2 poems by William Blake

these two Blake Poem’s in honor of Eugenie Rose’s birthday

Eternity by William Blake

He who binds to himself a joy
Does the winged life destroy
He who kisses the joy as it flies
Lives in eternity’s sunrise

.

A Poison Tree by William Blake

I was angry with my friend;
I told my wrath, my wrath did end.
I was angry with my foe:
I told it not, my wrath did grow.

And I waterd it in fears,
Night & morning with my tears:
And I sunned it with smiles,
And with soft deceitful wiles.

And it grew both day and night,
Till it bore an apple bright.
And my foe beheld it shine,
And he knew that it was mine.

And into my garden stole.
When the night had veiled the pole;
In the morning glad I see,
My foe outstretchd beneath the tree

.

William Blake William Blake was born in London on November 28, 1757, died on August 12, 1827. From early childhood, he had visions, at four he saw God “put his head to the window”, around age nine,  he saw a tree filled with angels. Although his parents tried to discourage him from “lying,” they knew he was different from his peers and didn’t make him attend conventional school, but taught him to read and write at home. At age ten, his parents sent him to drawing school, at age 12 he began writing poetry….
Most of his engravings are only a few inches in size, yet the details are superb and exact. Sadly, his work received far more public acclaim after his death.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2 poems by William Blake

  1. Very nice post, Rosie darling! I love the poetry of William Blake and remember so well studying it when I went to England for a year and lived near the mystical, magical Lake district — home to so many of those Romantic poets.
    Brings it all back to me!!! xoxoox b (hope your mom is doing well!)

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for sharing the memory of Blake and the English Lake District with us. I also love that part of England – though I haven’t been there for way too long.

      My Mom’s starting to walk – kind of you to remember her.

  2. E fullstop says:

    Two very different sides of William Blake represented here! Couldn’t help but think of the famous adage from The Godfather when reading “The Poison Tree” — keep your friends close, but keep your enemies closer.

    • dearrosie says:

      Love the quote from the Godfather e fullstop. I couldn’t just share one Blake poem …. The Poison Tree was the first poem that hit me smack in the gut when I was at school

  3. Priya says:

    Beautiful, Rosie. It’s amazing how Blake can bring in the world he’s created right there in front of you.

    Thank you for this feast for the senses.

    Lots of Wishes for Your Mother.

    • dearrosie says:

      Love your new photo Priya, and glad you enjoyed the Blake poems.

      Thanks for the wishes for my Mother. I will tell her how so many people all over the world are concerned about her health and wish her well.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

