When a friend comes to visit …

Conditions for Saturday 09 July 2011

Los Angeles is so much more than movie stars and Hollywood. When a friend comes to visit me I don’t take them shopping on Rodeo Drive, or to gawk outside the homes of the rich and famous, or to look at the footprints on the sidewalk at Grauman’s Chinese Theater… unless they request it.

Last Saturday I took my friend Cynthia to Malibu.

We started off with a two hour hike at Corral Canyon in the Santa Monica Mountains

July wildflowers

lizards everywhere

salad with our fish and chips

Lunch?

Malibu Seafood of course!

It’s one of the most popular fish and chip shacks along the coast, and I highly recommend it : the fish is always fresh, and fries are  thick – as you can see.

.

 

After lunch we walked across Pacific Coast Highway to the beach…

people walked, swam

napped

and played in the sand

two flavors

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you’ll know that I can’t go to Malibu without getting a GROM gelato.

Cynthia had mint vanilla with raspberry sorbet.

I had apricot sorbet “with apricot pulp” and chocolate.

Of course she agreed with me that it was the *best* gelato she’s ever eaten.

What are your favorite things to do in your town?

When friends spend a weekend visiting you, and you want them to have a marvelous, memorable time in your city,  where do you take them?

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Tutto va bene and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to When a friend comes to visit …

  1. souldipper says:

    Two of my favorite things…no three! Friendship, hiking and ice cream. Nom nom nom!

  2. Cindy says:

    I’d want to do exactly that if I visited you!

  3. Heather says:

    Sounds perfect! Glad you had a good visit! I remember that fish and chips spot!
    I like to take friends for a cool walk in the conservation area by the Lake and then for meatballs at La Felicitas near Port Credit.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Heather,
      Next time I’m in your part of the world I’d love to go on a walk in the conservation area by your lake. Even though I’m not so sure about the “cool” part I’ll be brave and bring a warm sweater – especially if I’m promised meatballs at La Felicitas after 🙂

  4. Liz says:

    This sounds lovely! When I make it out to visit I am requesting gelato! 🙂 Malibu seafood is also one of my favorite places. The last time I was there I watched a bunch of dolphins swimming across the way as I ate my lunch. It was lovely.

    • dearrosie says:

      A gelato at GROM will be the first thing we do when you come to visit (do yourself a favor and have the apricot!)
      I was very sorry that Cynthia and I didn’t see dolphins.

  5. Priya says:

    Dolphins! I’d like to fly over 7 seas just to see the dolphins. And eat the gelato with you. Do they serve

    And if you come this side, I’d like to take you to on a hike to Pari Tibba. A two hour hike on a good day. The peak is supposed to be the home of fairies. Even if it isn’t, it sure looks fairytale-like.

    • dearrosie says:

      Priya it’s definitely worth flying over 7 seas to watch the dolphins swimming. They glide so effortlessly in and out and in such perfect unison they win all the Olympic medals in synchronized swimming.

      Fairies? oh boy, as I’ve mentioned to you before my life-long dream is to come to India and now I have an invitation to hike up to a peak with fairies and Priya, I can’t wait!

      I looked it up – it’s apparently “due south of ‘Woodstock School'” which I believe is one of the boarding schools my mother went to.

      “Situated on the eastern flank of Mussoorie, the modest height of Pari Tibba, the ‘Hill of the Fairies’, is compensated by its girdle of thick oak and deodar forest. Walking this circuit in April is parti­cularly special, with rhododen­drons in bloom and the oak in purple new leaf. From October onwards, you get a front seat view of the spectacular Mussoorie winter line.

      Fern addicts should note this area has a fabulous 120 species, ranging from the red-bearded Christmas to the light green Bible. Their inves­tigation, however, involves the seri­ous risk of leech bites in the rains….”
      http://traveller.outlookindia.com/destination.aspx?id=285

      • Priya says:

        If your mother went to Woodstock, she might have trekked to Pari Tibba! But only if she was old enough at the time. It is a rather strenuous climb at places.

        This excerpt you’ve posted here beckons me for yet another climb! I’ll plan one trek soon as I can! And then go there again with you, if you oblige.

      • Priya says:

        Oh! And I forgot about the leeches. My experience says summer time, when the rains haven’t yet begun, can be quite all right to explore the ferns and also the peak of winter (but during that season, you’d rather keep moving to stop yourself from freezing over). Bill Aitken in the article also explains that. The Aitken couple are two of the best chroniclers of the Indian regions.

      • dearrosie says:

        Priya my mother was seven years old when she first went to boarding school and she remembers being carried up the mountains in something she called a “dandy” by strong Tibetan men.

        I’ll be honored to do that climb with you. And I’ll be happy to see the photos of your trek.

      • dearrosie says:

        Yuck! I can’t imagine coming home from a hike and finding leeches all over your arms and legs. I think they said April is a good time.

  6. bronxboy55 says:

    Great photographs and commentary, Rose. I’d come just for the gelato. Do they have pistachio?

  7. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Love the photo’s, it all looks really fantastic, and I agree with your choices, looks like great places to spend with a friend. That gelato really looks nice.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      Thanks for stopping by and for your nice comment. Where do you take your guests?
      Do you have good gelato over there in Oz?

      • magsx2 says:

        We do have some places that have really nice gelato, some not so nice. 🙂
        I live in Brisbane which is the capitol of Queensland, so we are in the middle of the Gold Coast and the Sunshine Coast, So depending on what the visitors would like to see, either of those places, both places also have some beautiful mountain areas as well.
        Gold CoastSunshine Coast

      • dearrosie says:

        Oh my god Mags, you live in a beautiful part of the world! Thank you for the links – I checked both of them but I wouldn’t know which one to choose. Do you have a favourite between the Gold Coast or the Sunshine Coast? Now you’ve wet my appetite for your city I can’t wait!

  8. Aruna says:

    If you came to visit us in Japan we would take you to Kamakura, (one of the old capital cities) to see the Kannon Temple (Quan Yin) and the big copper buddha you can climb inside of. The best ice cream I have had here is black sesame and definitely worth a try too. I would also want you to experience a traditional Japanese onsen (hot spring), and gardens, temples and shrines. Japan is crowded, but there are many oasis to enjoy.

    • dearrosie says:

      Aruna your day sounds like a marvelous calming outing. Yes Please I’d love to do everything. When you climb inside the huge buddha are you aware of the buddha on the other side or does it just feel like climbing a winding staircase?
      Black sesame ice cream? I’m in.
      Would love to go soak in a Japanese onsen

  9. Aruna says:

    Coffee with chocolate chips.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

