Museum Musings: Mother’s day from my cash register

On Mother’s Day I worked in the main store, at the busiest register.  As I predicted, the museum was a popular venue, which for us translates into a *B*U*S*Y* day.

I ate lunch with the lemon trees in my secret garden, far from the crowds.

Three people wished me a Happy Mother’s day:

  • a Grandmother with three generations of her large family
  • a woman who told me her Mother was in Mexico so she came with her friend’s mother,  and although I can’t speak Spanish and the old lady couldn’t speak English we were able to “chat” so I can tell you she’s been married 55 years, has two daughters and three sons, and had a lovely visit at the museum. We hugged goodbye.
  •  a woman who cleans the bathrooms.
  • One large bus of Russian tourists arrived as soon as we opened the door. I’m getting very good at Russian sign-language.
  • One woman wished me Happy Women’s Day
  • One woman offered to pray for me – Jennifer – from Sydney
  • One kid – Sophie, aged eight – said, “Thank you,”  to her Dad when he paid for her gift. Just one kid out of the hundreds I served all day!
  • One Australian couple on a two month tour of the United States and Canada.
  • Two questions:
  • 1. “Do you have something on the Page Museum?” she asked me.
    “No, sorry.” I said
    “No books?”
    “No books.”
    “Nothing?” … etcetera
  • 2. “Do you have a lest loom?” she asked me.
    “Yes. When you go out the door turn right, and then first right again.” I said
    “Lite and lite?”
    “That’s correct. To get to the Rest Room, go Right and Right.”
  • Several people fought over who would pay for their purchases. Trying to make sure I’d take their money they pushed their mother-sister-daughter-friend’s hand away and shared with me why they wanted to pay: “It’s Mother’s Day,” “She bought me lunch,” “She paid for the parking,” “I’m staying with her.”
  • One extremely tense, angry woman pushing her mother in a wheel chair, yelled at everyone including her mother – because the old lady didn’t want a gift from our store.  I said, “Perhaps all your mother wants is just being with you?”  “No! No! That’s not right!” she yelled, “She has to have a gift!”and after much coming and going, and leaving her Mother’s wheelchair parked in the way, she made three separate purchases of “stuff”.   Oh my god a few hours later I was horrified to see her in the line again, this time clutching a discount coupon, which she insisted on using even though the line was out the door and we had to do three separate refunds for her,  so she could save three dollars.
  • “Your Marie-Antoinette doll is in poor taste,” the man told me. I agree, but I’m not the buyer. I too cannot imagine how anyone can buy a doll that beheads itself.
  • One Tee shirt worth mentioning: “National Sarcasm Society.”
  • too many nasty people pressed the button for “The Scream“.   Which reminds me that some months ago, when I commented that I’m going stark raving mad from the horrible sound when people press the “Try Me” on The Scream, Priya asked what it looked like. Here it is Priya.

The scream. For Priya who asked what it looked like

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Museum Musings: Mother’s day from my cash register

  1. Priya says:

    Ooh, you feed the senses with your tree pictures. I’ve just come back from a tree photography walk and hope to post them soon. But this lemon tree picture is simply dream-like. You are lucky to be eating your lunch amidst them.

    And The Scream: First, thank you for taking this picture for me. Second, I am with you on the irritation at the ‘many nasty people’. The museum managers seem to know the world is full of them. Marie Antoinette dolls and Scream Try mes. They know their business, don’t they?

    And for “2. “Do you have a lest loom?” she asked me.
    “Yes. When you go out the door turn right, and then first right again.” I said
    “Lite and lite?”
    “That’s correct. To get to the Rest Room, go Right and Right.””
    I am sated with life’s little funny things today. Thank you.

  2. dearrosie says:

    I look forward to seeing your tree pictures.
    Mr F and I took Monte Carlo for a walk this evening BUT I FORGOT my camera! oh man! and of course the beautiful trees in our neighbourhood were looking super lovely this evening, plus I noticed two flowering trees I’ve never seen before. One was like a bottle brush, but the red flowers were about 1/4 the size of the bottle brush flower.

    I am lucky to eat lunch by the lemon trees. It’s my #1 favorite place to eat.
    btw The green on the ground isn’t grass. It’s strawberries

    Sometimes the only way to understand what the person is asking me, is to close my eyes and listen in the dark.

    • Priya says:

      Closing ones eyes and listening in the dark is the best strategy ever devised, Rosie. And you must be one of the precious few who follow it. The rest allow visions to cloud. 🙂

      Strawberries! So, soon, the picture you show us will be green, yellow and red! Or are the strawberries already in fruition?

      Hope you take your camera along the next time! Your posts with trees in them were the ones that reminded me that I used to love/still love photographing trees. Hence this morning’s photo-walk.

      • dearrosie says:

        Gosh Priya I’m so happy to know that even though I live so far from you – on the other side of the world – I could inspire you to take pictures of trees.

        As you say because my co-workers don’t bother to close their eyes to listen in the dark, they walk around with clouded visions.

        I don’t don’t whether those strawberries are ripe. I’ll go check today.

  3. souldipper says:

    Oh boy…love the customers who forgot to attend Anger Management.

  4. “Sometimes the only way to understand what the person is asking me, is to close my eyes and listen in the dark.” Sometimes our most beautiful writing appears when we’re not trying. What a line, thrillingly perceptive and I could picture you standing there with eyes closed. Thank you, Wondering Rose, for writing to us all. xoxo

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you Julia for taking the time to tell me you liked my words. I must admit that as I wrote that comment I did think it would be a great idea for a post…

  5. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Lemon trees! That’s something we don’t have around here! Makes me think of a Peter, Paul & Mary song on one of my parents’ albums when I was a child…

    “Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet
    But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.”

    Picking strawberries season is almost here in Connecticut!
    You must need to be a very flexible and patient person there at the cash register, to handle so many different demands and requests and greetings coming at you one right after the other. I don’t think I could handle a job with so much contact with the public, so I admire your grace while doing so!

    • dearrosie says:

      Oh yes we do need to be flexible and patient at our cash registers. Also when there’s a long line up and you’re alone at a satellite store you have to learn to not be rattled and just go at a comfortable pace.

      Thanks for reminding us of the lemon tree song Barbara. I remember Trini Lopez’s version. Here are both versions. Do you have a favorite…?

  6. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Trini Lopez’s version is nice, but I’m kind of stuck on Peter, Paul & Mary’s. It’s hard to compete with childhood memories!

  7. jc says:

    Rosanne:
    Love the Mother’s Day post and love the blog. Love the way you write, too. Such an easy and relaxed style. I could “listen” to you tell stories all day. Keep it up. You make people smile and there’s nothing wrong with that.

  8. bronxboy55 says:

    In the hands of a less insightful blogger, your job could sound annoying and dull. But you are a skilled writer and a sensitive person who realizes that the entire world came to visit her on Mother’s Day. Maybe not everyone was pleasant, but you manage to keep it all in perspective as you describe your day with humor and joy. Thank you.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

