Riding along in my automobile…

House on the hill - photographed through the front window of the car.

Inspired by my blogging friend Priya of “Partial View”, who, in her blog post Of trees, shrubs and people, gave us a marvelous photographic essay of what she saw on her morning walk in her neighborhood (a former tea estate in India),  I share photos taken from the window of the car driving to work one morning last week.

The only way to survive the commute in Los Angeles is to listen to the radio. Here for your listening pleasure is Chuck Berry performing in a French TV show.

Don’t be concerned, and don’t call the cops, I wasn’t taking photos from behind the wheel – although it is astonishing what some people manage to do while driving – I was a passenger: my carpool buddy Eric was driving.  Eric and I are part of a small number of commuters in this city of the automobile who carpool to work. Our commute of thirteen miles along three freeways can take up to one hour. The 101/405 interchange is supposed to be the busiest in North America: in the morning rush hour it can take 30 minutes just to inch round the on-ramp onto the Freeway.

grass along the verge of the exit ramp

bottle brush and blue

101/134 freeway split

The photos are in the order I took them and have not been photo-shopped or enhanced in any way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Riding along in my automobile…

  1. bronxboy55 says:

    I’ve driven some of those same stretches of road, but it was on a short vacation. It’s hard to imagine how many hours you and your fellow commuters spend sitting in traffic every week. Great pictures, though. What are those Q-Tip trees above the house on the hill?

    • dearrosie says:

      I think it’s a lot harder to commute on these Freeways during a short vacation because you’re stressed driving along roads you aren’t familiar with, which also means you don’t have time to admire the scenery.

      Inching along on Freeways is not what I signed up for. When I drive to work I avoid the Freeways and go through the neighborhood streets which is a lot of stop -start and left-rights but I love looking at the gardens and people walking dogs and kids.

      The Q-tip trees are some kind of Palm Tree. I think.

  2. Priya says:

    Oh, Rosie. I could take pictures while driving. Hell, I even dance. (Shh, by the way.) Whereas you are a good citizen. And, it goes without saying, a thoughtful photographer.

    May I request for an actual size picture of the grass on the roadside, though? I’d love to make it my wallpaper.

  3. souldipper says:

    The commute you do each work day is in the distant past for me since I made the decision to spring myself out of a urban lifestyle. On my tiny island, now, I would pack a lunch if I had to drive more than 20 minutes! 😀

    We go to great lengths to find trails where we will not see another human during a hike for at least an hour. Usually we can manage it, too.

    I’ve moved a lot so have loved lots about each place I live. I respect you seeing the beauty available during a long commute. Hope your company is good too!

    • dearrosie says:

      You are very clever to move away from urban living. I envy you.

      I don’t think we’ve ever hiked for an hour without seeing other humans. Do you live on one of the smaller islands in B.C.?

  4. Val says:

    I love your photos, Rosie. 🙂 The last time we went out, I cursed myself because I forgot to take my (new) camera! Nearly everything near where we live is beautiful and would make for good photos while driving (I don’t drive, I’m the passenger). One day I shall remember… That said, though, my photography skills while on the move aren’t wonderful…

    • dearrosie says:

      I take it as a big honor that you like my photos Val. Thank you.

      You live in such a beautiful part of the world I look forward to seeing what you photograph with your new camera. What kind did you get?

      It’s not easy taking pictures from a moving car. I was fortunate – for once – that we were stuck in traffic. Ha ha never thought I’d say that 🙂

      • Val says:

        🙂 The new camera’s a Lumix DMC T28. You can see some of the pics I’ve taken with it so far in my nature photography blog, here:
        http://valsnature.wordpress.com/

      • dearrosie says:

        I just checked out your nature photography blog. What fantastic photos! You are a professional Val, and I’m humbled that you like my untouched pix. Your garden looks quite lovely. I LOVE your bird photos. What size telephoto lens are you using to capture them?

  5. Barbara says:

    That’s surely making the best of things, taking pictures while stuck in traffic! You’re fortunate to have some lovely scenery for your long commute. Nice pictures! My brother-in-law’s commute into Washington, DC, sounds a bit like yours. Even the HOV lanes are clogged.

    When I used to commute an hour up to my dad’s to help care for him I relied on the shuffled playlists on my iPod for music “therapy.” Don’t think I could survive that long in a car by myself without music!

  6. dearrosie says:

    Hi Barbara. I am fortunate to live in California and have such lovely scenery outside the car window for my commute, and that’s why I thought of sharing it. Thank you. I’m glad you like my untouched pix.

    wherever you go in L.A someone got there before you so that there will be *traffic* on the rush hour commute is a given. Because we’re prisoners in our cars is the reason why we have such great radio in L.A. There’s about half a dozen NPR [National Public Radio] stations – one just plays classical music. And all that talk radio on the AM dial, religious stations, Spanish language, Country Music, Oldies, Pop. etcetera

  7. Val says:

    Mmm, no – I’m absolutely no professional, Rosie, nor do I have a telephoto lens on the camera. It’s called a ‘travel zoom camera’ and it can do close ups of up to 12 mps. So really all I’m doing is zooming in very close. What I am having to do which is very new to me is learn something about aperture and shutters speeds which is still a foreign language to me. Mostly I’m using the auto functions which are great! My last camera, prior to this, was bought circa 2003 and only had about 3 mps, and it go so as I couldn’t even see the screen!

    Most of the bird pics are shot from inside the house from a distance of a few feet, with the travel zoom. The reason I can get that close, physically, to them is because they are very trusting of me. Ditto my husband. Have a look at my ‘birds’ category in my main blog and you’ll see.

  8. dearrosie says:

    You took those bird shots from inside the house? Wowee the birds are trusting. How do you get their trust? Do you talk bird with them?
    Could I invite myself to come sit in your living room? I’d be ‘quiet as a mouse’ and as my mom says, “feast my eyes at your amazing view and birdlife.”

    Hey, I just heard parrots flying overhead!

    • Val says:

      Oh boy, our relationship with the wild birds here is something I’ve written about many times in my blog, Rosie! 🙂 Have a look at my ‘birds’ category in Absurd Old Bird and in particular look (via the search there) for Hasslebob the Robin!

      Currently we’re ‘extra parents’ to three gorgeous baby blackbirds (european blackbirds). They’re so used to us we can stand just a few inches away from them outdoors. Ditto their mum. When I’ve got some time I’ll be posting some pics of them to my nature blog. Stay tuned! 🙂

      • dearrosie says:

        I have read – and enjoyed – some of your posts on the wild birds, but I didn’t realise you can get that close to them, or that the parents would allow it. That’s fantastic!
        I’ve signed up for your Nature blog so I look forward to seeing the pix of the baby blackbirds.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

