Museum Musings: the second floor

John Talbot (1750-1793) memorializes his Grand Tour through Europe to include his dog

This is word-for-word my conversation with an American couple this afternoon:

Tourist: Is this the second floor?

Me: You’re in the basement

Tourist: Second floor?

Me: This is the basement Sir. The second floor is up there (I point to the ceiling). Can I help you, what are you looking for?

Tourist: We’re told there’s lots of art on the second floor.

Me: Yes, the paintings are all on the second floor. Take the elevator over there.

Tourist: Up two floors?

Me: Press TWO in the elevator

Tourist: Two?

Me: I nod Yes.

Tourist: OK. Thank you.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Museum Musings: the second floor

  1. Mahalia says:

    oh my god. i know these conversations 🙂 did you keep a straight face?

  2. Priya says:

    😀 Are you sure the words ‘two’ and ‘second’ weren’t mutually contradictory? And then you threw in ‘basement’. Poor, poor Tourist. 😀 When did you begin the chuckle?

    • dearrosie says:

      Priya it’s unbelievably frustrating to have to answer endlessly silly questions like that every day, so after all these years I don’t find it funny any more.

  3. You know, you just can’t make those things up –but the painting IS lovely. Hope they found it!

    • dearrosie says:

      If this was a scene in a movie we wouldn’t believe it, but every day I have to answer silly questions like this. Can we blame it on Jetlag?
      Glad you like the painting – there’s so many little unknown gems on the walls.

  4. Pingback: Of muddled webs and letting in the light « Partial View

  5. Elizabeth Radl says:

    hahahahahahahahah me gusta mucho! muy comica!

  6. Pingback: Of muddled webs and letting in the light | Particularly Interested

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

