Museum Musings: James Bond, 50th celebration, and Kofi.

-When the museum closes the ducks come out-

It’s almost the end of April and I haven’t shared a Museum story all month.  It’s been a busy month, I can tell you that people all over the world take a holiday around Easter. I’m still wearing my winter clothes, but most of the tourists are in shorts and flip-flops.

Of course as always there have been celebrity sightings:

The English musician Thom Yorke, lead vocalist and principal songwriter of the alternative rock band Radiohead, came in with his family last weekend. He didn’t sing for us, but you may like some music while you read the rest of my blog.

*

One morning earlier in the month we noticed a new line of stainless steel wallets displayed in the main store:

“The steel fabric which is three times thinner than paper, blocks radio frequencies from stealing credit card numbers… It will set off metal detectors so be sure to remove your wallet at airport security….”

Smiling man with short, tousled hair, wearing white shirt open at collar, and black jacket.

“Does that mean that anyone walking past me can steal my credit card numbers just with radio frequencies?” I wondered aloud.

A Bookstore Associate near me answered, “That’s something for James Bond,” and we laughed.

An hour later, James Bond walked into the store!

Although to be honest, I don’t think of  Pierce Brosman as 007, do you?  He’s the 5th actor to play Bond, but I still think James Bond= Sean Connery.

*

 One afternoon in the Children’s Store I watched a couple of women having lots of fun clowning about with the puppets.  The woman in the Canadian sweatshirt with the lovely laugh, kicked her leg up in the air behind her as she posed for a photo. No she wasn’t Canadian, she introduced herself as Marta Maciel from Michoacan, Mexico who’d borrowed the sweater from her sister because she’d packed in such a hurry – her brother gave her an hour’s notice that they were going to L.A – so she didn’t think to bring any sweaters, and it was cold earlier in the month.

Marta was charming, funny, and a delightful story teller. I was fascinated to hear that she’d come with a bunch of her siblings to celebrate their sister Rebeca A’s 50th birthday. The festivities began on the Sunday morning when the siblings stood outside the birthday girl’s bedroom window and serenaded her with mariachi songs.

On their sister’s actual birthday they were going to do a ceremony that Marta described thus: Sitting in a circle the family will

  • call in the wind to blow away everything that’s not good for Rebeca and her soul
  • make a fire in a pit that will burn anything that keeps Rebeca from being happy.
  • using a large Seashell – to represent water – they’ll wash off the painful memories, and the hurts, that are keeping their sister from growing.
  • finally still in the circle, Marta will give Rebeca their grandmother’s ring (given to her – the eldest daughter – many years ago by their father).  Why a ring?  50 is the age of gold, and a ring is a perfect circle. Rebeca is going to close one age in her life, and start living a golden age.

I thought it was beautiful, and Marta gave me permission to share it.

The sisters left with much shouting, laughing and hugging.

I looked down to see a little face staring at me.  “Because there’s no-one else here now, can I have this for free?” asked Kofi aged six, holding a plastic sharpener that cost $2 in his hand.

“Sorry I can’t give things away, this is a shop, everything’s for sale.” I said feeling like a nasty mean person, but if I’d said “Oh sure!” and bought it for him, I’d be teaching him the wrong lesson.

He stared at me.

“I can give you a bookmark.” I said

He didn’t answer.

“Okay?”

“Okay,” he said, “but I have lots of them things already…”

His Dad who was standing at the side watching came up to him, and said “Say thank you,”

“Thank you,” he mumbled, and they left.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Museum Musings: James Bond, 50th celebration, and Kofi.

  1. Priya says:

    Rebeca’s birthday ritual sounds so meaningful and wholesome. Thank you for sharing it.

    PS: Though I grew up watching Sean Connery, I think I have a soft 007 spot for Pierce Brosnan and Daniel Craig both.

    PPS: I have a feeling that despite the many bookmarks Kofi has, this new one will be special for him.

    • dearrosie says:

      I wonder how many 007 fans are like me, stuck on #1?

      I’d love to do something like Rebeca’s birthday ritual – wouldn’t you?
      Marta I do hope you’re reading this. Please leave us a message and tell us if the ritual round the fire went as you’d planned it.

