bound to keep on keeping on.

    Much love and big hugs. Thanks for gifting the world with Ro, Mahalia and Jeremy!

    • dearrosie says:

      Interesting that Jolly’s Dad died on your Mom’s birthday and my Mom died on Jolly’s birthday. The ties are strong.

      It truly was a gift that my Mom lived such a long life and we her children are very grateful, but you know when a parent lives so long it’s easy to assume they’re going to be here forever, like one of those old old trees in Yosemite.

      Thank you for planting the tree in her name.

  10. My deepest sympathies! You only have one mother, and it’s really tough when she isn’t there anymore. Take care!

    Mollie
    (from poetry Salon)

  11. Mark Trujillo says:

    The more ones heart aches.. the more love they have in it for the one they have lost. I know your heart is filled with utter ache.. but know this my dear Rose.. you are loved! Gladys will indeed live on in you and the sun will come out again.. i promise.. as memories of her love and devotion will fill the universe and fill that deep and empty void.

    If there is anything i can do please don’t hesitate.

    The Earth has stopped and time stands still for we all will miss a wonderful, lovely lady named Gladys.. how GLAD the world is to have known her 🙂

    God Bless you, Mark Trujillo

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for your heartfelt message – you’ve always been such a supportive friend. You may be interested to know that the butterfly you sent my mother all those years ago, sits in the same pot of violets (my mother’s favourite indoor plant), but it’s now in my sister’s house.

      Mark a special thank you for sending me the e-card with the beautiful song of courage and strength. Did you know that my Mother loved horses? Look at the picture with this post and you’ll see her favorite painting …

      Natasha Bedingfield’s song Wild Horses (I hope this works)

  12. Cindy says:

    My deepest condolences, Rosanne, MHDSRIP.

  13. bronxboy55 says:

    Congratulations to your mother for a life well lived, and to you, Rosie, for being the kind of daughter every parent wishes for. I hope your many happy memories will soothe you during this sad time.

    • dearrosie says:

      Bronx Boy that’s a beautiful message. Thank you. At a time like this, all we’re left with is memories and we have plenty. During the days my siblings and I spent together we laughed and we cried, as we shared stories and looked at old photo albums.

  14. cindy says:

    dear Rosie, I am sad to hear this news. Your mom was an amazing woman. I know how hard it is to let go, be gentle with yourself. Sending you and your family love and strength during this sad time. Your mom lived a very full life and I thank her for bringing you into this world .
    if you can let me know when you are in town.
    xo Cindy xo

  15. souldipper says:

    Oh, Rosie. I’m sorry you have to go through this loss. From what you have written about her, she was an incredible woman. I’m so glad for you that you had a fabulous visit with her recently.

    You’re holding a special place in my thoughts.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for writing Amy. I appreciate your kind message.

      I am truly grateful that I managed to see my Mom in June, because she basically slept through the month of July. I was fortunate to visit with her when she still showed some glimmer of joie de vivre

  16. Lynn says:

    My dearest friend of all,
    I weep with you.
    I pray that your wonderful memories of dear Gladys will be a source of comfort and strength for you always.
    Love and hug you.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you dearest friend. I have to somehow accept that even though I’ve been doing it for over ten years, I don’t need to rush home from work to call her, because I won’t be able to phone her. Ever again.

      Lynn, when did we take that photo of you and my Mom sitting on the chair in front of her horse painting? I think it was in 2005? 6 years ago. She was so ill and we thought we were going to lose her at that time, but she managed to hang on for a few extra years which were all full of births and weddings and much joy for her.

  17. Barbara Rodgers says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with you, Rosie, I’m so sorry you lost your mom. It seems like she led a full and joyful life and I hope remembering the good times will comfort you and your family in the coming days and months. Blessings and many hugs to you…

  18. Val says:

    Oh Rosie, I’m so sorry. Hugs. For what it’s worth… I know what it’s like.

  19. Corilee says:

    Oh Rosie, i’m so sorry to hear about your Mom. That’s very sad, what a loss….

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Corilee,
      Saying farewell to my one and only Mother leaves a huge empty void, but what I try to remind myself, it was the right time for her to go.

  20. Jeannie says:

    May your heart forever be filled with joyful memories and precious moments. When you grief becomes heavy close your eyes, put your hand on your heart and hear her sing.

    My thoughts are with you and your family during this difficult time. Love and support are powerful forces.

    With deepest sympathy,

    Jeannie Green

    • dearrosie says:

      Jeannie it’s easy to close my eyes and hear my Mom sing. She had trouble finding words in the last years of her life, so she would end every conversation – even when she left voice messages – with a song.

      The love and support from everyone on this blog have really helped me enormously. I thank you all.

  21. shoreacres says:

    Rosie,

    Not the end of the story, but only the end of a chapter. She will be with you in your grief, in your dreams, in the breath that sustains you while you are finding the strength to go on.

    Just as you say, “Go well”, she murmurs “Stay well”, and Julian of Norwich hovers in the shadows, promising that “all will be well, and all things will be well, and all manner of thing will be well”.

    You’ll be in my thoughts.

    Linda

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for your beautiful message Linda. My Mom’s story hasn’t ended, because it’s waiting for me to write it. And I will.

      I keep trying to remind myself that my grief is selfish, that my Mom was in constant pain unable to walk and hated the nursing home we moved her to just two weeks before she passed away, and it gives me great pleasure to think that she must be having a jolly good time dancing up there with my Dad, who died 23 years ago, and her second husband, who died 11 years ago.

      How are you Linda? Your mother passed away just a few weeks ago.

  22. dearrosie says:

    Dear friends,
    Right now I’m unable to respond individually to your beautiful messages, but just wanted to thank you all for writing.

