Today’s the New Moon, a reminder to slow down…

My blogging friend Val Erde, who lives in Wales and writes the Absurd Old Bird blog, has given us bloggers permission to use this beautiful painting of hers.

Thank you Val :-).

http://absurdoldbird.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/dreamer-by-val-erde-copyright-val-erde.png

"Dreamer" by Val Erde, copyright Val Erde.

New Moon today.

To meditate at the new moon can be very powerful as it’s a time of fertile energy, and the best time to “sow your seeds of intention,” our yoga teacher explained this morning.

Things will come to us at this time, but we have to allow them

She told us about one of the students XY in the Yoga Center who was having trouble getting pregnant.

Teacher: Where do you work?
Student XY: Hollywood. As a Set designer.
Teacher: Do you work a regular 5 day work week?
Student XY: No. I usually work 6 days a week,  12 hour days.
Teacher: Do you eat proper meals?
Student XY: Junk food mainly, which I usually eat in the car while rushing about.
Teacher:  Do you ever rest?
Student XY: No time for resting. On my day off I’ve got to clean house, do laundry, run errands…

XY took a leave from work, rested, ate well, looked after herself for the first time in years, saw a Naturopath who also did Acupuncture, and about 15 months later gave birth to twin girls, who are now almost one.

*

I don’t want to get pregnant – good lord – but even though I eat a healthy diet,  do yoga, see a Naturopath, and get regular Acupuncture treatments,  if I want to feel grounded, and be open to receive my gifts,  I too need to slow down.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Tutto va bene, Wondering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Today’s the New Moon, a reminder to slow down…

  1. Priya says:

    This is such a thoughtful post, Rosie. Thank you. We all need reminders to “be open to receive my gifts”. It sounds so easy, and yet, most of us falter. Thank you, thank you.

    • dearrosie says:

      I thank you too Priya for appreciating my honesty in this post, and too for realizing how difficult it is to “be open to receive our gifts”. It’s not like Christmas, none of us are assured “a gift”. If we slow down perhaps we’ll hear what our higher selves are whispering in our ears.

  2. What a treat this post is!
    I tried to read it really slowly … but it was such fun, I raced through it .. then went back and listened to the whole song & just savored it. Nice to see Priya’s thoughtful comment, too! xoxoox B

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Betty, I’m glad to know that you tried to slow down while reading the post. You must’ve been successful if you manged to savor it [ ‘savor”s such a lovely word especially when used in connection with something I wrote 🙂 ]

  3. shoreacres says:

    And I think a little “emptying” is good, to go along with the “slowing”. If our lives are packed full, where would we put another gift? So many live in the same state as my dear aunt, who now tells everyone, “Oh, please don’t give me any THING – my house is so crammed full I’d have nowhere to put more stuff.”

    Thoreau had it right on every level: simplify, simplify.

    • dearrosie says:

      Right on shoreacres. Too many people in this country have no room for any more “stuff” in their homes, but instead of “emptying”/getting rid of the rubbish they rent storage areas which they quickly fill up with the unnecessary stuff.

  4. bronxboy55 says:

    Similar to having too many things, many of us have too many things to do. It’s important to have goals, but the list can keep growing forever, while time does not. Slowing down and recalling what’s truly important is always great advice, and one I keep forgetting. Thank you, Rosie, for this reminder.

    • dearrosie says:

      Exactly BB. Most of us lead such frantic lives trying to be the best spouse/parent/person at work/writer of blogs [hah] etcetera that we think there’s no space in the 24 hour day to slow down and smell the roses. There is!!! we need to remember to

      Slow down, you move too fast.
      You got to make the morning last.
      Just kicking down the cobble stones.
      Looking for fun and feelin’ groovy.

      Hello lamppost,
      What cha knowing?
      I’ve come to watch your flowers growing.
      Ain’t cha got no rhymes for me?
      Doot-in’ doo-doo,
      Feelin’ groovy.

      Got no deeds to do,
      No promises to keep.
      I’m dappled and drowsy and ready to sleep.
      Let the morning time drop all its petals on me.
      Life, I love you,
      All is groovy.

  5. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Love slowing down and making the morning last! Thanks for the lovely reminder about the new moon, and for the delightful words in the Simon & Garfunkel song, and for Val’s dreamy digital painting. How nice to slow down and get pregnant and then be blessed with twins! We all need time to pause and take in what’s around us and appreciate those wonderful simple little things.

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m glad you also liked Val’s dreamy painting. I think it’s perfect for this post.

      Why do we think the only way to be successful is to rush about doing way too many things. Imagine being able to relax and enjoy the morning every day. I hope the young mother is enjoying her twin daughters.

  6. Mahalia says:

    Nice reminders, and one of my favorite “being in the moment” songs 🙂 Sometimes, remembering to leave time for stillness, self-care, regeneration, etc actually means you get more done, bc you are more centred and more nourished.

    • dearrosie says:

      In other words if you relax and allow yourself to enjoy the morning, you end up accomplishing more because your body isn’t running on empty. That’s so important for all of us to remember!

  7. it can be hard to slow down

  8. Val says:

    Beautiful post and thank you for enjoying my painting and using it here! 🙂
    I’ve also got to slow down, am still resting.

    • dearrosie says:

      Happiness is hearing that the artist likes the placement of her work. 🙂 Thanks again for the painting, and for stopping by Val.
      I’m glad to know you’re resting.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

