Born on July 1st 1916, my Mom’s 95 today.

Mom on the beach 1939

 HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM ♫♬

Mom (on the right) with  her sister.  Bombay 1921

 I know it happens sometimes in families that more than one person will share a birthday.

In our family, two of Mom’s great-grand daughters – Jessica and Hannah – were born on July 1st, and  one of her great-grandsons Zachary was born June 30th.

Zach and his great-granny. June 2009.

Jessica and her great-granny. July 2005

It’s more than beautiful. I feel there’s a spiritual connection – especially as Mom’s one of those people whose birthday is very important to her.

Mom was thrilled, and so very proud, when she learned that July 1st was Canada’s birthday  🙂

Happy Canada Day to all my Canadian friends and relatives!

Mom at my brother’s wedding 1964

Mom at her 90th birthday party

Because I wanted to make sure I spoke to my mother this morning, I got up at 6:30 am to phone her.   She was in a jolly mood, I barely had a chance to say, “Hello Mom, Happy Birthday!”

“Thanks for phoning my darling youngest daughter. My name is Gladys, and you must have respect for me,” she said with a British accent. “Hah hah! I’m very British today aren’t I? ….Oh I wish how I wish upon a star that you were here to celebrate with me….” but she didn’t give me a change to reply before launching into, “Am I very funny? I’m trying to speak very British today. I don’t know why. ..lah-di-dah-di-dah… Sorry they’re calling me. I have to go have my bath now. Goodbye my darling.”

Mom with her mother and sister. Calcutta 1937

My son took his computer to Mom and Jessica’s birthday party today so I could chat with her on Skype, but Mom fell asleep after lunch, and they couldn’t wake her.

The older my mother gets, the more I realize how much courage it takes to be old, and how true the oft quoted, “Old age isn’t for sissies!”

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Born on July 1st 1916, my Mom’s 95 today.

  1. Boris says:

    How lovely to peek in on such a long and full life – Gladys is so full of spirit and fun, always was by the look of her photos.
    Satchel Paige may have been talking to Gladys when he asked: “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were?”
    Her answer would be “21”

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Boris you’ve nailed my Mom perfectly: she’s always been “full of spirit and fun”. I love the quote. I’m sure my Mom would say she was “21”.

      Of course I had to look up who Satchel Paige was:

      “Satchel Paige was an American baseball player (born in Mobile Alabama July 7, 1906) whose pitching in the Negro leagues and in Major League Baseball made him a legend in his own lifetime. He was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1971, the first player to be inducted from the Negro leagues.”
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satchel_Paige

  2. mark says:

    Birthday wishes to dear sweet Gladys.. hoping all that is good and great
    to you and yours. What a comfort you must find in her..since i’ve known
    you there has always been a sparkle in your eyes whenever you speak
    of her. They say that a thing of beauty is a joy forever.. i say a mother is
    a joy forever..
    hugs and kisses

    • dearrosie says:

      That is a beautiful comment Mark. It brought tears to my eyes. A mother is a joy forever…I had no idea that my eyes sparkle when I talk of my Mom.

      Do you remember sending her the butterfly? When I was visiting her two weeks ago I saw it still in the pot with the purple violet where I had placed it all those years ago (My Mom loves her violets and currently has about a dozen – all different colors.)

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUR BEAUTIFUL MOM!!! You are so lucky to have her!!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for writing to wish her Betty. When I tell my Mom that my blogging buddies – whom I’ve never met – send her greetings, she thinks it’s one of the wonders of the world. It is you know.

  4. Cindy says:

    Happy birthday, Gladys.
    ps: you did a fine job, your Rosie is a wonderful girl 🙂

  5. bronxboy55 says:

    I hope your Mom had a wonderful birthday, Rose, and that she has many more ahead of her. This post is a beautiful tribute.

    • dearrosie says:

      How nice to welcome you here on my mother’s birthday BronxBoy. Thank you for your wishes and your nice comment. I hope to be able to celebrate next year’s birthday with my Mom.