    My Mom’s at peace sleeping next to my Dad.

  23. peter Robin says:

    Dearest cousin Rosanne

    We are so sorry to hear the sad news about your dear mother.
    Our thoughts are with you at this sad time and I wish I could be there to give you a BIG HUG.

    Pam and I had the pleasure of talking to her on the telephone when we stayed with you that time. Was it really 8 years ago? How time flys by.

    She certainly had a long and very eventful life. You were so lucky that she had all her faculties until the ripe old age of 95, and she was also very lucky to her such a sweet and caring daughter as you, I’m sure your regular phone calls and visits to her helped to keep her mind so sharpe for so long, she really looked so good for her age.

    It was a wonderful tribute you did to her on your blog, all those photos and info from various parts of her life, we feel like we know so much more about her now and the amazing person she was. Im sure that you will have so many happy memories of her to tresure over the coming years.

    Once again we are thinking of you and your family and hope to hear from you soon.

    With love and hugs from your british cousins Peter & Pam. XOXOX

    • dearrosie says:

      Welcome to my blog cousin Peter. Thank you for leaving this lovely message, my Mom would’ve loved it. She was disappointed she wasn’t able to meet you and Pam in person, but was delighted to speak to you on the phone. Was it 8 years ago that you visited us? Goodness time flies.

      My mother’s family have emigrated every generation since her father left Russia in 1889, and although she knew her mother was one of 13 children, she’d never thought of those relatives, until I started researching our family tree almost twenty years ago, Each time I found a new cousin somewhere in the world I’d share the exciting news with her, and she’d marvell at my perseverance, though never quite understanding how we’d found each other.

      When a cousin in Israel found me last month, I wasn’t able to share the news with my Mom, because we never really had a conversation…

  24. Annette says:

    Dear Rosie

    How sad.

    Your mother was a lovely lady. She lived a good and eventful life. I have fond memories of her when you and I became friends in your birth country.

    She welcomed me into your home, introduced me to the delights of Jewish cooking and encouraged our friendship.

    I am thinking of you Rosie and remembering two fresh faced 17 year olds having breakfast in the garden with your mother. The sun was shining and we were all laughing together as I had my first taste of plain yoghurt! Your mother said I would like it and I did.

    With love

    Annette

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for visiting Annette. My Mom was always fond of you. After our reunion in Tuscany a couple of years ago she wanted to hear all about you and your family, and especially enjoyed looking at the photos of your grandchildren.

      I love your memory of us three breakfasting on the verandah. I don’t remember it, though I do remember the wonderful plain yoghurt which was delivered in small glass jars along with the milk every morning.
      My Mom was a health food guru long before anyone ever knew there was such a thing as “healthy food.” For several years when we were very young she bought milk from a goat farm, and made her own yoghurt. She’d be glad to know she introduced you to the wonders of real yoghurt.

      Funny but I also remember breakfasts at your house. Everyone got up at the crack of dawn and had a huge meal of bacon and eggs which I really enjoyed.

  25. Kathy says:

    Rosie, just stopped over to see your blog and teared up to read your sad news. Blessings…many blessings… Kathy

  26. Reuben says:

    This is a translation of a Jewish prayer for the dead. She will always be with us, her soul truly ‘bound’ amongst us.
    “God, filled with mercy, dwelling in the heavens’ heights, bring proper rest beneath the wings of your Shechinah, amid the ranks of the holy and the pure, illuminating like the brilliance of the skies the souls of our beloved and our blameless who went to their eternal place of rest. May You who are the source of mercy shelter them beneath Your wings eternally, and bind their souls among the living, that they may rest in peace. And let us say: Amen.”

  27. dearrosie says:

    My first thought after reading this beautiful prayer was that I should share it with my Mom…. She would’ve loved it.

    She will always be with us. She was too large a personality to be forgotten.

  28. dearrosie says:

    I’ve been thinking of writing a blog post on some of the ridiculous spam comments I’ve received on my blog (almost 1500 so far). For example, this comment which someone tried to submit for this post on my Mother:

    “Great review! You actually overviewed some valuable things here. I came across it by using Yahoo and I’ve got to admit that I already subscribed to the RSS, it’s very great 🙂

    Submitted on 2011/08/11 at 3:31 am”

  29. Renee Mizell Parrett says:

    dear dear rosanne – my heart goes out
    to you,
    to Mr F, mahalia and jeremy
    and to all your friends………
    friends like me, who met your Mother on her trip to Dallas.
    friends who never met her but know her vicariously through you.

    Oh my friend, the loss of a Mother is like no other, i know.
    but you rosanne, you will keep her spirit and memory alive with your passion…
    spoken and silent
    it will still you, propell you forward and keep you near her…………all at once.

    All my love to you and yours, Renee Mizell Parrett

    • dearrosie says:

      Mon amie Renee
      Such kind words, so much love, I’m honoured to have a friend such as you. Thank you. I’m so glad you were able to meet my Mother as I am glad I met yours. And together we will keep their memory alive in our hearts.

  30. Dr. Ed Wethli says:

    From Ed:

    After ALL this what more can one say …… I’m just so pleased that I saw her a few weeks before she died and she was in such great form.

    Much love to you, Rosie

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Ed,
      Thank you for stopping by. and leaving a comment.
      You and I both “got the message” to go see her “sooner than later”, and thankfully we both saw her in time.
      Even though she passed away without saying “cheerio” I’m also left with good memories from my last visit.

  31. (((hugs))) Rosie, I’m sure your mother is with you still, in spirit and certainly in memory. Beautiful post.

  32. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    I’m truly sorry. It is nature, it must go on, but always it matters so much.

    A beautiful photo.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

