Mother’s Day – Sunday May 8, 2011

The most beautiful word on the lips of mankind is the word “Mother”, and the most beautiful call is the call of  “My Mother.” …  She is the source of love, mercy, sympathy and forgiveness… Every thing in nature bespeaks the mother.

– Kahlil Gibran

Mom a few years ago

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there!

I’m fortunate that I can celebrate another Mother’s Day with my very own mother.  My Mom, also known as Peter Pan, who was born in 1916 in Pune, will be 95 in July.

loving her great-grandson

It’s so stressful living far from one’s aging parents.

Last year after my mother fell several times over a weekend, I rushed over to visit her.

I was able to time my vacation so I could be with her over Mother’s day.

Four generations spent the day at my sister’s house “eating, chatting, laughing, and eating”.

We ate a late lunch, an early dinner, and tea with Maria’s delightful-to-look-at-and-even -more-delicious-to-eat little cup cakes inbetween.

But this Mother’s Day I’ll be working. As usual.

Mom at the wedding last fall.

When my Mom fell again earlier this year I panicked and nearly canceled my trip to South Africa. She spent two months in hospital, and is back at her assisted living place, but being confined to the wheelchair is depressing for Peter Pan.  I can hear it in her voice – the joie de vivre isn’t there anymore – and my sister said her eyes aren’t shining.

I know I can’t go see her for Mother’s Day because we just came back from our wonderful holiday, so I asked permission to take five vacation days to go see my Mother for her July birthday. My request was denied. “You have to work the hours first, and ‘bank’ them before you can even ‘request‘ using them for your vacation.

It’s so stressful living far from one’s aging parents, but I said that already didn’t I?

If you ask your mother for one fried egg
for breakfast and she
gives you two fried eggs and you eat both
of them, who is
better in arithmetic, you or your mother?

– Carl Sandburg.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Wondering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mother’s Day – Sunday May 8, 2011

  1. REIKO says:

    Rosanne san, it’s a beautiful writing.
    I’ve been thinking about you all day today because tomorrow is the mother’s day (^^). Happy Mother’s Day!

  2. dearrosie says:

    Konnichiwa Reiko san, I’m glad to know you were visiting. Domo arigato for the Mother’s day greeting

  3. Dan says:

    It’s Mothering Sunday here in the United States and I know that even though it is celebrated on a different dates depending on your location, I wanted to greet all our mothers! Happy Mother’s Day to all loving moms in the world!

  4. Priya says:

    I hope you are able to make that trip in July, Rosie.

    PS: Your mother was born in Pune, India? Wow in anticipation of the expected response.

  5. dearrosie says:

    Thanks for commenting Priya. I did leave it there for you to find – no one else would know what it meant 🙂 When she was born it was called Poona.

    It’s so hard living so far from my Mom. When I spoke to her today she couldn’t tell me anything about the Mother’s Day celebration at my sister’s house, didn’t even remember what she ate. Could just tell me it was “nice”: she had a nice day, the food was nice, everyone there was nice.
    Oh dear I wish I could go see her tomorrow…

    • Priya says:

      Yes! It was called Poona. But like most names, it was re-Indianised to Pune some years back. I remember you mentioned that you haven’t visited India. I hope you do, someday.
      Your mother and you are in my thoughts today.

  6. bronxboy55 says:

    That’s a pretty cold response from your employer, Rose. I join Priya in hoping you find a way to go. Meanwhile, all you can do is love your Mom from a distance, and love her for the person she is at that particular moment. The aging process can be cruel, and often requires some emotional gymnastics, as you well know. I hope she’s getting good care.

    • dearrosie says:

      BB the cold response from my employer after working there for 10 years broke my heart. I thank you most sincerely for adding your kind thoughts to Priya’s. Really!

      My Mom is getting really good care at the retirement home where she’s been living for about 11 years.
      I phone her every day and can recommend that for anyone who lives far from an aged parent, but now that she’s put to bed around 8:30 (east coast time) it’s too late for me to phone her when I get home from work on the west coast, which means if I miss her in the morning I can’t speak to her every day, which is frustrating.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