  6. Priya says:

    This must be my 5th attempt at writing what I wish to say. No, it is not just to wish your mother beautiful times today and always, but it is to tell you how very wonderful you are.

    And also to tell you that your mother knows that you called to say “Happy Birthday”. Even if you couldn’t actually say it, the wish will always be with her.

    Much love.

    PS: I love all the pictures, but particularly the one that was taken at your brother’s wedding. She looks radiant.

    • dearrosie says:

      Dear Priya thank you for your beautiful, thoughtful comment. I wept when I read it. My Mom knows I have a friend in India who sent her salaams. She’ll be happy to know you took the trouble to write and wish her a Happy Birthday.

      Mr F agrees with you that she looks radiant in the photo at my brother’s wedding. She was only 48.
      [ Full disclosure: I cut my Father out of that photo. I feel bad because he also looked radiant, but it wasn’t his birthday…]

  7. Lynn Mazor says:

    Rosie, you are truly blessed to have Gladys around. She is an inspiration!
    I hope you remembered to give her a hug from me when you were there!
    One of your most special posts, indeed. Much love always.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Lynn
      Thanks for writing dear friend. I agree that she’s an inspiration to all of us. She almost died in the great flu epidemic of 1918 and was a sickly child, but she’s the last one standing!

      When I told my Mom that Lynn sends her love and wishes for a happy birthday she said: “I remember Lynn. Many Happy memories. Positively. Absolutely.”
      and then went straight onto tell me she was watching the tennis. She said: “Wimbledon is the greatest tennis of the year,.. The two brothers play so well… they’ve never lost a match…”

  8. souldipper says:

    Rosie, I hope your mom has had a really special day. It may have been hard to be away from her, but she could count on you being with her in spirit – in a big way.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks Amy. From what I heard she had a really marvelous day – surrounded by a couple of children, many grandchildren and great-grandchildren. I am comforted by the fact that I had real one on one time with her when I was there.

  9. Mahalia says:

    what fantastic photos! what a life Granny has had! thank you for this tribute to her.

  10. Barbara Rodgers says:

    What a wonderful birthday tribute to a remarkable mom from her lovely daughter! I especially enjoyed the pictures of the children with their great-granny… Some day those pictures will mean a lot to Zach and Jessica. (I treasure the one I have of me being held and adored by my great-grandparents.) Beautiful post, Rosie!

    • dearrosie says:

      I didn’t meet all my grandparents, you are so fortunate to not only have met your GREAT-grandparents, but to have a photo of yourself with them!
      You’re right Barbara, I’m sure my Mom’s great grandchildren will treasure the pictures – one day.

      Thank you for stopping by.

  11. Thandi says:

    Hey Aunty Rosie, She really is a very special lady and thank you for promoting this for us all on her Birthday. I wasn’t so fortunate as to get to speak with her on her Birthday but left a message from me and Gracy…would have liked to hear the British accent! Lots of love, TXXX

    • dearrosie says:

      What a pleasure to welcome you here Thandi.
      I’m sorry I didn’t tape record the chat Granny and I had on her birthday, but second best was to record her words. I was lucky to catch her at a good time, on a good day.

      I have a lovely memory from Granny’s 90th birthday celebrations when you and Gracy had just arrived from the airport, and five-year-old Gracy stared at her great-granny and said, “Granny you look like the Queen!” and Granny beamed in delight.

  12. Josee says:

    Belated Birthday Wishes to to G.G. (glorious Gladys)!
    Lovely tribute, Rosie!!
    Wonderful quote from Satchell Paige (via Boris), plus another….
    “Age is a case of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it don’t matter.”

    • dearrosie says:

      Josee,
      My Mom’s going to love the name “Glorious Gladys”. No one’s called her that before 😀

      Thanks for the great quote. Who said it?

  13. Deneeze says:

    Happy birthday, dearest Gladys, and many happy returns!! Lots of love and many hugs from Rosie’s long-time friend in London, Deneeze
    xxxxxx

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

