flowers first in L.A, followed by “Midnight in Paris” and “The Tree of Life.”

Little white picket fence

Flowers and a few trees I met on my walk last Saturday   (inspired by my blogging friend Priya who photographed her neighborhood in India.)

Mr F, Monty Carlo, a hedge and trees

 

geraniums and roses

lavender and roses

lobelia and roses

oleander

After the walk Mr F and I went to see Midnight in Paris. Don’t worry if you haven’t seen it, I’m not going to give away the story. Walking to the car after the movie we were laughing at the coincidence that we’d chosen to see the movie in Pasadena, because the Owen Wilson character comes from Pasadena, when a man stopped us, “What movie did you see?” he asked.

Midnight in Paris,” we said.

“Did you like it?” he asked

“Fantastic! We loved it,” we said in unison, “It was well written, well acted and funny,” Mr F said

“And I loved the scenes of Paris.” I said

“What about you? What did you see?” we asked

“Well, I went with my sister, and she’s been taking care of my mother – she’s 95 you know and had a stroke – my sister’s had a difficult time of it recently, so I let her choose the movie, and boy she spent hours reading all the reviews, and in the end she chose “The Tree of Life,”

“Oh yes, how was it? We want to go see it.”

“Strange. Odd. A waste of time if you ask me. Well let me put it another way, if you like going to the theater to see something you don’t understand, so that when you walk out you can think about the fact that you didn’t understand what the heck that was all about, then I recommend it. Hah hah!!  I’m so pissed off that I paid for the tickets! You were lucky to see Midnight in Paris! My sister owes me one and I’ll make sure she buys me popcorn and a large drink!”

That man’s comment isn’t going to stop us from going to see “The Tree of Life“. In fact we see it as a challenge that after we’ve seen the movie we’ll walk out the theater having understood it, and will agree that Terence Malick knows how to tell a story, and deserved to win the 2011 Palme D’Or at the Cannes Film Festival…

Stay tuned.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to flowers first in L.A, followed by “Midnight in Paris” and “The Tree of Life.”

  1. souldipper says:

    We, of the Northern Climes, also enjoyed a photographic weekend. Nature really has come forward in response to our warm weather and bright sunshine. At last. Loved your photos, Rosie. I’ve been looking forward to The Tree of Life. I find the movies that are not accepted mainstream are ones that give me welcome “meat” to chew on.

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m glad to know you had a warm sunny weekend up there Amy. Take photos of your neighborhood to share with us…
      Thank you, I appreciate knowing that you liked my photos. 🙂

      We also prefer a movie that leaves one thinking, so we’ll have to compare notes when we see “The Tree of Life”. (And also let us know what you think when you see “Midnight in Paris”).

  2. I haven’t been to the movies in awhile and I LOVE the movies, so I decided this weekend, in the beastly heat we’ve been having here in Atlanta, to see “The Tree of Life.” Although I enjoyed it, I REALLY enjoyed the comments of the people walking out. An older lady who was behind me said ”Was that a wonderful movie or a horrible one?” And when I realized she was asking me, I turned around and said, “Probably both.” Then I went out in the lobby and ran into a guy I know who had his elderly parents with him and they said, “What the hell was that whole thing about??” And I started laughing — because it’s pretty much about everything, although if I had to use one word to describe it, I would say it was overwrought. Beautiful, though — for sure!
    Malick’s “Days of Heaven” is one of my all-time favorite movies and I always think it’s interesting to see a director make something that is way outside the narrative box — and existential to boot. So .. yay! Went to see “Water for Elephants” last night, too, and really liked that. Tomorrow I’m going to see “Bridesmaids” and I can’t wait to laugh my head off! Nice photos, Rosie — what a beautiful neighborhood!!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Betty I laughed so much at your description of the people walking out the theatre that I had to walk away from the computer…. Heh heh “Was that a wonderful movie or a horrible one?” Heh heh! Priceless!
      I’m not sure but I think using the words “Beautiful and yaay” means you recommend it?

      You definitely recommend “Water for elephants” so I’ll put that on the list. Let us know what you think of “Bridesmaids” … I know you’ll LOVE “Midnight in Paris”. Do go see it.

      Thanks for the feedback re my photos. Take some of your neighborhood.

  3. Barbara says:

    Oh what beautiful flowers you have blooming all over the neighborhood! The sweet little white house with the picket fence – I wouldn’t mind living there. 🙂

    My sister-in-law and I saw the previews for “The Tree of Life,” when we went to see “African Cats” – and we thought it looked promising. It sounds like it might be a little deep for those who want only to be entertained, but I like thought-provoking movies. It will probably be a challenge to find it playing locally, however.

    • dearrosie says:

      That little house with the white picket fence is one of my favorites.

      How frustrating to not be able to see that kind of movie in your part of the world. Do you live in a little village? How far do you have to travel to see a subtitle movie? We usually end up going to the Lammle Theater in Pasadena because they always show the foreign, and the thought-provoking movies there.

  4. Priya says:

    Picket fences remind me not just of Tom Sawyer, but also of all things wonderful. It’s a beautiful neighbourhood you have there!

    • dearrosie says:

      Picket fences are like apple pie, a sign of home.

      I love walking in our neighborhood because the gardens are so well cared for and always at their best.

  5. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Beautiful flowers, and some very nice greenery around the neighborhood, great photo’s of the lovely gardens. It’s amazing what we can miss when out walking.
    It was just a couple of days ago, I saw this really nice statue in the front yard of a house that I pass every day when walking the dog. I mentioned it to my neighbor who informed me it had been there for a couple of days. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks magsx2. It’s a different experience to take a walk with a camera in your hand – I find it slows me down because I look at everything twice – framing each thing and thinking whether I should photograph it.
      I love your comment re the statue that’s been there for a few days. I think it’s so easy to walk without seeing… I think we all do it all the time. But it’s hard to own up that we do it.
      What kind of dog do you have?

  6. Beautiful photos – one doesn’t often think of LA in such pictorial flowery ways.

    Glad you loved Midnight in Paris, too!

    And I, as well, look forward to the upcoming challenge of experiencing T. Malick’s The Tree of Life.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

