Museum Musings: hats, stripes and checks, and an anniversary party

Four friends from Oklahoma

When I asked permission to take a photo of the four women on a week’s holiday from Oklahoma, they gladly posed for me, and were delighted when I showed them the photo on my camera.

*

Alex & his daughter Alex (from L.A)

FASHION news:

I’ve noticed in the past month or so that everyone seems to be wearing stripes and checks

plus

I’m happy to report that not everyone’s wearing baseball caps.

*

Stripes and checks in the garden

Perusing through the April 2011 issue of “SHARP for Men“, a new Canadian Men’s Magazine a recent guest brought with him, I saw an article advising men to mix stripes and checks in their wardrobe. The male model in the article wore a blue striped shirt with a blue checked jacket, plus a bright yellow belt. It looked lovely.

Next day I saw this man at the museum.

I’m sure that’s not what the SHARP fashion editor meant.

*

 Many tourists ask to be photographed with Charles:

Charles with the girls from China

I met four-year-old Morgan from New Zealand in the Children’s Store yesterday afternoon.  “On my farm, our lambs have black faces,” he told me while we played with the puppets.  [The lamb puppet in our store has a white face.]

Morgan told me that one of his dogs was run over so he limps sometimes.  “And when he tries to jump over the fence he hits his head on the gate. Hah! Hah! Doesn’t he Dad?

His Dad came over and confirmed that the dog – a sheep dog – had been run over by a car.  “We live on a farm with 400 cows and 800 sheep,” he said,   “I hope you don’t mind my saying so, but I don’t like the taste of American milk and butter. It’s tasteless. The milk from our grass-fed cows has a much richer flavor.”

I hope to have the pleasure of tasting his milk one day…

When Morgan’s Mom called to tell him it was time to go, he said to me,  “Do you want to come to my farm?”

“Thanks, I’d love to see your farm,” I said.

He looked at his Mum and when she nodded ‘yes’ he smiled a happy smile, “And when you come to the farm, you won’t get lost if you remember that our house is the red house at the back.”

“I’ll remember when I’m in New Zealand to go to the red house right at the back of the farm.  I look forward to seeing you again Morgan. Perhaps I’ll come for tea one day. ”

*

Tee-shirt sightings this week:

I ♥ Mommy

I ♥ S.F

He's from Boston.When his daughter went to Australia she brought him back the shirt

She went to the "Sing for Japan" concert. "100% of money raised went to Japanese tsunami victims"

Isaac lives in L.A

The Beetles

*

A boy in Grade Five paid for his pencil with a Fifty dollar bill.

*

There was an anniversary celebration for the museum staff last week:

10 years for me, 15 years for Dinah B

* * * * *

PLEASE NOTE: This should have gone in as a comment, but I’m adding it here – after I’ve written the post – simply because I don’t know how to put a photo in the comments…!

I had an email exchange with Jeremy Freed, the editor of SHARP magazine, and he very kindly gave me permission to use the photo spread from his magazine. Thank you sir!

I’m sure you’ll all agree with me that it’s an eye-catching outfit.

Stripes and checks from April 2011 "SHARP for Men" magazine

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Museum Musings: hats, stripes and checks, and an anniversary party

  1. Priya says:

    The house must be full of “Alex!” “Alex?” “Alex.” Can’t stop chuckling at the thought.
    I love all the stories in this one. Even the one-liners like the boy paying with a fifty dollar note.
    The checks and stripes: Well, can’t say I am a great fan. The man in the picture probably needs an introduction to SHARP. And so do I, for some learning-to-use-the-two. It might look good on Obelix. Have you read Asterix comics, Rosie?
    Great picture of you and Dinah. Congrats!
    And lastly, I hope you’re able to try out the milk from Morgan’s pa’s farm someday.

    • dearrosie says:

      The Alex’s were very friendly. They told me that Mom named older brother, so when the second child was born it was Dad’s turn, and to quote him: “I like my name so I gave it to the baby.” and she said,”I’m happy with it.”
      I’ve always wondered how families who name the kids after themselves cope when they’re calling “Alex” but only get the attention of the other “Alex”.