      I have a feeling Kofi threw the bookmark away as soon as he left my shop. Poor kid so wanted the $2 sharpener that his Dad wouldn’t buy for him. he waited patiently for Marta and her sister and all the other people to leave…

      • Priya says:

        I certainly would love to do something like this ritual. It is so.. evolved. And I also hope that Marta does write in and tell us how it went.

        Bond: Oh, I am sure most are stuck with #1, Rosie. It’s only the silly ones like me, who think 007 is more about physical prowess (Craig) and cheeky something (Brosnan). Neither of them could hold water to the suave Connery.

        And I just read shoreacres’ mention of the duck/mallard, which reminded me that I did need to say in my original comment that I found him spiffy.

        Also, like Betty, I love the Museum Musings. So, there are more than just one wanting to read them often!

      • dearrosie says:

        Marta told me she made up the ritual. I think we can rework it to suit any special occasion, for example when a girl gets married, or any “zero” birthday. I do hope Marta kept the piece of paper with my name on it and that she leaves a comment to tell us that she came by.

        Love your Bond comment. Yes!

        Priya that’s so kind of you to come back to tell me you also like the photo of the duck, and the Museum Musings.
        You can only see the ducks that close before the museum opens or after it closes when there aren’t any people around. There were two and they let me get quite close. I’ll share the photo of the pair next time.

  2. Nice post today, Rosie! Love the music and the 50th birthday party celebration that is so packed with meaning … too bad it’s too late for me!
    Your museum musings are always a delight!!!

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m glad to know you enjoy the museum musings Betty. Thank you for writing to tell me.
      I think you could always do Marta’s special birthday celebration for any big birthday – don’t you think?

  3. What a way for sisters to share a birthday. Their tradition envelops family beautifully into perpetuity.

    Rosie, it’s so hard to be responsible and say “no”. You may never know what you have taught that lad. Nor will you ever know what you did NOT teach him! Those can be touch situations. Often I ask the angels to take care of the people involved because I am not sure. They take care of situations retroactively, you know! 😀

    • dearrosie says:

      It’s a beautiful way to celebrate family isn’t it. I’d love to be woken up with mariachi music! I went to a funeral a few years ago where a Mariachi band played at the graveside. Oh god it was so beautiful and a great way to say farewell to Don, who died suddenly and far too young.
      Perhaps I didn’t make it clear. Marta and one of her sisters came to my store, but she told me there were 5 siblings which included several brothers.

      In all my years at the museum no one has ever asked me to give them something – and Kofi asked so earnestly too – it would’ve been a great support to know I could ask the angels to help me.

  4. shoreacres says:

    Oh, such a silly goose I am – but I love the duck the most! I’ve grown quite fond of mallards because they’re really the only work-mates I have. I speak a little duck – enough to reunite lost babies with their mamas – and I have a few mallard friends I’ve known for over five years now. Amazing.

    Your photo is pure essence of mallard – beautiful!

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m so glad someone noticed the duck. Isn’t he beautiful? I’m most impressed that you speak *duck* well enough to reunite lost babies with their mamas. Wow! I look forward to sharing that story with kids at the museum 🙂 How many animal languages can you speak? I know you kept a squirrel as a pet.

  5. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Ohhh – the duck is so handsome! Sounds like you get a lot of interesting visitors at your museum, famous and not-so-famous… I love the birthday ritual you described – sometimes I wish we had more rituals in our lives, ones that are meaningful to the participants. I think it’s good to blend the old with the new and create our own.

    I have to wonder, though, why Kafi thought it might be okay to get something for free when no one else was around? Perhaps some other adult in the past gave him something from a store and told him it was all right because no one else was around? Maybe it’s just me, but I do hope the father later asked him in private where he got that notion and then used the opportunity to correct his reasoning. Also, to teach him that if he really didn’t want the bookmark that it would be perfectly acceptable and polite to say, “No, thank you.”

    Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox now!

    • dearrosie says:

      We do get interesting visitors at the museum. You never know who’s going to walk in next! I wish I could’ve photographed the two females who came in today wearing teeny black tank tops which barely covered anything, and tottered about on high high heels. Oh lord!

      I too wondered why Kofi would think I could give him something for free when no one else was around. His father seemed to be a caring kind of parent so I hope they had a conversation about it later.

  6. Pingback: Our Monte Carlo is multilingual | Wondering Rose

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

