“It’s the end of the story that counts…”

One of my mother’s favorite expressions is, “It’s the end of the story that counts.”

My mother and Mahalia last Wednesday

It took about half a dozen negotiations -with more than one person, over a couple of months – but I’m happy to tell you that I spent last week up north with my mother, a couple of weeks before her 95th birthday.

View of the pond from the dining room of the retirement home

Mom lives in a Retirement Home on 10 acres north of the city.

We were lucky the weather was perfect – sunny in the low seventies and not humid –  so we sat outside on the verandah every afternoon after lunch.

.

Mom enjoying the wildlife

It was quiet and peaceful listening to the birds and watching the ducks, geese and fish splashing in the water.

Geese in the pond

Canada geese on the path

Blue Heron (I think)

Can you see the cardinal in the tree?

early birthday celebration

And that, dear friends, is the reason why I haven’t left comments on your blogs.

I’ve got lots of catching up to do, but I’m still jet-lagged – I only returned back home late on Sunday night.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Wandering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to “It’s the end of the story that counts…”

  1. E fullstop says:

    So glad you got your well-deserved trip! The photos and story brought a smile to my face. Thanks for the post.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for writing and welcome back e fullstop. I’m honored that you liked my photos- You and Jolly took the best, the most *magnificent* pictures of the south-west and Grand Canyon I have ever seen. I’d love to be able to show them here 😀

  2. Cindy says:

    Her smile says it all, I bet it meant the world to her to have you there. What a tranquil sight for a retirement home, that’s how it ought to be for all the aged. Welcome back Rosanne.

    • dearrosie says:

      hi Cindy,
      When we were looking for a retirement home for my mom we knew that something on the corner of a busy street would not be suitable for someone like Mom who went to boarding school near Darjeeling in the Himalaya Mountains and loves trees and beautiful scenery. It’s such a perfectly lovely place.
      It was a lovely visit. I saw her every day except Saturday when I went to visit my friend Sally who has early onset dementia. Oy.

  3. Priya says:

    I love the necklace your mother’s wearing. It compliments her obviously granite-determination. And yes, we can see the cardinal! Welcome back, Rosie!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Priya,
      We were sitting out on the veranda when I told my mother that my friend Priya from India sent her greetings. Mom was delighted to hear I have a friend in India and sent her “salaams” back to you. My sister, who went to India a few years ago, asked where you live and I could only say the town begins with a “D” and is in the north. I must look at a map!

  4. Liz says:

    I am sooo glad you were able to make it to see your mom! Your pictures are beautiful! What a wonderful week of great weather and catching up with your mom! 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks Liz. It was so relaxing sitting outside by the pond. I was lucky with the weather – no rain and no humidity – you know how muggy and dreadful it can be at this time of the year.

  5. So great to see such happy pictures of your mom — and you look so much like her!
    I’m delighted you got a chance to be with her for her birthday — 95 years — what a triumph!! (and how lucky for you that you’ve had her this long … enjoy every minute!!)

    • dearrosie says:

      I do understand how lucky I am to still have my mother. My Dad died over twenty years ago and I miss him so much.

      Although I couldn’t be there for my mother’s actual birthday (which she shares with 2 of her great-grand daughters) it was a happy week for both of us, and one where we simply enjoyed each other’s company.

      I told Mom that I’m honored to be in her company because I’ve never known someone of 95 before. She said “Really?”

  6. souldipper says:

    I agree with your wise mom…it is the end of the story that counts. After all, that means we are standing in ‘now’, right? That looks like an ideal place for a senior’s residence. May she have days full of goodness. Her answer to you – “Really?” sounds just like my mom. I can hear the inflection! My mom died 9 years ago at the age of 96. Sometimes I ache to be able to chat with her again.

    • dearrosie says:

      My mother has many great sayings, and this is one of her favorites.
      Thanks for the beautiful wishes. I’ll tell her tomorrow when I speak to her.

      Your Mom also lived to a good old age! Has she ever “visited” you since she passed away?

      • souldipper says:

        Rosie, it sounds so trite, but my mom’s presence is frequently with me. Lots of times when I am writing, I can hear the English teacher side of her chatting away at me.

      • dearrosie says:

        I don’t think it sounds trite Amy. I thought you’d say yes, so that’s why I asked. I think it’s beautiful.

  7. Barbara says:

    Your mom looks so lovely and vivacious, even in her wheelchair! What a blessing to know she can live out her days surrounded by so much natural beauty. It must have meant a lot to you to be able to spend a week with her. (My aunt is 96 and my dad is 89.)

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m glad you could see her beauty even in the wheelchair (which she hates)… “I never thought I’d ever be like this,” she said tearfully as my sister and I struggled to get her into the car.

      Do your aunt and your Dad live near you? Do you see them very often?

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

