Museum Musings: although it doesn’t feel like summer, the tourists are here

feeding time under the trees

Even though it’s the end of June, it doesn’t feel like summer – it hasn’t been warm enough to wear shorts or swim – I only know it’s summer because the museum’s filling up with tourists who speak many languages, and pay with $100 bills. Americans usually pay with credit cards, or wads of crumpled bills.

Today

  • A man asked to borrow a pen and paper and stood right in front of me copying down the titles of books.
  • I wasn’t sure whether the main store would have the photography book by Walker Evans that she was looking for. “I should just go to a proper book store and pay less,” she said.
  • I watched Sarah aged 11, from Miami, wear her Mom down with her determined persistent nagging and whining, “Please could I get this postcard?” (a lenticular postcard for $5.)
    “No,” said Mom.
    “How come you’re buying something?” Sarah said pointing to the book her mother was purchasing.
    “I loved the exhibition, so I’m getting the catalog. When you earn your own money you can buy what you like.” her mother said.
    “Can I also get something? Please Mom?”
    “No!” said her mother
    I could hear that that was a definite ‘No!’ I was impressed, and I told Sarah, “I guess that means, no huh?”
    Sarah walked away without bothering to answer me, but came back just as her Mom finished signing the credit card, and worked on her again.
    ….. I’m sorry to say, Mom bought the postcard.

Sally Spicer bag

  • I admired her bag.

She told me it’s a Sally Spicer bag, from San Francisco, and gladly held it up for me to photograph it.

I think i’s a great travel bag: it’s roomy (big enough for a magazine, water bottle and camera), the rattan on the outside looks sturdy, and the handles fit comfortably on one’s shoulders

An added bonus: I was pleased to see on the website that the bags are all made in San Francisco.

  • Her name is Milagros, which means Miracle in Spanish, and is a very popular girl’s name in Cuba.
  • Roseane from Brazil. Her nickname is “Hosie” (I’m not sure how to spell it…)
  • At 2:28 pm a little girl asked her Dad, “Is it almost night time?”

Olivia & Derrick

  • This is Olivia who is 17 and her brother Derrick who is 12. He made sure I spelled his name with two ‘r’s and a ‘c’, and paid for his $5.95 purchase with a $100 bill.

They come from Surabay, in Indonesia. “It’s near Jakarta, which isn’t nice because it has dreadful traffic, but then it does have nicer malls than Surubay.” Derrick told me.

“We’re looking at universities for me,” said Olivia. “We decided against USC, so I must choose between Washington or Oregon.”

“Where did you learn to speak such good English?” I asked them

“From watching TV” they said.

“You must go to Lombok,” Derrick told me, and made sure I wrote it down. “Take a taxi at the airport and ask for the Novotel Hotel. No, it’s better if you take a shuttle from the airport, the taxis cheat tourists. Go to the hotel and ask for a room…”

OK will do.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Museum Musings: although it doesn’t feel like summer, the tourists are here

  1. Cindy says:

    Ah Sarah’s mom 😦

  2. dearrosie says:

    Yes and remember that Sarah is only 11!

  3. souldipper says:

    Hey Rosie, let’s have our Blog Family Gathering at the Novotel Hotel. Derrick can be our guide. 😀

    • dearrosie says:

      What a great idea Amy. I’m in… Derrick had so much to say he’ll be the perfect guide. He would’ve told me more stories, but I had to help some people at my register, and then his Mom was ready to go.

  4. Corilee says:

    I want one of those bags too! 🙂

  5. magsx2 says:

    Hi dearrosie,
    You meet so many interesting people, it must make the day so much brighter I feel. I love the bag, I agree it does seem ideal.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags
      I do feel fortunate to be able to meet so many different people from all over the world.They’re all so interesting and so ready to share their stories, and even if they don’t speak good English we can always communicate even if its just a smile and a Hello!

      Congratulations Sally Spicer we all love your bag!

  6. You are such a good observer of human nature! Lovely to hear the stories from an ordinary day at work — really entertaining!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you Betty 🙂
      I wonder, after reading my stories, whether you now notice the cashiers at Museums, or supermarkets? So many people even when they’re standing in front of my register will carry on talking to their friends, and totally ignore me. I know what it’s like being a fly on the wall.

  7. Priya says:

    This is the sweetest thing I’ve heard in a while:
    “At 2:28 pm a little girl asked her Dad, “Is it almost night time?””
    Rosie, you must never stop recording these Museum Musings.

    I love the way Derrick made sure you took down the spelling and gave you directions for the Novotel.

    The mother should’ve asked the daughter to go climb a tree.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for your kind comments Priya.

      When the mother paid for Sarah’s purchase I said I’d love to see what her daughter does when she grows up. I thought she’d be a good lawyer. The mother laughed and agreed.

      Would be nice to hear from someone who’s been to the Novotel …

  8. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Oh no! I went to the Sally Spicer site and discovered she also has a Signature Dragonfly Collection! I’m in trouble now – Tim will never hear the end of it… Those shoulder straps do look very comfortable…

    “At 2:28 pm a little girl asked her Dad, ‘Is it almost night time?’” She sounds just like me fifty years ago… 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      I’ll have to go take a look at the dragonfly bags. Funny how I didn’t notice them, but as they’re your signature that’s the first thing you saw.
      I think Tim will be glad that he knows what to buy you for your birthday 🙂

  9. Sarah R. says:

    Rosanne- I have been away from your blog for a while, but my intuition must have sensed that this posting had a link to beautiful bags! I shall demand a new SS bag from my mother in honor of persistent Sarahs around the world. I wonder- at the age of 26- how my mother would respond to my demand? 😉
    Olivia and Derrick are darling…
    Best,
    Sarah

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