      I’m so sorry SHARP wouldn’t let me copy the photo of the model because he really did look “sharp”…

      I have read Asterix comics, but a long time ago. I’ll have to go “check” up on Obelix!

      Thanks for the congrats.
      I look forward to playing with Morgan again – what a smart kid!

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Great photo’s, what can I say about the checks and the stripes, not a good look for the guy at all, but I’ll give him 5 out of 10 for trying. 🙂
    I love to pick up a t-shirt from wherever I am holidaying, every time I put a t-shirt on it always reminds me of the trip.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for letting me know you like my pix magsx2. Send me a photos of you in your holiday t-shirts and I’ll post them here 🙂

      re the guy in the checks and stripes. I was eating my lunch in the garden under the trees and when he passed by it was such a great photo op that I almost dropped my food in my haste to find my camera and fish it out my bag.

      magsx2 I think you live in New Zealand? I told Morgan’s Dad I have a friend who lives in NZ. He was interested to know more about you, but I couldn’t tell him anymore because I don’t know where, and I don’t even know your name. It was too difficult to explain, “but we really are friends,” I said. He gave me a look farmers would use when a cow dumps on his shoe, and I gave him a bloggers smile.

      • magsx2 says:

        Hi,
        I’m an Aussie, I was born in Australia many years ago (an old girl now. 🙂 )
        I live in Brisbane which is the Capitol of the state of Queensland OZ Map. Queensland is in yellow.
        Here in OZ we always shorten people’s names, all my friends call me Mags which is short for Margaret.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      Thanks so much for explaining where you live and what your name is. I won’t forget because my sisters name is Margaret, but we don’t call her Mags.
      I have no idea why I thought you were from N.Z??? I won’t make the mistake again. I’m talking to a waterfall when I write to you so perhaps that’s why I got confused….? I dunno.

  3. souldipper says:

    A friend just sent me photos of a little reunion she had with women friends she used to motorcycle with – over over the USA! Yah! An interesting bunch of women who are 60 plus!! They all brought a T-Shirt that had something on it that caught their eye. One I really liked: “SOMETIMES – ya just gotta pick yer knows.”

    Love your bits and pieces, Rosie. The highlights of your day. It’s like sitting out on the back patio with our feet up, enjoying the view and wondering what to make for dinner.

    • dearrosie says:

      So lovely to hear about women in their 60’s who are still living life to the fullest. Ask your friend if I could post their photo here?
      We very often have family groups wearing the same tee-shirt “so and so’s birthday” or “I survived my family reunion” or something like that… I’ll have to try photograph them.

      Thank you Amy for your very nice feedback re my bits and pieces 🙂

  4. dearrosie says:

    I wrote to the editor of SHARP magazine and he very kindly gave me permission to use the fashion spread with the male model “wearing a blue striped shirt, blue checked jacket, plus a bright yellow belt.”
    I don’t know how to add a photo in the comments, so I’ve added it at the end of the post. Come have a look. Its really stunning.

    In his reply, the editor, Jeremy Freed, asked me why I photographed the backs of the women in headscarves, “Did they not want their faces photographed?”
    I felt sure they’d say “NO” if I asked for a photo which included their faces, so I just asked if I could photograph them from the back. I think they were quite flattered to be asked, and were so delighted with the end result that they asked me to take that same photo with their cameras.
    Next time I’ll ask for a photo that includes faces…. stay tuned.

  5. theonlycin says:

    I loved this post, Rosie. Morgan quite stole my heart and I do hope you get to his red house at the back some day.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Cin,
      I just told Mr F it’s a shame I didn’t get a photo of Morgan, but on the other hand I think it’s nice to be able to form a picture in our minds sometimes… Morgan and I spent a while putting on a puppet show with the sheep, parrots, dragon, monkey, turtle, octapus and he was good – especially with the parrots. In the middle of the show he called over to his Dad and said, “Look at me Dad, I’m playing with the lady!”

  6. Pingback: Museum Musings: I used to have long hair; Where’s the second floor? | Wondering Rose

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

