Museum Musings: full moon, my portrait and many questions …

Nothing can STOP me now  (photo credit Mahalia in Toronto)

 

Two Mondays ago Mr F and I joined our friends Edith and Jolly, and about twenty other people, for a “Full Moon hike” in Coldwater Canyon Park (which is on the crest of the hill where Coldwater Canyon meets Mulholland Drive).

The May moon over Coldwater canyon Park (photo credit Mr F)

A woman walking past my cash register, looked at me, so I said, “Hello,” at the same time as she said, “Good-bye” in halting English.

I laughed, but she didn’t.

*

I took this photo last summer. Another story I forgot to tell …

My portrait – by Faith

 

Faith who is twelve, doesn’t talk much, but her companion described her as a savant- a gifted cartoonist/artist who has been drawing since she was three. She stood at my cash register to do this sketch of me in five minutes.

I promised to frame it…

*

We were busy over the long weekend. People wanted to know:

  •  Where’s the paintings?
  • Van Goch?
  • Where do I find the Impressionists?
  • Where’s the nearest rest room?
  • Photography?
  • Rembrandt?
  • Restroom?
  • Turner

Question: Where’s the photography?
Me: Downstairs.
Question: Downstairs in this building?
Me: Yes
Question: How do I get there?
Me: Take the elevator down one floor, or walk down those stairs.
Question: Oh

I took a deep breath and that’s when I noticed the woman standing to my right. “Wow, all those questions. That’s incredible,” she said. “You should hold up signs.”

*

Her name was Burcin. Pronounced “Burrr-chin”. It means “the first flower in the spring” in Turkish.

*

Man Cheung (M.C) and his wife

.

I recognized the name on his jacket because one of my nieces works in their London office.

M.C told me he’s a Fire Engineer from the Melbourne office.

 

 

 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Museum Musings: full moon, my portrait and many questions …

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I love it, “Nothing Can Stop Me Now” what a fantastic sign.
    A moon hike, what a great idea, something a bit different and it looks like you all had a great time.

    • dearrosie says:

      If you’ve never done a full moon hike I highly recommend it. It’s a magical experience! We’ve done it several times.

      I’m glad you noticed the sign. I wonder how many people in Toronto actually noticed it as they drove by.

  2. souldipper says:

    A day with Rosie O’Showsie. I really enjoy your potpourris from a day at the Museum. What a sweet caricature.

    Another graffiti – adding clever words to signs. I suppose someone will get very upset and we’ll spend millions of dollars finding ways to prevent people from entertaining us. I’d make SURE I stopped if there was something good to read on every stop sign! 😀

    • dearrosie says:

      Rosie O’Showsie… I like it. I’ve been called many things and this is a new name for me. Thanks Amy. I’m also glad you enjoyed reading about my day at work….

      As I wrote back to Magsx2, I wonder how many people who stopped at the stop sign actually noticed it, and read it. Well we know at least one person did – thanks to Mahalia for photographing the sign for us.

  3. Priya says:

    Love it, love it, love all of it. I wish I can find out clever new ways to tell you how much I appreciate these posts of yours, Rosie.

    I’d never heard of Full Moon hike. It must’ve been fun. Are there no other lights, though?

    If you did have a box, would she/he buy more than one?

    I love Faith’s art. And her eyes.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you, thank you, thank you Priya 🙂

      No lights on a full moon hike, not even flash lights, or what you’d call a torche. You don’t need them, because the moon is so bright, the path glows in front of you. I was very nervous the first time we went walking with the full moon and was pleasantly surprised at how bright it is. Even though it was cloudy on this hike we could still see.

      Many tourists refuse to buy things if we don’t have a box, which makes me think we should just sell boxes!

      Faith is a very interesting kid. I’m glad I found the photo I took of her. The “teacher” who was taking her around the museum told her to smile, but she refused.

  4. Boris says:

    Mmmmm … looks like you’re having fun… what a lovely name … Mahalia …

  5. Barbara says:

    Our local nature center has full moon walks which I’ve been meaning to go on if I can find a way to stay awake so late in the day! (Big morning person here – now if they had a pre-dawn full moon walk I would probably be there every month…)

    I love Faith’s drawing of you – she is talented!

    The stop sign humor made me think of something funny someone once said about stop signs in Italy – that the people regard obeying them as a suggestion rather than a requirement. (Haven’t been there so I cannot verify!)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Barbara, I don’t know what to suggest to someone like you who goes to bed early because I don’t think the full moon would still be in the sky for a pre-dawn walk. I know it rises one hour later each day after the full-moon … I’m sure there are many people like you who go to bed early, so why don’t you ask your local nature center to do a ‘Welcome the Sunrise” walk?

      I met Faith last year at the end of the summer, but I haven’t seen her again.

      The first time Mr F and I were in Italy, in the early 1970’s, we rented a little Vespa scooter to drive around Rome. As we drove out of the rental place, before we’d even reached the road, an impatient Italian driver rammed into us.

      • Barbara says:

        The moon is often up early in the morning and I spend a lot of time gazing at it while waiting for others to rise. I really must get over to the nature center more often, life keeps getting in the way, though.

        Tim’s brother and family lived in Italy for about nine years, three years at a time if I recall correctly. (One time was 1975-78.) They loved it in spite of the traffic stories and return for vacations every chance they get.

        Hope no one was injured when you got rammed! Do you look back on it as a funny story or is it still upsetting to remember? (Sometimes it’s hard to tell from written accounts…)

      • dearrosie says:

        Thanks for enlightening me that the moon is still in the sky early in the morning. I have a plan to get up early to try *write* so I can see for myself, but so far I haven’t been successful. Next week…

        When Italy gets into your blood stream you can’t stop going back. Mr F and I agree that even though there’s so many other places to see we’d go to back to Italy given half a chance.
        FYI One of my blog posts on our last Italian trip
        http://wp.me/pN0M1-7z

        You’re right I didn’t explain the Vespa incident properly. We got a heck of a fright, but we’re still laughing about it. Before we’d even stopped the scooter the other driver started yelling at us in Italian (although it was his fault) so Mr F yelled back at him in the few Italian words he knew, which made me giggle, and I couldn’t stop… The bike rental people saw the incident but still made us pay! oh well…

  6. Val says:

    Wow! Love this post, Rosie! And the weird conversations and questions… and the moon walk… (did you have a landing as well?) And… now I’ve got ‘hello, goodbye‘ by the Beatles going through my head!

    Til we moved here to rural Wales, I’d been scared of looking at the moon (since childhood). Now we’re here, it rarely bothers me and I sometimes go to my room if I get up during the night on a moonlit night just to look at it. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Val, thanks for giving us the Beatles “hello goodbye” song… I didn’t think of it! And now I’ve got it going through my head too…
      The moon walk almost ended in a bum landing because we had to go down a steep incline at the end – unfortunately I left my camera at home and the others didn’t photograph the descent, they were too busy taking care not to fall.

      I’m glad to hear how much you’re enjoying the country. I would imagine that you’d have beautiful night skies living where you do in rural Wales, and a full moon shining into your room must be magical.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

