Howzit from South Africa…

mountains everywhere

emails from friends
“How was the trip?” they ask
I send back some photos.
“Thanks,” they say
“but we’re waiting for some words…”
Words,
what are they besides things that blow in the wind?
Hear today gone tomorrow.
How to choose the perfect ones
which would tell you about the best bloody marvelous three weeks
Mr F and I just spent in South Africa
without using a cliche about how much we loved it there
loved being in deepest darkest Africa ♥
the red soil of Johannesburg
and the blue ocean in Cape Town,
the mountains wherever you look
and the fantastic hikes, each one my fave *ever*.
I loved the warmth of the South African people and their “English-isms”
like howzit and everything’s lekker man ,
the birds, oh god the birds that woke me up at 5:30 each morning,
animals, like baboons, penguins, lions and elephants, and the
flowers. Did you know Proteas, aloes and geraniums grow wild there?
And of course don’t forget the food
if you’ve never eaten South African toasted cheese and tomato,
biltong, or rusks
you’re missing out man!

and yet, I also hated it.
Hated the high walls topped with barbed wire
people barricaded inside
behind windows covered with burglar bars
burglar alarms of the “immediate armed response” variety
the empty streets
and the fear

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in South Africa, Tutto va bene, Wandering and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Howzit from South Africa…

  1. Francee says:

    rosie,
    thank you for sharing some of your lovely SA trip pics!
    it seems that you and Mr. F enjoyed yourselves immensely,
    hope your vacation was all you were expecting and more,
    we’re waiting for you in Italy!
    xo
    francee

    • dearrosie says:

      Ciao Bella, thanks for writing. I’m glad you enjoyed the pics! Some kind of synchronicity here – I wore the outfit I bought when we stayed with you, as well as the beautiful necklace you gave me to work today, and I came home and found your message. Love it!
      Speaking for both of us, we can’t wait to come back to Italy. Grazie Mille.

  2. Corilee says:

    Love the slide show! thanks so much for sharing the pics and the words 🙂

  3. Reuben says:

    This post needs a soundtrack – the words, the birds, the music! What a great taste of travel!

  4. Jeremy says:

    Nice slideshow! That toasted cheese does look delicious.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for writing Jeremy. I’m glad to know folks liked the slideshow.
      Thanks to my blogging buddy Priya (of Partial View) who taught me how to do the slideshow!

      The toasted cheese wasn’t just an ordinary sandwich – the tomato was marinated with fresh basil in balsamic vinegar, the cheese was perfectly cooked, the bread was a hearty wholegrain, and the arugula/rocket on the top made it all sing!

  5. Priya says:

    I love the cheese tomato sandwich picture, too. And now that I’ve read the description of its ingredients and the making, I can’t wait to try it!

    All the pictures are beautiful, in fact. I couldn’t help noticing your observation of the burglar-safe windows and doors. And the high walls. Most of India is riddled with the same images, so I would’ve passed those through.

    Nice slideshow by the way, Rosie. Looks like the rusty explainer and hesitant computer-user did a good job after all. 🙂

    • dearrosie says:

      You explained the trick to doing a slideshow perfectly Priya. Thanks again. I’m glad you like my attempt.

      Every restaurant in South Africa has toasted sandwiches, and always cheese and tomato. This was a gourmet delux version… Let me know when you make one – the trick is to make sure the cheese is really runny!

      Interesting to hear that you live with the same high walls and burglar-safe windows in India. Have the walls become higher over the years? Can you drive with your windows open and the doors unlocked?

      • Priya says:

        I certainly will ask you before I decide to make the sandwich. The basil marination sounds tricky to my inexperienced mind.

        Yes, the walls have become higher. And the windows look like they’re barricaded. Not as frightful as the ones you saw in South Africa, but disconcerting nonetheless. (The crime rate has risen, but we appear to be happily better off than where you visited.)

        Driving with windows open and doors unlocked is essential. Come to India and see the atrocious traffic sense and you’ll know. Doors and windows sometimes can be the only emergency exit. 🙂

      • dearrosie says:

        I’m not an expert, but I think one just pours a little balsamic vinegar onto the tomato…. Maybe someone can tell us.

        If you drive with your windows open in S. Africa your handbag will be snatched!

        Priya, its been my lifelong dream to come to India. I look forward to it, and to meeting you 🙂

  6. Suzie says:

    What memories! loved the pics. Please post more.

    Beautiful place and people, what a pity about crime. Until the 50% of the people that live in abject poverty don’t get to enjoy a better life, a more dignified one, crime will be with us.
    The crime problem has spurned a large security industry which contributes to the paranoia which keeps us buying into it, may be at levels not always warranted.

    • dearrosie says:

      Glad you like my pics Suzie. I’ve got so many I will be posting more in the coming weeks…

      I didn’t realize such a huge percentage of the population live in abject poverty. That’s really awful.

      Interesting how the security industry grows from fear. In other words, no one wants to live in the one house on the block without a burglar alarm so everyone rushes out and has them installed “just in case…”

  7. Mia says:

    How beautiful South Africa looks!! The weather and vegetation look rather similar to Southern California, no?

    I remember someone told me how delicious and fresh and flavorful the food is there.

    Sad about the walls everywhere though… I don’t know enough about South African history. My friend recently recommended a book called “No Future Without Forgiveness” by Desmond Tutu, and I’ve been meaning to read it — hopefully I’ll have a chance soon:)

    • dearrosie says:

      Welcome to my blog Mia. You’re right, South Africa is very similar to S. California. The Cape also has rain in the winter.
      Unfortunately the walls are everywhere. One of my posts will have to include background on them.
      Many thanks for the book recommendation Mia. I don’t know why I’ve never read anything by Bishop Tutu, because I respect him very much.

  8. Reggie says:

    Excellent summary of your visit. 🙂

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

