Museum Musings: Jacarandas, ‘Intellectual’ kids, and ‘Tinogona’.

Canopy of Jacaranda trees.

  •  With no fan-fare to announce their arrival, the Jacarandas are once more blooming all over the city.

*

  • “We should buy art books so we can look ‘Intellectual‘,”  a girl in 12th-grade said to her giggling friends.

*

  • I’m reminded daily how difficult it is to speak English.  A Russian tourist said: “I will buy it. I changed my decision.”

*

  •  Pointing to the Museum map in her hand an older woman asked me: “Where can I see sculptures like these?
    Me: “Take that elevator up one level, go left, and you’ll find the sculptures near the back of the gallery.”
    She turns to leave, but goes toward the exit, and not the elevator.
    Me: “Excuse me! The elevator’s the other way. The sculptures are one level up.”
    Woman: “Ha ha! I don’t know what I want eh? The garden’s that way is it?” pointing to the exit.
    Me: “Yes that’s correct, garden’s are always outside.”
    I watched her walk outside.

*

  • A kid of fourteen told me I could keep the seventeen cents change.

*

In the past week I served:

Patricia and George

.

Patricia and George from Australia.

They are on a four-month-plus two-week holiday of the United States, Canada, and England.

Lucky them.

.

.

  • Casondra R. “You have an unusual name,” I told her.
  • Five minutes later Cassandra P came to my register. When I told her about the coincidence, we wondered whether it was a sign… “Perhaps you should buy a lottery ticket!” I suggested.
  • a young couple, Melissanthi and Yiannis from Greece.
    They spelled Melissanthi for me and told me that
    Melissa means Bee in Greek, and Anthi means flower. Beautiful!
  • Margaret W.  I asked her whether she was named after Princess Margaret. “Gosh no!” she said. “I’m the fifth Margaret in my family. Mother, grandmother, great-grandmother etcetera.”
    She didn’t carry on the tradition. Her daughter’s name is NOT Margaret, but her granddaughter’s name is Meghan Margaret.      We sang the song, “I’m Margaret the fifth I am I am…”
  • A woman whose name was LOVE.  Of course I had to comment.
    “It’s a common name in Russian,” she said. She told me her surname means “wolf” in Russian. I wonder whether her parents loved the baby, or loved wolves.
  • A woman called Fontaine.

*

  • He took his rotten stinky sandwich out of his bag, and put it in the trash bin next to my cash register, without even asking whether it was okay with me. Honestly!

*

Shop in Johannesburg

Did you see today’s Oprah show? After interviewing more than 30,000 people in the past twenty-five years, Oprah introduced us to her three favorite guests on her show. What a sobering, inspiring hour. I think it should be compulsory viewing for our spoilt high school kids.

 Oprah’s favorite guest was Tererai Trent:

 “I was born and raised in rural Zimbabwe, and my dream growing up was to have an education. I met a woman who inspired me to believe in my dreams; I buried a list of my education goals under a rock where I used to herd cattle. I believed in achieving these against many challenges. The rock where I buried my dreams solidified and grounded me in many ways. I was at peace since I knew I had made a pact with the rock to keep my dreams alive.”

Tererai Trent whose father wouldn’t allow her to go to school and married her off at age eleven, defended her PhD last year. She is selling tee-shirts to raise money to build a school in her village in Zimbabwe. The tee-shirts have one word printed on them: Tinogona (a Shona word which means, “It is achievable.”)

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Museum Musings: Jacarandas, ‘Intellectual’ kids, and ‘Tinogona’.

  1. Mahalia says:

    Tinogona – how beautiful. What an inspiring, moving story. Thanks for sharing for those (3?) of us who never ever watch Oprah 🙂

    Also, I love the flowers!

    • dearrosie says:

      I hope you can watch the show sometime Mahalia, because I didn’t tell you anything about the two other amazing people, or how Terari went from married at age 11 without an education, to defending her PhD in the United States. I wept more than once.

  2. Boris says:

    It’s a wonderful thing to know that you can make a pact with a rock, and I completely agree with her. Rocks hold the warmth of the sun and the spirit of their creator, so why not a few promises from a person in search of strength and hope. Thanks.

    • dearrosie says:

      There’s a beautiful piece of film footage on the show that shows her reverently lifting the huge rock, and digging around in the earth to find the tin where she’d written her dreams.

  3. Dumdad says:

    Lovely post and lovely pic of trees; and an inspiring ending too. Tinogona!

    • dearrosie says:

      Always a pleasure to welcome you here Dumdad. Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed reading my post.

      I wonder whether ‘Tinogona’ is going to end up as one of the new words added to the Oxford English Dictionary this year.

  4. Priya says:

    Beautiful, Rosie. I wish I could buy her tee-shirt here. Tinogona!

    The jacaranda look ready to change the colour of a typical candyfloss.

    I love this from Boris, too “Rocks hold the warmth of the sun and the spirit of their creator, so why not a few promises from a person in search of strength and hope.”

    • dearrosie says:

      Priya anyone in the world can buy the tee-shirt from Tererai Trent’s website – that’s why I included the link. I am going to get one.

      I also love Boris’s comment.

      Tinogona!

      • Priya says:

        Unfortunately, the page I open at the site gives only the US as the option for shipping the tee. Perhaps someday..

      • dearrosie says:

        Oh dear I’m sorry I didn’t notice that Priya. You could have it sent to me and I’ll post it onto you.

      • Priya says:

        I’d love to explore that option, Rosie. Thank you.

      • dearrosie says:

        It’ll be my pleasure Priya. I’ll email you my address.

        I just noticed you’re got a new gravatar Priya. I like it – especially the flower in your hair. What kind of flower?

  5. souldipper says:

    Your snapshots of encounters with and around people are so enjoyable, Rosie. Obviously the person who hired you knew how to hire a great attitude. It’s a challenge working with the public and you obviously have the heart and patience to do it.

    Look at that incredible tree! Our Dogwood are beginning to bloom now – one of my all time favourites. If I get a good shot, perhaps the creative bug will help me incorporate it into a post on Soul Dipper.

    I gave away my TV. Oprah is one of the three shows I miss, but it’s been a blessing to have TV out of my life~

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you Amy I appreciate your kind thoughts. I wish my manager could read your comment. 🙂

      Yes do take a photo of your Dogwood tree. I forget what they look like.

      Good for you that you don’t have a TV. I don’t watch TV very often – mainly watch PBS when I do and a show like Oprah hardly ever!

      You can watch the Oprah show on your computer – I included the link. I couldn’t attempt to explain her other two favorite guests, but from the little I know of you I believe you would get goose bumps and weep when you hear their stories, just as I did.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

