on a +80 degree day in April: Monte Carlo, the fish fertilizer and the murder suspect

Monte Carlo doing his circus trick

Man, as they say in South Africa, it’s hard to come down to earth after a vacation.  I felt restless and “blah”, couldn’t focus, tried to write a blog but ended up doing nothing all morning, until around noon when I got one of those “ah-hah” moments:   “Ah-hah, didn’t the weatherman say today’s going to be a lovely plus 80 degree day in L.A.?”

I ran outside to water my little garden.

The sun felt so *good* I immediately felt better, and after I’d done the watering, I fetched the watering-can and the fertilizer – I use something called “All-Purpose Fish Emulsion” because I don’t want to use chemicals, and so far none of the neighbors have complained about the fishy smell.

After I put the watering can away I heard what sounded like lapping – you know the noise a cat makes when she laps up a saucer of milk. Looking across the patio I saw Monte Carlo drinking the fertilizer out of one of the pots.

Oh god!

Two nights ago when I came home from work I found the dog’s food dish upside down. Thinking Monte Carlo must’ve learned a new trick to let me know how hungry he was, I immediately fed him, and then went to listen to the messages. There was one from our neighbor who walks him during the day, “Hello,” she said, “Just to tell you I fed Monte Carlo and left his dish upside down so you’d know…”  Heh heh no wonder he’d staggered to his bed after bolting down his second dinner in half-an-hour.

But back to the fertilizer problem. I wasn’t sure what to do. Should I panic and race off to emergency?

Manchester Terrier’s are short haired dogs and LOVE sitting in the sun. After his fish cocktail he looked fine, laying on his back in a patch of sun, legs splayed, totally at peace with the world.

The label on the bottle told me it was made by Liquinox Co, Orange County, CA 92865,  [no phone number],  listed the percentage of Nitrogen, Phosphate, and soluble Potash. Plus “Primary nutrients derived from seagoing fish“.

and under CAUTIONSHarmful if swallowed.

I felt the panic rising…

What would you have done?

I said to myself, if Monte Carlo were my child I’d phone the Poison Control Center, and he is my child, so I googled it:

The California Poison Control System (CPCS) provides immediate, free and expert treatment advice and referral over the telephone in case of exposure to poisonous or toxic substances.
Pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and poison information providers answer the calls to 1-800-222-1222 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

Sandra, the pharmacist, answered on the second ring. We agreed that he’d had a very small amount – the water runs through the pots too quickly. She thought he may possibly feel nauseous and throw up from the extra nitrogren, and said to give him lots of water to flush it out. I tried, brought his dish right up to him, but he refused to drink.

It was now 1 p.m. I had to leave for my acupuncture appointment. I was concerned about leaving him, but he seemed OK and scarfed the treat I gave him with no problem.

Driving to my appointment I’ll admit I was worried about leaving the dog, so I didn’t pay much attention to outside stimuli, and it took me a while to notice the helicopters up ahead, that one up there was not moving, that there were several others flying around it,  that there were police cruisers everywhere,  all the cross streets were blocked off, and I was stuck in a serious traffic jam… Huh?

*

Just before 11 a.m. this morning, according to CBS local news on the AM radio, an officer on patrol in Studio City  at Laurel Canyon and Ventura Boulevard, spotted a man -Luis Solano- wanted in connection with a November 2010 murder. The man fled, and police, assisted by the FBI hunted for him. He was found a few hours later.

Three schools in the area were “locked down” during the search.

*

REIKO AOO, M.S.O.M., L.Ac.

My acupuncturist Reiko‘s office is right there at the corner of Laurel Canyon and Ventura Blvd. I managed to get through the road blocks and make it to my appointment ten minutes late.

Have I ever told you about Reiko?  I’ve seen her regularly for several years now.  If you’ve never had an acupuncture treatment, and you live in Los Angeles I suggest you go directly to see her, to give your body a much needed tune-up.

1.818.219.4357

Reikos needles around the 5 stitches in my knee

Last year when I fell running for the shuttle at work and had to have 5 stitches in my knee, I remember telling you that I went to see her.

Reiko felt my pulse today and said, “Oh Rosie-san you’re tired and you’re coughing a lot…” Yes and Yes. I’ve had a nasty cough and cold and had to call in sick several days over the past two weeks. I was better, then re-infected myself. The night coughing, which I couldn’t control and kept Mr F up, was the worst, but hey I caught the cough from Mr F,  when he coughed all night.

*

 Wikipedia describes acupuncture:as an alternative medicine that treats patients by insertion and manipulation of needles in the body. It relieves pain, treats infertility, treats disease, prevents disease, promotes general health,  or can be used for therapeutic purposes.

.

I like the description of acupuncture on Dandelion Naturopathic’s website

Originating over five thousand years ago, Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM), involves the use of both acupuncture and eastern herbs. It is based on the theory that health is determined by a balanced flow of qi (pronounced “chee”), a way of understanding the vital life energy present in all living things. According the TCM theory, qi circulates in the body through twelve major energy pathways, called meridians, each linked to specific internal organs and organ systems. In this system of medicine, each symptom is perceived in relationship with the whole body, and treatments are accordingly developed as a means of adjusting an individual’s overall energy pattern. Acupuncture and herbs are used to balance the flow of qi, thereby relieving pain and restoring health. Acupuncture has now been proven to be effective according to western or allopathic scientific trials, for health concerns ranging from chemotherapy-induced nausea to musculoskeletal pain, to turning breech babies.

