because April is Poetry month: “God says Yes to Me” by Kaylin Haught

 nail polish gallery online. Beauty Snob takes a walk

I discovered this poem at Garrison Keillor’s The Writer’s Almanac for April 17, 2011.

God Says Yes To Me
by Kaylin Haught

I asked God if it was okay to be melodramatic
and she said yes
I asked her if it was okay to be short
and she said it sure is
I asked her if I could wear nail polish
or not wear nail polish
and she said honey
she calls me that sometimes
she said you can do just exactly
what you want to
Thanks God I said
And is it even okay if I don’t paragraph
my letters
Sweetcakes God said
who knows where she picked that up
what I’m telling you is
Yes Yes Yes

“God Says Yes To Me” by Kaylin Haught, from The Palm of Your Hand. © Tilbury House Publishers, 1995. Reprinted with permission

*

Although Ms Magazine published the poem in the Fall 2004 issue, I can’t find Kaylin Haught’s photo or bio, so sweetcakes this will be a post sans illustration. If anyone reading this can tell us something about the author, do leave a comment

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to because April is Poetry month: “God says Yes to Me” by Kaylin Haught

  1. souldipper says:

    This could have been written for one of my dearest friends. Many thanks for unearthing it for us!

  2. Reuben says:

    I’m so glad to know that God uses those endearments – only she knows where she picked them up!

  3. Corilee Fox says:

    thanks for sharing sweetcakes 🙂

  4. Love this so much I can’t stand it!!!
    And I’m having so much fun imagining Garrison Keillor reading it — in what is surely my favorite thing on radio: the daily Poetry Corner of his.
    I want to listen to it every single day, but I always miss it (doing too much) which makes the times I stumble upon it just a big, fat gift of delight in the middle of a busy day. Thanks Rosie!!!

  5. Val Erde says:

    Lovely poem! Has a flow to it. 🙂

  6. dearrosie says:

    It looks so easy to write like this, but it ain’t easy.

  7. Susan Felix says:

    Love this poem. Does anyone know anything about the poet. I’d love to read more of her poems.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

