Museum Musings: Centurion card, summer school, tutu’s, plus dogs in cars are all in a day’s work

They sat on the bench for over half-an-hour listening to the story

In all the years I’ve worked at the Museum, I’ve seen a black (titanium) American Express card less than a dozen times.

Available by invitation only, The Centurion Card is the world’s rarest American Express Card and confers a level of service that can be extended only to selected individuals worldwide.

A man used one on Tuesday. He came from Guatemala, one of the poorest countries in the world.

*

“Quickly hide this,” said an older woman with a British accent passing me a fancy bar of soap, “I’m buying it for my sister and I don’t want her to see it.”
I’m fast. I quickly put it in a plastic bag which she slipped into her handbag, and then took her money.
Five minutes later her sister, who spoke with the same posh British accent, came to my register and bought the same bar of soap.

*

One day last week I saw a couple of policemen walking around the museum. “Is anything wrong?”  I asked

“Someone locked their dog in their car in the parking garage. It’s much too hot to leave a dog in a car, we came to give them a fine.”
“How did you find the owner?” I asked.
“We phoned the number on the dog’s tag.”

*

Marcus is from Adelaide, S. Australia. His tee-shirt says "Red-Bull" in Thai

About 300 students aged fourteen to seventeen from the Summer Discovery Program at UCLA visited the Museum on Tuesday.

The kids I chatted with  all spoke perfect English

  • Otman, from Morocco
  • Zeynep from Turkey
  • Anastasia from Russia
  • a group of 14 and 15 year-olds from Taiwan.

sisters visiting from Australia


Little Adventures Little Adventurres Dress Up Tutu - Fuschia and Orange

Some of the kids I met this month:

A three-year-old boy who wanted a ballerina tutu, and his Mom bought it for him.

I wanted to hug the Mom and dance around the store with both of them 🙂

Four-and-a-half year-old Gabriel Mendez danced for me.

Destree who is three-and-a-half.  “I named him after the movie “Destree Rides Again. We call him Des,” his Mom told me.

“I don’t like it here. It’s boring.” six year-old Adam.

Callie from Nashville. Her granny bought the earrings for her

Anna Marie (seven-and a-half) who lives in the Valley helped me invent the  putting away the postcards game.

I heard all about Hong Kong from Zoe (7) and Emily Rose (6) “who are from Australia but have lived in Hong Kong since they were born”.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Museum Musings: Centurion card, summer school, tutu’s, plus dogs in cars are all in a day’s work

  1. Cindy says:

    Young Marcus from Adelaide needs to go on a diet, I think?

  2. souldipper says:

    Love the profile on Callie. I agree – good for the mom buying the tu-tu. No matter the reason, culture will blossom!

  3. Val says:

    I read that as ‘Anna Marie 71…’ and I wondered what the 2 was for!! 😉

    The sisters and the soap reminds me of when my sister and I went to a bookshop years ago (I forget which one, but it was somewhere in London, England) and I badly, badly wanted a book about Rudolph Nureyev. She kept trying to dissuade me from buying it and finally confessed that she’d already bought it from me from elsewhere, for my birthday!

  4. Val says:

    Er… bought it for me, not from me…
    Must be my bed time, I think!

  5. Priya says:

    The soap story reminds me of The Gift of Magi by O. Henry and the dog story is something I’d like to hear often (for there are people who often leave their dogs to suffer inside the car). They should be fined.

    It is so wonderful when people have someone to read out a story well enough to keep them hooked for half an hour despite so many attractions around! I think it’s a big achievement.

    And I like Callie’s picture, too, especially the hint of a smile on her.

    The mother did well to buy her son the tutu! So very well.

    • dearrosie says:

      I’ve seen dogs sitting in cars all the time and this is the first time I’ve heard of the owners getting a fine. Do people in India get fined for leaving dogs in their cars?

      I’m glad you noticed the photo of the story time. It was wonderful for me sitting opposite them at my satellite store to see how they were enjoying the story.

      There are many photos you can enjoy with me – like the one of Callie – but there are many I don’t take so for instance, the little boy and the tutu is something you’ll have to imagine.

  6. The whole world seems to come through the front doors of your museum.
    I love the stories!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you Betty. It does sometimes feel as though the whole world comes through the museum front doors. I love it! I hope to be able to welcome you there one day… 🙂

  7. magsx2 says:

    Hi dearrosie,
    I really had to have a laugh about the soap, obviously she knows her sister very well. 🙂
    How smart of the police to look at the dogs tag to get the owners number, 10 out of 10 for that one.

    I love your photo’s, all the different people you meet must make the day brighter even though you are at work, a great post.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      I’m glad to know you enjoyed the post and photos. Thank you. It was a shame I couldn’t photograph the first woman’s face when her sister bought the same bar of soap. I had a hard time keeping a straight face… heh heh.

      I also thought the police were very smart to look for the owners phone number. (Last weekend we saw many dogs locked in cars! I’ll share some of the photos in my next post)

  8. Reggie says:

    You have such an unusual job, Rosie! It must be honing your people-watching skills to the finest degree! Are you keeping notes for that best-selling novel that (we just know) you are going to have to write?! 😀

  9. dearrosie says:

    Hi Reggie,
    I’ve always enjoyed watching people, and this is the finest place to do it. It’s like being a fly on the wall, because people forget that I’m standing there listening to them…

    Thank you for your interest and encouragement Reggie. I hadn’t thought of putting it all in a book.

  10. Val says:

    Mm… no, not yet! 🙂

  11. Very nice article and straight to the point. I am not sure if this is actually the best place to ask but do you people have any thoughts on where to hire some professional writers? Thx 🙂
    My site is on Teenage depression.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

