Museum Musings: six-sixty-six

God will judge the world

My mother’s hospital room is 666, which reminds me of a story…

When the sales tax was still at 8.5% and a customer bought an 11″ x 14″ print which costs $4.95, plus two postcards at 60 cents each, it all added up to $6.66. One customer who bought that combination, a man with a ruddy complexion, no hair on his head, and a stomach so large that the buttons of his checked shirt barely closed over his belly, became visibly pale, I thought he was going to faint when I told him “6-6-6 please.”
You know how stores always place impulse purchases by the cash?  He leaned over, grabbed a handful of pens, threw them together with a couple of additional dollars bills at me, and ran out the store into the courtyard without his purchases, or his change.

I turned to my co-worker and said “My god, what was that about?”

She was surprised I didn’t know…

I ‘googled‘ it:

“There are three men which stand out in Scripture as the avowed enemies of God and of His people.
1. GOLIATH
2. NEBUCHADNEZZAR
3. ANTICHRIST, whose number is 666.

and this, “666 was the secret symbol of the ancient pagan mysteries connected with the worship of the Devil.”

I still don’t get why you have to run away like that, my mother’s not running away from her hospital room.

 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Museum Musings: six-sixty-six

  1. Boris says:

    Funny! And I bet he thinks the world is flat too!

  2. At times like these, I always long for Stevie Wonder and his inimitable
    “Very superstitious” … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39UE5UGXFU0
    It’s the antidote for antichrist freakouts!

    xoxoxo b

  3. Priya says:

    I liked Betty’s link, too. Probably the most potent thing to garlic out redundant creatures. Pity such people don’t run away from clear threats to ‘God’s own world’.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hey Priya I love your use of the word “garlic”.
      Funnily enough, or lucky for me, I’ve only had one person run away from me like that, and it really was crazy.

  4. Val Erde says:

    And you have to remember that while 666 is the number of the beast, 664 is the neighbour of the beast!
    😉

  5. timkeen40 says:

    So, if you worship the devil, then the number must be good. If you don’t worship the devil, then it is nothing more than a number between 665 and 668, right?

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

