Museum Musings: Sienna, Sierra and Zoe, sculptures without arms, and puppets

John C, with the dragon puppet and the kid

"Would you like to feed the dragon?"

 John C’s a professional puppeteer.

Because he wasn’t sure whether he liked the dragon enough to take him home, he tried it out first in the store,  entertaining us with an impromptu performance.

He’s really good

John bought the dragon puppet

*

“Why does the Museum buy statues without arms and legs?” I heard a woman ask the security guard standing next to an ancient Greek sculpture. I was late from lunch so couldn’t stop to hear his reply.

*

Problems with English: “You don’t have got stamps?” a man asked me.

*

A middle aged American woman was pushing her elderly Mother’s wheelchair around the store and snapping at everyone including us, after the old lady told her, “No thanks. I don’t want a gift.”

“I have to buy you something from the gift store.”

“I don’t want anything. I’ve got too much stuff already. I’m an old lady what do I want with it?”

“You have to have something because I want to buy something, damnit!”

*

“O.M.G.” she cried out when a plate fell off a bookcase and smashed in front of her.

*

He had a ring in his nose just like a bull. I felt sorry for his mother.

*

I served Martha Crocket. I was nice and didn’t ask if she was related to Davey.

*

Four-year-old Sienna and her two-year-old sister Zoe visited the museum with their nanny, who told them the crayons and coloring books were “for the plane.”  “We’re going to Europe on Thursday,” she told me,  “We spend three months every summer at their home in Saint Tropez.

The next day I met Sierra who is three. She was doing little dance steps standing next to her Mother.  “I can see you like to dance!” I said to her.

“Yes I go to ballet lessons,” she said.

“Will you do a dance for me?” I said, pointing to the big empty space behind her.

So she danced and whirled and jumped even though she was wearing flip-flops. I wasn’t the only person taking her photo, about half a dozen people whipped out their cameras and joined me.

Sierra shows how she spins

a little bashful

Sierra spins around

When Sierra saw the large crowd, she stopped for a moment, not quite sure whether to carry on – you can see her bashful expression – but she’s such a great performer she learned to play her audience, and was delighted at the end when we clapped and cheered.

Too cute!

I’m sorry I didn’t turn the camera round to show you the pride and joy on her Mom’s face. It too was priceless.

.

*

He bent down and threw his rotten sandwich in the little garbage bin next to my register, but never thought of asking whether I minded being left with a stinking sandwich. O.M.G!

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Museum Musings: Sienna, Sierra and Zoe, sculptures without arms, and puppets

  1. souldipper says:

    Again, a wonderful mix of humanity visiting the museum. The lad who fed the dragon was likely thrilled to be a part of the scene, Sierra had her first taste of fame, and the poor mother who raised such a determined daughter!

    But, Rose, what are we going to do about the state of “good manners” in the world? How do we bring ‘consideration’ back into life and living?

  2. dearrosie says:

    Hi Amy, Once again thanks for your comment.
    The lad who fed the dragon left the store with his eyes still big as saucers. Too sweet.

    re your “good manners” comment. That’s a good question. Would we start in the home or in the school?

  3. Priya says:

    My favourite — “He had a ring in his nose just like a bull. I felt sorry for his mother.” People do so much to look different, rebellious, and (perhaps in their own opinion) cool. 🙂

    And I love Sierra. But I confess I love her slippers more. They remind me of this favourite beetle of mine. 🙂

    This is the second person throwing their sandwich in your waste-bin, Rosie! Damnation! Yes. That’s a good punishment. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Priya I’m going to start photographing
      *those kids walking around with rings all over their faces – I’m sure they think they look “cool” and would happily pose for me.
      * those folks who throw their rotten lunch in my garbage.

      You could see Sierra was very proud of her sandals – I don’t know how she managed to keep them on her feet as she danced, or how she didn’t fall.

  4. Cindy says:

    I love these posts. (BTW, I once heard a woman bleating about a trip to the Parthenon. She moaned that it was just a broken building.)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Cindy. I’m glad to know people are enjoying my world with me.
      Oh lord imagine what questions the guides at the Parthenon must get on the topic of what a disgrace, why don’t you repair your buildings?

  5. Barbara says:

    Your blog posts often make me remember what Pete said to Kermit in “The Muppets Take Manhattan.” “Peoples is peoples…” Whenever we’re perplexed by odd behavior my husband and I look at each other, shake our heads, and say, “peoples is peoples.”

    On the other hand, you get to meet some very delightful people, like Sierra and John C.!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Thanks for the great Muppets clip. I didn’t know it. I LOVE it. From now on when I see strange behaviors, I too will be muttering “peoples is peoples”

      I’m also very impressed that you know how to paste a youtube link in the comments!

      • Barbara says:

        Rosie, all I do is copy the video’s URL from YouTube and paste it into my comment. Sometimes it works and the video shows up. Other times just the URL shows up, but readers can follow the link and watch the video on YouTube. I hope that makes sense!

      • dearrosie says:

        All you do is paste the URL as one does when writing a post? I’ll try it again. Thanks.

      • Barbara Rodgers says:

        Yes, same as when putting it in a post – but it doesn’t always work, in fact it seems pretty hit or miss to me, with no rhyme or reason! But at the very least the link will show up…

      • dearrosie says:

        Thanks Barbara. I wonder if anyone else has any explanation as to why it doesn’t always work.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

