Museum Musings: I survived the craziness by looking down

This summer's footwear as you can see is extremely high or totally flat, with Roman style straps.

Another week of demanding tourists requesting boxes and plastic bags up the wazoo. Can you tell me why Elizabeth D, who bought something that came in a small box, which I placed into a bag, would ask for a larger bag, and when she saw the very large plastic bag we used for her friend’s purchases, ask for one of those large bags, and keep the two smaller bags as well..?

I smiled my toothpaste-ad  smile and handed over the bags. You would’ve been proud of me.

Earlier in the month when I thought I was going to lose it, ladies shoes came to the rescue.

Jeffrey Campbell Shoes

she wasn't sure, but thinks they may be Jessica Simpson shoes

these shoes are from TOPSHOP in London

I believe these shoes are Michael Kors

these shoes are from Australia

she bought them at Macy's

purchased at Marshall's last week

Some wore boots, some sandals that looked like boots.

and of course so many people wear flip-flops

flip-flops

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Photography, Tutto va bene and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Museum Musings: I survived the craziness by looking down

  1. dearrosie says:

    I don’t know what happened to this post. After I posted it last night, I received an email that it had been posted, but this morning it was back in the drafts [huh?] so I reposted it [and I didn’t get another email letting me know it had been posted because it was already posted…] Weird! But as no plastic bags or boxes were involved, I’m OK.

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi dearrosie,
    I love the photo’s of all the shoes, you don’t realize how many different styles people wear until you see them in photo’s. There are shoes that I haven’t seen before such as the sandals that wraps a up the leg, but I must say I do like them, would look ridiculous on me, but nice for a younger person.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      I’m glad you enjoyed the shoes. The Roman style sandals that wrap up a leg will most probably be in your stores next summer.

      Standing behind my register I’ve seen so many fashions come and go, I’m going to make *fashion* a regular feature.

  3. Boris says:

    I like the legs too … there are some really good ones

  4. Lynn says:

    Yes Rosie…I love your “fashion shoots” and would enjoy any….remember how I used to make ALL my own clothes???
    What I can’t figure is how those women walk in those shoes without toppling over and breaking an ankle…seems very tricky to me…!?!?
    Keep blogging……

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Lynn,
      Thanks for the feedback that I should continue with the fashion shoots…

      I’m sorry but I don’t remember that you made your own clothes. Good on you! So why did you stop?

      I started photographing women in their shoes because as I watched them walking past me I too couldn’t imagine how they managed to walk without falling over, especially on the flat shiny marble and wood floors of the museum, but every single woman I spoke to who was wearing those ridiculous shoes told me their shoes “were soooo comfortable”! Go figure….

  5. Priya says:

    I quite like the ones bought at Macy’s and the nail polish on the toes that wear the ones from TOPSHOP. Very interesting collection indeed. Since the lady wearing the Jeffrey Campbells can’t hear me, I suppose I can take the liberty of saying they look like skyscrapers from reptile land — but still all too short for skyscrapers…
    Do keep giving us this peek into the Museum world, Rosie. As always, I love this post.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Priya,
      Thanks for the feedback that you too enjoy the peek into this summer’s fashion.
      I agree with you that the Jeffrey Campbells are ridiculous shoes. They were the first pair I photographed – I couldn’t believe that someone would actually wear them for a day of walking around a museum. The wearer was a woman in her twenties out with her boyfriend who was so proud to be singled out for a photograph she grew two inches..

  6. Barbara Rodgers says:

    A parade of shoes streaming by you all day – most of them I couldn’t imagine ever wearing! The varieties of human tastes… Can’t figure out how women walk in some of those shoes. I always wear closed-toe shoes, especially in public, because I am forever stubbing my toes (klutz) and being stepped on!

    • dearrosie says:

      You’re very wise to wear shoes that protect your toes Barbara.
      I don’t know about you but when I go to a place like a museum where I’m going to be standing all day, I’ll wear my most comfortable flat shoes. These woman are somehow managing to walk about on slippery marble floors in their ridiculous heels.

  7. You put your “sole” into this one, Rosie. [I know – ugh!] I always marvel at people wearing high-heels to a museum. My feet beg for forgiveness when I’ve been to one in flats for two hours!

    • dearrosie says:

      Last week I watched a beautifully dressed woman wearing an LBD [little black dress] and silly high heel sandals (that I wouldn’t be able to take one step in) sit down on the bench opposite me, take off the rediculous shoes and replace them with flip flops she was carrying in her bag. When she walked off with her well-dressed male companion she skipped… I wanted to cheer from my cash register.

  8. jane tims says:

    You have a wonderful attitude toward your work and look at your clients as individuals… I like that…. Jane

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Jane,
      I’ve got all day to listen and observe, and as a writer, I’ve always enjoyed watching people and follow the “do unto others as you’d like them to do unto you” motto so I’m respectful of everyone I meet, and try not to judge.

  9. shamasheikh says:

    I do like shoes Rosie and so enjoyed seeing these different types…some of them are not really recommended for spending time at a museum…but then youth can get away with it…and your pictures tell us…they did…:)

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