*

hey it would be nice if you'd open the door!

It’s now 7 p.m. I’ve been watching Monte Carlo all afternoon: he hasn’t thrown up, and he enjoyed his dinner, but he hasn’t had a single sip of water.  I give up! I don’t know how to get him to drink. Even after our walk around 4 p.m.  I came home hot and thirsty, and had a glasses of water. Not him.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in The Natural World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to on a +80 degree day in April: Monte Carlo, the fish fertilizer and the murder suspect

  1. E fullstop says:

    Maybe if you traced Monte Carlo’s lineage you’d find that somewhere in his family tree he’s part plant — a distant relative might be a pothos or a sycamore or a willow. That would explain the nitrogen “fixation.”

    • dearrosie says:

      Hah hah very funny e fullstop. We got our Monte Carlo from a shelter and don’t know his history or how long he was a street dog, poor chap. We do know he’ll eat any rubbish he finds outside, he’s not waiting for the *dog* food classification. He loves our neighbors cat food, which she says is very *fishy* 🙂

  2. Priya says:

    Has he drunk water yet? No? I didn’t think so. Dogs can get more adamant than bulls if you want to make them ingest something. But looks like the seagoing fish won’t do him any harm. Let him out of the door, no!

    PS: Don’t the needles hurt?

    • dearrosie says:

      Good morning Priya. Monte Carlo bolts his food like a vacuum cleaner so last night to slow him down, to be kind to his tummy, I gave it to him in 4 smaller amounts, which he didn’t throw up. He finally had a little drink around 7:30 pm.

      Whenever it’s a nice day I leave the door to the patio open, to let in the fresh air and also so he can go lay out in the sun.

      Glad you asked about the needles, they do NOT hurt at all. There are different “styles” of acupuncture: Chinese uses long needles, the Japanese style which I prefer, uses short needles.

  3. bronxboy55 says:

    Maybe the fertilizer did make him feel a little sick, and he then associated that feeling with drinking water? I don’t know. That’s the best I can come up with. I hope he’s back to normal by now.

    Do you think acupuncture would work on dogs?

    • dearrosie says:

      Monte Carlo is a street smart dog. We don’t know how long he survived out on the streets but for some reason he taught himself not to need water. Its strange and interesting but I’m glad to report that he’s fine i.e. his kaka-poo-poo is fine. (I must say I didn’t think I’d talk about something like that over here Heh heh …)
      Yes acupuncture does work on dogs. I think you have to go to one who treats animals. I don’t think Reiko treats dogs!? I’ve never asked her. Do you treat dogs Reiko-san?

  4. What a drama!!!
    I love fish emulsion — I used to use it all the time on my vegetable garden — but I never tried drinking it (although I did accidentally take a big swig of kerosene once & that was kinda freaky) …I’ll bet the fish oil is fairly innocuous and if it’s dangerous, I’m pretty sure he’ll just puke it up. But good move calling the Poison Center, Rosie! — One time I chewed off a leaf of a plant (I was in a rush and didn’t have time to get a scissors) and my whole mouth felt like it was full of razors. I kept thinking if I dropped dead everybody would think I poisoned myself so I called the Poison Center, but as it turned out I was just numb for hours —yipppee! p.s. don’t use saucers under your plants and there won’t be anything for Monte to lap up!
    Great post, Rosie!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Betty I’d imagine that kerosene must have a very nasty taste! Yuck! But what a scary thing to bite a leaf and then feel as though your mouth was full of razors! What on earth was it?
      Thinking about it, I wonder how many dogs actually swig the Fish Emulsion?
      Next time I use the fertilizer Mr Monte Carlo will be LOCKED in the house!

  5. Mahalia says:

    @bronxboy55: yes, acupuncture works on dogs! i just do it on people, since that is the kinda doctor i am, but i hear about its efficacy on animals (horses esp seem to love it) too.

    @dearrosie: so… should i or should i not use fish emulsion in my garden this summer, with a puppy around? if it makes the soil smell interesting, she will for sure go straight for it, i imagine…

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m glad that an Acupuncture practitioner replied to BB’s question. Thank you Mahalia. I can’t imagine how one does acupuncture on animals. How do you get them to lie still while you put needles in them?

      re the fish emulsion question: I don’t think you can use fish emulsion to fertilize your garden if you have a puppy, because as Monte Carlo showed us she will for sure go straight to the fish smell, and even if she can’t lap it up, she’ll dig up your garden trying to get the “food”.
      Anyone out there have any suggestions?

  6. Reuben says:

    Perhaps a doggy treat in another part of the house? Monte will probably eat/drink anything with an interesting smell – experiential curiosity – including coco-mulch that can be fatal to dogs, I’ve read.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

